DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US patent application publication by Yun et al (US 2004/0085641 A1).
Yun et al teaches, with claim 1, an achromatic Fresnel optics serves as the optical assembly (please see Figure 4) that is comprised of Fresnel lens (36, Figure 4) that is made of silicon which has a refractive index of 3.4 to 3.5, which therefore is greater than 1.9. The Fresnel lens therefore is made of high refractive index material, (please see paragraph [0070] and the Table 1). Yun et al teaches that the assembly also comprises a silicon Fresnel zone plate (34) serves as the diffractive optical element, (please see paragraph [0047]). The diffractive silicon Fresnel zone plate (34) that is optically coupled with the Fresnel lens (36). Yun et al teaches that the diffractive Fresnel zone plate or the diffractive optical element and the Fresnel lens have opposite chromatic aberrations, (please see Figures 1A and 1B) which means that the chromatic aberration caused by the Fresnel lens is compensated by the diffractive optical element or the zone plate, (please see Figure 1C).
This reference has therefore anticipated the claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,130,450. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a Fresnel lens including a high-refractive index material having refractive index greater or equal to 1.9 and a diffractive optical element.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US patent application publication by Yang (US 2019/0285892 A1) discloses an optical assembly that is comprised of a Fresnel lens and a diffractive optical element. US patent applicant publication by Watanabe et al (US 2015/0301317 A1) teaches a Fresnel lens that is made of a high refractive index material such as a germanium or zinc sulfide, (please see paragraph [0178]).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872