DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 10/29/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 and 2/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the non-AP MLD” in Line 4. However, “non-AP” was not recited prior in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, claims 15-20 are included because of their dependency on Claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 20230413328 hereafter Kim.
As to Claim 1. Kim discloses a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) [i.e. non-AP Station/STA, STA MLD, or TWT requesting STA] in a wireless network, the non-AP MLD comprising [Section 0042: STA-210 may be a multi-link device (MLD), that is a device capable of operating over multiple links as defined by the IEEE 802.11 standard]:
a memory [Memory-230]; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to [Fig. 2, Sections 0039, 0041: STA include at least one processor-220 and a memory-230. Memory-230 comprise one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums store computer program instructions executed by processor-220 to carry out one or more of the operations/embodiments discussed in the present application]:
establish a plurality of links [Section 0056: Links 1-3 are established with different parameters], including a first link between a first station (STA) affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a first AP affiliated with an AP MLD and a second link between a second STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a second AP affiliated with the AP MLD [Figs. 4, 12, Sections 0052, 0054, 0130: An MLD is an entity managing communication over multiple links; and have more than one affiliated stations (STAs); An MLD may be a non-AP MLD/STA MLD. TWT operation in a multi-link environment including AP multi-link device (AP MLD) and a STA multi-link device (STA MLD); the AP MLD have three affiliated APs, STA MLD have three affiliated STAs; and communicatively coupled via a first link (link-1), a second link (link-2), and a third link (link-3). In an example, APs (i.e. first and second APs) may be communicatively coupled via a first link and a second link with STAs (i.e. first and second STAs)];
transmit, to the first AP on the first link, a request frame to request setup of one or more target wake time (TWT) schedules [Figs. 4-5, Sections 0043, 0055, 0059-0060: Target wake time (TWT), per IEEE 802.11ah standard, allows STAs to manage activity by scheduling to operate at different times. STA transmit a TWT request to AP (i.e. first AP) which include elements that indicate a respective link of links 1-3 and may request the setup of a TWT agreement for the indicated link. An APs and STAs use TWT element-500 to negotiate a TWT agreement in a management frame which may be an association request/response frame. The TWT schedule provided during a TWT setup phase signaled in management frame that carry TWT schedule/parameters],
wherein the request frame includes link identifier information that indicates the first link and the second link [Fig. 5, Sections 0055, 0059, 0129: The TWT request include TWT elements that indicate a respective link of links 1-3 and may request the setup of a TWT agreement. An APs and STAs use TWT element-500 to negotiate a TWT agreement in a management frame which may be an association request/response frame. Using one of the links, the STA MLD exchange TWT setup frames to setup one or more TWTs on one or more of the links; the STA MLD setup a first TWT and a second TWT on a first link and a second link, of the plurality of links and have TWT flow identifiers e.g., 1 and 2],
receive, from the first AP on the first link, a response frame that accepts the request to setup the one or more TWT schedules [Section 0043], wherein the response frame includes the link identifier information that indicates the first link and the second link [Figs. 4-5, Sections 0055, 0132, 0134: In response to the TWT request, the AP (i.e. first AP) transmit TWT response that include TWT elements that indicate respective link of links 1-3 and include a value of ‘accept TWT’ in a TWT setup command field. In response to request frame, AP MLD transmit, via AP 1204-1, a response frame on first link; the response frame may be a TID-to-link mapping response frame include a second TID-to-link mapping that is different than the first TID-to-link mapping. In response to TWT setup request frame, AP transmit, a TWT setup response frame that may accept or modify and include a respective TWT flow identifier for each of the first and second TWTs (e.g., 1 and 2)],
transmit, to the first AP, one or more frames based on a first TWT schedule [i.e. TWT SPs/first TWT SP/TWT on first link, Section 0046: The TWT responding STA/AP (see 0044) include the start time for a series of TWT SPs (service periods for traffic/data exchange between APs and STAs, see 0046-0047)]; and transmit, to the second AP, one or more frames based on a second TWT schedule [Figs. 4-5, Sections 0121, 0130, 0142-0143, 0145: The TWT schedule include a start time of a first TWT SP and subsequent TWT SP; for example, include a first TWT SP and a second TWT SP. APs 1 and 2 coupled via first link and second link communicate with STA operating on frequency bans/channels. STA MLD transmits frame to AP MLD on first link at a start time of TWT SP. When other TWT SP starts, AP and STA MLD exchange data frame and buffered traffic on second link. The second TWT is on second link].
As to Claim 2. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP Station/STA, STA MLD, or TWT requesting STA] of claim 1, wherein the request frame comprises a TWT element that includes the link identifier information and one or more TWT parameter sets that apply to the first link and the second link identified in the link identifier information [Figs. 5-6 (Depicts TWT element), Sections 0053, 0055, 0059: The TWT elements comprise link ID bitmap indicating different link(s) in a TWT setup (request) frame; TWT parameters provided by a TWT element applied to the respective link that is indicated. The STA transmit TWT request to AP which include TWT elements that indicate a respective links 1-3 and request the setup of a TWT agreement; the TWT elements have TWT parameters. APs and STAs use TWT element-500 to negotiate a TWT agreement in a management frame which may be an association request/response frame].
As to Claim 3. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP Station/STA, STA MLD, or TWT requesting STA] of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to [Fig. 2, Sections 0039: STA include at least one processor-220]:
transmit, to the first AP on the first link, a frame that indicates that the non-AP MLD supports a broadcast TWT operation including setting up the one or more TWT schedules on multiple links [Figs. 5-6, 8 (Depicts broadcast TWT operation), Sections 0043, 0055, 0074, 0133: Per IEEE 802.11 standard, TWTs may be broadcast TWTs based on a schedule set. The STA transmit TWT request to AP which include TWT elements. The TWT parameter information field include a request type field and a broadcast TWT info field. In an example, STA MLD transmit TWT setup request frame on first link to AP; the TWT setup request frame request setup of a first TWT on first link and a second TWT on second link and include TWT schedule for the first and second TWTs].
As to Claim 4. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP Station/STA, STA MLD, or TWT requesting STA] of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to [Fig. 2, Sections 0039: STA include at least one processor-220]: receive, from the first AP on the first link, a frame that indicates that the AP MLD supports a broadcast TWT operation including setting up the one or more TWT schedules on multiple links [Figs. 5-6, 8 (Depicts broadcast TWT operation), Sections 0043, 0068, 0096, 0132: Per IEEE 802.11 standard, TWTs may be broadcast TWTs based on a schedule set. In a TWT response, the TWT command indicate a broadcast TWT. A broadcast target wake time (TWT) may be set of times broadcast by an AP to one or more STAs. In response to request frame, AP MLD transmit a response frame on first link for first and second links].
As to Claim 5. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP Station/STA, STA MLD, or TWT requesting STA] of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to [Fig. 2, Sections 0039: STA include at least one processor-220]:
determine [i.e. via RTS/CTS] that the first link and the second link are not disabled or restricted before transmitting, to the first AP on the first link, the request frame [Sections 0103, 0133: A TWT protection mechanism is to protect the TWT session in which a STA that initiates a transmission opportunity (TXOP) to transmit a frame may transmit a request to transmit (RTS) frame or a clear to transmit (CTS) frame. STA MLD transmit TWT setup request frame on first link to AP; the TWT setup request frame request setup of a first TWT on first link and a second TWT on second link].
As to Claim 6. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP Station/STA, STA MLD, or TWT requesting STA] of claim 1, wherein the request frame comprises a TWT element that includes one or more TWT parameter sets, and the link identifier information is present in all the TWT parameter sets when an indication in the request frame indicating the presence of the link identifier information [Figs. 5-6 (Depicts TWT element), Sections 0053, 0055: The TWT elements comprise link ID bitmap indicating different link(s) in a TWT setup (request) frame; TWT parameters provided by a TWT element applied to the respective link that is indicated. The STA transmit TWT request to AP which include TWT elements that indicate a respective links 1-3 and request the setup of a TWT agreement; the TWT elements have TWT parameters].
As to Claim 7. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP Station/STA, STA MLD, or TWT requesting STA] of claim 1, wherein the request frame includes the link identifier
information that indicates a third link between a third STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a third AP affiliated with the AP MLD [Figs. 5-6 (Depicts TWT element), Sections 0052, 0054, 0055: An MLD is an entity managing communication over multiple links; and have more than one affiliated stations (STAs). TWT operation in a multi-link environment including AP multi-link device (AP MLD) and a STA multi-link device (STA MLD); the AP MLD have three affiliated APs, STA MLD have three affiliated STAs; and communicatively coupled via a first link (link-1), a second link (link-2), and a third link (link-3). The STA transmit TWT request to AP which can include TWT elements that indicate a respective links 1-3 and request the setup of a TWT agreement; the TWT elements have TWT parameters];
wherein the processor is further configured to [Fig. 2, Sections 0039: STA include at least one processor-220] transmit, to the third AP, one or more frames based on a third TWT schedule [Fig. 4 (Depicts TWT SP-3 on Link 3 with third AP-413), 5, Sections 0056, 0166: Successful TWT agreement setup on links 1-3 establishes three TWT SPs with different TWT parameters and field of the TWT element indicating start time of the TWP SP for that link. Receiving, by the AP from the STA MLD, a third frame which may be a control frame or a Quality of Service (QoS) data].
As to Claim 8. Kim discloses an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless network, the AP MLD comprising [Section 0042: In embodiment, AP-260 may be a multi-link device (MLD), that is a device capable of operating over multiple links as defined by the IEEE 802.11 standard]:
a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to [Fig. 2, Sections 0039, 0041: AP-260 include at least one processor-270 and a memory-280. Memory-280 comprise one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums that store computer program instructions executed by processor-270 to carry out one or more of the operations/embodiments discussed in the present application]:
establish a plurality of links [Section 0056: Links 1-3 are established with different parameters], including a first link between a first station (STA) affiliated with a non-AP MLD and a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD, and a second link between a second STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a second AP affiliated with the AP MLD [Figs. 4, 12, Sections 0052, 0054, 0130: An MLD is an entity managing communication over multiple links; and have more than one affiliated stations (STAs); An MLD may be a non-AP MLD/STA MLD. TWT operation in a multi-link environment including AP multi-link device (AP MLD) and a STA multi-link device (STA MLD); the AP MLD have three affiliated APs, STA MLD have three affiliated STAs; and communicatively coupled via a first link (link-1), a second link (link-2), and a third link (link-3). In an example, APs (i.e. first and second APs) may be communicatively coupled via a first link and a second link with STAs (i.e. first and second STAs)];
receive, from the first STA on the first link, a request frame to request setup of one or more target wake time (TWT) schedules [Figs. 4-5, Sections 0043, 0055, 0059-0060: Target wake time (TWT), per IEEE 802.11ah standard, allows STAs to manage activity by scheduling to operate at different times. STA transmit a TWT request to AP (i.e. first AP) which include elements that indicate a respective link of links 1-3 and may request the setup of a TWT agreement for the indicated link. An APs and STAs use TWT element-500 to negotiate a TWT agreement in a management frame which may be an association request/response frame. The TWT schedule provided during a TWT setup phase signaled in management frame that carry TWT schedule/parameters],
wherein the request frame includes link identifier information that indicates the first link and the second link [Fig. 5, Sections 0055, 0059, 0129: The TWT request include TWT elements that indicate a respective link of links 1-3 and may request the setup of a TWT agreement. An APs and STAs use TWT element-500 to negotiate a TWT agreement in a management frame which may be an association request/response frame. Using one of the links, the STA MLD exchange TWT setup frames to setup one or more TWTs on one or more of the links; the STA MLD setup a first TWT and a second TWT on a first link and a second link, of the plurality of links and have TWT flow identifiers e.g., 1 and 2];
transmit, to the first STA on the first link, a response frame that accepts the request to setup the one or more TWT schedules [Section 0043], wherein the response frame includes the link identifier information that indicates the first link and the second link [Figs. 4-5, Sections 0055, 0132, 0134: In response to the TWT request, the AP (i.e. first AP) transmit TWT response that include TWT elements that indicate respective link of links 1-3 and include a value of ‘accept TWT’ in a TWT setup command field. In response to request frame, AP MLD transmit, via AP 1204-1, a response frame on first link; the response frame may be a TID-to-link mapping response frame include a second TID-to-link mapping that is different than the first TID-to-link mapping. In response to TWT setup request frame, AP transmit, a TWT setup response frame that may accept or modify and include a respective TWT flow identifier for each of the first and second TWTs (e.g., 1 and 2)];
transmit, to the first STA, one or more frames based on a first TWT schedule[i.e. TWT SPs/first TWT SP/TWT on first link]; and transmit, to the second STA, one or more frames based on a second TWT schedule [Figs. 4-5, Sections 0046, 0049, 0098, 0121: The TWT responding STA/AP (see 0044) include the start time for a series of TWT SPs (service periods for traffic/data exchange between APs and STAs, see 0046-0047). AP and STA exchange frames during first TWT SP. During TWT SPs, the AP transmit frames to STA-811 (i.e. first STA) and STA-812 (i.e. second STA). The TWT schedule include a start time of a first TWT SP and subsequent TWT SP; for example, include a first TWT SP and a second TWT SP].
As to Claim 9. The AP MLD of claim 8, wherein the request frame comprises a TWT element that includes the link identifier information and one or more TWT parameter sets that apply to the first link and the second link identified in the link identifier information [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 10. The AP MLD of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to receive, from the first STA on the first link, a frame that indicates that the non-AP MLD supports a broadcast TWT operation including setting up the one or more TWT schedules on multiple links [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 11. The AP MLD of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the first STA on the first link, a frame that indicates that the AP MLD supports a broadcast TWT operation including setting up the one or more TWT schedules on multiple links [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 12. The AP MLD of claim 8, wherein the request frame comprises a TWT element that includes one or more TWT parameter sets, and the link identifier information is present in all the TWT parameter sets when an indication in the request frame indicating the presence of the link identifier information [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 13. The AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the request frame includes the link identifier information that indicates a third link between a third STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a third AP affiliated with the AP MLD, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the third STA, one or more frames based on a third TWT schedule [See Claim 7 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 14. Kim discloses computer-implemented method for communication by an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless network, comprising [Figs. 2, 4, Sections 0028, 0042: The elements described in the disclosed embodiments may be implemented and configured by computer. In embodiment, STA-210 and AP-260 may be a multi-link device (MLD), that is a device capable of operating over multiple links as defined by the IEEE 802.11 standard]:
establishing a plurality of links [Section 0056: Links 1-3 are established with different parameters], including a first link between a first station (STA) affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a first AP affiliated with an AP MLD, and a second link between a second STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a second AP affiliated with the AP MLD [Figs. 4, 12, Sections 0052, 0054, 0130: An MLD is an entity managing communication over multiple links; and have more than one affiliated stations (STAs); An MLD may be a non-AP MLD/STA MLD. TWT operation in a multi-link environment including AP multi-link device (AP MLD) and a STA multi-link device (STA MLD); the AP MLD have three affiliated APs, STA MLD have three affiliated STAs; and communicatively coupled via a first link (link-1), a second link (link-2), and a third link (link-3). In an example, APs (i.e. first and second APs) may be communicatively coupled via a first link-1210 and a second link-1212 with STAs (i.e. first and second STAs)];
transmitting, to the first AP on the first link, a request frame to request setup of one or more target wake time (TWT) schedules [Figs. 4-5, Sections 0043, 0055, 0059-0060: Target wake time (TWT), per IEEE 802.11ah standard, allows STAs to manage activity by scheduling to operate at different times. STA transmit a TWT request to AP (i.e. first AP) which include elements that indicate a respective link of links 1-3 and may request the setup of a TWT agreement for the indicated link. An APs and STAs use TWT element-500 to negotiate a TWT agreement in a management frame which may be an association request/response frame. The TWT schedule provided during a TWT setup phase signaled in management frame that carry TWT schedule/parameters],
wherein the request frame includes link identifier information that indicates the first link and the second link [Fig. 5, Sections 0055, 0059, 0129: The TWT request include TWT elements that indicate a respective link of links 1-3 and may request the setup of a TWT agreement. An APs and STAs use TWT element-500 to negotiate a TWT agreement in a management frame which may be an association request/response frame. Using one of the links, the STA MLD exchange TWT setup frames to setup one or more TWTs on one or more of the links; the STA MLD setup a first TWT and a second TWT on a first link and a second link, of the plurality of links and have TWT flow identifiers e.g., 1 and 2];
receiving, from the first AP on the first link, a response frame that accepts the request to setup the one or more TWT schedules[Section 0043], wherein the response frame includes the link identifier information that indicates the first link and the second link [Figs. 4-5, Sections 0055, 0132, 0134: In response to the TWT request, the AP (i.e. first AP) transmit TWT response that include TWT elements that indicate respective link of links 1-3 and include a value of ‘accept TWT’ in a TWT setup command field. In response to request frame, AP MLD transmit, via AP 1204-1, a response frame on first link; the response frame may be a TID-to-link mapping response frame include a second TID-to-link mapping that is different than the first TID-to-link mapping. In response to TWT setup request frame, AP transmit, a TWT setup response frame that may accept or modify and include a respective TWT flow identifier for each of the first and second TWTs (e.g., 1 and 2)];
transmitting, to the first AP, one or more frames based on a first TWT schedule [i.e. TWT SPs/first TWT SP/TWT on first link, Section 0046: The TWT responding STA/AP (see 0044) include the start time for a series of TWT SPs (service periods for traffic/data exchange between APs and STAs, see 0046-0047)]; and transmitting, to the second AP, one or more frames based on a second TWT schedule [Figs. 4-5, Sections 0121, 0130, 0142-0143, 0145: The TWT schedule include a start time of a first TWT SP and subsequent TWT SP; for example, include a first TWT SP and a second TWT SP. APs 1 and 2 coupled via first link and second link communicate with STA operating on frequency bans/channels. STA MLD transmits frame to AP MLD on first link at a start time of TWT SP. When other TWT SP starts, AP and STA MLD exchange data frame and buffered traffic on second link. The second TWT is on second link].
As to Claim 15. The computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein the request frame comprises a TWT element that includes the link identifier information and one or more TWT parameter sets that apply to the first link and the second link identified in the link identifier information [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 16. The computer-implemented method of claim 14, further comprising transmitting, to the first AP on the first link, a frame that indicates that the non-AP MLD supports a broadcast TWT operation including setting up the one or more TWT schedules on multiple links [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 17. The computer-implemented method of claim 14, further comprising receiving, from the first AP on the first link, a frame that indicates that the AP MLD supports a broadcast TWT operation including setting up the one or more TWT schedules on multiple links [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 18. The computer-implemented method of claim 14, further comprising determining that the first link and the second link are not disabled or restricted before transmitting, to the first AP on the first link, the request frame [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 19. The computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein the request frame comprises a TWT element that includes one or more TWT parameter sets, and the link identifier information is present in all the TWT parameter sets when an indication in the request frame indicating the presence of the link identifier information [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 20. The computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein the request frame includes the link identifier information that indicates a third link between a third STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a third AP affiliated with the AP MLD, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, to the third AP, one or more frames based on a third TWT schedule [See Claim 7 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kwon et al. US 20210144637 and Kwon et al. US 20210212156.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
September 3, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477