DETAILED ACTION
Application Priority
This application was filed on 10/29/2024.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18, are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed.
The rejection is as below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guthrie et al. (WO2007002897 A2).
Guthrie et al. teaches a pharmaceutical ingredient comprising a combination of polymethoxyflavones and phospholipids, wherein the combination of the polymethoxyflavones and the phospholipids is in the form of a matrix. (claim 1) Examples of naturally occurring polymethoxyflavones include, but are not limited to, nobiletin, tangeretin, 5-desmethylnobiletin (5-Hydroxy-6,7,8,3′,4′-pentamethoxyflavone), tetramethylscutellarein, and sinensetin. Phospholipids have many desirable health benefits. They are an excellent source of choline, inositol, and serine which prevent accumulation of fat in the liver, control nerve impulses, aid in memory function, and integrate electrical activity across the brain zones. They are also very high in linoleic acid, an essential fatty acid. Common types of phospholipids are phosphatidyl-choline (PC), -inositol (PI), -serine (PS) and -ethanolamine (PE). However, the term phospholipid, as used herein may comprise any species of lecithin including but not limited to modified, natural, synthetic, bleached, unbleached, powdered, granular, liquid, glycero-, lyso-, polyenyl PC, PPC components, and any enriched phospholipid compounds (reads on glycerophospholipid which broadly reads on a glyceride).
While Guthrie teaches polymethoxyflavones and the phospholipids in the form of a matrix, the reference fails to specify the lipid carrier on R5; nor does the reference specify the LogP value, or solubility, or oral bioavailability parameters of claims 3-4 and 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the polymethoxyflavones with the phospholipids. The motivation to use the polymethoxyflavones with the phospholipids is because Guthrie teaches polymethoxyflavones and the phospholipids in the form of a matrix and a major advantage to a lecithin phospholipid carrier is that it is known to increase the bioavailability of other lipid ingredients. A skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of successfully achieving increase bioavailability. It is the examiner's position that, obviously, the composition advanced by '897 has the LogP value, or solubility, or oral bioavailability parameters consistent with those enumerated in the instant claims set. Since the essential elements of the '897 composition are similar to the instant compositions (that is, comprising polymethoxyflavones and the phospholipids in the form of a matrix), the composition would obviously have the same physiochemical properties as the compositions set forth in the instant application. As such, it is the examiner's position that the composition advanced by '897 renders obvious the compositions enumerated in the instant claim set.
Claims 11-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guthrie et al. (WO2007002897 A2), as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view Miljkovic (WO 9938509 A1).
Guthrie et al. is as discussed above.
Guthrie et al. fails to teach a hydrophilic carrier, a solvent is an ester of glycerol, glycol, or fatty alcohol, and fatty acid having an HLB value of less than 5, bioavailability enhancer including ether of diethylene glycol.
Miljkovic teaches an isoflavanoid formulation comprising amphiphilic carrier comprises a glyceride and solvents comprising glycerol, polyglycerol, ethyl and diethyl ether of diethylene glycol. Amphiphilic carriers are particularly contemplated, including Gelucire-series, Labrafil, Labrasol, or Lauroglycol (all manufactured and distributed by Gattefosse Corporation, Saint Priest, France), PEG-mono-oleate, PEG-di-oleate, PEG-mono- laurate and di-laurate, Lecithin, Polysorbate 80, etc.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate a hydrophilic carrier, a solvent is an ester of glycerol, glycol, or fatty alcohol, and fatty acid having an HLB value of less than 5, bioavailability enhancer including oleyl alcohol, ether of diethylene glycol. The motivation to incorporate a hydrophilic carrier, a solvent is an ester of glycerol, glycol, or fatty alcohol, and fatty acid having an HLB value of less than 5, bioavailability enhancer including oleyl alcohol, ether of diethylene glycol is because Miljkovic teaches preferred amphiphilic carriers are generally those that have GRAS status, and that can both solubilize isoflavanoids and microemulsify them at a later stage when the isoflavanoid solution comes into a contact with a complex water phase (such as one found in human gastro-intestinal tract). Usually, amphiphilic ingredients that satisfy these requirements have HLB (hydrophilic to lipophilic balance) values of 2-20. Further, solvents are used in oral formulations, referred solvents are relatively non-toxic. A skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of successfully achieving solubilization. It is the examiner's position that, obviously, the composition having the same solvents, will promote lymphatic uptake as claimed.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guthrie et al. (WO2007002897 A2) in view of Miljkovic (WO 9938509 A1), as applied to claims 1-16 and 18 above, and further in view of Fatmi et al. (US 20150118298 A1).
Guthrie et al. and Miljkovic are as discussed above.
Guthrie et al. and Miljkovic fail to teach a bioavailability enhancer including oleyl alcohol.
Fatmi et al. is solely used for its teaching that emulsifying or solubilizing agents include acacia, cholesterol, diethanolamine, glyceryl monostearate, lanolin alcohols, lecithin, mono- and di-glycerides, monoethanolamines, oleic acids, oleyl alcohols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate bioavailability enhancer including oleyl alcohol. The motivation to incorporate a bioavailability enhancer including oleyl alcohol is because Fatmi teaches oleyl alcohols act as emulsifying or solubilizing agents. A skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of successfully achieving emulsification/solubilization.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622