Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 18/930,947 filed on October 29, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 29, 2024 and May 21, 2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority for foreign applications KR10-2023-0182374 and KR10-2024-0032836, filed on December 14, 2023 and March 07, 2024. Drawings
The drawings are objected to due to the following critiques:
With regard to Fig. 2: What is the x-axis? What is unit for the y-axis?
With regard to Fig. 10: What is Y axis? Does the unit (mA/mV) mean “mA or mV” OR “ratio of mA to mV”? Also, which line is representing current, and which is representing the voltage?
With regard to Fig. 11: Same as Figure 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20210126478 A1) in view of Cohen (US 10758100 B2), More (US 20120296511 A1) and Lee (US 20120116588 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses A cleaning robot configured to dock at a station, the cleaning robot comprising: a first charging terminal configured to charge a battery that powers the cleaning robot; (see at least [0133]; "The moving robot 11 may approach the charging station 20 in a state where the connector 12 faces the charging station 20, to allow the connector 12 to be docked to the terminal 25. A battery embedded in the moving robot 11 may be charged through the terminal 25 connected to the connector 12.") Park describes a charging terminal configured to charge a battery that powers the cleaning robot.
a first communication interface configured to communicate with the station; (see at least [0154]; "The communication unit 43 may communicate with the moving robot 11. That is, the moving robot 11 may have a communication unit 43 communicating with the communication unit 43 of the charging station 20.") Park describes a communication interface configured to communicate with the charging station.
a memory configured to store one or more instructions; and (see at least [0089]; "If all or part of the learning models are implemented in software, one or more instructions that constitute the learning model may be stored in memory") Park describes a memory configured to store instructions.
at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions to perform a plurality of operations comprising: (see at least [0076]; "To this end, the processor 180 may request, search, receive, or utilize data of the learning processor 130 or the memory 170. ") Park describes a processor configured to execute the instructions of the memory.
obtaining a heating value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal based on a voltage supplied from the station to the cleaning robot according to the charge command; and (see at least [00146]; " The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41. The fuse 41a may be configured to interrupt the current when a detected temperature of the temperature sensor 41b is higher than a preset temperature. As a result, the charging circuit 41 may be prevented from being overheated.") Park describes obtaining a heating value of the charging terminals, which may be based on voltage.
Park does not explicitly disclose a first voltage detection circuit configured to detect a voltage of the first charging terminal; detecting contact between the first charging terminal of the cleaning robot and a second charging terminal of the station through the first voltage detection circuit based on the cleaning robot docking at the station; transmitting a charge command to the station through the first communication interface based on detecting contact between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal; performing a re-docking operation after the cleaning robot moves away from the station by a predetermined distance based on determining that the obtained heating value exceeds a threshold heating value that is a criterion for overheating.
However, Cohen teaches a first voltage detection circuit configured to detect a voltage of the first charging terminal; (see at least [0063]; "A microprocessor that constantly monitors the voltage across the contacts 16 recognizes this lower voltage. This voltage divider creates a specific voltage, plus or minus a known tolerance. When the microprocessor determines that the voltage has fallen into the specific range, it detects that the robot 40 is present.") Cohen describes a voltage detection circuit configured to detect a voltage of the charging terminal.
detecting contact between the first charging terminal of the cleaning robot and a second charging terminal of the station through the first voltage detection circuit based on the cleaning robot docking at the station; (see at least [62]; "Once the robot 40 contacts the base station 10, it can recharge itself autonomously. Circuitry within the base station 10 detects the presence of the robot 40 and then switches on the charging voltage to its contacts 16. The robot 40 then detects the presence of the charging voltage and then switches on its internal transistor power switch to allow current flow into the battery. ") Cohen describes detecting contact between the charging terminal and charging station through the voltage detection circuit.
transmitting a charge command to the station through the first communication interface based on detecting contact between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal; (see at least [62]; "Once the robot 40 contacts the base station 10, it can recharge itself autonomously. Circuitry within the base station 10 detects the presence of the robot 40 and then switches on the charging voltage to its contacts 16. The robot 40 then detects the presence of the charging voltage and then switches on its internal transistor power switch to allow current flow into the battery. ") Cohen describes transmitting a charge command based on detecting contact between the charging terminal and charging stations contacts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Cohen which teaches detecting contact between the charging terminals an issuing a charge command in order to initiate charging of the battery once secure contact has been confirmed to allow recharging to begin as soon as possible.
Cohen does not explicitly disclose performing a re-docking operation after the cleaning robot moves away from the station by a predetermined distance based on determining that the obtained heating value exceeds a threshold heating value that is a criterion for overheating.
However, Lee teaches performing a re-docking operation (see at least [0029]; "The control of the movement of the robot based on the calculated distance may include performing docking of the robot with the charging station, judging whether or not docking succeeds, and performing re-docking of the robot with the charging station by controlling backward movement of the robot upon judging that docking fails.") Lee describes performing a re-docking operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Lee which teaches performing a re-docking operation in order for the robot to be able to create a secure contact for safe and effective charging to begin.
Lee does not explicitly disclose after the cleaning robot moves away from the station by a predetermined distance based on determining that the obtained heating value exceeds a threshold heating value that is a criterion for overheating.
More teaches after the cleaning robot moves away from the station by a predetermined distance based on determining that the obtained heating value exceeds a threshold heating value that is a criterion for overheating. (see at least [26]; "More specifically, if the robotic device is no longer receiving DC current from the charging station, it could believe that it is not longer docked with the charging station and attempt to re-dock by moving away from the charging station and then performing another docking procedure. The presence of the dock connection contact prevents this from occurring.") More discloses performing a re-docking operation based on the detected voltage, which could also be used to calculate heating value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Cohen which teaches interrupting the charging procedure once overheating has been detected in order to prevent damage to the robot or a fire occurring.
Regarding claim 3, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park does not explicitly teach The cleaning robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to determine that the first charging terminal of the cleaning robot and the second charging terminal of the station contact each other based on determining that a voltage value detected through the first voltage detection circuit is equal to or greater than a first threshold voltage value.
However, More teaches The cleaning robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to determine that the first charging terminal of the cleaning robot and the second charging terminal of the station contact each other based on determining that a voltage value detected through the first voltage detection circuit is equal to or greater than a first threshold voltage value. (see at least [24]; "With continued reference to FIG. 2C, the charging station 26 includes a docking detection device that detects when a robotic device 14 has successfully docked with the charging station. This detection device can be a resistance measuring device that detects the resistance of the robotic device battery (1 K-5 K ohms . . . typically 2 K ohms) after the robotic device connects with the charging station.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Cohen which teaches detecting the docking has occurred successfully based on voltage passing through in order to have a reliable method of determining correct docking to ensure safe and efficient charging occurs.
Regarding claim 5, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses obtain a difference between the first voltage value of the first charging terminal and the second voltage value of the second charging terminal as the voltage value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal. (see at least [0270]; "Referring to the signals 1710 to 1740 shown in FIG. 17, it can be ascertained that voltage waveforms with a difference of more than a certain value appear at the first position P1 and the second position P2 depending on the presence or absence of data. "
Park does not explicitly disclose The cleaning robot of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to measure a first voltage value of the first charging terminal through the first voltage detection circuit; receive information about a second voltage value of the second charging terminal from the station.
However, Cohen teaches The cleaning robot of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
measure a first voltage value of the first charging terminal through the first voltage detection circuit;(see at least [0063]; "A microprocessor that constantly monitors the voltage across the contacts 16 recognizes this lower voltage. This voltage divider creates a specific voltage, plus or minus a known tolerance. When the microprocessor determines that the voltage has fallen into the specific range, it detects that the robot 40 is present.") Cohen
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Cohen which teaches measuring a voltage of the first charging terminal, which is attached to the robot, to ensure the robot is terminal is not overheating.
Cohen fails to explicitly disclose receive information about a second voltage value of the second charging terminal from the station.
However, More teaches receive information about a second voltage value of the second charging terminal from the station; and (see at least 0026]; "Also connected o the docking connection contact is a voltage measuring device which measures the potential across the resistance. When the robotic device is docked with the charging station, the charging contact on the robotic device comes into contact with the charging contact on the charging station 27 and DC current is permitted to flow to the battery on the robotic device.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of More which teaches measuring a voltage of the charging terminal to ensure overheating does not occur.
Regarding claim 6, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses The cleaning robot of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to:
transmit a signal for requesting the second voltage value of the second charging terminal to the station based on determining that a voltage value detected through the first voltage detection circuit after transmitting the charge command is equal to or greater than a second threshold voltage value; and receive the information of the second voltage value of the second charging terminal from the station. (see at least [0268]; "In FIGS. 16 and 17, the first position P1 is a DC section with only the battery charging voltage, and the second location P2 is a DC & communication section with the battery charging voltage and communication signals.
[0269] In addition, FIG. 17 shows a signal 1710 that the docking station 40 intends to send to the mobile robot 100, a signal 1720 measured at the first location P1, a signal 1730 measured at the second location P2, and a signal 1740 modulated in the mobile robot as well.")
Regarding claim 7, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park does not explicitly disclose The cleaning robot of claim 6, wherein the second threshold voltage value is greater than a first threshold voltage value for detecting contact between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal.
However, Cohen teaches The cleaning robot of claim 6, wherein the second threshold voltage value is greater than a first threshold voltage value for detecting contact between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal. (see at least [67]; "If, however, the battery voltage is deemed less than 5 volts, it generally would not be desirable to allow the full current to flow to the battery on a continuous basis. The reason this condition is of concern lies in the fact that the power source within the DOC is a constant current charger, which will adjust its output voltage to be slightly higher than the battery voltage in order to flow 1.25 A into the battery. In some cases, this might be millivolts higher than the battery voltage itself and in the case of the battery at low voltage, for example, 3 volts, would cause the output voltage to drop below the necessary 5 volt level needed to operate the on board base station and robot electronics suite.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Cohen which teaches a threshold value for the charging terminal being larger than the threshold value for the first charging terminal because the charging station delivering the voltage to the battery would have a higher capacity than a battery operated robot, and the different in threshold accounts for the difference in functionality.
Regarding claim 9, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses The cleaning robot of claim 4, wherein the heating value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal varies according to a state of charge of the battery. (see at least [0153, 0146]; "The controller 42 may control the charging circuit 41 to perform charging by varying a charging current and a charging voltage according to a battery state of the moving robot… The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41")
Regarding claim 10, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses The cleaning robot of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to: obtain a first current value detected through a current detection circuit before charging starts after docking as the discharge current value of the battery; and obtain a second current value detected through the current detection circuit after the charging starts as the charge current value of the battery. (see at least [00098]; "The mobile robot 100 may further include a battery detection unit (not shown) that detects a charging state of the battery 210 and transmits the detection result to the control unit 150. The battery 210 is connected to the battery detection unit and the remaining battery capacity and charging state are transmitted to the control unit 150. The remaining battery capacity may be displayed on a display 182 of an output unit 180.")
Regarding claim 11, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses determining that the obtained heating value is equal to or lower than the threshold heating value. (see at least [00146]; " The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41. The fuse 41a may be configured to interrupt the current when a detected temperature of the temperature sensor 41b is higher than a preset temperature. As a result, the charging circuit 41 may be prevented from being overheated."
Park does not explicitly disclose The cleaning robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to transmit the charge command to the station through wireless communication at a predetermined time interval based on.
However, More teaches The cleaning robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to transmit the charge command to the station through wireless communication at a predetermined time interval based on (see at least [0034]; "This charging function operates in conjunction with the docking detector to apply DC current to the hot contact of the charging station a predetermined amount of time after the docking detector senses the battery load. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of More which teaches executing a charge command after a predetermined time interval in order to ensure the robot receives a charge in the event it’s docking is not sensed.
Regarding claim 12, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses A cordless vacuum cleaner configured to dock at a station, the cordless vacuum cleaner comprising:
a first charging terminal configured to charge a battery that powers the cordless vacuum cleaner; (see at least [0133]; "The moving robot 11 may approach the charging station 20 in a state where the connector 12 faces the charging station 20, to allow the connector 12 to be docked to the terminal 25. A battery embedded in the moving robot 11 may be charged through the terminal 25 connected to the connector 12.")
a first communication interface configured to communicate with the station; (see at least [0154]; "The communication unit 43 may communicate with the moving robot 11. That is, the moving robot 11 may have a communication unit 43 communicating with the communication unit 43 of the charging station 20.")
a memory configured to store one or more instructions; and (see at least [0089]; "If all or part of the learning models are implemented in software, one or more instructions that constitute the learning model may be stored in memory")
at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions to perform a plurality of operations comprising: (see at least [0076]; "To this end, the processor 180 may request, search, receive, or utilize data of the learning processor 130 or the memory 170. ")
obtaining a heating value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal based on a voltage supplied from the station to the cordless vacuum cleaner according to the charge command; and (see at least [00146]; " The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41. The fuse 41a may be configured to interrupt the current when a detected temperature of the temperature sensor 41b is higher than a preset temperature. As a result, the charging circuit 41 may be prevented from being overheated.")
performing an overheating prevention operation based on determining that the obtained heating value exceeds a threshold heating value that is a criterion for overheating. (see at least [00146]; " The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41. The fuse 41a may be configured to interrupt the current when a detected temperature of the temperature sensor 41b is higher than a preset temperature. As a result, the charging circuit 41 may be prevented from being overheated.")
Park does not explicitly disclose a first voltage detection circuit configured to detect a voltage of the first charging terminal; detecting contact between the first charging terminal of the cordless vacuum cleaner and a second charging terminal of the station through the first voltage detection circuit based on the cordless vacuum cleaner docking at the station; transmitting a charge command to the station through the first communication interface based on detecting contact between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal obtaining a heating value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal based on a voltage supplied from the station to the cordless vacuum cleaner according to the charge command; and performing an overheating prevention operation based on determining that the obtained heating value exceeds a threshold heating value that is a criterion for overheating.
However, Cohen teaches a first voltage detection circuit configured to detect a voltage of the first charging terminal; (see at least [0063]; "A microprocessor that constantly monitors the voltage across the contacts 16 recognizes this lower voltage. This voltage divider creates a specific voltage, plus or minus a known tolerance. When the microprocessor determines that the voltage has fallen into the specific range, it detects that the robot 40 is present.")
detecting contact between the first charging terminal of the cordless vacuum cleaner and a second charging terminal of the station through the first voltage detection circuit based on the cordless vacuum cleaner docking at the station; (see at least [62]; "Once the robot 40 contacts the base station 10, it can recharge itself autonomously. Circuitry within the base station 10 detects the presence of the robot 40 and then switches on the charging voltage to its contacts 16. The robot 40 then detects the presence of the charging voltage and then switches on its internal transistor power switch to allow current flow into the battery. ")
transmitting a charge command to the station through the first communication interface based on detecting contact between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal; (see at least [62]; "Once the robot 40 contacts the base station 10, it can recharge itself autonomously. Circuitry within the base station 10 detects the presence of the robot 40 and then switches on the charging voltage to its contacts 16. The robot 40 then detects the presence of the charging voltage and then switches on its internal transistor power switch to allow current flow into the battery. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Cohen which teaches detecting contact between the charging terminals an issuing a charge command in order to initiate charging of the battery once secure contact has been confirmed to allow recharging to begin as soon as possible.
Regarding claim 13, Park and Cohen, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses obtaining a heating value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal based on a voltage supplied from the station to charge a battery of the cleaning robot according to the charge command; (see at least [00146]; " The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41. The fuse 41a may be configured to interrupt the current when a detected temperature of the temperature sensor 41b is higher than a preset temperature. As a result, the charging circuit 41 may be prevented from being overheated.")
based on determining that the obtained heating value exceeds a threshold heating value that is a criterion for overheating. (see at least [00146]; " The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41. The fuse 41a may be configured to interrupt the current when a detected temperature of the temperature sensor 41b is higher than a preset temperature. As a result, the charging circuit 41 may be prevented from being overheated.")
Park does not explicitly disclose An overheating detection method of a cleaning robot at a station, the overheating detection method comprising: detecting contact between a first charging terminal of the cleaning robot and a second charging terminal of the station through a first voltage detection circuit of the cleaning robot based on the cleaning robot docking at the station transmitting a charge command to the station through a first communication interface of the cleaning robot based on detecting contact between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal; and performing a re-docking operation after the cleaning robot moves away from the station by a predetermined distance.
However, Cohen teaches An overheating detection method of a cleaning robot at a station, the overheating detection method comprising: detecting contact between a first charging terminal of the cleaning robot and a second charging terminal of the station through a first voltage detection circuit of the cleaning robot based on the cleaning robot docking at the station; (see at least [62]; "Once the robot 40 contacts the base station 10, it can recharge itself autonomously. Circuitry within the base station 10 detects the presence of the robot 40 and then switches on the charging voltage to its contacts 16. The robot 40 then detects the presence of the charging voltage and then switches on its internal transistor power switch to allow current flow into the battery. ")
transmitting a charge command to the station through a first communication interface of the cleaning robot based on detecting contact between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal; (see at least [62]; "Once the robot 40 contacts the base station 10, it can recharge itself autonomously. Circuitry within the base station 10 detects the presence of the robot 40 and then switches on the charging voltage to its contacts 16. The robot 40 then detects the presence of the charging voltage and then switches on its internal transistor power switch to allow current flow into the battery. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Cohen which teaches detecting contact between the charging terminals an issuing a charge command in order to initiate charging of the battery once secure contact has been confirmed to allow recharging to begin as soon as possible.
Cohen does not explicitly teach and performing a re-docking operation after the cleaning robot moves away from the station by a predetermined distance.
However, Lee teaches and performing a re-docking operation after the cleaning robot moves away from the station by a predetermined distance (see at least [0029]; " The control of the movement of the robot based on the calculated distance may include performing docking of the robot with the charging station, judging whether or not docking succeeds, and performing re-docking of the robot with the charging station by controlling backward movement of the robot upon judging that docking fails.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Lee which teaches performing a re-docking operation in order for the robot to be able to create a secure contact for safe and effective charging to begin.
Regarding claim 15, Park and Cohen, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses The overheating detection method of claim 13, wherein the detecting of the contact between the first charging terminal of the cleaning robot and the second charging terminal of the station comprises determining that the first charging terminal of the cleaning robot and the second charging terminal of the station contact each other based on determining that a voltage value detected through the first voltage detection circuit is equal to or greater than a first threshold voltage value. (see at least [0268]; "In FIGS. 16 and 17, the first position P1 is a DC section with only the battery charging voltage, and the second location P2 is a DC & communication section with the battery charging voltage and communication signals.
[0269] In addition, FIG. 17 shows a signal 1710 that the docking station 40 intends to send to the mobile robot 100, a signal 1720 measured at the first location P1, a signal 1730 measured at the second location P2, and a signal 1740 modulated in the mobile robot as well.")
Regarding claim 17, Park and Cohen, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses obtaining a difference between the first voltage value of the first charging terminal and the second voltage value of the second charging terminal as the voltage value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal. (see at least [0270]; "Referring to the signals 1710 to 1740 shown in FIG. 17, it can be ascertained that voltage waveforms with a difference of more than a certain value appear at the first position P1 and the second position P2 depending on the presence or absence of data. ")
Park does not explicitly disclose The overheating detection method of claim 16, wherein the obtaining of the heating value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal comprises: measuring a first voltage value of the first charging terminal through the first voltage detection circuit; receiving information about a second voltage value of the second charging terminal from the station;
However, Cohen teaches The overheating detection method of claim 16, wherein the obtaining of the heating value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal comprises:
measuring a first voltage value of the first charging terminal through the first voltage detection circuit; (see at least [0063]; "A microprocessor that constantly monitors the voltage across the contacts 16 recognizes this lower voltage. This voltage divider creates a specific voltage, plus or minus a known tolerance. When the microprocessor determines that the voltage has fallen into the specific range, it detects that the robot 40 is present.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Cohen which teaches measuring a voltage of the first charging terminal, which is attached to the robot, to ensure the robot is terminal is not overheating.
Cohen does not explicitly teach receiving information about a second voltage value of the second charging terminal from the station;
However, More teaches receiving information about a second voltage value of the second charging terminal from the station; and (see at least 0026]; "Also connected o the docking connection contact is a voltage measuring device which measures the potential across the resistance. When the robotic device is docked with the charging station, the charging contact on the robotic device comes into contact with the charging contact on the charging station 27 and DC current is permitted to flow to the battery on the robotic device.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of More which teaches receiving voltage information about the charging station to ensure it does not overheat.
Regarding claim 18, Park and Cohen, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses The overheating detection method of claim 17, wherein the receiving of the information about the second voltage value of the second charging terminal comprises:
transmitting a signal for requesting the second voltage value of the second charging terminal to the station based on determining that a voltage value detected through the first voltage detection circuit after transmitting the charge command is equal to or greater than a second threshold voltage value; and receiving the information about the second voltage value of the second charging terminal from the station, wherein the second threshold voltage value is greater than the first threshold voltage value for detecting contact between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal. (see at least [0268]; "In FIGS. 16 and 17, the first position P1 is a DC section with only the battery charging voltage, and the second location P2 is a DC & communication section with the battery charging voltage and communication signals. [0269] In addition, FIG. 17 shows a signal 1710 that the docking station 40 intends to send to the mobile robot 100, a signal 1720 measured at the first location P1, a signal 1730 measured at the second location P2, and a signal 1740 modulated in the mobile robot as well.")
Regarding claim 20, Park and Cohen, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses The overheating detection method of claim 16, further comprising: obtaining a first current value detected through a current detection circuit before charging starts after docking as the discharge current value of the battery; and obtaining a second current value detected through the current detection circuit after the charging starts as the charge current value of the battery.(see at least [00098]; "The mobile robot 100 may further include a battery detection unit (not shown) that detects a charging state of the battery 210 and transmits the detection result to the control unit 150. The battery 210 is connected to the battery detection unit and the remaining battery capacity and charging state are transmitted to the control unit 150. The remaining battery capacity may be displayed on a display 182 of an output unit 180.")
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20210126478 A1) in view of Cohen (US 10758100 B2), More (US 20120296511 A1) and Lee (US 20120116588 A1) in further view of Chae (US 20250260256 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses through a speaker of the cleaning robot or a user terminal connected through a server based on (see at least [0104, 0034, 0038]; "The output unit 180 may include an audio output unit 181 that outputs an audio signal. The audio output unit 181 may output warning sound, notification messages such as an operation mode, an operation status, and an error status, and the like through sound under the control of the control unit 150. The audio output unit 181 can convert an electrical signal from the control unit 150 into an audio signal and output the audio signal. To this end, a speaker and the like may be provided….the mobile robot may transmit the dust collection chamber emptying notification information to a predetermined server or a predetermined mobile terminal…Additionally, according to at least one of the embodiments of the present disclosure, it is possible to provide information related to the mobile robot and the docking station to a user through the mobile robot.")
determining that the obtained heating value exceeds the threshold heating value. (see at least [00146]; " The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41. The fuse 41a may be configured to interrupt the current when a detected temperature of the temperature sensor 41b is higher than a preset temperature. As a result, the charging circuit 41 may be prevented from being overheated.")
Park does not explicitly disclose The cleaning robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to output a notification indicating that re-docking is performed.
However, Chae teaches The cleaning robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to output a notification indicating that re-docking is performed (see at least 0168]; "When the docking status determination module 282 determines that the docking status of the water purification robot 100 is abnormal, the docking status determination module 282 generates a re-docking request signal to induce the water purification robot 100 and the docking unit 240 to be re-docked through the re-docking request module 284 and provides the generated re-docking request signal to the water purification robot 100.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Chae which teaches outputting a notification that re-docking is performed to notify those in the surrounding area in order to avoid a hazard such as stepping on the device.
Regarding claim 14, Park and Cohen, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses through a speaker of the cleaning robot or a user terminal connected through a server based on (see at least [0104, 0034, 0038]; "The output unit 180 may include an audio output unit 181 that outputs an audio signal. The audio output unit 181 may output warning sound, notification messages such as an operation mode, an operation status, and an error status, and the like through sound under the control of the control unit 150. The audio output unit 181 can convert an electrical signal from the control unit 150 into an audio signal and output the audio signal. To this end, a speaker and the like may be provided….the mobile robot may transmit the dust collection chamber emptying notification information to a predetermined server or a predetermined mobile terminal…Additionally, according to at least one of the embodiments of the present disclosure, it is possible to provide information related to the mobile robot and the docking station to a user through the mobile robot.")
determining that the obtained heating value exceeds the threshold heating value. (see at least [00146]; " The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41. The fuse 41a may be configured to interrupt the current when a detected temperature of the temperature sensor 41b is higher than a preset temperature. As a result, the charging circuit 41 may be prevented from being overheated.")
Park does not explicitly disclose The overheating detection method of claim 13, further comprising outputting a notification indicating that re-docking is performed.
However, Chae teaches The overheating detection method of claim 13, further comprising outputting a notification indicating that re-docking is performed (see at least 0168]; "When the docking status determination module 282 determines that the docking status of the water purification robot 100 is abnormal, the docking status determination module 282 generates a re-docking request signal to induce the water purification robot 100 and the docking unit 240 to be re-docked through the re-docking request module 284 and provides the generated re-docking request signal to the water purification robot 100.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Chae which teaches outputting a notification that re-docking is performed to notify those in the surrounding area in order to avoid a hazard such as stepping on the device.
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20210126478 A1) in view of Cohen (US 10758100 B2), More (US 20120296511 A1) and Lee (US 20120116588 A1) in further view of Itibashi (US 20180292462 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses The cleaning robot of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain a heating value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal by (see at least [00146]; " The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41.")
Park does not explicitly disclose multiplying a voltage value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal by a sum of a discharge current value of the battery and a charge current value of the battery.
However, Itibashi teaches multiplying a voltage value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal by a sum of a discharge current value of the battery and a charge current value of the battery. (see at least [0007]; "With the open circuit voltage estimation method, the open circuit voltage (OCV) is calculated as OCV=V+(I×R), where V is the measured terminal voltage, I is the measured charging/discharging current, and R is the estimated internal resistance. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Itibashi which teaches calculating values based on the discharge and voltage values to estimate the charge exertion of the battery and ensure it returns to the charging station without running out of charge.
Regarding claim 16, Park and Cohen, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, furthermore, Park discloses The overheating detection method of claim 13, wherein the obtaining of the heating value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal comprises obtaining the heating value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal by (see at least [00146]; " The temperature sensor 41b may detect a temperature of the charging circuit 41.")
Park does not explicitly teach multiplying a voltage value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal by a sum of a discharge current value of the battery and a charge current value of the battery.
However, Itibashi teaches multiplying a voltage value between the first charging terminal and the second charging terminal by a sum of a discharge current value of the battery and a charge current value of the battery. (see at least [0007]; "With the open circuit voltage estimation method, the open circuit voltage (OCV) is calculated as OCV=V+(I×R), where V is the measured terminal voltage, I is the measured charging/discharging current, and R is the estimated internal resistance. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Itibashi which teaches calculating values based on the discharge and voltage values to estimate the charge exertion of the battery and ensure it returns to the charging station without running out of charge.
Claim 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20210126478 A1) in view of Cohen (US 10758100 B2), More (US 20120296511 A1) and Lee (US 20120116588 A1) in further view of Lin (US 20180006504 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Park, Cohen, Lee and More, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Park does not explicitly teach The cleaning robot of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to transmit a signal for requesting the second voltage value of the second charging terminal to the station at a predetermined time interval.
However, Lin teaches The cleaning robot of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more instructions to transmit a signal for requesting the second voltage value of the second charging terminal to the station at a predetermined time interval. (see at least [0049]; "The second BLE measurement messages may be requests from the processor to the PRUs for electrical measurement data (e.g., voltage and/or current data). ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Lin which teaches requesting a measurement of a voltage value of the charging terminal to ensure it is within the appropriate range of values that won’t cause damage.
Regarding claim 19, Park and Cohen, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 12 as discussed above, furthermore, Park does not explicitly teach The overheating detection method of claim 18, wherein the transmitting of the signal for requesting the second voltage value of the second charging terminal to the station comprises transmitting a signal for requesting the second voltage value of the second charging terminal to the station at a predetermined time interval.
However, Lin teaches The overheating detection method of claim 18, wherein the transmitting of the signal for requesting the second voltage value of the second charging terminal to the station comprises transmitting a signal for requesting the second voltage value of the second charging terminal to the station at a predetermined time interval. (see at least [0049]; "The second BLE measurement messages may be requests from the processor to the PRUs for electrical measurement data (e.g., voltage and/or current data). ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate teachings of Lin which teaches requesting a measurement of a voltage value of the charging terminal to ensure it is within the appropriate range of values that won’t cause damage.
Conclusion
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664