Status of claims
Receipt is acknowledged of Claims, filed on 10/29/2024, which has been placed of record and entered in the file.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1-7 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of an Information Disclosure Statement, filed 10/29/2024, which has been placed of record in the file. An initialed, signed and dated copy of the PTO-1449 or PTO-SB-08 form is attached to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roehrig et al. (US 20110223434 A1), or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Roehrig et al. (US 20110223434 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Roehrig discloses a discloses a food packaging barrier film ([0047]), comprising:
a base film (110);
an inorganic laminated film (130) formed on a surface of the base film (110), wherein the inorganic laminated film (130) includes at least one first inorganic material deposition layer (134) and a second inorganic material deposition layer (136) stacked upon each other (Fig. 1), and
the at least one first inorganic material deposition layer (134) and the second inorganic material deposition layer (136) are formed in a same vacuum deposition process and in a vacuum condition ([0028]-[0029] via sputter deposition process in a vacuum chamber), and
wherein the at least one first inorganic material deposition layer and the second inorganic material deposition layer are respectively formed by different inorganic metal oxides in the same vacuum deposition process ([0022] “the first inorganic material is silicon oxide; and the second inorganic material is aluminum oxide” and [0026], [0031]; Fig. 2)
a barrier coating layer (150) formed on the inorganic laminated film (130), wherein the barrier coating layer (150) is formed by coating a barrier coating solution on the inorganic laminated film and then curing the barrier coating solution ([0033]-[0034]).
Wherein an argument is made that Roehrig the first and second inorganic material deposition layer are stacked upon each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first and second inorganic materials as discreet stacked layers as such configuration represent predictable variations of depositing multiple inorganic oxides in sequence in the same vacuum process, yielding the same barrier function and motivated by routine process optimization.
Additionally, this limitation is considered to be a product by process limitation. MPEP 2113 clearly states "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In this instance, the product taught by Roehrig, the barrier film (Fig. 1), is the same as the product claimed, meeting the limitation of Claim 1.
Roehrig further teaches:
Regarding claim 4, wherein the base film is a polyester film (110 of Roehrig; [0025], [0040]) and has a thickness that is within a range from 5 µm to 300 µm ([0025]; 0.01 to about 1mm falls within the range; see also [0041]),
wherein the at least one first inorganic material deposition layer has a thickness that is within a range from 1 nm to 100 nm ([0043]; “1 to 3nm”), and the second inorganic material deposition layer has a thickness that is within a range from 1 nm to 100 nm ([0042]; 35nm).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the inorganic metal oxides is at least one material selected from a group consisting of aluminum oxide and silicon oxide ([0020], [0022], [0026]), and wherein the at least one first inorganic material deposition layer is aluminum oxide deposition layer, and the second inorganic material deposition layer is silicon oxide deposition layer ([0022]).
Although Roehrig lists silicon oxide as first inorganic layer and aluminum oxide as second, reversing the order of known barrier oxides would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as both materials are known barrier oxides, and selection of which material is adjacent the substrate is a routine design choice.
Claims 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roehrig et al. (US 20110223434 A1) in view of Ettridge et al. (US 20180170017 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Roehrig teaches wherein a material hardness of the at least one first inorganic material deposition layer (134; Silicone oxide) is greater than a material hardness of the second inorganic material deposition layer (136; aluminum oxide layer; [0022], [0026] and [0033]; its also inherently known that silicone oxide is slightly harder than aluminum oxide in Mohs rating; also a gradient in composition between different oxide (silicone and aluminum) necessarily produces a gradient in mechanical properties, including hardness), but is silent with regards wherein, when the food packaging barrier film is bent, the second inorganic material deposition layer is configured to buffer a stress that is provided by the at least one first inorganic material deposition layer.
Ettridge teaches multilayer structures designed to maintain barrier properties after mechanical flexing i.e. bending (Gelbo test; [0012], [0019], [0045] and [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Roehrig inorganic layer to include regions of differing hardness such that a relatively more compliant second region buffers stress during bending, as taught by Ettridge to improve flex durability.
Regarding claim 3, Roehrig teaches the food packaging barrier film (Fig. 1), having a visible light transmittance that is not less than 90% ([0025]) but is silent regarding having an oxygen transmission rate that is no more than 1 cc/m2.day.atm, a water vapor transmission rate that is no more than 1 g/m2.day.atm, , and a haze value that is no more than 3%.
Ettridge teaches a packaging barrier film having an oxygen transmission rate that is no more than 1 cc/m2.day.atm ([0122]), a water vapor transmission rate that is no more than 1 g/m2.day.atm ([0045]-[0046]), , and a haze value that is no more than 3%.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roehrig packaging barrier film to include an oxygen transmission rate that is no more than 1 cc/m2.day.atm, a water vapor transmission rate that is no more than 1 g/m2.day.atm, as taught by Ettridge which constitute routine and predictable optimization of known barrier film parameters.
Ettridge further teaches (implied ≥90% transmittance, low haze for clear packaging; Examples; Table 1; Detailed Description: optically clear EVOH/PVOH layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roehrig as modified packaging barrier film to include a haze value that is no more than 3%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roehrig et al. (US 20110223434 A1) in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 6656602 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Roehrig discloses the barrier coating solution but is silent regarding contains a resin material, a crosslinking agent, filler particles treated with surface modification treatment agent, an additive, and a water solvent, and wherein based on a total weight of the barrier coating solution being 100 wt%, a content of the resin material is within a range from 2 wt% to 20 wt%, a content of the crosslinking agent is within a range from 1 wt% to 10 wt%, a content of the filler particles treated with the surface modification treatment agent is within a range from 0.05 wt% to 40 wt%, a content of the additive is within a range from 0.05 wt% to 10 wt%, and a content of the water solvent is within a range from 25 wt% to 85 wt%.
Ishikawa teaches a barrier coating solution contains a resin material (Col 1 lines 66 to Col 2 lines 1-2 and Col 3 lines 1-20), a crosslinking agent (Col 4 lines 1-30 and Col 7 lines 1-20), filler particles treated with surface modification treatment agent (Col 6 lines 45-60, Col 7 lines 1-15), an additive (Col 9 lines 1-25), and a water solvent (Col 8 lines 1-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roehrig coating solution to include the above materials, as taught by Ishikawa to improve to improve gas and barrier performance while maintaining flexibility (Col 1 lines 5-15 and Col 11 lines 20-35).
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roehrig barrier solution as modified to include the percentage weights of each material, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Adjusting components amounts within known ranges to obtain desired coating viscosity, barrier performance, and film formation would have been routine experimentation.
Claims 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roehrig et al. (US 20110223434 A1) in view of Ettridge et al. (US 20180170017 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Roehrig discloses a discloses a food packaging barrier film ([0047]), comprising:
a base film (110);
an inorganic laminated film (130) formed on a surface of the base film (110), wherein the inorganic laminated film (130) includes at least one first inorganic material deposition layer (134) and a second inorganic material deposition layer (136) stacked upon each other (Fig. 1), and
the at least one first inorganic material deposition layer and the second inorganic material deposition layer are respectively formed by different inorganic metal oxides ([0022] “the first inorganic material is silicon oxide; and the second inorganic material is aluminum oxide” and [0026], [0031]; Fig. 2), and
wherein a material hardness of the at least one first inorganic material deposition (134) layer is greater than a material hardness of the second inorganic material deposition layer (136; aluminum oxide layer; [0022], [0026] and [0033]; its also inherently known that silicone oxide is slightly harder than aluminum oxide in Mohs rating; also a gradient in composition between different oxide (silicone and aluminum) necessarily produces a gradient in mechanical properties, including hardness), and
a barrier coating layer (150) formed on the inorganic laminated film (130), wherein the barrier coating layer (150) is formed by coating a barrier coating solution on the inorganic laminated film and then curing the barrier coating solution ([0033]-[0034]);
Roehrig does not discloses wherein, when the food packaging barrier film is bent, the second inorganic material deposition layer is configured to buffer a stress that is provided by the at least one first inorganic material deposition layer.
but is silent with regards wherein, when the food packaging barrier film is bent, the second inorganic material deposition layer is configured to buffer a stress that is provided by the at least one first inorganic material deposition layer.
Ettridge teaches multilayer structures designed to maintain barrier properties after mechanical flexing i.e. bending (Gelbo test; [0012], [0019], [0045] and [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Roehrig inorganic layer to include regions of differing hardness such that a relatively more compliant second region buffers stress during bending, as taught by Ettridge to improve flex durability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References cited. The art cited is generally related to the field of a food packaging barrier film.
/NICHOLAS E IGBOKWE/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ANDREW M TECCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731