DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 12 and 14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,251,571 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach a device for applying electromagnetic energy to a body organ utilizing a biasing assembly for a plurality of illumination assemblies as further detailed below.
Claims 12 and 14 18/931,032
Claim 1 of US 12,251,571 B2
Claim 12: An apparatus for positioning over and applying electromagnetic energy to a body organ, the apparatus comprising:
A device for positioning over and applying electromagnetic energy to a body organ, the device comprising:
a substructure including two or more biasing assembly supports;
a dome forming a contoured shape, said dome including a plurality of dome openings, where an interior space of the contoured shape is adapted for placement over the body organ;
two or more biasing assemblies; two or more panel assemblies, each being coupled to a corresponding biasing assembly;
wherein the device further comprises a biasing element for each illumination assembly of said plurality of illumination assemblies, said biasing element being coupled between said optical assembly and a carriage of said illumination assembly, said biasing element configured to move said plurality of optical assemblies back to said first position,
and a plurality of illumination assemblies, at least one illumination assembly being coupled to each panel assembly, each illumination assembly including a light source,
a plurality of illumination assemblies each including an optical assembly having a proximal end optically coupled to a light source, a distal end configured to direct electromagnetic energy to the body organ, and a group of light guides therebetween, each of said illumination assemblies being coupled to said dome to allow said optical assembly to move freely through one of said dome openings;
wherein, in an assembled configuration and upon application of an external force, each of the two or more panel assemblies is adapted to move between a first position and a second position, each panel assembly moving in an independent direction with respect to each other panel assembly.
Claim 14: further comprising an actuator to apply the external force causing movement from the first position to the second position and/or to return from the second position to the first position.
and an actuator configured to move each optical assembly of said plurality of optical assemblies, upon activation, from a first position to a respective second position corresponding to a conformal arrangement around a body organ, and upon deactivation, to move said plurality of optical assemblies back to said first position;
and wherein the device further comprises a shell surrounding said dome and spaced apart from the same to form an interstitial space, and an interstitial reservoir disposed within said interstitial space, said interstitial reservoir configured to actuate said plurality of illumination assemblies by inflating the same, wherein upon deactivation, said interstitial reservoir deflates to allow said biasing element to move said plurality of optical assemblies back to said first position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jay (US 2005/0143792 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Jay discloses an apparatus for positioning over and applying electromagnetic energy to a body organ (e.g. Fig 3), the apparatus comprising: a substructure including two or more biasing assembly supports (e.g. [0057] interface element 52); two or more biasing assemblies (e.g. [0057] Pressure of topographical dermal features against the independently movable pins or plates during use of the light-pulse generating device causes the pins or plates to move in opposition to the respective spring bias, to thereby conform the tissue engaging surface of the light-pulse generating device to the skin surface under treatment. The independently movable pins or plates may be disposed in a holder or bracket attached to the housing or casing 30 and retained there by friction forces.); two or more panel assemblies, each being coupled to a corresponding biasing assembly (e.g. [0067]-[0070] 64/68); and a plurality of illumination assemblies, at least one illumination assembly being coupled to each panel assembly, each illumination assembly including a light source, wherein, in an assembled configuration and upon application of an external force, each of the two or more panel assemblies is adapted to move between a first position and a second position, each panel assembly moving in an independent direction with respect to each other panel assembly (e.g. [0057] Pressure of topographical dermal features against the independently movable pins or plates during use of the light-pulse generating device causes the pins or plates to move in opposition to the respective spring bias, to thereby conform the tissue engaging surface of the light-pulse generating device to the skin surface under treatment. The independently movable pins or plates may be disposed in a holder or bracket attached to the housing or casing 30 and retained there by friction forces).
Regarding claim 13, Jay discloses wherein each illumination assembly further comprises an optical assembly comprising a base including a lens formed therein (e.g. [0046]), and one or more light guides configured to direct light from the lens to the body organ (e.g. [0046]; [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jay in view of Kumpan-Bahrami (US 2020/0221994 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Jay is silent regarding further comprising an actuator to apply the external force causing movement from the first position to the second position and/or to return from the second position to the first position.
However, Kumpan-Bahrami discloses a system and method improving a cosmetic hair condition further comprising an actuator to apply the external force causing movement from the first position to the second position and/or to return from the second position to the first position (e.g. [0056]; [0162]-[0165] Fig 1F:110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Jay to incorporate the teachings of Kumpan-Bahrami of further comprising an actuator to apply the external force causing movement from the first position to the second position and/or to return from the second position to the first position for the purpose of utilizing a known system for controlling or regulating a hair treatment functionality (e.g. [0056]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
The prior art neither teaches nor suggest when taken as a whole an apparatus/helmet for positioning over and applying electromagnetic energy to a body organ/to the scalp including a substructure including two or more biasing assembly supports each including an upper and lower biasing arms, a slider body having a slider body upper and lower slot and slider body upper and lower pin, two or more panel assemblies couples to the biasing assemblies, and a plurality of illumination assemblies coupled to the panel assemblies wherein in the assembled configuration the panel assemblies are adapted to move between a first position and a second position upon application of an external force/actuator.
Conclusion
Jessandra Hough September 23, 2026
/J.F.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796