DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 10/09/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 10949774 and 12153939 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/09/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 10/09/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 8-13, 14-15, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1- 20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants state that “Cobb fails to disclose, teach, or suggest "collecting, by one or more computing devices, data representing a plurality of images of interfaces displayed by a device," where the device is configured to supervise content displayed to a user, as recited in claim 1”. The examiner disagrees. Cobb teaches collecting, by one or more computing devices (Fig 11, par 0024-0025), data representing a plurality of images of interfaces displayed by a device configured to supervise content displayed to a user (Figs 1 and 4-5, par 0022-0023, par 0026, par 0029-0031, par 0033, “First it starts with the user does a media filtered search 604. Then the search looks at all possible media entries 606. Next it asks does individual search item match search criteria 608. If not, then the routine goes back to step 606. If yes, then the process advances to determining does the individual media item have a version which is within the ratings filter 610. If no, then the process reverts to step 606. If yes, then the process adds media item to displayed results list 612. “, par 0039, “FIG. 8 illustrates a logic diagram 800 for another module of the system called a mobile content extraction routine 802. The function of this module or routine is to take the essence of a web page article 900 (see sample at FIG. 9), and display only the most salient pieces of information with a consistent user interface for better readability and faster article navigation (see 950 sample at FIG. 10) “….provide a parental control user interface to filter media content for the user (child) to watch and the displayed/collected contents (fig 9 as example) under the view by the parental control ).
Applicants state that “Cobb further fails to teach or suggest "generating, by the one or more computing devices, data representing a graphical user interface (GUI) for presentation to the content supervisor, the GUI indicating whether the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces displayed by the user device includes content of the type designated for identification," as recited in amended claim 1.” and “Tofighbakhsh further fails to teach or suggest "generating, by the one or more computing devices, data representing a graphical user interface (GUI) for presentation to the content supervisor, the GUI indicating whether the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces displayed by the user device includes content of the type designated for identification,” as recited in claim 1.”. The examiner disagrees. Cobb teaches generating, by the one or more computing devices, data representing a graphical user interface (GUI) for presentation to a display coupled to the one or more computing device (Fig 3, par 0025, “FIG. 3 illustrates a screen shot for the administrative ratings user interface 300. This is one of the screens a manager of the system 10 can access in order to help build a library of content ratings 302. See FIG. 11. This process could be done automatically by the system 10 by pulling the information from other sources and propagating the fields 308 that are seen in the interface 300. The library 302 may collect ratings from an existing provider 304 and build the library from pre-existing information. A manager of the system 10 may input other data 306 such as actor information, directors, movie rating, and more. Once the manager has propagated the fields 308, a submit button 310 is pressed to save the information to the server 30” ….obtain an administrative ratings user interface to allow parent to monitor the user’s activate), and Tofighbakhsh teaches the GUI indicating whether the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces displayed by the device include content of the type designated for identification (par 0010, “generating a group of control rules according to the target user profile and training a machine learning application according to the viewing history data and the group of control rules. Additional embodiments include receiving a first indication that a first media content is to be presented to a target user. Also, embodiments include determining by the machine learning application, that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules and providing a first notification that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules “, par 0022, par 0025, “ The system 100 can be configured such that in response to requesting media content from media content server 104, the media device 118 or media content server 104 can provide an indication, message, or otherwise notify to the video control node 102 that the child user via the media device 118 has requested media content. In further embodiments, the media device 118 may have a media content viewing application that can be used when the child user logs into the media device or the media content viewing application can be used with the child user's login credentials. After logging in, the media device 118 or the media content viewing application can be associated with the child user profile as well as the control rules for the child user profile and is in communication with video control node 102 when the media content is requested. Thus, the indication to the video control node 102 that media content is requested by the child user includes or directs the video control node 102 to the child user profile such that the video control node 102 can access the control rules associated with the child user profile. After receiving the indication of the media content request and accessing the control rules associated with the child user profile, the video control node 102 processes the media content using the machine learning application, as described herein, to determine that that the media content does not conform to the control rules associated with the child user profile (e.g. determining rating, using text, audio, image processing, etc.). In addition, the video control node 102 can send a notification to the media device 112 and/or media device 118 that the media content does not conform to the control rules. The notification can include the title or description of the requested media content and whether or not the media content conforms to parental control rules (in other embodiments, the video control node 102 can be configured to provide a notification to the parent user 114 via the media device 112 in every instance media content is requested/will be provided to the child user whether or not the requested or provided media content conforms to the control rules)”, Fig 3,par 0028, par 0030, par 0036-0037, par 0038-0042, “at 416, the video control node receiving a first indication that a first media content is to be presented to a target user. In some embodiments, the indication can be a notification, alert, message or signal. In other embodiments, the indication can be obtained from the media content server while in further embodiments the indication can be obtained from one or more media device associated with the child user. In addition, the method 400 can include, at 418, the video control node determining by the machine learning application, that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules. Also, the method 400 can include, at 420, that the video control node can include providing a first notification that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules. The first notification can be a message, alert, or signal. In some embodiments, the first notification can be sent to a media device associated to the child user and presented to the child user. In other embodiments, the video control node can provide the first notification to a communication device associated with a monitoring user. The communication device can be a media device and the monitoring user can be the parent user” ….generate user interface for parental control and provide a notification about the media content of user’s view (conform or not conform)).
Applicants state that “Tofighbakhsh fails to teach or suggest "determining, by the one or more computing devices, based at least in part on one or more machine learning (ML) models and the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces, whether the interfaces displayed by the user device include content of a type designated by a content supervisor of the user for identification," as recited in amended claim 1.”. The examiner disagrees. Tofighbakhsh teaches determining, by the one or more computing devices (Fig 1, par 0014), based at least in part on one or more machine learning (ML) models and the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces, whether the interfaces displayed by the user device include content of a type designated by a content supervisor of the user for identification (Fig 4, par 0010, par 0017, par 0021-0022, par 0024-0025, par 0027, par 0030, par 0032-0033, par 0038-0042, “the video control node 102 is provided an indication of the media content request to present the media content to the child user 120. Further, the video control node 102 determines using the machine learning application that the media content does not conform to the control rules. In some embodiments, a notification is sent to the media device 112 for the parent user 114 that the media content not conforming to the control rules may be presented to the child user 120. Further, the parent user 114 can send instructions to the video control node 102 via media device 112 to prevent presenting the media content to the child user 120 on the media device associated with the residence (e.g. a friend's house) …. the parent user 114 may provide instructions to the video control node to allow presenting the media content to the media device associated with the residence as an exception to the control rules”; “at 418, the video control node determining by the machine learning application, that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules. Also, the method 400 can include, at 420, that the video control node can include providing a first notification that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules” …..using machine learning to identify the type of media content to determine the media content based on type using control rule for user).
Applicants state that “Applicant contends that Cobb and Tofighbakhsh taken individually or in combination fail to teach or suggest the recited features of amended claims 1, 15, and 20. For at least the reasons discussed above, the proposed combination of the prior art references of Cobb and Tofighbakhsh is not sufficient to render the claims prima facie obvious. Since neither Cobb nor Tofighbakhsh teach or suggest each and every claim limitation recited in Applicant's claim 1, claim 15, and claim 20, Applicant respectfully requests the § 103 rejection of claims 1, 15, and 20 be withdrawn. Further, since claims 2-4, 6, and 8-12 depend directly or indirectly on claim 1, and claims 16-18 depend directly or indirectly on claim 15, the proposed combination of the prior art references of Cobb and Tofighbakhsh is not sufficient to render the claims 2-4, 6, 8-12, and 16-18 prima facie obvious, and Applicant respectfully requests the § 103 rejection of claims 2-4, 6, 8-12, and 16-18 be withdrawn”. The examiner disagrees. the prior art teach all the limitation of claims 1, 15, and 20 (Please review the Examiner’s analysis for the previous issue raised by Applicant) and the rejection of claims 1, 15, and 20 would be maintained. Same reason for dependent claims 2-4, 6, 8-12, and 16-18.
Applicants state that “Applicant contends that Cobb, Tofighbakhsh, and Maycock taken individually or in combination fail to teach or suggest the recited features of amended claims 1, 15, and 20. For at least the reasons discussed above, the proposed combination of the prior art references of Cobb, Tofighbakhsh, and Maycock is not sufficient to render the claims prima facie obvious. Since none of the references Cobb, Tofighbakhsh, and Maycock teach or suggest each and every claim limitation recited in Applicant's claim 1, claim 15, and claim 20, Applicant respectfully requests the § 103 rejection of claims 5, 7, 13, 14, and 19 dependent thereon be withdrawn. Since claims 5, 7, 13, 14 depend directly or indirectly on claim 1, and claim 19 depends directly or indirectly on claim 15, the proposed combination of the prior art references of Cobb, Tofighbakhsh, and Maycock is not sufficient to render the claims 5, 7, 13, 14, and 19 prima facie obvious, and Applicant respectfully requests the § 103 rejection of claims 5, 7, 13, 14, and 19 be withdrawn”. The examiner disagrees. the prior art teach all the limitation of claims 1, 15, and 20 (Please review the Examiner’s analysis for the previous issue raised by Applicant) and the rejection of claims 1, 15, and 20 would be maintained. Same reason for dependent claims 5, 7, 13, 14, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPubs 2015/0082335 to Cobb in view of U.S. PGPubs 2018/0352301 to Tofighbakhsh.
Regarding claim 1, Cobb teaches a method comprising (par 0018):
collecting, by one or more computing devices (Fig 11, par 0024-0025), data representing a plurality of images of interfaces displayed by a user device configured to supervise content displayed to a user (Figs 1 and 4-5, par 0022-0023, par 0026, par 0029-0031, par 0033, “First it starts with the user does a media filtered search 604. Then the search looks at all possible media entries 606. Next it asks does individual search item match search criteria 608. If not, then the routine goes back to step 606. If yes, then the process advances to determining does the individual media item have a version which is within the ratings filter 610. If no, then the process reverts to step 606. If yes, then the process adds media item to displayed results list 612. “, par 0039, “FIG. 8 illustrates a logic diagram 800 for another module of the system called a mobile content extraction routine 802. The function of this module or routine is to take the essence of a web page article 900 (see sample at FIG. 9), and display only the most salient pieces of information with a consistent user interface for better readability and faster article navigation (see 950 sample at FIG. 10) “….provide a parental control user interface to filter media content for the user (child) to watch and the displayed/collected contents (fig 9 as example) under the view by the parental control ); and
generating, by the one or more computing devices, data representing a graphical user interface (GUI) for presentation to a display coupled to the one or more computing device (Fig 3, par 0025, obtain an administrative ratings user interface to allow parent to monitor the user’s activate).
But Cobb does not explicitly teach determining, by the one or more computing devices, based at least in part on one or more machine learning (ML) models and the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces, whether the interfaces displayed by the user device include content of a type designated by a content supervisor of the user for identification; and the GUI indicating whether the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces displayed by the user device includes content of the type designated for identification.
In related endeavor, Tofighbakhsh teaches determining, by the one or more computing devices (Fig 1, par 0014), based at least in part on one or more machine learning (ML) models and the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces, whether the interfaces displayed by the user device include content of a type designated by a content supervisor of the user for identification (Fig 4, par 0010, par 0017, par 0021-0022, par 0024-0025, par 0027, par 0030, par 0032-0033, par 0038-0042, “the video control node 102 is provided an indication of the media content request to present the media content to the child user 120. Further, the video control node 102 determines using the machine learning application that the media content does not conform to the control rules. In some embodiments, a notification is sent to the media device 112 for the parent user 114 that the media content not conforming to the control rules may be presented to the child user 120. Further, the parent user 114 can send instructions to the video control node 102 via media device 112 to prevent presenting the media content to the child user 120 on the media device associated with the residence (e.g. a friend's house) …. the parent user 114 may provide instructions to the video control node to allow presenting the media content to the media device associated with the residence as an exception to the control rules”; “at 418, the video control node determining by the machine learning application, that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules. Also, the method 400 can include, at 420, that the video control node can include providing a first notification that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules” …..using machine learning to identify the type of media content to determine the media content based on type using control rule for user); and generating, by the one or more computing devices, data representing a graphical user interface (GUI) for presentation to a display coupled to the one or more computing device, the GUI indicating whether the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces displayed by the user device includes content of the type designated for identification (par 0010, “generating a group of control rules according to the target user profile and training a machine learning application according to the viewing history data and the group of control rules. Additional embodiments include receiving a first indication that a first media content is to be presented to a target user. Also, embodiments include determining by the machine learning application, that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules and providing a first notification that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules “, par 0022, par 0025, “ The system 100 can be configured such that in response to requesting media content from media content server 104, the media device 118 or media content server 104 can provide an indication, message, or otherwise notify to the video control node 102 that the child user via the media device 118 has requested media content. In further embodiments, the media device 118 may have a media content viewing application that can be used when the child user logs into the media device or the media content viewing application can be used with the child user's login credentials. After logging in, the media device 118 or the media content viewing application can be associated with the child user profile as well as the control rules for the child user profile and is in communication with video control node 102 when the media content is requested. Thus, the indication to the video control node 102 that media content is requested by the child user includes or directs the video control node 102 to the child user profile such that the video control node 102 can access the control rules associated with the child user profile. After receiving the indication of the media content request and accessing the control rules associated with the child user profile, the video control node 102 processes the media content using the machine learning application, as described herein, to determine that that the media content does not conform to the control rules associated with the child user profile (e.g. determining rating, using text, audio, image processing, etc.). In addition, the video control node 102 can send a notification to the media device 112 and/or media device 118 that the media content does not conform to the control rules. The notification can include the title or description of the requested media content and whether or not the media content conforms to parental control rules (in other embodiments, the video control node 102 can be configured to provide a notification to the parent user 114 via the media device 112 in every instance media content is requested/will be provided to the child user whether or not the requested or provided media content conforms to the control rules)”, Fig 3,par 0028, par 0030, par 0036-0037, par 0038-0042, “at 416, the video control node receiving a first indication that a first media content is to be presented to a target user. In some embodiments, the indication can be a notification, alert, message or signal. In other embodiments, the indication can be obtained from the media content server while in further embodiments the indication can be obtained from one or more media device associated with the child user. In addition, the method 400 can include, at 418, the video control node determining by the machine learning application, that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules. Also, the method 400 can include, at 420, that the video control node can include providing a first notification that the first media content does not conform to the group of control rules. The first notification can be a message, alert, or signal. In some embodiments, the first notification can be sent to a media device associated to the child user and presented to the child user. In other embodiments, the video control node can provide the first notification to a communication device associated with a monitoring user. The communication device can be a media device and the monitoring user can be the parent user” ….generate user interface for parental control and provide a notification about the media content of user’s view (conform or not conform)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Cobb to include determining, by the one or more computing devices, based at least in part on one or more machine learning (ML) models and the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces, whether the interfaces displayed by the user device include content of a type designated by a content supervisor of the user for identification; and the GUI indicating whether the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces displayed by the user device includes content of the type designated for identification as taught by Tofighbakhsh to use machine learning to determine parental controls rules to limit, filter, or control the viewing of media content by children.
Regarding claim 2, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and further teaches wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include sexually explicit imagery (Cobb: par 0018, par 0022-0023, par 0036-0038, “An exemplary embodiment of a parental controls system has an interface and provides a numeric rating to every media element in its content database for categories including, but not limited to, sex, language, violence, drugs, nudity and other parameters”; Tofighbakhsh: par 0016, par 0021-0022, “the machine learning application determines that the media content does not conform to the group of control rules according to the image content analysis. That is the image content analysis identifies offensive visual material (e.g. sex, violence, etc.)”).
Regarding claim 3, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and further teach wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include sexually explicit imagery of the user (Cobb: par 0018, par 0022-0023, par 0036-0038, “An exemplary embodiment of a parental controls system has an interface and provides a numeric rating to every media element in its content database for categories including, but not limited to, sex, language, violence, drugs, nudity and other parameters”; Tofighbakhsh: par 0016, par 0021-0022, “the machine learning application determines that the media content does not conform to the group of control rules according to the image content analysis. That is the image content analysis identifies offensive visual material (e.g. sex, violence, etc.)”), but do not describe wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include sexually explicit imagery of the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include sexually explicit imagery of the user with in Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh’s teaching, as Applicant has not disclosed that wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include sexually explicit imagery of the user provides an advantage, solves any stated problem, or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the system would perform equally well without wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include sexually explicit imagery of the user illustrated in par 0018, par 0022-0023, par 0036-0038, of Cobb. Accordingly, the use of at the end of said video conference is considered a design consideration that fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh.
Regarding claim 4, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and further teaches wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include imagery depicting violence (Cobb: par 0018, par 0022-0023, par 0036-0038, “An exemplary embodiment of a parental controls system has an interface and provides a numeric rating to every media element in its content database for categories including, but not limited to, sex, language, violence, drugs, nudity and other parameters”; Tofighbakhsh: par 0016, par 0021-0022, “the machine learning application determines that the media content does not conform to the group of control rules offensive visual material (e.g. sex, violence, etc.)”).
Regarding claim 6, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and further teaches wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include social-media content (Cobb: par 0050, “The user will have the ability to share ratings, parental control settings and edited material with social media and within the media manager user community”).
Regarding claim 8, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and further teaches collecting the data representing the plurality of images of the interfaces comprises collecting, by the user device, the data representing the plurality of images of the interfaces (Cobb: Fig 1, par 0022, “This is the user interface a parent, guardian, or other may use which provides the ability to edit a filter for preferred search results. The parental controls user interface 100 is provided with a list of the multiple rating categories with a range from low to high, which could correlate to a mature to family-friendly scale. The rating filter can be used by many people including a parent, or for a linked user like a child, in order to establish different allowed results. The interface 100 includes rating categories 102 such as sex, language, violence, drugs, nudity, and others. A rating bar 104 is provided which can correlate to known rating categories 106 such a NR, R, PG-13, PG, TVG and more”); determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining, by the user device, whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification (Tofighbakhsh: par 0015, “functions of the video control node 102 can be contained in one computing device or distributed among several computing devices. Further, some or all of the video control functions can be integrated into any of the media content server 104 and media devices 112, 118. Further, functions of the media content server 104 can be in one computing device or distributed over several computing devices. Functions of the video control function 102 can be integrated in any or all of such media content servers”; par 0017, par 0021, par 0027, “the video control node 102 can train a machine learning application (e.g. software) according to the viewing history data and group of control rules as well as additional user input from the parent user 114 or child user 120. A trained machine learning application can be used to limit, filter or otherwise control the media content viewed by the child user 120 on the media device 118” …function of the video control node could be in server, users device to identify the type of content); generating the data representing the GUI for presentation to display coupled to the one or more computing device comprises generating, by a computing device physically distinct and remotely located from the user device, the data representing the GUI for presentation to the display coupled to the one or more computing devices (Cobb: Fig 3, par 0025, “FIG. 3 illustrates a screen shot for the administrative ratings user interface 300. This is one of the screens a manager of the system 10 can access in order to help build a library of content ratings 302. See FIG. 11. This process could be done automatically by the system 10 by pulling the information from other sources and propagating the fields 308 that are seen in the interface 300” …. generate an administrative ratings user interface in server side to allow parent to monitor the user’s activate); and the method further comprises communicating, by the user device, to the computing device physically distinct and remotely located from the user device, and coupled to the user device via one or more networks, data indicating whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification (Cobb: Fig 11, par 0024-0025, “FIG. 2 depicts a main user interface 200 that is accessed via the internet by a user. This allows the system 10 to be accessed remotely and from anywhere as long as the internet 20 is available. The main user interface 200 can be on a network based platform and is the primary interface consumers drive through to access the system 10. See FIG. 11. A server 30 has a CPU and memory and hosts the program 40 which drives the system 10. The interface 200 includes categories 202 (FIG. 2) of content such as new releases, drama, family, and others, for the consumer to choose from. Thus, a library 204 of content can be built within the system 10 and saved on the server 30 or accessed via the internet 20”; Tofighbakhsh: Fig 3, par 0037, server and client based network).
Regarding claim 9, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and further teaches collecting the data representing the plurality of images of the interfaces comprises generating, by the user device, the collected data representing the plurality of images of the interfaces (Cobb: Fig 1, par 0022, “This is the user interface a parent, guardian, or other may use which provides the ability to edit a filter for preferred search results. The parental controls user interface 100 is provided with a list of the multiple rating categories with a range from low to high, which could correlate to a mature to family-friendly scale. The rating filter can be used by many people including a parent, or for a linked user like a child, in order to establish different allowed results. The interface 100 includes rating categories 102 such as sex, language, violence, drugs, nudity, and others. A rating bar 104 is provided which can correlate to known rating categories 106 such a NR, R, PG-13, PG, TVG and more”); determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining, by a computing device physically distinct and remotely located from the user device, whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification (Cobb: Fig 11, par 0025-0032, “The media manager module 400 acts as an optional search engine tool that allows the user to search for video, audio, text, images and interactive software ("Content") using the Web, media appliance (TV, radio), mobile devices or other digital technology. The media manager and search engine could adopt and add the rating and filtering system to its function” ….a media manger module in the server to perform the filtering function for display content ); and the method further comprises communicating, by the user device, to the computing device physically distinct and remotely located from the user device, and couple to the user device via one or more networks, the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces displayed by the user device (Cobb:: Fig 11, par 0024-0025, “FIG. 2 depicts a main user interface 200 that is accessed via the internet by a user. This allows the system 10 to be accessed remotely and from anywhere as long as the internet 20 is available. The main user interface 200 can be on a network based platform and is the primary interface consumers drive through to access the system 10. See FIG. 11. A server 30 has a CPU and memory and hosts the program 40 which drives the system 10. The interface 200 includes categories 202 (FIG. 2) of content such as new releases, drama, family, and others, for the consumer to choose from. Thus, a library 204 of content can be built within the system 10 and saved on the server 30 or accessed via the internet 20”; Tofighbakhsh: Fig 3, par 0037, server and client based network).
Regarding claim 10, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and Tofighbakhsh further teaches comprising: receiving, by the one or more computing devices, feedback data generated based at least in part on input provided by a content supervisor via the GUI confirming whether the collected data representing the plurality of images of interfaces displayed by the user device includes content of the type designated for identification; and updating, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the feedback data, the one or more ML models (Figs 4A-4B, par 0022, par 0039-0042, “at 434, the video control node receive an indication that second media content is to be presented to the target user (i.e. on a media device associated with the target user). Further, the method 400 can include, at 436, the video control node determining by the machine learning application, that the second media content does conform to the group of control rules. In addition, the method 400 can include, at 438, the video control node providing another notification that the second media content does conform to the group of control rules. This notification, as other with indications or notification, described herein, can be a message, alert, or signal. Also, the notification can be sent to a monitoring user. The video control node can receive user-generated input from the monitoring user to prevent presenting the second media content. Thus, the method 400 can include, at 440, the video control node preventing presentation of the second media content on a media device associated with the target user. This can include sending instructions to either a media content server or the media device associated with the target user to prevent presentation of the second media content. In addition, the video control node can receive an indication that the second media content was not presented on the media device associated with the target user. Also, the method 400 can include, at 442, the video control node retraining the machine learning application according to the second media content not conforming to the group of control rules. Thus, in the future, the video control will be able to determine that the same or similar media content does not confirm to the control rules and can prevent presentation of the media content, accordingly.” ….receive input from user and monitor user to retraining machine model).
Regarding claim 11, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, and further teaches comprising determining, by the one or more computing devices and based at least in part on the one or more ML models, one or more bounded regions within the interfaces displayed by the user device that include content of the type designated for identification (Cobb: Fig 1, par 0022-0023, par 0026, par 0029-0031, provide a parental control user interface with range; Tofighbakhsh: Fig 4, par 0010, par 0017, par 0020-0022, par 0024-0027, par 0030, par 0032-0033, par 0038-0042, using machine learning to identify the type of media content to determine the media content based on type using control rule with rating).
Regarding claim 12, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 11, and Cobb further teaches wherein generating the data representing the GUI comprises generating data identifying the one or more bounded regions within the interfaces displayed by the user device that include content of the type designated for identification (Fig 1, par 0022-0023, par 0026, par 0029-0031, provide a parental control user interface with range).
Regarding claim 15, Cobb teaches a system comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the system to perform operations (par 0024) and Tofighbakhsh further teach wherein the one or more interfaces include at least one interface selected from the group consisting of a chat interface, a browser interface, and an application interface (Figs 2-3, par 0035-0037, “the video control node 102 can detect that the child user 120 is interacting with a stranger in a chat room, online forum, electronic game, or any other online environment via media device 118. That is, the video control node 102 can be provisioned with user handles and user names of friends and family that the child user 120 is allowed to interact in an online environment and generates control rules accordingly …..the media content is provided to the media device 206 from the computer server 208 over communication network 210 and can be presented in the primary window 202 of the display for media device 206. Further, the video control node can identify one or more distraction media content to provide to the media device 206 …. A child user can select (e.g. click, etc.) a link, trailer, or advertisement to one of the distraction media content to present the on the primary window 202. …. The parent user via the media device 308 provides instructions to the computer server 304 over the communication network 306 to present the requested media content to the media device 302 for the user but also to provide the requested media content to be presented to the media device 308 for the parent user so that the parent user can monitor the requested media content accordingly. The requested media content can be presented on the display window of the media device 302 for the child user. Further, the requested media content can be presented to the monitoring window 312 of the media device 308 for the parent user. This allows the parent user to conduct other tasks in the primary window of the media device 308. In some embodiments, the requested media content is presented on media device 302 with a time delay with respect to its presentation on media device 308. This allows for the parent user to view a scene of the media content prior to the scene to be presented to the child user”). The remaining limitations of the claim are similar in scope to claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 16-18, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 15, the claims 16-18 are similar in scope to claims 10-12 and are rejected under the same rational.
Regarding claim 20, Cobb teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that when executed by one or more computing devices cause the one or more computing devices to perform operations (par 0024, par 0026). The remaining limitations of the claim are similar in scope to claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5, 7, 13-14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPubs 2015/0082335 to Cobb in view of U.S. PGPubs 2018/0352301 to Tofighbakhsh, further in view of U.S. PGPubs 2018/0349502 to Maycock.
Regarding claim 5, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, but keeps silent for teaching wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include imagery associated with gambling.
In related endeavor, Maycock teaches wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include imagery associated with gambling (par 0215).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh to include wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include imagery associated with gambling as taught by Maycock to provide more limited area such as gambling, social media, bullying over internet to filter and parental control methods for restricting visual activity.
Regarding claim 7, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, but keeps silent for teaching wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include content associated with at least one of bullying, suicidal ideation, or psychological concerns.
In related endeavor, Maycock teaches wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include content associated with at least one of bullying, suicidal ideation, or psychological concerns (par 0018, par 0049, claim 8, “Filter module 16 may use object recognition to identify objects in an image, video, graphic, or other object. In another example, filter module 16 may use speech and language recognition and interpretation to determine if the communication is likely a gambling context, dangerous, threatening, harassing, indecent, etc. As with other examples, the context, terms, and patterns may likely relate or be common to a specific type of content (i.e. gambling, predatory, pedophilia, bullying, drug solicitation, suicide, mental health, inappropriate, sex trafficking, sex, nudity, prostitution, drugs, harassing, etc.)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh to include wherein determining whether the interfaces include content of the type designated for identification comprises determining whether the interfaces include content associated with at least one of bullying, suicidal ideation, or psychological concerns as taught by Maycock to provide more limited area such as gambling, social media, bullying over internet to filter and parental control methods for restricting visual activity.
Regarding claim 13, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 11, and further teaches comprising determining, by the one or more computing devices, based at least in part on the one or more ML models, and for each bounded region of the one or more bounded regions within the interfaces, a value representing a likelihood that the bounded region includes content of the type designated for identification (Cobb: Fig 1, par 0022-0023, par 0026, par 0029-0031, provide a parental control user interface with range; Tofighbakhsh: Fig 4, par 0010, par 0017, par 0020-0022, par 0024-0027, par 0030, par 0032-0033, par 0038-0042, using machine learning to identify the type of media content to determine the media content based on type using control rule with rating), but keeps silent for teaching determining a value representing a likelihood that the bounded region includes content of the type designated for identification
In related endeavor, Maycock teaches comprising determining, by the one or more computing devices, based at least in part on the one or more ML models, and for each bounded region of the one or more bounded regions within the interfaces, a value representing a likelihood that the bounded region includes content of the type designated for identification (par 0021, par 0031, par 0049-0053, par 0055-0060, par 0080, par 0086-0087, “determining the filtered content is based on a threshold that may be based on a predetermined value. Preference determination module 12 may set the value. The value may be a specific numerical value based on the weighted probability. The threshold may be based on a percentage of the weighted probability. Alternatively, the threshold may be a specific number of the "top" weighted probability values, for example, so the top three weighted probability values are selected. In another example, selecting the object may be based on weighted probability by comparing a degree of similarity between the content identifiers the object and one or more characteristics associated with the respective application. When the weighted probability is greater than the threshold, computing device 10 selects the respective object for filtering, refraining from including the object in the output at the graphical user interface. When the weighted probability is not greater than the predetermined value, computing device 10 may select the respective object for output at the graphical user interface“ ….using machine technique to determine the weighted probability for each of the filters to filter the received content based on weighted probability value to determine the content type with a threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh to include determining a value representing a likelihood that the bounded region includes content of the type designated for identification as taught by Maycock to provide more limited area such as gambling, social media, bullying over internet to filter and parental control methods for restricting visual activity.
Regarding claim 14, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 1, the claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 11+12+13 and is rejected under the same rational.
Regarding claim 19, Cobb as modified by Tofighbakhsh teaches all the limitation of claim 17, the claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 13 and is rejected under the same rational.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JIN . GE
Examiner
Art Unit 2619
/JIN GE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619