DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed 30 October 2024. Claims 1-8 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2024-013988, filed on 01 February 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 October 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98. Accordingly, the IDS was considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a control command unit in Claims 1 and 7;
The structure of the control command unit is a processor (see para 0015 of the specification).
an information acquisition unit in Claims 1 and 7;
The structure of the information acquisition unit is a processor (see para 0015, para 0019 of the specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the first information about a failure of the stop assembly at the second stop target position is acquired”, while claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, recites “the first information about a failure of the stop assembly at the first stop target position is acquired”. It is not clear if “the first information” recited in claim 2 is the same “information” as “the first information” recited in claim 1 or is a different information. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The claim is interpreted by the examiner as “a second information about a failure of the stop assembly at the second stop target position is acquired” for the purpose of examination.
Claim 3 recites “the first information about a success of the stop assembly at the second stop target position is acquired” while claim 1, from which claim 3 depends, recites “the first information about a failure of the stop assembly at the first stop target position is acquired”. It is not clear if “the first information” recited in claim 3 is the same “information” as “the first information” recited in claim 1 or is a different information. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The claim is interpreted by the examiner as “a second information about a success of the stop assembly at the second stop target position is acquired” for the purpose of examination.
Claim 5 recites “the component has been retracted to a position at which the component is not in contact with the mobile body at a time point before movement of the mobile body to the second stop target position is started” which is ambiguous. It is not clear “at a time point before movement of the mobile body to the second stop target position is started” is limiting “retracted” OR “not in contact”. The claim is interpreted by the examiner as “the component has been retracted to a position, at the position, the component is not in contact with the mobile body at a time point before movement of the mobile body to the second stop target position is started” (i.e. “at a time point before…” is a timing for “not in contact”) for the purpose of examination.
Claim 6 recites “the component has been retracted to a position at which the component is not in contact with the mobile body while the mobile body is moving to the second stop target position” which is ambiguous. It is not clear “while the mobile body is moving…” is limiting “retracted” OR “not in contact”. The claim is interpreted by the examiner as “the component has been retracted to a position, at the position, the component is not in contact with the mobile body while the mobile body is moving to the second stop target position” (i.e. “when…” is a timing for “not in contact”) for the purpose of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaphengst (US20230145508).
As to claims 1, 7 and 8, Kaphengst teaches a control device, a system and a control method that controls assembly of a component to a mobile body that is able to travel through unattended driving in a process of manufacturing the mobile body (Kaphengst para 0004: …a partially assembled vehicle that autonomously transports itself through its own assembly process…; para 0034-0036, para 0041), the control device comprising:
a control command unit that instructs the mobile body to stop at a first stop target position at which stop assembly is to be executed, the stop assembly being assembly of the component to the mobile body that has been stopped (Kaphengst para 0043: …the central platform controller 108 is configured to adapt to each new assembly component and integrate a variety of additional vehicle components, as added at one or more assembly stations…; para 0057-0058: …the controller circuit 104 commands the drive systems 106 to propel and steer ( e.g., via path 208) the partially assembled vehicle 100 through the sequence of the plurality of assembly stations…At each assembly station, an assembly associated with the assembly station is performed… ); and
an information acquisition unit that acquires first information as information about whether the stop assembly is successful (Kaphengst para 00058-0059: Upon detection of completion of the assembly, the controller circuit 104 runs a respective in-station diagnostic (test) to determine whether the assembly was a pass (a success) or a failure, also see para 0068, Fig. 3), wherein
the control command unit further instructs the mobile body to move to a second stop target position at which the stop assembly is to be executed again, when the first information about a failure of the stop assembly at the first stop target position is acquired (Kaphengst para 0058-0059: … responsive to a fail at an assembly station, the controller circuit 104 may modify or interrupt the sequence, such as, to proceed to a repair station 202…the external fleet control source 150 may override the constructed sequence to take the partially assembled vehicle 100 to a designated repair station… swapping out old revisions of a vehicle component…).
As to claim 2, Kaphengst teaches the control device according to claim 1, wherein
when the first information about a failure of the stop assembly at the second stop target position is acquired, the control command unit executes at least one of:
instructing the mobile body to continue a stopped state;
instructing a following mobile body as another mobile body traveling following the mobile body to decelerate or stop; and
notifying an administrator of the failure of the stop assembly at the second stop target position (Kaphengst para 0005:…the assembly associated with the assembly station is incomplete upon failing the respective in-station diagnostic test; alerting the external fleet control source to an incomplete assembly…,also see claim 2).
As to claim 4, Kaphengst teaches the control device according to claim 1, wherein
the second stop target position is specified using second information as information about a position at which an assembly device that executes the stop assembly attempted the stop assembly at the first stop target position (Kaphengst para 0059-0060: the external fleet control source 150 may override the constructed sequence to take the partially assembled vehicle 100 to a designated repair station. Examples of this scenario may include swapping out old revisions of a vehicle component…there will likely be many more assembly stations and multiple repair stations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaphengst in view of Nakagawa (US5509190).
As to claim 3, Kaphengst teaches the control device according to claim 1.
Kaphengst does not teach when the first information about a success of the stop assembly at the second stop target position is acquired, the control command unit instructs a following mobile body as another mobile body traveling following the mobile body to stop at the second stop target position.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakagawa teaches a wheel kick-out mechanism 250 is provided ahead of the truck 100. The wheel kick-out mechanism 250 is provided for receiving the wheel 8 which has been failed to be mounted by the wheel mounting mechanism 170, from the wheel mounting mechanism 170 and for bringing out the received wheel 8 to the back-up station… (see at least Nakagawa col 11, lines 45-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kaphengst so as to include when the first information about a success of the stop assembly at the second stop target position is acquired, the control command unit instructs a following mobile body as another mobile body traveling following the mobile body to stop at the second stop target position in view of Nakagawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that when the wheels failed to be mounted by the wheel mounting mechanism, bringing out the received wheel 8 to the back-up station of Nakagawa can be used in Kaphengst, as required by the claim. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Kaphengst and Nakagawa because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing a more reliable assembly system with a back-up station so that the vehicle production will not be affected when one of the assembly station fails.
As to claim 5, Kaphengst teaches the control device according to claim 1.
Nakagawa further teaches the component has been retracted to a position at which the component is not in contact with the mobile body at a time point before movement of the mobile body to the second stop target position is started (Nakagawa col 11, lines 45-60: …the wheel kick-out mechanism 250 is provided for receiving the wheel 8 which has been failed to be mounted by the wheel mounting mechanism 170, from the wheel mounting mechanism 170 and for bringing out the received wheel 8 to the back-up station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kaphengst so as to include the component has been retracted to a position at which the component is not in contact with the mobile body at a time point before movement of the mobile body to the second stop target position is started in view of Nakagawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Kaphengst and Nakagawa because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing a more reliable assembly system with a back-up station so that the vehicle production will not be affected when one of the assembly station fails.
As to claim 6, Kaphengst teaches the control device according to claim 1.
Nakagawa further teaches the component has been retracted to a position at which the component is not in contact with the mobile body while the mobile body is moving to the second stop target position (Nakagawa col 11, lines 45-60: …the wheel kick-out mechanism 250 is provided for receiving the wheel 8 which has been failed to be mounted by the wheel mounting mechanism 170, from the wheel mounting mechanism 170 and for bringing out the received wheel 8 to the back-up station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kaphengst so as to include the component has been retracted to a position at which the component is not in contact with the mobile body while the mobile body is moving to the second stop target position in view of Nakagawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Kaphengst and Nakagawa because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing a more reliable assembly system with a back-up station so that the vehicle production will not be affected when one of the assembly station fails.
Examiner’s Notes
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131(b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as "Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced" may be deemed insufficient.
Inquiry
/HONGYE LIANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664