DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 07 May 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 October 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2015/0079301 to Nemani et al. (“Nemani”).
With regard to Claims 1-2, Nemani teaches a method of forming a metal compound thin film comprising providing a semiconductor substrate and performing inkjet printing operations thereon to form a thin film pattern (see Abstract; FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶ [0018]-[0019], [0022], [0028]-[0029]). Nemani teaches depositing a first and second precursors via dedicated inkjet nozzles (see ¶¶ [0019], [0030], [0036]-[0037]). According to Nemani, the deposited precursors react to form the metal compound film (see ¶¶ [0019], [0032]).
Nemani does not particularly limit the types of substrates, and teaches semiconductor wafer substrates (see ¶¶ [0018], [0020], [0022]); however the reference does not expressly teach non-hydrophobic and/or silicon substrates. To the extent that semiconductor wafer substrates do not implicitly contemplate silicon wafer substrates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed a silicon wafer as a semiconductor wafer in the method of Nemani since silicon is a common semiconductor substrate.
With regard to Claim 4, Nemani teaches usage of any known precursor chemistries, and expressly teaches redox reactions (see ¶¶ [0024], [0032]-[0033]).
With regard to Claim 5, Nemani teaches more than two printheads each dispensing a different precursor (see ¶ [0030]).
With regard to Claims 6-7, Nemani teaches ozone and hydrogen peroxide (see ¶ [0033]) and otherwise teaches use of any chemical precursors (see ¶ [0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used any known precursors within any range of pH, including those claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to Claim 8, Nemani teaches deposition of any pattern via orchestrated printhead and stage movement across multiple axes (see ¶ [0028]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have deposited any desirable pattern in the method of Nemani, including the claimed pattern, with a reasonable expectation of success.
2. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nemani as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2004/0118676 to Mizohata et al. (“Mizohata”).
With regard to Claim 3, Nemani does not expressly teach a printhead cleansing operation. To the extent that maintenance of a clean substrate surface for precise operations is not implicitly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, Mizohata is directed to depositing metal films on wafer substrates, and teaches rinsing with deionized water between operations to maintain a clean wafer (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have rinsed the substrate between printing operations in the method of Nemani, as taught by Mizohata, in order to maintain a clean wafer for further processing.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712