2. This is the initial office action based on the application filed on October 30, 2024. Claims 1-13 are presented for examination
Status of Claims
3. Claims 1-13 are pending, of which claims, of which claim 1, claim 11, claim 12 and claim 13 are in independent form.
Priority
4. The instant application has priority CHINA 202311464381.4 11/06/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
5. Information disclosure statement filed on 10/30/2024 have been reviewed and considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recite “an IP identification code”. What does “IP” mean?
7. Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 13 recite “an IP identification code”. What does ”IP” mean?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tung (US 20130055229 – hereinafter Tai), in view of Hashiguchi (US 20110107322 – hereinafter Hashiguchi) and further in view of Wang (US 20200272449 – hereinafter Wang).
Claim 1 is rejected, Tung teaches a projector system, comprising:
a plurality of projectors, connected to each other via a network, wherein each of the projectors comprises a processor, a communication circuit unit, an input/output unit, a storage circuit unit, and a memory, wherein the processor is coupled to the communication circuit unit, the input/output unit, the storage circuit unit, and the memory, wherein the communication circuit unit is configured to connect to the network (Tung, US 20130055229, fig. 2A and para [0046-0050], projectors (210, 220, 230, 240), transmission interfaces (213, 215, 223,225, 233, 235, 243, 245, 253 and 255), transmission channel 260, image units (211, 221, 231, 241 and 251), buttons BT5-BT8. Para [0054-0058], the image unit 230 outputs a display command DC to the transmission channel 260),
wherein the projectors comprise a first projector and at least one second projector, a first processor of the first projector performs a first communication procedure in response to a first input operation applied to a first input/output unit, and the first communication procedure comprises a first communication circuit unit of the first projector broadcasting first data to each of the at least one second projector(Tung, fig. 2A and para [0049-0050], When a specific button (for example, one of buttons BT5-BT8) or a specific button combination on the projector 230 or a corresponding remote controller (for example, RC2) thereof is pressed, the image unit 231 controls the projector 230 to enter the synchronous updating mode. Now, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating command FUC to the transmission channel 260 through the transmission interfaces 233 and 235, so as to transmit the firmware updating command FUC to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260. When the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 receives the firmware updating command FUC, the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 respectively control the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 to enter the firmware updating mode.),
wherein a second processor of each of the at least one second projector performs a second communication procedure in response to receiving the first data, and the second communication procedure comprises a second communication circuit unit of each of the at least one second projector broadcasting corresponding second data to other projectors among the projectors(Tung, para [0050], After the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 enter the firmware updating mode, the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 reply the image unit 231 that the firmware updating mode is entered.),
wherein when the processor of each of the projectors determines that the first communication procedure and the second communication procedure are completed, the processor of each of the projectors determines whether there is an up-to-date firmware file in the storage circuit unit according to the first data and the at least one second data (Tung, para [0050], Then, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating data FUD to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260, and the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 perform firmware updating according to the received firmware updating data FUD, and reply the image unit 231 after the firmware updating is completed.),
Tung does not explicitly teach
wherein when each of at least one of the projectors has the up-to-date firmware file in the storage circuit unit, each of at least one of the projectors transmits the up-to-date firmware file to corresponding at least one other projector among the projectors via the communication circuit unit, wherein each of the corresponding at least one other projector does not have the up-to-date firmware file, wherein after each of at least one other projector among the projectors receives the up-to-date firmware file, the processor of each of the at least one other projector among the projectors performs a firmware update based on the up-to-date firmware file.
However, Hashiguchi teaches
wherein when each of at least one of the projectors has the up-to-date firmware file in the storage circuit unit, each of at least one of the projectors transmits the up-to-date firmware file to corresponding at least one other projector among the projectors via the communication circuit unit, (Hashiguchi, US 20110107322, fig. 3 and para [0039], Next, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) receive the version information of the firmware from the network device A (10A) (steps S110A and S110B; reception process). Subsequently, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) compare the firmware version set in the subject device with the received firmware version (version 1.5) (steps S115A and S115B). Then, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) determines whether or not the received firmware version is more recent than the firmware version set in the subject device (steps S120A and S120B; determination process). Fig. 3 and para [0040], Here, in the network device C (10C), the set firmware version is 2.0. Accordingly, the network device C (10C) determines that the received firmware version (1.5) is not more recent than the subject firmware version (No in step S120B), and thus terminates a sequence of the process without upgrading the version of the firmware. Para [0010], a control section that, when the prescribed software which is installed is updated, transmits a version of the prescribed software, which is updated, from the communication section to the different network device.),
wherein each of the corresponding at least one other projector does not have the up-to-date firmware file, wherein after each of at least one other projector among the projectors receives the up-to-date firmware file, the processor of each of the at least one other projector among the projectors performs a firmware update based on the up-to-date firmware file (Hashiguchi, US 20110107322, fig. 3 and para [0039], Next, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) receive the version information of the firmware from the network device A (10A) (steps S110A and S110B; reception process). Subsequently, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) compare the firmware version set in the subject device with the received firmware version (version 1.5) (steps S115A and S115B). Then, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) determines whether or not the received firmware version is more recent than the firmware version set in the subject device (steps S120A and S120B; determination process. Fig. 3 and para [0041-0042], On the other hand, in the network device B (10B), the set firmware version is 1.0. Accordingly, the network device B (10B) determines that the received firmware version is more recent than the subject firmware version (Yes in step S120A), and thus requests connection to a specific port of the network device A (10A) (step S125). Next, the network device A (10A) enables the download of the subject firmware, and permits connection to the network device B (10B) (step S130; provision process). In response to this, the network device B (10B) downloads the firmware from the network device A (10A) (step S135; acquisition process), and installs and sets the downloaded firmware (step S140; install process).).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Hashiguchi into Tung's invention to transmit the updated version from different network device when the prescribed software installed in the different network device is updated so as to determine the change on the basis of the comparison between the received version and the version of the software that is installed in a subject device, thus updating the installed software, and hence unifying the version of the software among the network devices, and managing the version of the software easily without utilizing a server or a server manager as suggested by Hashiguchi (See abstract and summary).
The Office would like to use prior art Wang to back up Tung and Hashiguchi to further teach limitation
a first communication circuit (Wang, US 20200272449, fig. 1 and para [0018], a first communication unit 170.)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Wang into Tung and Hashiguchi's invention to update a firmware of a projector to a latest version or a specific version according to a unique identification code of the projector. The projector also allows the projector with different unique identification code to update the firmware to a specific version through manual firmware updating operation, such that the firmware of the projector can be efficiently maintained at the latest version and the overall performance can be improved.as suggested by Wang (See abstract and summary).
Claim 2 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Tung, Hashiguchi and Wang teach the projector system according to claim 1, wherein: the first communication circuit unit of the first projector broadcasts the first data via a first communication protocol, and the second communication circuit unit of each of the at least one second projector broadcasts the second data via the first communication protocol (Tung, fig. 2A and para [0046-0050], projectors (210, 220, 230, 240), transmission interfaces (213, 215, 223,225, 233, 235, 243, 245, 253 and 255), transmission channel 260).
Claim 3 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Tung, Hashiguchi and Wang teach the projector system according to claim 1, wherein: the first data comprises an IP identification code of the first projector, a model identification code of the first projector, a firmware version identification code of the first projector, and an initiation mark, wherein the initiation mark of the first data is a first value (Tung, para [0050], After the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 enter the firmware updating mode, the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 reply the image unit 231 that the firmware updating mode is entered. Then, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating data FUD to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260. Hashiguchi, para [0038-0039], In response to this, the network device A (10A) transmits the set firmware version to different network devices B (10B) and C (10C) in a multicast mode (step S105; transmission process).),
the second data comprises an IP identification code of the second projector broadcasting the second data, a model identification code of the second projector, a firmware version identification code of the second projector, and the initiation mark, wherein the initiation mark of the second data is a second value (Hashiguchi, para [0038-0039], In response to this, the network device A (10A) transmits the set firmware version to different network devices B (10B) and C (10C) in a multicast mode (step S105; transmission process). Para [0041], On the other hand, in the network device B (10B), the set firmware version is 1.0. Accordingly, the network device B (10B) determines that the received firmware version is more recent than the subject firmware version (Yes in step S120A), and thus requests connection to a specific port of the network device A (10A) (step S125). Para [0042], Next, the network device A (10A) enables the download of the subject firmware, and permits connection to the network device B (10B) (step S130; provision process). In response to this, the network device B (10B) downloads the firmware from the network device A (10A) (step S135; acquisition process), and installs and sets the downloaded firmware (step S140; install process).).
Claim 4 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 3, Tung, Hashiguchi and Wang teach the projector system according to claim 3, wherein after receiving the first data, in response to determining that the model identification code of the first projector is the same as the model identification code of the at least one second projector, the second processor of each of the at least one second projector stores the first data in its own second memory (Wang, para [0035], In step S23, the first processor 100 identifies the first request unique identification code of the projector 10 and the request firmware serial number of the request firmware.),
in response to determining that the initiation mark in the first data is the first value, the second processor of each of the at least one second projector performs the second communication procedure to broadcast the second data via the second communication circuit unit (Hashiguchi, para [0010], and a control section that, when the prescribed software which is installed is updated, transmits a version of the prescribed software, which is updated, from the communication section to the different network device, and additionally provides the prescribed software, which is updated, to the different network devices in response to a request from a different network device).
Claim 5 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 4, Tung, Hashiguchi and Wang teach the projector system according to claim 4, wherein in the first communication procedure, the first processor of the first projector generates the first data according to its own information, and sets the initiation mark in the first data to the first value, the first processor of the first projector performs a first idle time counting procedure to count a first continuous idle time of not receiving any of the broadcasted second data, when the first continuous idle time is greater than a first idle time threshold, the first processor of the first projector determines that the first communication procedure has been completed, wherein in the second communication procedure, the second processor of each of the at least one second projector generates the second data according to its own information, and sets the initiation mark in the second data to the second value, the second processor of each of the at least one second projector performs a second idle time counting procedure to count a second continuous idle time of not receiving any of the broadcasted second data, when the second continuous idle time is greater than a second idle time threshold, the second processor of each of the at least one second projector determines that the second communication procedure has been completed (Tung, para [0052], Moreover, when the image unit 231 does not receive replies from the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 within a predetermined time (for example, 1 second) after transmitting the firmware updating command FUC, the image unit 231 again transmits the firmware updating command FUC to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251. When the number of times for transmitting the firmware updating command FUC reaches a predetermined number of times (for example, 5 times), the image unit 231 prompts an error message to notify the user that the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 are failed to receive the firmware updating command FUC. When the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 successfully receive the firmware updating command FUC, the image unit 231 starts to transmit the firmware updating data FUD, and if the image unit 231 does not receive replies from the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 within another predetermined time (for example, 10 seconds), the image unit 231 again transmits the firmware updating data FUD to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251. When the number of times for transmitting the firmware updating data FUD reaches another predetermined number of times (for example, 3 times), the image unit 231 prompts an error message to notify the user that firmware updating of the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 is failed.).
Claim 6 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 5, Tung, Hashiguchi and Wang teach the projector system according to claim 5, wherein in response to determining that the first communication procedure and the second communication procedure are completed, the first processor of the first projector uses at least one projector having the up-to-date firmware file among the projectors as at least one master projector and uses at least one projector not having the up-to-date firmware file among the projectors as at least one slave projector according to the first data and the second data of each of the at least one second projector, in response to determining that the first communication procedure and the second communication procedure are completed, the second processor of each of the at least one second projector uses the at least one projector having the up-to-date firmware file among the projectors as the at least one master projector and uses the at least one projector not having the up-to-date firmware file among the projectors as the at least one slave projector according to the first data and the second data of each of the at least one second projector, wherein the model identification code of the at least one master projector is the same as the model identification code of the at least one slave projector, and the at least one master projector is configured to transmit the up-to-date firmware file to the at least one slave projector(Hashiguchi, US 20110107322, fig. 3 and para [0039], Next, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) receive the version information of the firmware from the network device A (10A) (steps S110A and S110B; reception process). Subsequently, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) compare the firmware version set in the subject device with the received firmware version (version 1.5) (steps S115A and S115B). Then, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) determines whether or not the received firmware version is more recent than the firmware version set in the subject device (steps S120A and S120B; determination process. Fig. 3 and para [0041-0042], On the other hand, in the network device B (10B), the set firmware version is 1.0. Accordingly, the network device B (10B) determines that the received firmware version is more recent than the subject firmware version (Yes in step S120A), and thus requests connection to a specific port of the network device A (10A) (step S125). Next, the network device A (10A) enables the download of the subject firmware, and permits connection to the network device B (10B) (step S130; provision process). In response to this, the network device B (10B) downloads the firmware from the network device A (10A) (step S135; acquisition process), and installs and sets the downloaded firmware (step S140; install process).).
Claim 7 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 6, Tung, Hashiguchi and Wang teach the projector system according to claim 6, wherein after identifying the at least one master projector and the at least one slave projector, in response to determining that a local machine belongs to the at least one master projector, the processor of each of the at least one master projector performs a first mode firmware transmission procedure, comprising: selecting at least one from the at least one slave projector as a target slave projector according to a number of the at least one master projector, the IP identification code of each of the at least one master projector, a number of the at least one slave projector, and the IP identification code of each of the at least one slave projector; establishing a data connection conforming to a second communication protocol to the target slave projector; sending a firmware update request to the target slave projector; and transmitting the up-to-date firmware file to the target slave projector via the data connection conforming to the second communication protocol according to a firmware update response received from the target slave projector(Hashiguchi, US 20110107322, fig. 3 and para [0039], Next, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) receive the version information of the firmware from the network device A (10A) (steps S110A and S110B; reception process). Subsequently, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) compare the firmware version set in the subject device with the received firmware version (version 1.5) (steps S115A and S115B). Then, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) determines whether or not the received firmware version is more recent than the firmware version set in the subject device (steps S120A and S120B; determination process. Fig. 3 and para [0041-0042], On the other hand, in the network device B (10B), the set firmware version is 1.0. Accordingly, the network device B (10B) determines that the received firmware version is more recent than the subject firmware version (Yes in step S120A), and thus requests connection to a specific port of the network device A (10A) (step S125). Next, the network device A (10A) enables the download of the subject firmware, and permits connection to the network device B (10B) (step S130; provision process). In response to this, the network device B (10B) downloads the firmware from the network device A (10A) (step S135; acquisition process), and installs and sets the downloaded firmware (step S140; install process).).
Claim 8 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 7, Tung, Hashiguchi and Wang teach the projector system according to claim 7, wherein after identifying the at least one master projector and the at least one slave projector, in response to determining that the local machine belongs to the at least one slave projector, the processor of each of the at least one slave projector performs a second mode firmware transmission procedure, comprising: establishing the data connection with the corresponding at least one master projector to become the target slave projector of the at least one master projector; in response to receiving the firmware update request from the corresponding at least one master projector, generating and transmitting the firmware update response to the corresponding at least one master projector according to a firmware update configuration of the local machine, and transmitting the up-to-date firmware file to the target slave projector according to the firmware update response by the corresponding at least one master projector; and in response to receiving the up-to-date firmware file, updating a firmware based on the up-to-date firmware file by the target slave projector(Hashiguchi, US 20110107322, fig. 3 and para [0039], Next, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) receive the version information of the firmware from the network device A (10A) (steps S110A and S110B; reception process). Subsequently, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) compare the firmware version set in the subject device with the received firmware version (version 1.5) (steps S115A and S115B). Then, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) determines whether or not the received firmware version is more recent than the firmware version set in the subject device (steps S120A and S120B; determination process. Fig. 3 and para [0041-0042], On the other hand, in the network device B (10B), the set firmware version is 1.0. Accordingly, the network device B (10B) determines that the received firmware version is more recent than the subject firmware version (Yes in step S120A), and thus requests connection to a specific port of the network device A (10A) (step S125). Next, the network device A (10A) enables the download of the subject firmware, and permits connection to the network device B (10B) (step S130; provision process). In response to this, the network device B (10B) downloads the firmware from the network device A (10A) (step S135; acquisition process), and installs and sets the downloaded firmware (step S140; install process).).
Claim 9 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 8, Tung, Hashiguchi and Wang teach the projector system according to claim 8, wherein the target slave projector generates light by a lighting device, and the target slave projector generates corresponding light according to a firmware update progress (Wang, para [0021], The projection unit 110 is used to receive an image data (e.g., image data received from the data terminal or image data of a user interface generated by the first processor 100), and project a picture corresponding to the image data. Specifically, the projection unit 110 projects an image beam according to the image data to form a projection image projected on a projection plane. The projection unit 110 includes a light source module and an optical engine (not shown). The optical engine includes a light valve and a projection lens (not shown). The light source module is used to provide an illumination beam. The light valve is, for example, a digital micro-mirror device (DMD) disposed on a transmitting path of the illumination beam and used to convert the illumination beam into an image beam. The projection lens is disposed on the transmitting path of the image beam and is used to project the image beam out of the projection unit 110. Para [0025].).
Claim 10 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 4, Tung, Hashiguchi and Wang teach the projector system according to claim 4, wherein after each of the at least one second projector receives the first data, in response to determining that the initiation mark in the first data is the first value, the second processor of each of the at least one second projector calculates a delay time according to its own characteristic value, and starts performing the second communication procedure after the delay time to broadcast the second data via the second communication circuit unit, wherein the characteristic values of the at least one second projector are different from each other (Tung, para [0052], Moreover, when the image unit 231 does not receive replies from the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 within a predetermined time (for example, 1 second) after transmitting the firmware updating command FUC, the image unit 231 again transmits the firmware updating command FUC to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251. When the number of times for transmitting the firmware updating command FUC reaches a predetermined number of times (for example, 5 times), the image unit 231 prompts an error message to notify the user that the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 are failed to receive the firmware updating command FUC. When the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 successfully receive the firmware updating command FUC, the image unit 231 starts to transmit the firmware updating data FUD, and if the image unit 231 does not receive replies from the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 within another predetermined time (for example, 10 seconds), the image unit 231 again transmits the firmware updating data FUD to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251. When the number of times for transmitting the firmware updating data FUD reaches another predetermined number of times (for example, 3 times), the image unit 231 prompts an error message to notify the user that firmware updating of the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 is failed.).
As per claim 11, this is the method claim to system claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as above.
Claim 12 is rejected, Tung teaches a projector, comprising:
a processor;
a communication circuit unit; an
input/output unit; and
a memory,
wherein the processor is coupled to the communication circuit unit, the input/output unit, and the memory, wherein the communication circuit unit is configured to connect to a network (Tung, US 20130055229, fig. 2A and para [0046-0050], projectors (210, 220, 230, 240), transmission interfaces (213, 215, 223,225, 233, 235, 243, 245, 253 and 255), transmission channel 260, image units (211, 221, 231, 241 and 251), buttons BT5-BT8. Para [0054-0058], the image unit 230 outputs a display command DC to the transmission channel 260),
wherein in response to a first input operation applied to the input/output unit, the processor performs a first communication procedure, wherein the first communication procedure comprises (Tung, fig. 2A and para [0049-0050], When a specific button (for example, one of buttons BT5-BT8) or a specific button combination on the projector 230 or a corresponding remote controller (for example, RC2) thereof is pressed, the image unit 231 controls the projector 230 to enter the synchronous updating mode) :
generating first data according to information of the projector, and setting an initiation mark in the first data to a first value by the processor (Tung, fig. 2A and para [0049-0050], Now, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating command FUC to the transmission channel 260 through the transmission interfaces 233 and 235, so as to transmit the firmware updating command FUC to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260. When the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 receives the firmware updating command FUC, the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 respectively control the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 to enter the firmware updating mode.);
broadcasting the first data using a first communication protocol through the communication circuit unit (Tung, fig. 2A and para [0049-0050], When a specific button (for example, one of buttons BT5-BT8) or a specific button combination on the projector 230 or a corresponding remote controller (for example, RC2) thereof is pressed, the image unit 231 controls the projector 230 to enter the synchronous updating mode. Now, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating command FUC to the transmission channel 260 through the transmission interfaces 233 and 235, so as to transmit the firmware updating command FUC to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260. When the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 receives the firmware updating command FUC, the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 respectively control the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 to enter the firmware updating mode.);
receiving at least one second data broadcasted by at least one other projector via the network using the first communication protocol through the communication circuit unit, and storing the at least one second data in the memory (Tung, para [0050], After the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 enter the firmware updating mode, the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 reply the image unit 231 that the firmware updating mode is entered.); and
performing an idle time counting procedure by the processor to count a continuous idle time of not receiving any broadcasted second data, wherein when the continuous idle time is greater than an idle time threshold, the processor determines that the first communication procedure has been completed (Tung, para [0052], Moreover, when the image unit 231 does not receive replies from the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 within a predetermined time (for example, 1 second) after transmitting the firmware updating command FUC, the image unit 231 again transmits the firmware updating command FUC to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251. When the number of times for transmitting the firmware updating command FUC reaches a predetermined number of times (for example, 5 times), the image unit 231 prompts an error message to notify the user that the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 are failed to receive the firmware updating command FUC. When the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 successfully receive the firmware updating command FUC, the image unit 231 starts to transmit the firmware updating data FUD, and if the image unit 231 does not receive replies from the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 within another predetermined time (for example, 10 seconds), the image unit 231 again transmits the firmware updating data FUD to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251. When the number of times for transmitting the firmware updating data FUD reaches another predetermined number of times (for example, 3 times), the image unit 231 prompts an error message to notify the user that firmware updating of the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 is failed.),
Tung does not explicitly teach
wherein the processor determines whether the projector and the at least one other projector have an up-to-date firmware file according to the first data and the at least one second data
However Hashiguchi teaches
wherein the processor determines whether the projector and the at least one other projector have an up-to-date firmware file according to the first data and the at least one second data(Hashiguchi, US 20110107322, fig. 3 and para [0039], Next, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) receive the version information of the firmware from the network device A (10A) (steps S110A and S110B; reception process). Subsequently, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) compare the firmware version set in the subject device with the received firmware version (version 1.5) (steps S115A and S115B). Then, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) determines whether or not the received firmware version is more recent than the firmware version set in the subject device (steps S120A and S120B; determination process. Fig. 3 and para [0041-0042], On the other hand, in the network device B (10B), the set firmware version is 1.0. Accordingly, the network device B (10B) determines that the received firmware version is more recent than the subject firmware version (Yes in step S120A), and thus requests connection to a specific port of the network device A (10A) (step S125). Next, the network device A (10A) enables the download of the subject firmware, and permits connection to the network device B (10B) (step S130; provision process). In response to this, the network device B (10B) downloads the firmware from the network device A (10A) (step S135; acquisition process), and installs and sets the downloaded firmware (step S140; install process).).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Hashiguchi into Tung's invention to transmit the updated version from different network device when the prescribed software installed in the different network device is updated so as to determine the change on the basis of the comparison between the received version and the version of the software that is installed in a subject device, thus updating the installed software, and hence unifying the version of the software among the network devices, and managing the version of the software easily without utilizing a server or a server manager as suggested by Hashiguchi (See abstract and summary).
The Office would like to use prior art Wang to back up Tung and Hashiguchi to further teach limitation
a communication circuit (Wang, US 20200272449, fig. 1 and para [0018], a first communication unit 170.)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Wang into Tung and Hashiguchi's invention to update a firmware of a projector to a latest version or a specific version according to a unique identification code of the projector. The projector also allows the projector with different unique identification code to update the firmware to a specific version through manual firmware updating operation, such that the firmware of the projector can be efficiently maintained at the latest version and the overall performance can be improved.as suggested by Wang (See abstract and summary).
Claim 13 is rejected, Tung teaches a projector, comprising:
a processor;
a communication circuit unit; and
a memory, wherein the processor is coupled to the communication circuit unit and the memory (Tung, US 20130055229, fig. 2A and para [0046-0050], projectors (210, 220, 230, 240), transmission interfaces (213, 215, 223,225, 233, 235, 243, 245, 253 and 255), transmission channel 260, image units (211, 221, 231, 241 and 251), buttons BT5-BT8. Para [0054-0058], the image unit 230 outputs a display command DC to the transmission channel 260),
wherein the communication circuit unit is configured to connect to a network,
wherein the processor identifies at least one master projector having an up-to-date firmware file and at least one of slave projector not having the up-to-date firmware file among a plurality of projectors connected to the network according to first data and at least one second data stored in the memory (Tung, fig. 2A and para [0049], When a specific button (for example, one of buttons BT5-BT8) or a specific button combination on the projector 230 or a corresponding remote controller (for example, RC2) thereof is pressed, the image unit 231 controls the projector 230 to enter the synchronous updating mode. Now, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating command FUC to the transmission channel 260 through the transmission interfaces 233 and 235, so as to transmit the firmware updating command FUC to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260. When the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 receives the firmware updating command FUC, the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 respectively control the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 to enter the firmware updating mode. Para [0050], After the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 enter the firmware updating mode, the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 reply the image unit 231 that the firmware updating mode is entered. Then, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating data FUD to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260, and the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 perform firmware updating according to the received firmware updating data FUD, and reply the image unit 231 after the firmware updating is completed. After the firmware updating of the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 are all completed, the image unit 231 controls the projector 230 to switch to the normal mode. The image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 respectively control the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 to switch to the normal mode after replying the image unit 231.),
wherein in response to determining that the projector is one of the at least one master projector, the processor is configured to perform a firmware transmission procedure, comprising (Tung, para [0049-0050].):
in response to determining that a number of the at least one master projector is not greater than one, establishing a data connection to a target slave projector among the at least one slave projector using a default communication protocol through the communication circuit unit (Tung, fig. 2A and para [0049-0050], When a specific button (for example, one of buttons BT5-BT8) or a specific button combination on the projector 230 or a corresponding remote controller (for example, RC2) thereof is pressed, the image unit 231 controls the projector 230 to enter the synchronous updating mode. Now, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating command FUC to the transmission channel 260 through the transmission interfaces 233 and 235, so as to transmit the firmware updating command FUC to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260. When the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 receives the firmware updating command FUC, the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 respectively control the projectors 210, 220, 240 and 250 to enter the firmware updating mode.);
after establishing the data connection to the target slave projector, sending a firmware update request to the target slave projector through the data connection (Tung, para [0050], Then, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating data FUD to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260, and the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 perform firmware updating according to the received firmware updating data FUD, and reply the image unit 231 after the firmware updating is completed);
transmitting the up-to-date firmware file to the target slave projector via the data connection according to a firmware update response received from the target slave projector (Tung, para [0050], Then, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating data FUD to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260, and the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 perform firmware updating according to the received firmware updating data FUD, and reply the image unit 231 after the firmware updating is completed.); and
in response to receiving a firmware reception completion notification from the target slave projector, selecting a slave projector from the at least one slave projector in the same firmware transmission group as the projector as another target slave projector to establish another data connection using the default communication protocol, and sending another firmware update request via the another data connection to transmit the up-to-date firmware file to the another target slave projector via the another data connection according to another firmware update response received from the another target slave projector (Tung, para [0050], Then, the image unit 231 transmits the firmware updating data FUD to the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 through the transmission channel 260, and the image units 211, 221, 241 and 251 perform firmware updating according to the received firmware updating data FUD, and reply the image unit 231 after the firmware updating is completed.)
Tung does not explicitly teach
in response to determining that the number of the at least one master projector is greater than one, grouping the at least one master projector and the at least one slave projector into a plurality of firmware transmission groups according to the number of the at least one master projector, an IP identification code of each of the at least one master projector, a number of the at least one slave projector, and an IP identification code of each of the at least one slave projector, and establishing a data connection to a target slave projector in a same firmware transmission group as the projector using the default communication protocol through the communication circuit unit, wherein the target slave projector is one of at least one slave projector in the same firmware transmission group as the projector;
However Hashiguchi teaches
in response to determining that the number of the at least one master projector is greater than one, grouping the at least one master projector and the at least one slave projector into a plurality of firmware transmission groups according to the number of the at least one master projector, an IP identification code of each of the at least one master projector, a number of the at least one slave projector, and an IP identification code of each of the at least one slave projector, and establishing a data connection to a target slave projector in a same firmware transmission group as the projector using the default communication protocol through the communication circuit unit, wherein the target slave projector is one of at least one slave projector in the same firmware transmission group as the projector (Hashiguchi, US 20110107322, fig. 3 and para [0039], Next, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) receive the version information of the firmware from the network device A (10A) (steps S110A and S110B; reception process). Subsequently, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) compare the firmware version set in the subject device with the received firmware version (version 1.5) (steps S115A and S115B). Then, the network devices B (10B) and C (10C) determines whether or not the received firmware version is more recent than the firmware version set in the subject device (steps S120A and S120B; determination process. Fig. 3 and para [0041-0042], On the other hand, in the network device B (10B), the set firmware version is 1.0. Accordingly, the network device B (10B) determines that the received firmware version is more recent than the subject firmware version (Yes in step S120A), and thus requests connection to a specific port of the network device A (10A) (step S125). Next, the network device A (10A) enables the download of the subject firmware, and permits connection to the network device B (10B) (step S130; provision process). In response to this, the network device B (10B) downloads the firmware from the network device A (10A) (step S135; acquisition process), and installs and sets the downloaded firmware (step S140; install process).);
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Hashiguchi into Tung's invention to transmit the updated version from different network device when the prescribed software installed in the different network device is updated so as to determine the change on the basis of the comparison between the received version and the version of the software that is installed in a subject device, thus updating the installed software, and hence unifying the version of the software among the network devices, and managing the version of the software easily without utilizing a server or a server manager as suggested by Hashiguchi (See abstract and summary).
The Office would like to use prior art Wang to back up Tung and Hashiguchi to further teach limitation
a communication circuit unit (Wang, US 20200272449, fig. 1 and para [0018], a first communication unit 170.)
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Wang into Tung and Hashiguchi's invention to update a firmware of a projector to a latest version or a specific version according to a unique identification code of the projector. The projector also allows the projector with different unique identification code to update the firmware to a specific version through manual firmware updating operation, such that the firmware of the projector can be efficiently maintained at the latest version and the overall performance can be improved.as suggested by Wang (See abstract and summary).
Inquiry
/DUY KHUONG T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199