This office action is in response to the Preliminary amendment filed 09/26/2025.
Claims 1-5, 6-10, 11, 12, 13-16, 17-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CHINA 201910758553.6, filed on 08/16/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2025, 05/01/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaidya et al. ( US 20200044792, hereinafter, Vaidya’s 792 ) in view of WEI et al. ( US 20220263608, Provisional Application 62882227 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, Vaidya’s 792 teaches an electronic device for wireless communications, comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
acquire Downlink Control Information (DCI) from a base station (BS) [see Paragraph 0129] ([0129] In step 1214 the first wireless communications device, which is a base station, transmits from the first wireless communications device to the second wireless communications device, a HARQ Off Indicator, set to indicate HARQ is disabled, said HARQ Off Indicator being transmitted in a downlink control information (DCI) format, e .g., DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1, scheduling message. In some embodiments, the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled. Operation proceeds from step 1214 to step 1216.) ,
determine, based on a first particular field of the DCI, a feedback mechanism of a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process is disabled (the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraph 0129] ;
in a case that the processing circuitry determines that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled based on a value of the first particular field consisting of all ‘0’s or the value of the first particular field consisting of all ‘1’s (the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraphs 0129 & 0232] ,
determine not to send a check result for a data packet back to the BS [see Paragraphs 0129 & 0232 ] ;
determine a function of the first particular field (HARQ Off Indicator ) based on a parameter in radio resource control (RRC) signaling (a SPS HARQ Off Indicator, set to indicate HARQ is disabled in a SPS_CONFIG RRC ) [see paragraph 0232] ,
wherein the parameter in the RRC signaling indicates that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled in a case that the first particular field (HARQ Off Indicator ) takes a particular value [see Paragraphs 0232 & 0129 ] .
However, Vaidya’s 792 does not explicitly teach determining whether a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process is disabled.
( US 20220263608, Provisional Application 62882227 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches acquire Downlink Control Information from a base station ( the UE receives the downlink control information from BS ) [see Figure 6 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0008 & 0058 & 0059 & 0070 & 0071 & 0072 & 0094 & 0095 & 0097-0099 & 0188 & 0198 & 0212 ] [see Provisional Application 62882227, Pages 09 & 11 & 12 & 13 & 15 & 17 & 18 & 19 ] ;
determine, at least based on a combination of a first particular field and another particular field of the DCI , whether a feedback mechanism of a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled, wherein, in a case of determining that the feedback mechanism of the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled
( based on a combination of multiple fields of DCI, the UE determines whether to enable / disable the corresponding HARQ feedback based checking the values of the first field and the second fields of the DCI ) [see Page 0095 ] [ the Provisional Application 62882227, Page 12 ] , a check result (ACK or NACK for the data packet ) for a data packet is not fed back to the base station ( HARQ_feedback timing indicator indicates the HARQ-ACK is not needed ) [see Paragraph 0094] [ the Provisional Application 62882227, Page 09 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vaidya’s 792 in view of US 20220263608 because US 20220263608 suggests that examples described herein may provide advantages such as more efficient control information signaling, increased reliability of wireless communications, and/or reduced transmission latencies.
Regarding to the claim 4, Vaidya’s 792 further teaches wherein in a case that the processing circuitry determines that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is not disabled based on the first particular field including a value other all ‘0’ or all ‘1’ , the processing circuitry is further configured to send the check result for the data packet back to the BS [see Paragraphs 0232 & 0129].
Regarding to the claim 5, Vaidya’s 792 further teaches wherein the first particular field further comprises a HARQ_feedback timing indicator [see Paragraphs 0232 & 0129].
Regarding to the claim 6, Vaidya’s 792 teaches electronic device for wireless communications, the electronic device comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
determine to disable (HARQ Off Indicator ) a feedback mechanism of a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process for a user equipment (UE) (the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraph 0129] [also see the paragraph 0232] ,
in case that the processing circuitry determine to disable the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process for the UE, transmit Downlink Control Information (DCI) to the UE, wherein the DCI includes a value ( the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraphs 0232 & 0129] ;
indicate to the UE a function of a first particular field (the HARQ Off Indicator ) of the DCI based on a parameter in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ( the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraphs 0232 & 0129], wherein
the parameter in the RRC signaling indicates that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled in a case that the value in the first particular field consists of all ‘0’s or the value consists of all ‘1’ s ( the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraphs 0232 & 0129].
However, Vaidya’s 792 does not explicitly teach determining whether a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process is disabled.
( US 20220263608, Provisional Application 62882227 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches acquire Downlink Control Information from a base station ( the UE receives the downlink control information from BS ) [see Figure 6 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0008 & 0058 & 0059 & 0070 & 0071 & 0072 & 0094 & 0095 & 0097-0099 & 0188 & 0198 & 0212 ] [see Provisional Application 62882227, Pages 09 & 11 & 12 & 13 & 15 & 17 & 18 & 19 ] ;
determine, at least based on a combination of a first particular field and another particular field of the DCI , whether a feedback mechanism of a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled, wherein, in a case of determining that the feedback mechanism of the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled
( based on a combination of multiple fields of DCI, the UE determines whether to enable / disable the corresponding HARQ feedback based checking the values of the first field and the second fields of the DCI ) [see Page 0095 ] [ the Provisional Application 62882227, Page 12 ] , a check result (ACK or NACK for the data packet ) for a data packet is not fed back to the base station ( HARQ_feedback timing indicator indicates the HARQ-ACK is not needed ) [see Paragraph 0094] [ the Provisional Application 62882227, Page 09 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vaidya’s 792 in view of US 20220263608 because US 20220263608 suggests that examples described herein may provide advantages such as more efficient control information signaling, increased reliability of wireless communications, and/or reduced transmission latencies.
Regarding to the claim 9, claim 9 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 4, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 10, claim 10 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 5, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 11, Vaidya’s 792 teaches a method of wireless communications performed by an electronic device, the method comprising:
acquiring Downlink Control Information (DCI) from a base station (BS) [see Paragraph 0129] ([0129] In step 1214 the first wireless communications device, which is a base station, transmits from the first wireless communications device to the second wireless communications device, a HARQ Off Indicator, set to indicate HARQ is disabled, said HARQ Off Indicator being transmitted in a downlink control information (DCI) format, e .g., DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1, scheduling message. In some embodiments, the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled. Operation proceeds from step 1214 to step 1216.) ,
determining, based on a first particular field of the DCI, a feedback mechanism of a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process is disabled (the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraph 0129] ;
in a case that the processing circuitry determines that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled based on a value of the first particular field consisting of all ‘0’s or the value of the first particular field consisting of all ‘1’s (the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraphs 0129 & 0232] ,
determine not to send a check result for a data packet back to the BS [see Paragraphs 0129 & 0232 ] ;
determining a function of the first particular field (HARQ Off Indicator ) based on a parameter in radio resource control (RRC) signaling (a SPS HARQ Off Indicator, set to indicate HARQ is disabled in a SPS_CONFIG RRC ) [see paragraph 0232] ,
wherein the parameter in the RRC signaling indicates that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled in a case that the first particular field (HARQ Off Indicator ) takes a particular value [see Paragraphs 0232 & 0129 ] .
However, Vaidya’s 792 does not explicitly teach determining whether a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process is disabled.
( US 20220263608, Provisional Application 62882227 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches acquiring Downlink Control Information from a base station ( the UE receives the downlink control information from BS ) [see Figure 6 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0008 & 0058 & 0059 & 0070 & 0071 & 0072 & 0094 & 0095 & 0097-0099 & 0188 & 0198 & 0212 ] [see Provisional Application 62882227, Pages 09 & 11 & 12 & 13 & 15 & 17 & 18 & 19 ] ;
determine, at least based on a combination of a first particular field and another particular field of the DCI , whether a feedback mechanism of a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled, wherein, in a case of determining that the feedback mechanism of the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled
( based on a combination of multiple fields of DCI, the UE determines whether to enable / disable the corresponding HARQ feedback based checking the values of the first field and the second fields of the DCI ) [see Page 0095 ] [ the Provisional Application 62882227, Page 12 ] , a check result (ACK or NACK for the data packet ) for a data packet is not fed back to the base station ( HARQ_feedback timing indicator indicates the HARQ-ACK is not needed ) [see Paragraph 0094] [ the Provisional Application 62882227, Page 09 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vaidya’s 792 in view of US 20220263608 because US 20220263608 suggests that examples described herein may provide advantages such as more efficient control information signaling, increased reliability of wireless communications, and/or reduced transmission latencies.
Regarding to the claim 12, Vaidya’s 792 teaches a A method of wireless communications performed by an electronic device, the method comprising:
Determining to disable (HARQ Off Indicator ) a feedback mechanism of a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process for a user equipment (UE) (the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraph 0129] [also see the paragraph 0232] ,
in case that the processing circuitry determine to disable the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process for the UE, transmit Downlink Control Information (DCI) to the UE, wherein the DCI includes a value ( the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraphs 0232 & 0129] ;
indicating to the UE a function of a first particular field (the HARQ Off Indicator ) of the DCI based on a parameter in radio resource control (RRC) signaling ( the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraphs 0232 & 0129], wherein
the parameter in the RRC signaling indicates that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled in a case that the value in the first particular field consists of all ‘0’s or the value consists of all ‘1’ s ( the HARQ Off Indicator is a one bit value set to a predetermined value, e.g., 1, when HARQ is disabled) [see Paragraphs 0232 & 0129].
However, Vaidya’s 792 does not explicitly teach determining whether a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process is disabled.
( US 20220263608, Provisional Application 62882227 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches acquire Downlink Control Information from a base station ( the UE receives the downlink control information from BS ) [see Figure 6 and Figure 7 and Paragraphs 0007 & 0008 & 0058 & 0059 & 0070 & 0071 & 0072 & 0094 & 0095 & 0097-0099 & 0188 & 0198 & 0212 ] [see Provisional Application 62882227, Pages 09 & 11 & 12 & 13 & 15 & 17 & 18 & 19 ] ;
determine, at least based on a combination of a first particular field and another particular field of the DCI , whether a feedback mechanism of a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled, wherein, in a case of determining that the feedback mechanism of the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled
( based on a combination of multiple fields of DCI, the UE determines whether to enable / disable the corresponding HARQ feedback based checking the values of the first field and the second fields of the DCI ) [see Page 0095 ] [ the Provisional Application 62882227, Page 12 ] , a check result (ACK or NACK for the data packet ) for a data packet is not fed back to the base station ( HARQ_feedback timing indicator indicates the HARQ-ACK is not needed ) [see Paragraph 0094] [ the Provisional Application 62882227, Page 09 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vaidya’s 792 in view of US 20220263608 because US 20220263608 suggests that examples described herein may provide advantages such as more efficient control information signaling, increased reliability of wireless communications, and/or reduced transmission latencies.
Regarding to the claim 15, claim 15 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 4, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 16, claim 16 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 5, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 4, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 20, claim 20 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 5, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 13, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaidya et al. ( US 20200044792, hereinafter, Vaidya’s 792 ) in view of WEI et al. ( US 20220263608, Provisional Application 62882227 ), and further in view of ZHANG et al. ( US 20220247520, hereinafter, ZHANG’s 520).
Regarding to the claim 2, Vaidya’s 792 and ( US 20220263608, Provisional Application 62882227 ) teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Vaidya’s 792 does not explicitly teach wherein in a case that the processing circuitry determines that the first particular field does not exist or has a default value,
the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, based on a value of the parameter in the RRC signaling, whether the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled.
ZHANG’s 520, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein in a case that the processing circuitry determines that the first particular field does not exist or has a default value, the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, based on a value of the parameter in the RRC signaling, whether the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled (In addition, the feedback disabling function may default to be enabled and the UE may disable the HARQ processes based on the at least one indicator without the higher layer signaling indicating whether the feedback disabling function is enabled ) [see Paragraph 0168].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Vaidya’s 792 and US 20220263608 ), and further in view of ZHANG’s 520 because ZHANG’s 520 suggests that the number of HARQ processes supported by the existing communication system may be a bottleneck of improving system performance.
Regarding to the claim 7, claim 7 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 2 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 13, claim 13 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 2 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 17, claim 17 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 2 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Claim(s) 3, 8, 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaidya et al. ( US 20200044792, hereinafter, Vaidya’s 792 ) in view of WEI et al. ( US 20220263608, Provisional Application 62882227 ), and further in view of Yi et al. ( US 20200396760, hereinafter, Yi’s 760).
Regarding to the claim 3, Vaidya’s 792 and ( US 20220263608, Provisional Application 62882227 ) teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Vaidya’s 792 does not explicitly teach wherein the first particular field indicates a HARQ feedback resource.
Yi’s 760, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the first particular field indicates a HARQ feedback resource (The one or more DCI fields may comprise: a NACK indicator field (e.g., indicating whether to send (e.g., transmit) NACK only, ACK/NACK, or ACK only), a CSI request field, CSI indication field (e.g., indicating reference signals for CSI measurement), a zone indicator/ID field (e.g., indicating a zone indicator/ID used for a feedback transmission or a zone indicator/ID for a transmitter), a HARQ feedback field (e.g., indicating enabling HARQ feedback, indicating a HARQ feedback resource)) [see Paragraph 0468].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Vaidya’s 792 and US 20220263608 ), and further in view of Yi’s 760 because Yi’s 760 suggests that Examples described herein may provide advantages such as more efficient control information signaling, increased reliability of wireless communications, and/or reduced transmission latencies
Regarding to the claim 8, claim 8 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 3 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 14, claim 14 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 3 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 18, claim 18 is rejected in the same ground , or for the same reasons of claim 3 , because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. : 12167411. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 of the application serial number 18931137
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. : 12167411
An electronic device for wireless communications, comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
acquire Downlink Control Information (DCI) from a base station (BS),
An electronic device for wireless communications, comprising: processing circuitry, configured to: acquire Downlink Control Information from a base station;
determine, based on a first particular field of the DCI, whether a feedback mechanism of a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process is disabled;
in a case that the processing circuitry determines that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled based on a value of the first particular field consisting of all ‘0’s or the value of the first particular field consisting of all ‘1’s,
determine not to send a check result for a data packet back to the BS;
determine a function of the first particular field based on a parameter in radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the parameter in the RRC signaling indicates that the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is disabled in a case that the first particular field takes a particular value.
determine, at least based on a combination of a first particular field and another particular field of the DCI, whether a feedback mechanism of a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled, wherein, in a case of determining that the feedback mechanism of the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled, a check result for a data packet is not fed back to the base station, wherein, the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a meaning of the first particular field based on a parameter in radio resource control signaling, wherein, a state of the parameter is reserved for indicating that the feedback mechanism of the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled in a case that the combination takes a particular value, wherein, the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, based on a value of the reserved state of the parameter, whether the feedback mechanism of the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled, in a case of determining that the first particular field does not exist or is default, wherein, in a case that the value of the reserved state takes a value of 0 or less than a particular value, the processing circuitry determines that the feedback mechanism of the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is disabled.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412