18931142142DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/24 considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the hueless color block is a gray color, and the gray color has the following Lab values: a lightness of 70 to 90, a red/green value of ±1.5, and a blue/yellow value of ±1.5” which is unclear since “lightness” has no units, red/green and blue/yellow values also have no units and are unclear whether they refer to a ratio of colors, but if so, how then do they have a negative value?
Claim 18 is similarly rejected like claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guangzhou Hawk Light Industry Co Ltd. (CN 208092588, hereinafter “Guangzhou”, machine translation included). Regarding claim 12, Guangzhou discloses a display system, comprising (Figs. 1-3, abstract, hood with computer monitor as display system): a display device, located in an ambient light source area having a first illumination value (computer monitor located in an unlight room is located in an ambient light source area have a first illumination value of a dark room or zero); and a second auxiliary light source, matched and arranged corresponding to the display device and forming a light source control area, the second auxiliary light source having a second illumination value (Fig. 3, machine translation page 2, last paragraph, LED light 11 as a second auxiliary light source is matched and arranged corresponding to the computer monitor or display device using LED lampshade 10 to form a light source control area and has a second illumination value of the LED light 11); wherein the second illumination value in the light source control area is more than 2 times the first illumination value (Fig. 3, machine translation page 2, last paragraph, LED light having any light value is more than two times the first light illumination value of zero).
Regarding claim 13, Guangzhou discloses the display system according to claim 12, wherein the second auxiliary light source comprises a light shield and a light-emitting component, and the light-emitting component is matched and assembled corresponding to the light shield (Guangzhou, Figs. 1-2, machine translation page 2, last three paragraphs, the second auxiliary light source comprises a light shield (as lampshade 10, side plate 3, top plate 5, side frame 2, and top frame 7) and a light-emitting component as LED light 11, and the light-emitting component is matched and assembled corresponding to the light shield to block light from impacting other people at night (abstract)).
Regarding claim 14, Guangzhou discloses the display system according to claim 13, wherein the light shield is arranged around the display device and extends to the front of the display surface of the display device (Guangzhou, Figs. 1-2, abstract, hood of computer monitor; light has lampshade 10, side plate 3, top plate 5, side frame 2, and top frame 7 arranged around the computer monitor or display device and extends to the front of the display device to prevent light from impacting others).
Regarding claim 15, Guangzhou discloses the display system according to claim 14, wherein the light-emitting component is arranged in the light shield and located above the display device to form the light source control area, wherein light in the light source control area incident to the display surface of the display device forms an included angle (Guangzhou, Figs. 1-3, light emitting component of LED light 11 is arranged in the light shield of top plate 5 and LED lamp cover 10 above the computer monitor to form the light source area illuminated by the LED light 11 at an included angle based on light directions emitted by LED light 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10, 17 and 19-34 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 1, Tijoe et al. (US 2013/0244197, hereinafter “Tijoe”) is the closest prior art which discloses (Figs. 1a-b and 2a-b) a dental shade matching device that has a camera device 1 with an image display device 10, a light shield 3, and an illuminant module 8. The camera captures an image of a target tooth object 7 that is illuminated by the illuminant module 8 to detect color and translucency information and perform shade matching of the tooth. However, neither Tijoe nor other cited prior art teaches a colorimetric component, having a plurality of color blocks and a hueless color block; the camera device acquiring a first image and an imaging parameter value in the imaging environment, and the first image comprising an image of the colorimetric component; a display device, located in an ambient light source area having a first illumination value, the display device having a display parameter value; a second auxiliary light source, matched and arranged corresponding to the display device and forming a light source control area, the second auxiliary light source having a second illumination value; and a cloud platform, coupled to the camera device and the display device, and configured to receive the first image, the imaging parameter value and the display parameter value, and after correcting the first image according to the imaging parameter value and the display parameter value, output a second image; wherein the display device receives and displays the second image, and the second illumination value is greater than or equal to 2 times the first illumination value. Regarding claim 17, Tijoe is the closest prior art which discloses (Figs. 1a-b and 2a-b) a dental shade matching device that has a camera device 1 with an image display device 10, a light shield 3, and an illuminant module 8. The camera captures an image of a target tooth object 7 that is illuminated by the illuminant module 8 to detect color and translucency information and perform shade matching of the tooth. However, neither Tijoe nor other cited prior art teaches a cloud platform, receiving a first image, an imaging parameter value and the display parameter value, and after correcting the first image according to the imaging parameter value and the display parameter value, outputting a second image; wherein the display device receives and displays the second image under the display parameter value, the first image comprises a physical object image and an image of a colorimetric component, and the image of the colorimetric component comprises at least one color block image and a hueless color block image. Regarding claim 24, Tijoe is the closest prior art which discloses (Figs. 1a-b and 2a-b) a dental shade matching device that has a camera device 1 with an image display device 10, a light shield 3, and an illuminant module 8. The camera captures an image of a target tooth object 7 that is illuminated by the illuminant module 8 to detect color and translucency information and perform shade matching of the tooth. However, neither Tijoe nor other cited prior art teaches a method having steps of outputting the first image and an imaging parameter value of the camera device, the first image comprising an image of a colorimetric component; providing a display device, and outputting a display parameter value; providing a cloud platform to receive the first image, the imaging parameter value and the display parameter value, and correcting the first image according to the first image, the imaging parameter value and the display parameter value and outputting a second image; providing a second auxiliary light source; and receiving the second image by the display device, and displaying the second image on the display device by using the second auxiliary light source.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 16, Guangzhou discloses the display system according to claim 15, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the included angle is 60° to 90° (see Applicant’s figure 3, angle theta). The closest prior art to Gauangzhou has a light source 11, but is silent regarding forming the light source relative to the display to have an included angle in the above range.
Conclusion
JOSEPH PATRICK FOX
Examiner
Art Unit 2622
/JOSEPH P FOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2622 /PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622