DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 5/12/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 7-8, 10, 14-15, 17 and 20 have been amended
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim objections, recited in the previous office action, are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitations recite “a plurality of analyzers”, the amended limitations recite “processors comprising… one or more analyzers”. A plurality does not include a single analyzer whereas one or more includes a single analyzer. It is not clear is applicant intends these analyzers to be the same as the plurality of analyzers or different analyzers.
Additionally, applicant’s arguments implied that the analyzer is a separate device/downstream from the evaluator but the evaluation step contains analyzers.
The limitation “the plurality of independent processors comprising one or more evaluators and one or more analyzers”. It is not clear is multiple processors comprise a single evaluator and a single analyzer or if applicant intends each processor to correspond to each evaluator+analyzer or if a processor corresponds an analyzer and a second processer corresponds to an evaluator.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejections under 112, recited in the previous office action, are withdrawn.
Claims 3, 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 recites the limitation "a plurality of analyzers" and “one or more analyzers”. Claims 3, 10 and 17 recite “analyzers” in line 3 and “the analyzers” in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if the antecedent basis for “the analyzers” is “plurality of analyzers” or “one or more analyzers” recited in claims 1, 8 and 15 or “analyzers” recited in claim 3, 10 and 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (Remarks filed 5/12/2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Page 9-10 of Remarks) that Wang does not disclose 3 separate devices: (2) signal source between (1) analyzers and (3) aggregators which routes the data to a [4th device?] (4) evaluator and then [a 5th device?] executes a security response.
Wang teaches different “engines” performing different tasks which reads on the different devices applicant is arguing; and
The claims do not require 3 (or 4) separate devices/engines. The claims recite:
Receiving… at an event source (device 1)
Generating…. by analyzers (no device specified)
This could be done by device 1
Aggregating... at a signal source (device 2)… data which is received
Evaluating… using independent processors
This could be done by device 2
Determining… based on output of the processors
This could be done by device 2
Executing… based on combined output
This could be done by device 2
Overall Applicant is arguing that the at least 3 separate (and it appears a 4th) devices are in operation, however, the claims only require 2 separate devices.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). A POSITA would be motivated to include aggregation before evaluation because aggregating prior to evaluation would improve evaluation efficiency.
Applicant asserts that the dependent claims are allowable by virtue of allowance in independent claims, however Examiner does not find the independent claims to be allowable therefore does not find the dependent claims to be allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. 20190081968), in view of Lonas (U.S. 20180077146).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15,
Lonas discloses: A method comprising:
receiving, at an event source, a plurality of security events from a plurality of event generators; (Wang [0016-0027, 0051-0057, 0062-0066, 0076-0077] teaches receiving a stream, in real-time, of events from a plurality of entities)
generating, by a plurality of analyzers, security signals based on the security events, the security signals comprising a subset of the security events; (Wang [0018-0019, 0023-0024, 0040-0047, 0058-0065] teaches generating subsets of the events according to category, assigning a value to each, normalizing those values and building an entity profile using multi-dimensional arrays for each parameter type)
the security signals received from the plurality of analyzers (Wang [0018-0019, 0023-0024, 0040-0047, 0051-0075, Fig. 4 and Fig. 5] teach receiving security signals from engines that analyze)
evaluating the security signals and determining risk levels using a plurality of independent processors, the plurality of independent processors comprising one or more evaluators and one or more analyzers; (Wang [0016-0020, 0023-0027, 0053-0057, 0062-0085] teaches a risk assessment engine which determine a risk score/level; [0113] teaches that the operations can be performed by one or more processors)
determining that an action is required based on a combined output of the plurality of independent processors evaluating the security signals and determined risk levels; and (Wang [0021, 0026, 0054-0057, 0062-0074, 0076-0085] teaches determining an action is required based on the risk score/level. The risk score/level is based on the risk assessment engine analysis of the multi-dimensional arrays)
executing a security response, responsive to the action. (Wang [0021, 0026, 0067-0074, 0077-0079, 0085] teaches remedial actions to preventing or limit activity in response to a specific risk score)
While Wang teaches storing events, clustering and aggregation Wang does not explicitly perform all these tasks by a “signal source” therefore does not explicitly disclose: aggregating and correlating, at a signal source, the security signals ; aggregated and correlated security signals
However, in the same field of endeavor Lonas discloses: aggregating and correlating, at a signal source, the security signals ; aggregated and correlated security signals (Lonas [0018, 0021-0022, 0027-0030, 0034-0036, 0042-0043] teaches aggregating and corelating one or more portions of the received data, including security data, to generate a feature set/vector for analysis)
Wang and Lonas are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor real-time event detection.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang and Lonas before him or her, to modify the method of Wang to include the aggregating and correlating of Lonas because it will allow for mappings between different associated entities to be created.
The motivation for doing so would be [“The data processing utility may then search the data store for online identities/entities that are associated with content having similar characteristics.”] (Paragraph 0022-0023, 0030, 0034-0036, 0041-0045 by Lonas )].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wang and Lonas to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16,
Wang in view of Lonas discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein receiving a stream of security events comprises:
collecting raw events from the plurality of event generators; (Wang [0017-0030, 0058-0061, 0088-0090] teaches collecting event data)
ingesting the raw events to a stream; (Wang [0052-0062, 0088-0090] teaches ingesting event data)
enriching the ingested events; (Wang [0040-0050, 0063-0066, 0073, 0085-0095] teaches adding contextual information to the event data including event's date, time, location latitude, location longitude, device type, IP address, and number of log-in attempts]
normalizing the enriched events; and (Wang [0052-0062]) teaches scale and normalize using well-known statistical techniques so that the values fall within a consistent and centered range when plotted in an array)
filtering the normalized events. (Wang [0052-0062, 0088-0090] teaches filtering out events that are malformed or irrelevant, deleting unnecessary event data, and converting event data into values that the risk assessment engine can use))
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17,
Wang in view of Lonas discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein generating security signals based on the security events comprises:
receiving normalized events; (Wang [0052-0062, 0088-0090] sending the normalized events to the risk assessment engine)
distributing the normalized events to analyzers including one or more of a bot detection module, a machine learning profiler module, and an anomaly detection module; (Wang [0052-0062, 0065-0073, 0088-0090] teaches that the risk assessment engine can, which receives the normalized events, can perform anomaly detection)
analyzing the normalized events distributed to the analyzers with the analyzers; (Wang [0052-0062, 0065-0073, 0088-0090] teaches that the risk assessment engine analyzes the received events)
generating the security signals based on output from the analyzers; and (Wang [0052-0062, 0065-0074, 0088-0090] teaches that the risk assessment engine generates and assigns a risk score, which is used to determine a risk level)
transmitting the generated security signals to the signal source. (Wang [0047, 0052-0062, 0065-0079, 0085, 0088-0090, 0096, 0106-0108] teaches that the risk assessment engine generates and assigns a risk score, which is used to determine a risk level. The risk level is output which is then transmitted)
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18,
Wang in view of Lonas discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein aggregating and correlating the security signals comprises:
receiving the security signals at the signal source; (Wang [0016-0027, 0051-0057, 0062-0066, 0076-0077] teaches receiving a stream, in real-time, of events from a plurality of entities)
enriching the correlated signals with context data; and (Wang [0040-0050, 0063-0066, 0073, 0085-0095] teaches adding contextual information to the event data including event's date, time, location latitude, location longitude, device type, IP address, and number of log-in attempts]
routing the enriched signals to the plurality of independent processors. (Wang [0016-0020, 0023-0027, 0053-0057, 0062-0085] teaches determining a risk assessment engine which determine a risk score/level; [0113] teaches that the operations can be performed by one or more processors)
While Wang teaches collecting data and aggregation of evaluations Wang does not explicitly disclose: collecting and aggregating the received signals; correlating the aggregated signals to identify patterns;
However, in the same field of endeavor Lonas discloses:
collecting and aggregating the received signals; correlating the aggregated signals to identify patterns; (Lonas [0018, 0021-0022, 0027-0030, 0034-0036, 0042-0043] teaches aggregating and corelating one or more portions of the received data, including security data, to generate a feature set/vector for analysis)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify with Lonas for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19,
Wang in view of Lonas discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein evaluating the security signals comprises:
receiving (Wang [0016-0020, 0023-0027, 0057-0062] teaches a risk assessment engine which receives a stream of entity events from the event ingestion service; [0113] teaches that the operations can be performed by one or more processors)
evaluating the (Wang [0016-0020, 0062-0081, 0086-0098] teaches a streaming risk assessment engine for handling executed events; [0080-0085, 0099-111] teaches an on-demand risk assessment engine for handling attempted events)
evaluating the (Wang [0016-0020, 0076-0085] teaches a rule queue where a rule can test event attributes to determine whether to perform more or less assessments of the event, including a rule which required analysis by additional rules)
While Wang teaches storing events, clustering and aggregation Wang does not explicitly perform all these tasks by a “signal source” therefore does not explicitly disclose: correlated signals
However, in the same field of endeavor Lonas teaches: correlated signals (Lonas [0018, 0021-0022, 0027-0030, 0034-0036, 0042-0043] teaches aggregating and corelating one or more portions of the received data, including security data, to generate a feature set/vector for analysis)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify with Lonas for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Regarding claims 6 and 13,
Wang in view of Lonas discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein determining that action is required comprises:
comparing the determined risk levels against predefined thresholds or policies; (Wang [0053 0066-0074, 0085] the risk assessment engine can compare an event or attempted event to the entity's profile to determine a threat level for the event and take action such as denying log-in through the access control service if the attempted log-in's threat level is too high)
determining a confidence level of a risk assessment; and (Wang [0066-0076, 0075-0075, 085, 0094-0097] teaches determining a confidence score for an assessed event)
proceeding to execute the security response if the risk meets or exceeds an action threshold.
(Wang [0053 0066-0074, 0085] the risk assessment engine can compare an event or attempted event to the entity's profile to determine a threat level for the event and take action such as denying log-in through the access control service if the attempted log-in's threat level is too high)
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. 20190081968), in view of Lonas (U.S. 20180077146) and in further view of Ahmed (U.S. 20190297096).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20,
Wang in view of Lonas discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein executing the security response comprises:
selecting a specific response from a predefined set of actions based on a nature and severity of a detected risk; (Wang [0053, 0066-0074, 0080-0085] the risk assessment engine can compare an event or attempted event to the entity's profile to determine a threat level for the event and take one or more actions such as executing scripts or denying log-in through the access control service if the attempted log-in's threat level is too high)
interacting with system components to implement the selected response as an executed response; (Wang [0051-0057, 0080-0085, 0112-0115] teaches embodiments of the invention may locate components in different locations that may be together within a core or scattered across various locations, and they may consolidate multiple components within a single component that performs the same functions as the consolidated components
Wang in view of Lonas does not explicitly disclose:
logging the executed response for auditing purposes; and recording a response to the action.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ahmed discloses:
logging the executed response for auditing purposes; and recording a response to the action. (Ahmed [0071-0089] teaches collecting data indicating a mitigation action that was taken and whether the action was appropriate)
Wang and Ahmed are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor threat detection.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang and Ahmed before him or her, to modify the method of Wang to include the event logging of Ahmed because it will improve accuracy mitigation actions.
The motivation for doing so would be [“ by employing machine learning techniques in the inference engines of the security platforms, the quality of the classification results may be improved over those of existing security systems and may be continuously updated if and when additional training sets and live data indicate that modifying the rules for recognizing malicious behavior may lead to more accurate results”] (Paragraph 0025, 0075-0078, 0093 by Ahmed)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wang and Lonas with Ahmed to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Cambric 2022-02-11 (US 20230262072) teaches methods, systems, apparatuses, and computer-readable storage mediums described herein are configured to detect anomalous post-authentication behavior with respect to a user identity. For example, one or more audit logs that specify a plurality of actions performed with respect to the user identity of a platform-based identity service, while the user identity is authenticated with the platform-based identity service, are analyzed. The audit log(s) are analyzed via an anomaly prediction model that generates an anomaly score indicating a probability whether a particular sequence of actions of the plurality of actions is indicative of anomalous behavior. A determination is made that an anomalous behavior has occurred based on the anomaly score. In response to determining that anomalous behavior has occurred, a mitigation action may be performed that mitigates the anomalous behavior.
Gelman 2022-09-30 (US 20230362184) teaches A method for prioritizing security events comprises receiving a security event that includes security event data having been generated by an endpoint agent based on a detected activity, wherein the security event data includes one or more features; applying a first computing model to the security event data to automatically determine which of the one or more features are one or more input features to a machine learning system; applying a second computing model to historical data related to the security event data to determine time pattern information of the security event data as an input to the machine learning system; combining the one or more input features from the first computing model and the input from the second computing model to generate a computed feature result; and generating an updated security level value of the security event from the computed feature result.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THOMAS A. CARNES
Examiner
Art Unit 2436
/THOMAS A CARNES/Examiner, Art Unit 2436
/MOEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436