DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2018/0039845).
With respect to claim 1, Chen et al. teach obtaining a first image of a region of interest of a subject in a first wavelength band (Fig. 6, 6A image with RGB band filter);
obtaining a second image of the region of interest of the subject in a second wavelength band (Fig. 6, 6A image with IR band filter);
encoding the first image by means of a first neural encoder, to obtain a first vector representation of the first image (para [0037] It is noted that the same face detector can be used to process the RGB data as well as the thermal data para [0026], Adaboost classifier can be replaced with another method to perform face detection, such as a Convolution Neuron Network ( CNN ) method);
encoding the second image by means of a second neural encoder, to obtain a second vector representation of the second image (para [0037] It is noted that the same face detector can be used to process the RGB data as well as the thermal data para [0026], Adaboost classifier can be replaced with another method to perform face detection, such as a Convolution Neuron Network ( CNN ) method);
computing a measure of similarity between the first vector representation and the second vector representation (Fig. 6, 6E, Distance of Detection result; para [0028]-[0031], distance); and
determining a fraud if the similarity measure is below a predefined threshold ((Fig. 6, 6E, Distance of Detection result within a range >> NO)..
With respect to claim 2, Chen et al. teach that the first image and the second image are captured at the same time (para [0022], a single broadband IR / RGB image sensor that outputs IR / RGB image data).
With respect to claim 3, Chen et al. teach that the first image and the second image are captured by the same camera using the same sensor (para [0022], a single broadband IR / RGB image sensor that outputs IR / RGB image data).
With respect to claim 4, Chen et al. teach that the similarity measure is a normalized scalar product. (para [0028]-[0031], distance, Normalization by square of the absolute value is a technique used to scale data so that its total “energy” or “intensity” adds up to a specific value, usually one. In signal processing, this ensures that signal with different amplitudes can be compared or analyzed on a consistent basis).
With respect to claim 5, Chen et al. teach that the first neural encoder and the second neural encoder are trained conjointly (para [0037], the Ada
boost procedure can be determined by a training phase with both RGB and thermal images).
With respect to claim 6, Chen et al. teach that the first neural encoder and the second neural encoder are trained so as to maximize the similarity of the first and second vector representations for authentic images and to minimize the similarity of the first and second vector representations for fraudulent images or images not originating from the same acquisition (para [0031]).
With respect to claim 7, Chen et al. teach that the first wavelength band is in the visible spectrum, in particular between 380 and 780 nm and the second wavelength band is in the infrared spectrum, in particular between 800 nm and 960 nm (para [0014]).
Claim 9 is rejected as same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim 10 is rejected as same reason as claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RANDOLPH I CHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667