DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 30, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the tapered portions” in lies 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In an effort to promote compact prosecution, the examiner has interpreted “the tapered portions” as “tapered portions provided on edge portions of adjacent lenses”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0244060).
With regard to independent claim 1, Huang teaches an optical system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 3A) comprising: a plurality of lenses including a first lens (Figure 3A, element 310), a second lens (Figure 3A, element 320), a third lens (Figure 3A, element 330), a fourth lens (Figure 3A, element 340), a fifth lens (Figure 3A, element 350), and a sixth lens (Figure 3A, element 360) arranged in order from an object side to an image side; and an aperture stop disposed between the first lens and the second lens (Figure 3A, element STO), wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: -0.59 ≤ S23 < 0.00 1.50 ≤ f2 / f ≤ 3.00 where R2i is a radius of curvature of a surface on the image side of the second lens, R3o is a radius of curvature of a surface on the object side of the third lens, S23 = (R2i+R3o)/(R2i-R3o), f is a focal length of the optical system, and f2 is a focal length of the second lens (page 9, Table 9, Focal length data and Radius of curvature data wherein: R2i = -2.638; R3o = 5.171; S23 = -0.32; f2 = 2.97; f = 1.96; and f2/f = 1.52).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Huang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical system wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.31 ≤ TTL/ImgH ≤ 2.20 where ImgH is a maximum image height of the optical system, and TTL is an overall length on an optical axis from a surface of the optical system closest to an object to an image plane (page 10, paragraph [0110], wherein: TTL/ImgH = 1.93).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Huang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical system wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 35.0 ≤ νP_2 ≤ 65.0 where νP_2 is an Abbe number based on d-line of a positive lens closest to an object among lenses disposed on the image side of the aperture stop in the plurality of lenses (page 9, Table 5, Abbe number data, wherein the second lens is the closest positive lens to an object among lenses disposed on the image side of the aperture stop in the plurality of lenses and ν2 = 56.00).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Huang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 6, and further teaches such an optical system wherein the second lens is the positive lens (page 8, paragraph [0102], line 1).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Huang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical system wherein at least one of the plurality of lenses is a resin lens (page 8, paragraphs [0101], lines 1-2; [0102], lines 1-2; [0103], lines 1-2; [0104], lines 1-2; and [0105], lines 1-2 and page 9, paragraph [0106], lines 1-2, wherein the lenses are made of plastic, i.e., resin) and at least one of a surface on the object side of the resin lens and a surface on the image side of the resin lens has an aspheric shape (page 8, paragraphs [0101], lines 7-8; [0102], lines 7-8; [0103], lines 7-8; [0104], lines 7-8; and [0105], lines 6-8 and page 9, paragraph [0106], lines 7-8).
With regard to dependent claim 10, Huang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical system wherein a surface on the object side of a final lens disposed closest to an image plane among the plurality of lenses has a central portion that is convex toward the object side and a peripheral portion that is concave toward the object side, and wherein a surface on the image side of the final lens has a central portion that is concave toward the image side and a peripheral portion that is convex toward the image side (Figure 3A, elements 361 and 362).
With regard to dependent claim 11, Huang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical system wherein the optical system consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, the first lens (Figure 3A, element 310), the aperture stop (Figure 3A, element STO), the second lens (Figure 3A, element 320), the third lens (Figure 3A, element 330), the fourth lens (Figure 3A, element 340), the fifth lens (Figure 3A, element 350), and a sixth lens as a final lens (Figure 3A, element 360).
With regard to independent claim 13, Huang teaches an image pickup apparatus (page 1, paragraph [0002]) comprising an optical system (Figure 3A), and an image sensor configured to image an object through the optical system (page 2, paragraph [0024] and Figure 7, element 2000), wherein the optical system includes: a plurality of lenses including a first lens (Figure 3A, element 310), a second lens (Figure 3A, element 320), a third lens (Figure 3A, element 330), a fourth lens (Figure 3A, element 340), a fifth lens (Figure 3A, element 350), and a sixth lens (Figure 3A, element 360) arranged in order from an object side to an image side; and an aperture stop disposed between the first lens and the second lens (Figure 3A, element STO), wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: -0.59 ≤ S23 < 0.00 1.50 ≤ f2 / f ≤ 3.00 where R2i is a radius of curvature of a surface on the image side of the second lens, R3o is a radius of curvature of a surface on the object side of the third lens, S23 = (R2i+R3o)/(R2i-R3o), f is a focal length of the optical system, and f2 is a focal length of the second lens (page 9, Table 9, Focal length data and Radius of curvature data wherein: R2i = -2.638; R3o = 5.171; S23 = -0.32; f2 = 2.97; f = 1.96; and f2/f = 1.52).
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0396970).
With regard to independent claim 1, Song et al teaches an optical system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 3) comprising: a plurality of lenses including a first lens (Figure 3, element E1), a second lens (Figure 3, element E2), a third lens (Figure 3, element E3), a fourth lens (Figure 3, element E4), a fifth lens (Figure 3, element E5), and a sixth lens (Figure 3, element E6) arranged in order from an object side to an image side; and an aperture stop disposed between the first lens and the second lens (Figure 3, element STO), wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: -0.59 ≤ S23 < 0.00 1.50 ≤ f2 / f ≤ 3.00 where R2i is a radius of curvature of a surface on the image side of the second lens, R3o is a radius of curvature of a surface on the object side of the third lens, S23 = (R2i+R3o)/(R2i-R3o), f is a focal length of the optical system, and f2 is a focal length of the second lens (page 7, paragraph [0091], lines 1-2 and Table 3, Focal length data and Curvature radius data wherein: R2i = -3.9116; R3o = 8.0682; S23 = -0.35; f2 = 3.27; f = 1.68; and f2/f = 1.95).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Song et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical system wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.31 ≤ TTL/ImgH ≤ 2.20 where ImgH is a maximum image height of the optical system, and TTL is an overall length on an optical axis from a surface of the optical system closest to an object to an image plane (page 7, paragraph [0091], wherein: TTL = 4.19; ImgH = 1.92; and TTL/ImgH = 2.18).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Song et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical system wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 35.0 ≤ νP_2 ≤ 65.0 where νP_2 is an Abbe number based on d-line of a positive lens closest to an object among lenses disposed on the image side of the aperture stop in the plurality of lenses (page 7, Table 3, Abbe number data, wherein the second lens is the closest positive lens to an object among lenses disposed on the image side of the aperture stop in the plurality of lenses and νP_2 = 56.1).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Song et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 6, and further teaches such an optical system wherein the second lens is the positive lens (page 7, paragraph [0090], lines 3-4).
With regard to dependent claim 10, Song et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical system wherein a surface on the object side of a final lens disposed closest to an image plane among the plurality of lenses has a central portion that is convex toward the object side and a peripheral portion that is concave toward the object side, and wherein a surface on the image side of the final lens has a central portion that is concave toward the image side and a peripheral portion that is convex toward the image side (Figure 3, element E7).
With regard to dependent claim 12, Song et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical system wherein the optical system consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, the first lens (Figure 3, element E1), the aperture stop (Figure 3, element STO), the second lens (Figure 3, element E2), the third lens (Figure 3, element E3), the fourth lens (Figure 3, element E4), the fifth lens (Figure 3, element E5), a sixth lens (Figure 3, element E6), and a seventh lens as a final lens (Figure 3, element E7).
With regard to independent claim 13, Song et al teaches an image pickup apparatus (page 1, paragraph [0002]) comprising an optical system (Figure 3), and an image sensor configured to image an object through the optical system (page 13, paragraph [0119]), wherein the optical system includes: a plurality of lenses including a first lens (Figure 3, element E1), a second lens (Figure 3, element E2), a third lens (Figure 3, element E3), a fourth lens (Figure 3, element E4), a fifth lens (Figure 3, element E5), and a sixth lens (Figure 3, element E6) arranged in order from an object side to an image side; and an aperture stop disposed between the first lens and the second lens (Figure 3, element STO), wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: -0.59 ≤ S23 < 0.00 1.50 ≤ f2 / f ≤ 3.00 where R2i is a radius of curvature of a surface on the image side of the second lens, R3o is a radius of curvature of a surface on the object side of the third lens, S23 = (R2i+R3o)/(R2i-R3o), f is a focal length of the optical system, and f2 is a focal length of the second lens (page 7, paragraph [0091], lines 1-2 and Table 3, Focal length data and Curvature radius data wherein: R2i = -3.9116; R3o = 8.0682; S23 = -0.35; f2 = 3.27; f = 1.68; and f2/f = 1.95).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0396970), in view of Yao et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0331900).
With regard to dependent claim 9, although Song et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an optical system wherein at least one of a surface on the object side of the a lens and a surface on the image side of a lens has an aspheric shape (page 7, Table 3, Surface type data, wherein all surfaces are aspheric), Song et al fails to teach such an optical system wherein at least one of the plurality of lenses is a resin lens. In a related endeavor, Yao et al teaches an optical system comprising at least six lenses (page 1, paragraph [0001] and Figure 1), wherein the lenses may be constructed of resin (page 5, paragraph [0084]), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the optical system, as taught by Song et al, with the resin lens, as taught by Yao et al, to provide a material having good light transmission. It should also be noted that
it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as known alternative (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3, 4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper.
Although Huang teaches an optical system (page 1, paragraph [0002] and Figure 3A) comprising: a plurality of lenses including a first lens (Figure 3A, element 310), a second lens (Figure 3A, element 320), a third lens (Figure 3A, element 330), a fourth lens (Figure 3A, element 340), a fifth lens (Figure 3A, element 350), and a sixth lens (Figure 3A, element 360) arranged in order from an object side to an image side; and an aperture stop disposed between the first lens and the second lens (Figure 3A, element STO), wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: -0.59 ≤ S23 < 0.00 1.50 ≤ f2 / f ≤ 3.00 where R2i is a radius of curvature of a surface on the image side of the second lens, R3o is a radius of curvature of a surface on the object side of the third lens, S23 = (R2i+R3o)/(R2i-R3o), f is a focal length of the optical system, and f2 is a focal length of the second lens (page 9, Table 9, Focal length data and Radius of curvature data wherein: R2i = -2.638; R3o = 5.171; S23 = -0.32; f2 = 2.97; f = 1.96; and f2/f = 1.52), as claimed in independent claim 1, Huang fails to teach such an optical system: wherein tapered portions provided on edge portions of adjacent lenses in the plurality of lenses contact each other, the following inequality is satisfied: 0.00 < cosθ ≤ 0.77, as defined dn claimed in dependent claim 2; simultaneously satisfying the conditional expression: 1.66 ≤ dE23/d23 ≤ 4.56, s claimed and defined in dependent claim 3; simultaneously satisfying the conditional expression: 0.40 ≤ dE34/d34 ≤ 2.00, as claimed and defined in dependent claim 4; or simultaneously satisfying the conditional expression: -0.20 ≤ Sag2/Ea2 < 0.00, as claimed and defined in dependent claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shim (U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0189761), Chae (U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0345369), Wang (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0020801), Shi (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0137350), Dou (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0091382), Tang et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0346663) and Hsu et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0043695) all teach optical systems comprising at least six lenses.
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
30 July 2026