anDETAILED ACTION
Application filed 10/30/2024 has been examined.
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Specification and drawings are accepted.
IDS has been considered. PTO-1449 is attached.
Application is pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. USPAP 20170047947A1 (herein: D1) in view of Koken et al. USPAP 20230261785A1 (herein: D2).
As per claim 1, D1 substantially teaches (i.e., Figure 1 above, decoder 20 and paragraph 0038) a method for decoding polar codes based encoded data, the method comprising: receiving the polar codes based encoded data (i.e., Figure 6C below, receiving polar encoded data and paragraphs 0076-0079) ; determining a rate at which the data is encoded (i.e., Figure 6C polar decoders with R1, R2 and R3 and paragraphs 0076-0079); based on the determined rate in a flexible-rate polar decoder decoding the polar codes based encoded data (i.e., Figure 6C depending on the rate the corresponding decoder is selected and paragraph 0079).
D1 does not explicitly teach selecting suitable implemented super nodes as stated in the present application. However D2 teaches in an analogous art (i.e., abstract) receive a polar-encoded transmission comprising at least one intermediate node associated with a first configuration of frozen leaf nodes and information leaf nodes. The apparatus may further be configured to apply an FHT to a first set of values associated with a first intermediate node of the at least one intermediate node to generate a second set of values associated with the first intermediate node. The apparatus may also be configured to select, based on the second set of values, one or more paths associated with the first intermediate node for a SSCL decoding. The apparatus may further be configured to calculate a path metric for each of the selected one or more paths associated with the first intermediate node. Particularly, D2 teaches (i.e., Figure 8 below and paragraph 0072) call flow diagram 800 illustrating a Rx device 804 performing a decoding operation for a reed-muller node included in polar coded data 806 received from a Tx device 802. Tx device 802 may send, and Rx device 804 may receive, polar coded data 806. The Rx device 804 may be one of a UE or a base station. The polar coded data 806, in some aspects, may include a set of bits for a cyclic redundancy checksum (CRC), e.g., a set of 24 bits appended to the transmitted message. The polar coded data 806 may include K information bits encoded in a codeword of length N=2.sup.n, where N is selected based on an aggregation level. After receiving the polar coded data 806, the Rx device 804 may demodulate and de-rate match 808 the received signal used to transmit the polar coded data 806. The Rx device 804 may then perform a polar decoding 809 on the demodulated and de-rate matched information (e.g., a set of N LLR bits). The polar decoding 809 may include a standard SSC or SSCL decoding operation for a set of nodes in a tree representation of the received set until reaching a RM node. Upon reaching the RM node, the Rx device 804 may identify 810 the node in the polar coded data as a RM node. The identification may be based on a known configuration of frozen and information bits associated with the polar coded data 806.
D2 further teaches (i.e., Figure 8 and paragraph 0080) the polar decoding may continue decoding subsequent bits and/or nodes including special nodes (e.g., additional RM nodes, rate-0 nodes, rate-1 nodes, a repetition node, or an SPC node). The Examiner would like to point out that the special nodes are equivalent to super node implementation of the present application. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application of implement suitable super nodes in the flexible rate polar decoder within the teachings of D1 as taught by D2. This would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art because one of ordinary skill would have recognized that by having suitable super nodes in the flexible rate decoder would have allowed improved reliability of communications especially in 5G communications (i.e., D2, paragraph 0003).
As per claim 2, D2 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the selecting the suitable implemented super nodes includes providing control signals to one or more switches included the flexible-rate polar decoder (i.e., Figure 8 and paragraphs 0078-0082).
As per claim 3, D2 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the super nodes include one or more of Rate-0, Rate-1, repetition (REP), single parity check (SPC), TypeI, TypeII, TypeIII, TypeIV, TypeV super nodes (i.e., Figure 8 and paragraph 0080).
As per claim 4, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, receiving the polar codes based encoded data includes receiving encoded binary data symbols over an optical communication medium (i.e., Figure 6C and paragraph 0098).
As per claim 5, D1 substantially teaches (i.e., Figure 1 above, decoder 20 and paragraph 0038) a receiver in a communication system, comprising: a flexible-rate polar decoder (i.e., Figure 6C below, receiving polar encoded data and paragraphs 0076-0079); and a controller configured to: receive the polar codes based encoded data (i.e., Figure 1 above polar encoder 14 and paragraphs 0076-0079); determine a rate at which the data is encoded (i.e., Figure 6C polar decoders with R1, R2 and R3 and paragraphs 0076-0079); based on the determined rate in a flexible-rate polar decoder, decode the polar codes based encoded data (i.e., Figure 6C depending on the rate the corresponding decoder is selected and paragraph 0079).
D1 does not explicitly teach selecting suitable implemented super nodes as stated in the present application. However D2 teaches in an analogous art (i.e., abstract) receive a polar-encoded transmission comprising at least one intermediate node associated with a first configuration of frozen leaf nodes and information leaf nodes. The apparatus may further be configured to apply an FHT to a first set of values associated with a first intermediate node of the at least one intermediate node to generate a second set of values associated with the first intermediate node. The apparatus may also be configured to select, based on the second set of values, one or more paths associated with the first intermediate node for a SSCL decoding. The apparatus may further be configured to calculate a path metric for each of the selected one or more paths associated with the first intermediate node. Particularly, D2 teaches (i.e., Figure 8 below and paragraph 0072) call flow diagram 800 illustrating a Rx device 804 performing a decoding operation for a reed-muller node included in polar coded data 806 received from a Tx device 802. Tx device 802 may send, and Rx device 804 may receive, polar coded data 806. The Rx device 804 may be one of a UE or a base station. The polar coded data 806, in some aspects, may include a set of bits for a cyclic redundancy checksum (CRC), e.g., a set of 24 bits appended to the transmitted message. The polar coded data 806 may include K information bits encoded in a codeword of length N=2.sup.n, where N is selected based on an aggregation level. After receiving the polar coded data 806, the Rx device 804 may demodulate and de-rate match 808 the received signal used to transmit the polar coded data 806. The Rx device 804 may then perform a polar decoding 809 on the demodulated and de-rate matched information (e.g., a set of N LLR bits). The polar decoding 809 may include a standard SSC or SSCL decoding operation for a set of nodes in a tree representation of the received set until reaching a RM node. Upon reaching the RM node, the Rx device 804 may identify 810 the node in the polar coded data as a RM node. The identification may be based on a known configuration of frozen and information bits associated with the polar coded data 806.
D2 further teaches (i.e., Figure 8 and paragraph 0080) the polar decoding may continue decoding subsequent bits and/or nodes including special nodes (e.g., additional RM nodes, rate-0 nodes, rate-1 nodes, a repetition node, or an SPC node). The Examiner would like to point out that the special nodes are equivalent to super node implementation of the present application. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application of implement suitable super nodes in the flexible rate polar decoder within the teachings of D1 as taught by D2. This would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art because one of ordinary skill would have recognized that by having suitable super nodes in the flexible rate decoder would have allowed improved reliability of communications especially in 5G communications (i.e., D2, paragraph 0003).
As per claim 6, D2 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the flexible-rate polar decoder further comprises one or more switches (i.e., Figure 8 and paragraphs 0078-0082).
As per claim 7, D2 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the selecting the suitable implemented super nodes includes providing control signals to the one or more switches (i.e., Figure 8 and paragraph 0080).
As per claim 8, D2 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the super nodes include one or more of Rate-0, Rate-1, repetition (REP), single parity check (SPC), TypeI, TypeII, TypeIII, TypeIV, TypeV super nodes (i.e., Figure 8 and paragraph 0080).
As per claim 9, D1 substantially teaches, in view of above rejections, the receiver is configured to support optical termination and conversion of signals between electrical and optical domains for reception of encoded binary data symbols over an optical communication medium (i.e., Figure 6C and paragraph 0098).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
MUJTABA M. CHAUDRY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2112
/MUJTABA M CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112