++DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application # 18931267, entitled: MOUNTING PLATE, filed on 11/24/2024. Claims 11-23 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 states, “The mounting plate according to claim 10, wherein the body is f metal…” It is believed that claim 20 should depend from claim 11, as claim 10 is canceled. Further, it is submitted that the phrase: “the body is f metal,” should read: “the body is made of metal.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fieger (U.S. Pub. 20210247111) in view of Mimlitch, III et al. (U.S. Pub. 20020104942).
Regarding claim 11, Fieger teaches a mounting plate for an expansion valve in a refrigerant circuit, comprising a body 15 with a flat portion (as seen in Figs. 1-2), the body 15 has a substantially rectangular design (as seen in Fig. 2), and two short sides and two long sides (see Fig. 2 below), where the body 15 has edges, where two basically U-shaped cutouts 18,19 are formed in the body 15, through which connecting tubes 11,12 pass, where the connecting tubes 11,12 are vaporizer connecting tubes. However, Fieger fails to teach where at least part of the edges of the body 15 are raised in order to reinforce the body 15. Mimlitch teaches a bracket 10 comprising a flat body 20, having raised edges 70,80,110,130.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body of Fieger’s bracket to have raised edges, in order to reduce deflection and buckling of the bracket, as taught to be desirable by Mimlitch (see discussion in para. [0030], lines 10-12).
Regarding claim 12, Mimlitch teaches the mounting plate, where the raised edges 70,80,110,130 of the body 20 are oriented at an angle between 80 degrees and 100 degrees with respect to a plane through the flat portion of the body 20 (as seen in Fig. 1 of Mimlitch).
Regarding claim 13, Mimlitch teaches the mounting plate, where at least one edge of one or both of the two U-shaped cutouts is raised. The Examiner notes that Mimlitch teaches where the perimeter of his bracket’s 10 body 20 has raised edges.
Regarding claim 17, Mimlitch teaches the mounting plate, where a raised edge of a U-shaped cutout 18,19 is connected to a raised edge 70,80,110,130 of one of the long sides.
Regarding claim 18, Mimlitch teaches the mounting plate, where a raised edge 70,80,110,130 of one of the short sides is connected to the raised edge of the long side.
Regarding claim 19, Mimlitch teaches the mounting plate, where the raised edges 70,80,110,130 of the short side and the long side are on the same side of the body 15.
Regarding claim 20, Mimlitch teaches the mounting plate, where the body 20 is made of metal, and the raised edges 70,80,110,130 are formed in a shaping process, that includes one of deep drawing or molding. The Examiner notes that Mimlitch discusses the process of making his bracket 10 in para. [0056].
Regarding claim 21, Mimlitch teaches the mounting plate, where the raised edges 70,80,110,130 of the body 15 are oriented at substantially 90 degrees to the plane through the flat body 15.
Claim(s) 14-16 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fieger and Mimlitch as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Mazur (U.S. Pat. 5312080).
Regarding claim 14, Fieger and Mimlitch are discussed above, and teach the mounting plate. However, Fieger and Mimlitch fail to teach where the mounting plate further comprises at least one hole in the body, where an edge of the at least one hole which is raised. Mazur teaches a bracket 64 made of a mounting plate that has at least one hole in the body, where an edge of the at least one hole which is raised.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bracket body of Fieger and Mimlitch to have raised threaded holes, in order to provide a means for securing fasteners (i.e. screws), as is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 15, Mazur teaches the mounting plate, where the at least one hole is threaded (as seen in Fig. 11 below).
Regarding claim 16, Mazur teaches the mounting plate, where the two U- shaped cutouts 18,19 are spaced apart, and the at least one hole is capable of being disposed in the middle of the flat portion of the body 15, between the two U-shaped cutouts 18,19.
Regarding claim 22, Mazur teaches the mounting plate, where the at least one hole in the body 64 is two holes in the body 64, where an edge of both of the two holes are raised (as seen in Fig. 11 below.
Regarding claim 23, Mazur teaches the mounting plate, where both of the two holes in the body 64 are threaded.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the reference to Fieger, Mimlitch, III et al., and Mazur et al., the Examiner submits the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). The cited references disclose mounting devices comprising brackets for securing conduit.
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 6-Feb-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632