CTNF 18/931,269 CTNF 93469 DETAILED ACTION This action is in reply to the original application filed on 10/30/2024. Claims 1-15 are rejected. Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been examined. Information Disclosure Statement Information Disclosure Statement received 10/30/2024 has been reviewed and considered. Priority The current Application claims priority from Foreign Patent Application No. JP2023-220409 filed 12/27/2023. Therefore, the instant claims receive the effective filing date of 12/27/2023. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: - Claim 1 reads “in a case where the terms of the contract includes a first terms ” but should likely read “in a case where terms of the contract includes a first term ” Claim 2-12 inherits the deficiencies noted in claim 1, and is therefore objected to on the same basis. - Claim 2 reads “in the case where the terms of the contract includes the first terms ” but should likely read “in the case where the terms of the contract includes the first term ” - Claim 3 reads “the firs amount” but should likely read “the firs amount” - Claim 10 reads “in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second terms ” but should likely read “in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term ” - Claim 13 reads “wherein the first controller is configured to execute transmitting the terms of the contract … indicating an amount of the first consumables shipped to at a time to the user” but should likely read “wherein the first controller is configured to execute transmitting terms of the contract … indicating an amount of the first consumables shipped at a time to the user” - Claim 14 reads “in a case where the terms of the contract includes a first term” but should likely read “in a case where terms of the contract includes a first term” - Claim 15 reads “in a case where the terms of the contract includes a first term” but should likely read “in a case where terms of the contract includes a first term” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, the claims must be directed to one of the four statutory categories (see MPEP 2106.03). All the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories (YES). Under Step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test, it is determined whether the claims are directed to a judicially recognized exception (see MPEP 2106.04). Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry. Under Prong 1 , it is determined whether the claim recites a judicial exception (YES). Taking Claim 13 as representative, the claim recites limitations that fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity groupings of abstract ideas, including: -a printer configured to consume first consumables; and -a management device communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user, the management device being configured to manage shipment of the first consumables to the user under a contract with the user, -wherein the printer, the terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user includes a first controller, -wherein the first controller is configured to execute transmitting the terms of the contract to the management device, -wherein the management device includes a second controller, and -wherein the second controller is configured to execute: - receiving the transmitted terms of the contract, -in a case where the terms of the contract includes a first term, setting a first amount of shipment to a unit-shipment-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables shipped to at a time to the user; and -in a case where the terms of the contract includes a second term indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer in a corresponding-period is larger than that of the first term, setting a second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of the first consumables indicated by the second amount of shipment being larger than that indicated by the first amount of shipment, the corresponding-period being a period corresponding to a corresponding one term of each of the first term and the second term of the contract The above limitations recite the concept of managing terms of a contract for consumables. The above limitations fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” groupings of abstract ideas, enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a). Certain methods of organizing human activity include: fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, and mitigating risk) commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; and business relations) managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) The limitations of receiving the transmitted terms of the contract, and in a case where the terms of the contract includes a first term, setting a first amount of shipment to a unit-shipment-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables shipped to at a time to the user are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a commercial interaction. For example, “receiving” and “setting” in the context of this claim encompass advertising, and marketing or sales activities. Similarly, the limitations of a printer configured to consume first consumables; and a management device communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user, the management device being configured to manage shipment of the first consumables to the user under a contract with the user, wherein the first controller is configured to execute transmitting the terms of the contract to the management device, and in a case where the terms of the contract includes a second term indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer in a corresponding-period is larger than that of the first term, setting a second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of the first consumables indicated by the second amount of shipment being larger than that indicated by the first amount of shipment, the corresponding-period being a period corresponding to a corresponding one term of each of the first term and the second term of the contract are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover a commercial interaction. That is, other than reciting that the printer consumes the first consumable, that the shipment is manages by the management device, that the transmitting is executed by the first controller, that the terms are transmitted to the management device, and that the first consumables are consumed in the printer, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed by people. For example, but for the “a printer,” “a management device communicatable with the printer,” “a terminal of the user,” “a first controller,” and “a second controller” in the context of this claim encompasses advertising, and marketing or sales activities. Under Prong 2 , it is determined whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (NO). - a printer configured to consume first consumables; and - a management device communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user, the management device being configured to manage shipment of the first consumables to the user under a contract with the user, - wherein the printer, the terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user includes a first controller, - wherein the first controller is configured to execute transmitting the terms of the contract to the management device , - wherein the management device includes a second controller, and -wherein the second controller is configured to execute: -receiving the transmitted terms of the contract, -in a case where the terms of the contract includes a first term, setting a first amount of shipment to a unit-shipment-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables shipped to at a time to the user; and -in a case where the terms of the contract includes a second term indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer in a corresponding-period is larger than that of the first term, setting a second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of the first consumables indicated by the second amount of shipment being larger than that indicated by the first amount of shipment, the corresponding-period being a period corresponding to a corresponding one term of each of the first term and the second term of the contract These limitations are not indicative of integration into a practical application because: The additional elements of claim 13 are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a generic computing hardware (or, merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea) as supported by paragraph [0076] of Applicant’s specification – “The management device 5 may be general purpose PCs or smartphones and so on.” Specifically, the additional elements of a printer, a management device communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, a first controller, and a second controller are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e. as a generic processor performing the generic computer functions of managing data, transmitting data, receiving data, and setting data) such that they amount do no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Further, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computers or computing networks). Employing well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not integrate the exception into a practical application. Additionally, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, ii) apply the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or iv) apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Accordingly, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Under Step 2B , it is determined whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims of the present application do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (NO). In the case of claim 13, taken individually or as a whole, the additional elements of claim 9 do not provide an inventive concept. As discussed above under step 2A (prong 2) with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed functions amount to no more than a general link to a technological environment. Even considered as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements do not add anything significantly more than when considered individually. Claim 1 is a non-transitory storage medium reciting similar functions as claim 13. Examiner notes that claim 1 recites the additional elements of a non-transitory storage medium storing a program, a computer, a management device, and a printer, however, claim 1 does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons as claim 13 indicated above. Claim 14 is a management device reciting similar functions as claim 13. Examiner notes that claim 14 recites the additional elements of a management device, a printer, and a controller, however, claim 14 does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons as claim 13 indicated above. Claim 15 is a method reciting similar functions as claim 13. Examiner notes that claim 15 recites the additional elements of a management device and a printer, however, claim 15 does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons as claim 13 indicated above. Therefore, claims 1, 13, 14, and 15 do not provide an inventive concept and do not qualify as eligible subject matter. Dependent claims 2-12, when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because they do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. More specifically, dependent claims 2-12 further fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas in that they recite commercial interactions. Dependent claims 2-12 recite the additional elements of the computer, the program, the printer, the management device, and a terminal of the user, but similar to the analysis under prong two of Step 2A these additional elements are used as a tool to perform the abstract idea. As such, under prong two of Step 2A, claims 2-12 are not indicative of integration into a practical application for at least similar reasons as discussed above. Thus, dependent claims 2-12 are “directed to” an abstract idea. Next, under Step 2B, similar to the analysis of claims 1, 13, 14, and 15, dependent claims 2-12 when analyzed individually and as an ordered combination, merely further define the commonplace business method (i.e. managing terms of a contract for consumables) being applied on a general-purpose computer and, therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( 1)(a ) as being anticipated by Bhatia et al. (US 2017/0161719 A1), hereinafter Bhatia . Regarding claim 1, Bhatia discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a program executable by a computer of a management device configured to manage shipment, to a user, of first consumables consumed in a printer under a contract with the user, - wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: - in a case where the terms of the contract includes a first terms, setting a first amount of shipment to a unit-shipment-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables shipped at a time to the user (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 [i.e. wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute:]. An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.) [i.e. shipped at a time to the user]. An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) [i.e. setting a first amount of shipment to a unit-shipment-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables] that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes a first terms] or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] Examiner notes the first term is a length of one month); - in a case where the terms of the contract includes a second term indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer in a corresponding-period is larger than that of the first term, setting a second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of the first consumables indicated by the second amount of shipment being larger than that indicated by the first amount of shipment, the corresponding-period being a period corresponding to a corresponding one term of each of the first term and the second term of the contract (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 . An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes a second term] or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month [i.e. indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer in a corresponding-period is larger than that of the first term, setting a second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of the first consumables indicated by the second amount of shipment being larger than that indicated by the first amount of shipment, the corresponding-period being a period corresponding to a corresponding one term of each of the first term and the second term of the contract]” [0023] Examiner notes the second term is a length of two months). Regarding claim 2, Bhatia discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1. Bhatia further discloses: - wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: - in the case where the terms of the contract includes the first terms indicating the corresponding-period of the first term is a first corresponding-period, setting the first amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 [i.e. wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute:]. An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) [i.e. in the case where the terms of the contract includes the first terms indicating the corresponding-period of the first term is a first corresponding-period] that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., [i.e. in the case where the terms of the contract includes the first terms indicating the corresponding-period of the first term is a first corresponding-period] or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] Examiner notes that paying of a smaller amount per month is the first term in light of [0073] of Applicant’s spec); and - in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term indicating the corresponding-period of the second term is a second corresponding-period longer than that of the first corresponding-period, setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 . An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) [i.e. setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount] that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., [i.e. in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term indicating the corresponding-period of the second term is a second corresponding-period longer than that of the first corresponding-period] or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month [i.e. setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount]” [0023] Examiner notes that paying of a larger amount per month in a 2 or 3 month plan length is the second term). Regarding claim 13, Bhatia discloses a management system, comprising: - a printer configured to consume first consumables (Bhatia, see at least: “FIG. 1 illustrates a printer 110 ” [0019] and “a user can register with a subscription service to receive print cartridges for the user's printer [i.e. a printer configured to consume first consumables]. The user can select an ink or toner subscription plan that is suitable for the user's printing needs and receive print cartridge(s) from the service provider accordingly” [0018]); and - a management device communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user, the management device being configured to manage shipment of the first consumables to the user under a contract with the user (Bhatia, see at least: “FIG. 1 illustrates a printer 110 , a mobile computing device 120 , another computing device 130 , a remote service provider 140 [i.e. the management device], and a mobile payment resource 150 . In the example of FIG. 1, a user is in control over and/or has ownership of the printer 110 , the mobile computing device 120 , and the other computing device 130 . The printer 110 can correspond to a network-enabled printer that can communicate with one or more other devices or service providers via one or more networks [i.e. communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user]” [0019] and “The remote service provider 140 can correspond to an entity, such as the manufacturer of the printer 110 or a related entity, that provides printing services as well as an ink or toner subscription service [i.e. the management device being configured to manage shipment of the first consumables to the user under a contract with the user]” [0020]), - wherein the printer, the terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user includes a first controller (Bhatia, see at least: “The components of printer system 200 can combine to receive user account information from a mobile computing device for purposes of registering the user and the user's printer system 200 with a subscription service. Logic can be implemented with various applications (e.g., software) and/or with firmware or hardware of a printer that implements printer system 200 . For example, the printer 110 of FIG. 1 can include hardware components, such as a processor, a memory resource, and a network interface, that can perform or implement functionalities of printer system 200 of FIG. 2 [i.e. wherein the printer, the terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user includes a first controller]” [0044]), - wherein the first controller is configured to execute transmitting the terms of the contract to the management device (Bhatia, see at least: “In response to receiving the user's account information, the printer 110 can transmit, over one or more networks, the account information 112 to the remote service provider 140 on behalf of the user [i.e. wherein the first controller is configured to execute transmitting the terms of the contract to the management device]” [0032]), - wherein the management device includes a second controller (Bhatia, see at least: “system 300 can provide a registration process for an ink or toner subscription service to a user and provide the ink or toner subscription service according to the user's selected plan. In one example, system 300 of FIG. 3 can be implemented by the remote service provider of FIG. 1. The components of system 300 can combine to provide a portal to receive user input as part of a registration process and to receive user information from a user's network-enabled printer as part of the registration process. Logic can be implemented with various applications (e.g., software) and/or with firmware or hardware of a computer system that implements system 300 [i.e. wherein the management device includes a second controller]” [0054]), and - wherein the second controller is configured to execute: -receiving the transmitted terms of the contract (Bhatia, see at least: “the subscription manager 310 can receive [i.e. wherein the second controller is configured to execute: receiving], via the printer interface 340 , user account information 311 from the network-enabled printer 385 via the printer interface 340 . As an addition or an alternative, the subscription manager 310 can also receive printer information 315 , such as the printer ID, of the network-enabled printer 385 along with the user account information 311 [i.e. receiving the transmitted terms of the contract]” [0061] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans [i.e. the transmitted terms of the contract]” [0023]), - in a case where the terms of the contract includes a first term, setting a first amount of shipment to a unit-shipment-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables shipped at a time to the user (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 [i.e. wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute:]. An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.) [i.e. shipped at a time to the user]. An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) [i.e. setting a first amount of shipment to a unit-shipment-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables] that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes a first terms] or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] Examiner notes the first term is a length of one month); and - in a case where the terms of the contract includes a second term indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer in a corresponding-period is larger than that of the first term, setting a second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of the first consumables indicated by the second amount of shipment being larger than that indicated by the first amount of shipment, the corresponding-period being a period corresponding to a corresponding one term of each of the first term and the second term of the contrac t (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 . An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes a second term] or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month [i.e. indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer in a corresponding-period is larger than that of the first term, setting a second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of the first consumables indicated by the second amount of shipment being larger than that indicated by the first amount of shipment, the corresponding-period being a period corresponding to a corresponding one term of each of the first term and the second term of the contract]” [0023] Examiner notes the second term is a length of two months). Claim 14 recites limitations directed towards a management device configured to manage shipment, to a user, of first consumables consumed in a printer under a contract with the user, comprising a controller (Bhatia, see at least: [0019] and [0020]). The limitations recited in claim 14 are parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 1, and are therefore rejected for those same reasons set forth above in claim 1. Claim 15 recites limitations directed towards a method of managing shipment, to a user, of first consumables consumed in a printer under a contract with the user (Bhatia, see at least: abstract). The limitations recited in claim 15 are parallel in nature to those addressed above for claim 1, and are therefore rejected for those same reasons set forth above in claim 1 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia, in view of Baker et al. (US 7,127,433 B2), hereinafter Baker . Regarding claim 3, Bhatia discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1. Bhatia further discloses: - wherein the terms of the contract includes a term indicating a contracted-amount, the contracted-amount being a threshold amount of an amount of second consumables consumed in the printer while the first consumables are consumed, the threshold amount being related to a rate system of the second consumables (Bhatia, see at least: “An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) [i.e. wherein the terms of the contract includes a term indicating a contracted-amount] that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants. Once the printer 110 determines that the ink or toner level is less than a threshold level (or that the ink level will allow only a certain number of pages for printing before running out) [i.e. the contracted-amount being a threshold amount of an amount of second consumables consumed in the printer while the first consumables are consumed, the threshold amount being related to a rate system of the second consumables], the printer 110 can communicate the ink level (via printer status information 115 ) to the remote service provider 140 . The remote service provider 140 can then physically deliver (e.g., through shipping service) a replacement ink cartridge for the printer 110 . By using the ink subscription service, the user can conveniently receive ink or toner for printing and always have the capability to print from his or her printer 110 ” [0021]), - wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute : - in a case where the terms of the contract includes the first term indicating the contracted-amount is a first contracted-amount, setting the first amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 [i.e. wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute:]. An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes the first term indicating the contracted-amount is a first contracted-amount, setting the first amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount] that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, [i.e. includes the first term indicating the contracted-amount is a first contracted-amount] per two months, per three months, etc., or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021]); and - in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term indicating the contracted-amount is a second contracted-amount larger than the first contracted-amount, setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 . An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term] or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month [i.e. the second term indicating the contracted-amount is a second contracted-amount larger than the first contracted-amount, setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount]” [0023]). Bhatia does not explicitly disclose the rate system including at least two rate determining ways respectively determining rates of the second consumables (i) in a case where a consumed amount of the second consumables in the printer is equal to or smaller than the contracted-amount and (ii) in a case where the consumed amount of the second consumables in the printer is larger than the contracted-amount. Baker, however, teaches managing printer services (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of the rate system including at least two rate determining ways respectively determining rates of the second consumables (i) in a case where a consumed amount of the second consumables in the printer is equal to or smaller than the contracted-amount and (ii) in a case where the consumed amount of the second consumables in the printer is larger than the contracted-amount (Baker, see at least: “The first is a pay-per-page with minimums where a minimum volume of pages is established for each class of printer in the fleet (i.e. all the LaserJet 4050's). Different page costs [i.e. wherein the rate system includes at least two rate determining ways respectively determining rates of the second consumables] define the total equation; the first is the cost for each page up to and including the minimum volume [i.e. (i) in a case where a consumed amount of the second consumables in the printer is equal to or smaller than the contracted-amount]. The second page cost is called the overage and is the cost for each page beyond the minimum volume count [i.e. (ii) in a case where the consumed amount of the second consumables in the printer is larger than the contracted-amount]. Regardless of what the initial cost per page is, the user has to pay that amount multiplied by the minimum page count (which equates to a fixed monthly payment). When this model is selected, the user will be required to input the minimum page volumes for each device they add to the fleet” Col. 1 Ln. 42-55 and “For pages printed beyond the minimums established for each device, the PM kit cost per page will be forwarded as a contribution 108 to the overage for each unit in each item” Col. 6 Ln. 9-11). This known technique is applicable to the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to managing printer services. It would have been recognized that applying the known technique of the rate system including at least two rate determining ways respectively determining rates of the second consumables (i) in a case where a consumed amount of the second consumables in the printer is equal to or smaller than the contracted-amount and (ii) in a case where the consumed amount of the second consumables in the printer is larger than the contracted-amount, as taught by Baker, to the teachings of Bhatia would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar non-transitory storage mediums. Further, adding the modification of the rate system including at least two rate determining ways respectively determining rates of the second consumables (i) in a case where a consumed amount of the second consumables in the printer is equal to or smaller than the contracted-amount and (ii) in a case where the consumed amount of the second consumables in the printer is larger than the contracted-amount, as taught by Baker, into the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved non-transitory storage medium that would estimate a more accurate amount of consumables (Baker, Col. 6 Ln. 33-40) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia, in view of Wong et al. (US 2021/0368063 A1), hereinafter Wong . Regarding claim 4, Bhatia discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1. Bhatia further discloses: - wherein the management device is communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user (Bhatia, see at least: “FIG. 1 illustrates a printer 110 , a mobile computing device 120 , another computing device 130 , a remote service provider 140 [i.e. the management device], and a mobile payment resource 150 . In the example of FIG. 1, a user is in control over and/or has ownership of the printer 110 , the mobile computing device 120 , and the other computing device 130 . The printer 110 can correspond to a network-enabled printer that can communicate with one or more other devices or service providers via one or more networks [i.e. is communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user]” [0019] and Fig. 1), and - wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: -obtain information indicating which one of the first amount of shipment and the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount in the case where the terms of content includes the second term (Bhatia, see at least: “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans [i.e. obtain information indicating which one of the first amount of shipment and the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount]. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month [i.e. indicating which one of the first amount of shipment and the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount]” [0023] and “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 [i.e. the obtained information]. An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc. [i.e. in the case where the terms of content includes the second term], or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] Examiner notes the second term is a length of two months); - in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term and the obtained information indicates the first amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount, setting the first amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 [i.e. the obtained information]. An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) [i.e. and the obtained information indicates the first amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount] that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term] or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, [i.e. setting the first amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount] while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month” [0023]); and - in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term and the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount, setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 [i.e. the obtained information]. An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) [i.e. and the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount] that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term] or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month [i.e. setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount]” [0023]). Bhatia does not explicitly disclose causing the printer, the terminal of the user or the printer and the terminal of the user to obtain information indicating which one of the first amount of shipment and the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount. Wong, however, teaches determining print material subscription plans (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of causing the printer, the terminal of the user or the printer and the terminal of the user to obtain information indicating which one of the first amount of shipment and the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount (Wong, see at least: “Based on the data received over the period of time, the server 102 may determine, for each of the image rendering devices 106 - 1 , 106 - 2 , . . . , 106 - n , a print material subscription plan. Further, the notification engine 104 of the server 102 transmits signals to each of the image rendering devices 106 - 1 , 106 - 2 , . . . , 106 - n . [i.e. causing the printer, the terminal of the user or the printer and the terminal of the user to obtain information] The signals are to enable the provision of a notification which is indicative of the determined print material subscription plan corresponding to each of the image rendering devices 106 - 1 , 106 - 2 , . . . , 106 - n . [i.e. indicating which one of the first amount of shipment and the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount]” [0029]). This known technique is applicable to the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to determining print material subscription plans. It would have been recognized that applying the known technique of causing the printer, the terminal of the user or the printer and the terminal of the user to obtain information indicating which one of the first amount of shipment and the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount, as taught by Wong, to the teachings of Bhatia would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar non-transitory storage mediums. Further, adding the modification of causing the printer, the terminal of the user or the printer and the terminal of the user to obtain information indicating which one of the first amount of shipment and the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount, as taught by Wong, into the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved non-transitory storage medium that would provide selection of a plan that is optimal for the user and the service provider (Wong, [0016]). Regarding claim 9, Bhatia discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1. Bhatia does not explicitly disclose wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, determining an estimated-consumption-amount indicating an estimated amount of the first consumables estimated to be consumed in the printer by the user in the corresponding-period; and in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment based on the determined estimated-consumption-amount to the unit-shipment-amount. Wong, however, teaches determining print material subscription plans (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, determining an estimated-consumption-amount indicating an estimated amount of the first consumables estimated to be consumed in the printer by the user in the corresponding-period (Wong, see at least: “Providing the notification comprising the cost associated with the first plan identified by the server based on print material consumption monitored by the server for a period of time may also make the user informed regarding a plan that may be better suited for the image rendering device. Considering an example where the image rendering device 106 - 1 has been subscribed to a second plan which ensures 7 milliliters of print material per month for an associated cost or subscription fees of 3 dollars. However, based on the received data, it is indicated that the image rendering device 106 - 1 consumes 12 milliliters of print material per month [i.e. determining an estimated-consumption-amount indicating an estimated amount of the first consumables estimated to be consumed in the printer by the user in the corresponding-period]. In such cases, the user may have to additionally purchase 5 milliliters of print material which may incur additional cost to the user, say 2 dollars. Thus, the total cost incurred by the user of the image rendering device 106 - 1 is 5 dollars (3 dollars+2 dollars), in this example” [0067] and “if it is determined that the first plan ensures procurement of 12 milliliters of print material, monthly [i.e. in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term], for an associated cost of 4 dollars, the notification may provide that the 12 milliliters of print material may be procured by the first plan at a cost of 4 dollars which is less than the cost he is currently incurring, e.g., 5 dollars” [0068] and “Based on the data received over the period of time, the server 102 may determine, for each of the image rendering devices 106 - 1 , 106 - 2 , . . . , 106 - n , a print material subscription plan. Further, the notification engine 104 of the server 102 transmits signals to each of the image rendering devices 106 - 1 , 106 - 2 , . . . , 106 - n . The signals are to enable the provision of a notification which is indicative of the determined print material subscription plan corresponding to each of the image rendering devices 106 - 1 , 106 - 2 , . . . , 106 - n .” [0029] Examiner notes that 12 millimeters is the estimated consumption amount); and the known technique of, in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment based on the determined estimated-consumption-amount to the unit-shipment-amount (Wong, see at least: “Providing the notification comprising the cost associated with the first plan identified by the server based on print material consumption monitored by the server for a period of time may also make the user informed regarding a plan that may be better suited for the image rendering device. Considering an example where the image rendering device 106 - 1 has been subscribed to a second plan which ensures 7 milliliters of print material per month for an associated cost or subscription fees of 3 dollars. However, based on the received data, it is indicated that the image rendering device 106 - 1 consumes 12 milliliters of print material per month [i.e. based on the determined estimated-consumption-amount to the unit-shipment-amount]. In such cases, the user may have to additionally purchase 5 milliliters of print material which may incur additional cost to the user, say 2 dollars. Thus, the total cost incurred by the user of the image rendering device 106 - 1 is 5 dollars (3 dollars+2 dollars), in this example” [0067] and “if it is determined that the first plan ensures procurement of 12 milliliters of print material, monthly [i.e. in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term], for an associated cost of 4 dollars, the notification may provide that the 12 milliliters of print material may be procured by the first plan at a cost of 4 dollars which is less than the cost he is currently incurring, e.g., 5 dollars” [0068] and “The notification provides for selection of a plan [i.e. setting the second amount of shipment] for the image rendering device that is optimal for the user and the service provider and may avoid either party from incurring additional cost due to selection of a sub-optimal subscription plan” [0016] Examiner notes that 12 millimeters is the estimated consumption amount). These known techniques are applicable to the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to determining print material subscription plans. It would have been recognized that applying the known techniques of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, determining an estimated-consumption-amount indicating an estimated amount of the first consumables estimated to be consumed in the printer by the user in the corresponding-period; and in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment based on the determined estimated-consumption-amount to the unit-shipment-amount, as taught by Wong, to the teachings of Bhatia would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar non-transitory storage mediums. Further, adding the modifications of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, determining an estimated-consumption-amount indicating an estimated amount of the first consumables estimated to be consumed in the printer by the user in the corresponding-period; and in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment based on the determined estimated-consumption-amount to the unit-shipment-amount, as taught by Wong, into the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved non-transitory storage medium that would provide selection of a plan that is optimal for the user and the service provider (Wong, [0016]). Regarding claim 10, Bhatia discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1. Bhatia does not explicitly disclose wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, determining a specified-consumption-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer by the user in a past specified period; and in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second terms and a future specified period corresponding to the past specified period is included in a predetermined set period, setting the second amount of shipment based on the specified-consumption-amount to the unit-shipment-amount. Wong, however, teaches determining print material subscription plans (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, determining a specified-consumption-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer by the user in a past specified period (Wong, see at least: “Providing the notification comprising the cost associated with the first plan identified by the server based on print material consumption monitored by the server for a period of time may also make the user informed regarding a plan that may be better suited for the image rendering device. Considering an example where the image rendering device 106 - 1 has been subscribed to a second plan which ensures 7 milliliters of print material per month for an associated cost or subscription fees of 3 dollars. However, based on the received data, it is indicated that the image rendering device 106 - 1 consumes 12 milliliters of print material per month [i.e. determining a specified-consumption-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer by the user in a past specified period]. In such cases, the user may have to additionally purchase 5 milliliters of print material which may incur additional cost to the user, say 2 dollars. Thus, the total cost incurred by the user of the image rendering device 106 - 1 is 5 dollars (3 dollars+2 dollars), in this example” [0067] and “if it is determined that the first plan ensures procurement of 12 milliliters of print material, monthly [i.e. in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term], for an associated cost of 4 dollars, the notification may provide that the 12 milliliters of print material may be procured by the first plan at a cost of 4 dollars which is less than the cost he is currently incurring, e.g., 5 dollars” [0068] and “Based on the data received over the period of time, the server 102 may determine, for each of the image rendering devices 106 - 1 , 106 - 2 , . . . , 106 - n , a print material subscription plan. Further, the notification engine 104 of the server 102 transmits signals to each of the image rendering devices 106 - 1 , 106 - 2 , . . . , 106 - n . The signals are to enable the provision of a notification which is indicative of the determined print material subscription plan corresponding to each of the image rendering devices 106 - 1 , 106 - 2 , . . . , 106 - n .” [0029]); and the known technique of, in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second terms and a future specified period corresponding to the past specified period is included in a predetermined set period, setting the second amount of shipment based on the specified-consumption-amount to the unit-shipment-amount (Wong, see at least: “Providing the notification comprising the cost associated with the first plan identified by the server based on print material consumption monitored by the server for a period of time may also make the user informed regarding a plan that may be better suited for the image rendering device. Considering an example where the image rendering device 106 - 1 has been subscribed to a second plan which ensures 7 milliliters of print material per month for an associated cost or subscription fees of 3 dollars. However, based on the received data, it is indicated that the image rendering device 106 - 1 consumes 12 milliliters of print material per month [i.e. a future specified period corresponding to the past specified period is included in a predetermined set period]. In such cases, the user may have to additionally purchase 5 milliliters of print material which may incur additional cost to the user, say 2 dollars. Thus, the total cost incurred by the user of the image rendering device 106 - 1 is 5 dollars (3 dollars+2 dollars), in this example” [0067] and “if it is determined that the first plan ensures procurement of 12 milliliters of print material, monthly [i.e. in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term], for an associated cost of 4 dollars, the notification may provide that the 12 milliliters of print material may be procured by the first plan at a cost of 4 dollars which is less than the cost he is currently incurring, e.g., 5 dollars [i.e. setting the second amount of shipment based on the specified-consumption-amount to the unit-shipment-amount]” [0068] and “The notification provides for selection of a plan [i.e. setting the second amount of shipment] for the image rendering device that is optimal for the user and the service provider and may avoid either party from incurring additional cost due to selection of a sub-optimal subscription plan” [0016]). These known techniques are applicable to the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to determining print material subscription plans. It would have been recognized that applying the known techniques of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, determining a specified-consumption-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer by the user in a past specified period; and in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second terms and a future specified period corresponding to the past specified period is included in a predetermined set period, setting the second amount of shipment based on the specified-consumption-amount to the unit-shipment-amount, as taught by Wong, to the teachings of Bhatia would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar non-transitory storage mediums. Further, adding the modifications of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, determining a specified-consumption-amount indicating an amount of the first consumables consumed in the printer by the user in a past specified period; and in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second terms and a future specified period corresponding to the past specified period is included in a predetermined set period, setting the second amount of shipment based on the specified-consumption-amount to the unit-shipment-amount, as taught by Wong, into the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved non-transitory storage medium that would provide selection of a plan that is optimal for the user and the service provider (Wong, [0016]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia, in view of Wong, in further view of Saraya et al. (US 2018/0211196 A1), hereinafter Saraya . Regarding claim 5, Bhatia in view of Wong teaches the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 4. Bhatia further discloses: - wherein the terms of contract includes a term regarding a contract rate (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 . An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) [i.e. wherein the terms of contract includes a term regarding a contract rate] for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021]), and - wherein, executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: -in a case where the terms of the contract includes the first term indicating the contract rate is a first contract rate, setting the first amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided [i.e. the obtained information] by the remote service provider 140 [i.e. wherein, executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute:]. An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes the first term indicating the contract rate is a first contract rate, setting the first amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount] while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month” [0023]), - in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term indicating the contract rate is a second contract rate higher than the first contract rate, setting the first amount of shipment or the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 . An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc. [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term indicating the contract rate is a second contract rate higher than the first contract rate], or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, [i.e. setting the first amount of shipment] while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month [i.e. the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount]” [0023] Examiner notes that 2 shipments of the monthly amount is more than one shipment of the monthly amount [i.e. setting the first amount of shipment]). Bhatia in view of Wong does not explicitly teach, in a case where the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment amount, changing the second contract rate to a discount contract rate lower than the second contract rate. Saraya, however, teaches restocking commodities (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of, in a case where the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment amount, changing the second contract rate to a discount contract rate lower than the second contract rate (Saraya, see at least: “Illustrative but not limiting or exhaustive examples of pricing metrics applicable to restocking operations include retailer or wholesaler promotional offers, discounts, quantity pricing, bulk shipping rates, seasonal shipping rates, time-limited offers, and still others will be apparent one skilled in the art” [0056] and “The aspects collect offers from a variety of different vendors, retailers, shippers, etc., to identify how a user may get maximum cost savings benefits in maintaining commodity supplies within the various containers at desired threshold levels through combining operations to take advantage of bulk or quantity discounts [i.e. in a case where the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment amount, changing the second contract rate to a discount contract rate lower than the second contract rate]. Rather than routinely executing commodity replenishment orders individually, aspects recognize that combining orders may reduce shipping costs, or trigger lower pricing via increasing purchase value or shipping quantities to meet thresholds associated with discounted pricing, free shipping, etc.” [0067]). This known technique is applicable to the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia in view of Wong as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to restocking commodities. It would have been recognized that applying the known technique of, in a case where the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment amount, changing the second contract rate to a discount contract rate lower than the second contract rate, as taught by Saraya, to the teachings of Bhatia in view of Wong would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar non-transitory storage mediums. Further, adding the modification of, in a case where the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment amount, changing the second contract rate to a discount contract rate lower than the second contract rate, as taught by Saraya, into the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia in view of Wong would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved non-transitory storage medium that would allow users to take advantage of bulk or quantity discounts (Saraya, [0067]). Regarding claim 6, Bhatia in view of Wong teaches the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 4. Bhatia further discloses: - wherein the terms of the contract includes a term regarding a contract rate (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 . An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) [i.e. wherein the terms of contract includes a term regarding a contract rate] for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021]), and - wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: -in a case where the terms of the contract includes the first term indicating the contract rate is a first contract rate, setting the first amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided [i.e. the obtained information] by the remote service provider 140 [i.e. wherein, executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute:]. An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc., or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes the first term indicating the contract rate is a first contract rate, setting the first amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount] while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month” [0023]); - in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term indicating the contract rate is a second contract rate higher than the first contract rate, setting the first amount of shipment or the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount (Bhatia, see at least: “The user can also register or enroll with an ink (or toner) subscription service that is provided by the remote service provider 140 . An ink subscription service enables a user to pay for an ink subscription plan in which ink cartridges can be mailed/shipped to the user's designated address (e.g., home, business, etc.). An ink subscription plan, for example, can correspond to an amount (e.g., $2.99, $4.99, etc.) for a predefined number of pages (e.g., 50 pages, 100 pages, etc.) that can be printed by the user using the user's printer 110 . The user can sign up for automatic renewal in which the user pays the amount per month, per two months, per three months, etc. [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term indicating the contract rate is a second contract rate higher than the first contract rate], or manual renewal in which the user can order a plan whenever the user wants” [0021] and “the registration process can require the user to select an ink subscription plan from a plurality of different ink subscription plans. As discussed, a user can select from a variety of different plans based on the user's printing habits and printing frequency. A first plan, for example, can be suitable for an occasional print user, which enables the user to print up to 50 pages for $2.99 per month, [i.e. setting the first amount of shipment] while a second plan can be suitable for a frequent print user, which enables the user to print up to 300 pages for $9.99 per month [i.e. the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount]” [0023] Examiner notes that 2 shipments of the monthly amount is more than one shipment of the monthly amount [i.e. setting the first amount of shipment]). Bhatia in view of Wong does not explicitly teach, in a case where the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount, granting a privilege to the user. Saraya, however, teaches restocking commodities (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of, in a case where the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount, granting a privilege to the user (Saraya, see at least: “Illustrative but not limiting or exhaustive examples of pricing metrics applicable to restocking operations include retailer or wholesaler promotional offers, discounts, quantity pricing, bulk shipping rates, seasonal shipping rates, time-limited offers, and still others will be apparent one skilled in the art” [0056] and “The aspects collect offers from a variety of different vendors, retailers, shippers, etc., to identify how a user may get maximum cost savings benefits in maintaining commodity supplies within the various containers at desired threshold levels through combining operations to take advantage of bulk or quantity discounts [i.e. in a case where the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount, granting a privilege to the user]. Rather than routinely executing commodity replenishment orders individually, aspects recognize that combining orders may reduce shipping costs, or trigger lower pricing via increasing purchase value or shipping quantities to meet thresholds associated with discounted pricing, free shipping, etc.” [0067] Examiner notes that a discount is a privilege). This known technique is applicable to the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia in view of Wong as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to restocking commodities. It would have been recognized that applying the known technique of, in a case where the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount, granting a privilege to the user, as taught by Saraya, to the teachings of Bhatia in view of Wong would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar non-transitory storage mediums. Further, adding the modification of, in a case where the obtained information indicates the second amount of shipment is to be set to the unit-shipment-amount, granting a privilege to the user, as taught by Saraya, into the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia in view of Wong would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved non-transitory storage medium that would allow users to take advantage of bulk or quantity discounts (Saraya, [0067]). Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bhatia/Wong/Saraya teaches the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 5. Bhatia in view of Wong does not explicitly teach wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in a case where a shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables is a first shipping rate, changing the second contract rate to a first discount contract rate lower than the second contract rate; and in a case where the shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables is a second shipping rate lower than the first shipping rate, changing the second contract rate to a second discount contract rate lower than the first discount contract rate. Saraya, however, teaches restocking commodities (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in a case where a shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables is a first shipping rate, changing the second contract rate to a first discount contract rate lower than the second contract rate (Saraya, see at least: “Illustrative but not limiting or exhaustive examples of pricing metrics applicable to restocking operations include retailer or wholesaler promotional offers, discounts, quantity pricing, bulk shipping rates [i.e. in a case where a shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables is a first shipping rate, changing the second contract rate to a first discount contract rate lower than the second contract rate], seasonal shipping rates, time-limited offers, and still others will be apparent one skilled in the art” [0056] and “The aspects collect offers from a variety of different vendors, retailers, shippers, etc., to identify how a user may get maximum cost savings benefits in maintaining commodity supplies within the various containers at desired threshold levels through combining operations to take advantage of bulk or quantity discounts. Rather than routinely executing commodity replenishment orders individually, aspects recognize that combining orders may reduce shipping costs, or trigger lower pricing via increasing purchase value or shipping quantities to meet thresholds associated with discounted pricing, free shipping, etc.” [0067]); and the known technique of, in a case where the shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables is a second shipping rate lower than the first shipping rate, changing the second contract rate to a second discount contract rate lower than the first discount contract rate (Saraya, see at least: “Illustrative but not limiting or exhaustive examples of pricing metrics applicable to restocking operations include retailer or wholesaler promotional offers, discounts, quantity pricing, bulk shipping rates, seasonal shipping rates, time-limited offers, and still others will be apparent one skilled in the art” [0056] and “The aspects collect offers from a variety of different vendors, retailers, shippers, etc., to identify how a user may get maximum cost savings benefits in maintaining commodity supplies within the various containers at desired threshold levels through combining operations to take advantage of bulk or quantity discounts. Rather than routinely executing commodity replenishment orders individually, aspects recognize that combining orders may reduce shipping costs, or trigger lower pricing via increasing purchase value or shipping quantities to meet thresholds associated with discounted pricing, free shipping, etc. [i.e. in a case where the shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables is a second shipping rate lower than the first shipping rate, changing the second contract rate to a second discount contract rate lower than the first discount contract rate]” [0067] Examiner notes that when the order qualifies for both a quantity discount and a shipping discount, the overall order discount [i.e. contract discount] is lower than only qualifying for the quantity discount). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bhatia in view of Wong with Saraya for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 5. Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bhatia/Wong/Saraya teaches the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 6. Bhatia in view of Wong does not explicitly teach wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in a case where a shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables to the user is a first shipping rate, granting a first privilege to the user; and in a case where the shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables is a second shipping rate lower than the first shipping rate, granting, to the user, a second privilege more valuable than the first privilege. Saraya, however, teaches restocking commodities (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: in a case where a shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables to the user is a first shipping rate, granting a first privilege to the user (Saraya, see at least: “Illustrative but not limiting or exhaustive examples of pricing metrics applicable to restocking operations include retailer or wholesaler promotional offers, discounts, quantity pricing, bulk shipping rates [i.e. in a case where a shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables to the user is a first shipping rate, granting a first privilege to the user], seasonal shipping rates, time-limited offers, and still others will be apparent one skilled in the art” [0056] and “The aspects collect offers from a variety of different vendors, retailers, shippers, etc., to identify how a user may get maximum cost savings benefits in maintaining commodity supplies within the various containers at desired threshold levels through combining operations to take advantage of bulk or quantity discounts. Rather than routinely executing commodity replenishment orders individually, aspects recognize that combining orders may reduce shipping costs, or trigger lower pricing via increasing purchase value or shipping quantities to meet thresholds associated with discounted pricing, free shipping, etc.” [0067] Examiner notes that a discount is a privilege); and the known technique of, in a case where the shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables is a second shipping rate lower than the first shipping rate, granting, to the user, a second privilege more valuable than the first privilege (Saraya, see at least: “Illustrative but not limiting or exhaustive examples of pricing metrics applicable to restocking operations include retailer or wholesaler promotional offers, discounts, quantity pricing, bulk shipping rates, seasonal shipping rates, time-limited offers, and still others will be apparent one skilled in the art” [0056] and “The aspects collect offers from a variety of different vendors, retailers, shippers, etc., to identify how a user may get maximum cost savings benefits in maintaining commodity supplies within the various containers at desired threshold levels through combining operations to take advantage of bulk or quantity discounts. Rather than routinely executing commodity replenishment orders individually, aspects recognize that combining orders may reduce shipping costs, or trigger lower pricing via increasing purchase value or shipping quantities to meet thresholds associated with discounted pricing, free shipping, etc. [i.e. in a case where the shipping rate of the second amount of shipment of the first consumables is a second shipping rate lower than the first shipping rate, granting, to the user, a second privilege more valuable than the first privilege]” [0067] Examiner notes that meeting the threshold for free shipping is a more valuable privilege than discounted shipping). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bhatia in view of Wong with Saraya for the reasons identified above with respect to claim 6 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia, in view of Yamada et al. (US 2022/0171576 A1), hereinafter Yamada . Regarding claim 11, Bhatia discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1. Bhatia does not explicitly disclose the management device being communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user, and wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: causing the printer, the terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user to obtain information designating a maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount; and in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of shipment of the second amount of shipment being equal to or smaller than the maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount designated by the obtained information. Yamada, however, teaches contracts for consumable of a printing device (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of the management device being communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user (Yamada, see at least: Fig. 1 shows that printing device 1 is incommunication with server 9 [i.e. wherein the management device is communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user]), and the known technique of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: causing the printer, the terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user to obtain information designating a maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount (Yamada, see at least: “The printing device 1 is configured to perform contract printing, which is printing based on terms of a contract made with a business entity. The server 9 is an external device configured to communicate with the printing device 1 via a network [i.e. causing the printer, the terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user to obtain information]” [0017] and “At the time the contract is made, concrete conditions (contract terms) are agreed upon, such as a period of use of a service, a fee for use, and a maximum number of pages to be printed with the service applied [i.e. to obtain information designating a maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount]” [0019] and “The contracted maximum number of sheets is the upper limit of the number of sheets that the printing device 1 can print in the flat-rate printing during a particular period defined by the contract” [0083]); and the known technique of, in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of shipment of the second amount of shipment being equal to or smaller than the maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount designated by the obtained information (Yamada, see at least: “The detailed provisions of the flat-rate printing service may be defined as appropriate, but for example, the flat-rate printing service may provide the consumables and/or replacement items used for the flat-rate printing to the user at a flat rate as long as the aforementioned usage period and the maximum number of pages are not exceeded [i.e. setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of shipment of the second amount of shipment being equal to or smaller than the maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount designated by the obtained information]” [0020] and “The contracted maximum number of sheets is the upper limit of the number of sheets that the printing device 1 can print in the flat-rate printing during a particular period defined by the contract [i.e. setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of shipment of the second amount of shipment being equal to or smaller than the maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount designated by the obtained information]” [0083] and “the contract cartridge is shipped to the user by the provider of the flat-rate printing service. In the present embodiment, the first shipment of the contract cartridge may be performed after the contract has been concluded, triggered by the fact that the printing device 1 has entered the contract mode” [0036] and “replacement contract cartridges are shipped [i.e. in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term] to the user as the first contract cartridges … when the remaining amount of the consumables has already decreased at the time when the controller 80 activates the contract mode, the replacement first type consumables can be shipped before the consumables is completely exhausted” [0131]). These known technique are applicable to the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to contracts for consumable of a printing device. It would have been recognized that applying the known techniques of the management device being communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user, and wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: causing the printer, the terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user to obtain information designating a maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount; and in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of shipment of the second amount of shipment being equal to or smaller than the maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount designated by the obtained information, as taught by Yamada, to the teachings of Bhatia would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar non-transitory storage mediums. Further, adding the modifications of the management device being communicatable with the printer, a terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user, and wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute: causing the printer, the terminal of the user, or the printer and the terminal of the user to obtain information designating a maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount; and in the case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment to the unit-shipment-amount, the amount of shipment of the second amount of shipment being equal to or smaller than the maximum limit of the unit-shipment-amount designated by the obtained information, as taught by Yamada, into the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved non-transitory storage medium that would allow for a flat-rate to be provided (Yamada, [0020]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia, in view of Alvo et al. (US 2018/0315111 A1), hereinafter Alvo . Regarding claim 12, Bhatia discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 1. Bhatia does not explicitly disclose wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute, in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment based on an expiration date of the first consumables to the unit-shipment-amount. Alvo, however, teaches an automated replenishment system (i.e. abstract), including the known technique of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute, in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment based on an expiration date of the first consumables to the unit-shipment-amount (Alvo, see at least: “a quantity or volume of a consumable, such as ink for jet ink printers, may evaporate at a certain rate. Consider that printer ink may evaporate at a rate of 3 mL per unit time. Accuracy in identifying a quantity of ink in inventory, therefore, may be enhanced by compensating for evaporation during idle durations. Similarly, a consumption or usage rate may be updated or modified based on expected expiration of a consumable [i.e. setting the second amount of shipment based on an expiration date of the first consumables to the unit-shipment-amount], such as a perishable good (e.g., vegetables, milk, meat, eggs, etc.). Or, a consumption or usage rate may be updated or modified based on procurement of a consumable external, for example, to a subscription or known rate of acquisition. For example, if a user has a subscription to receive 40 coffee pods every month [i.e. in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term], the inventoried amount may be altered if the user purchases extra coffee pods during (e.g., frequent) trips to a grocery store. Hence, a rate of consumption of coffee obtained by subscription may be reduced to reflect additional amounts of coffee that are purchases outside the subscription” [0071] and “an amount of inventory may be updated (e.g., reduced) by an amount consumed, as determined at 520 . At 524 , a determination is made whether an amount of inventory may be compliant with a range of threshold values” [0072] and “one or more of merchant computing systems 130 a , 130 b , or 130 n may implement an inventory management controller 131 to manage an amount of inventory for purposes of enhancing the efficacy of fulfilling and replenishing items [i.e. wherein, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute, in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term] over an aggregate number of consumers in, for example, an automated manner” [0039]). This known technique is applicable to the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to an automated replenishment system. It would have been recognized that applying the known technique of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute, in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment based on an expiration date of the first consumables to the unit-shipment-amount, as taught by Alvo, to the teachings of Bhatia would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such references into similar non-transitory storage mediums. Further, adding the modification of, when executed by the computer, the program is configured to execute, in a case where the terms of the contract includes the second term, setting the second amount of shipment based on an expiration date of the first consumables to the unit-shipment-amount, as taught by Alvo, into the non-transitory storage medium of Bhatia would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved non-transitory storage medium that would provide accuracy in identifying a quantity of a consumable (Alvo, [0071]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. -Taylor et al. (US 11,954,380 B2) teaches initiating a new subscription. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ARIELLE E WEINER whose telephone number is (571)272-9007. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Maria-Teresa ( Marissa) Thein can be reached at 571-272-6764. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ARIELLE E WEINER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 2 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 3 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 4 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 5 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 6 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 7 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 8 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 9 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 10 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 11 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 12 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 13 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 14 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 15 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 16 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 17 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 18 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 19 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 20 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 21 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 22 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 23 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 24 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 25 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 26 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 27 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 28 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 29 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 30 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 31 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 32 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 33 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 34 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 35 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 36 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 37 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 38 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 39 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 40 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 41 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 42 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 43 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 44 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 45 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 46 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 47 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 48 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 49 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 50 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 51 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 52 Art Unit: 3689 Application/Control Number: 18/931,269 Page 53 Art Unit: 3689