DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuishi (2013/0319361) in view of Liu (2019/0031178).
Regarding applicant claim 1, Furuishi discloses a method for controlling a hybrid electric vehicle, the method comprising:
predicting, during an ignition, a torque change in a shaft to which an engine and a motor are connected together by determining due to a combustion pressure torque according to whether initial explosion has occurred during ignition of the engine ([0032] “when a starting request is issued, generation torque prediction processing and torque determination processing are executed… and it is determined whether or not motor assist is used in combination based on the determination result”); and
controlling torque of the motor during the ignition based on the predicted torque change ([0033] “generation torque prediction processing; prediction torque which is generated when the air is combusted with a predetermined A/F is calculated”).
Furuishi teaches controlling the torque but is not explicit concerning determining whether to apply a vibrational contribution.
Liu discloses a system and method that reduces, compensates, and/or cancels resonant noise and vibration during engine and/or CE startup for HEVs ([0004]). Liu further teaches that such possible resonance may be perceptible to vehicle occupants during low HEV speeds when road and other nominal vibrations and noise may otherwise mask CE startup resonances and that controlling such HEVs to ensure favorable occupant drivability perceptions, requires reduction of undamped or insufficiently damped noise and vibration, especially when transiting between from electric and CE modes that require a stopped CE to restart ([0002]-[0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the hybrid system of Furuishi in predicting a torque change with the teaching of Liu in determining whether to apply a vibrational contribution in order to reduce or cancel out vibrations and noise since Liu is motivated by favorable occupant drivability perceptions.
Regarding applicant claim 2, Furuishi discloses wherein the predicting of the torque change during the ignition comprises:
before the initial explosion, predicting the torque change in consideration of vibrational contributions of a motoring pressure torque of the motor and an inertial torque of the engine; and after the initial explosion, predicting the torque change in consideration of vibrational contributions of the motoring pressure torque, the inertial torque, and the combustion pressure torque ([0037] “calculated based on the cylinder internal pressure and the torque of the initial explosion cylinder”).
Regarding applicant claim 3, Furuishi discloses wherein the controlling of the torque of the motor comprises, in a case where, before the initial explosion, a motoring average torque causing occurrence of the motoring pressure torque corresponds to pre-configured maximum motoring torque, performing control to add, to the motoring average torque, correction torque obtained by inverting a positive (+) component of the predicted torque change ([0014] “prediction torque is smaller than a predetermined starting request torque”).
Regarding applicant claim 4, Furuishi discloses wherein the controlling of the torque of the motor comprises, in a case where, before the initial explosion, motoring average torque causing occurrence of the motoring pressure torque is less than pre-configured maximum motoring torque, performing control to add, to the motoring average torque, correction torque obtained by inverting a negative (-) component of the predicted torque change ([0014] “prediction torque is smaller than a predetermined starting request torque”).
Regarding applicant claim 5, Furuishi discloses wherein the controlling of the torque of the motor comprises, in a case after the initial explosion, performing control to add, to the motoring average torque, correction torque obtained by inverting all the predicted torque change ([0033] “generation torque prediction processing; prediction torque which is generated when the air is combusted with a predetermined A/F is calculated”).
Regarding applicant claim 6, Furuishi discloses wherein the inertial torque, the motoring pressure torque, and the combustion pressure torque are determined based on a crank shaft angle position of the engine, a number of rotations of the shaft, and the motoring average torque ([0029] “crank angle sensor, cylindrical internal pressure sensor… output signal that is synchronized with rotation of the crankshaft”).
Regarding applicant claim 7, Furuishi discloses wherein the crank shaft angle position of the engine is determined by adding a pre-configured offset to a resolver position of the motor ([0029] “crank angle sensor, cylindrical internal pressure sensor… output signal that is synchronized with rotation of the crankshaft”).
Regarding applicant claim 8, Furuishi discloses the method but is silent wherein the pre-configured offset is configured to cause vibration to have a minimum level of amplitude during the ignition in response that torque obtained by summating the motoring average torque and an antiphase of the predicted torque change according to a position of the engine is applied to the motor.
Liu discloses a system and method that reduces, compensates, and/or cancels resonant noise and vibration during engine and/or CE startup for HEVs ([0004]). Liu further teaches that such possible resonance may be perceptible to vehicle occupants during low HEV speeds when road and other nominal vibrations and noise may otherwise mask CE startup resonances and that controlling such HEVs to ensure favorable occupant drivability perceptions, requires reduction of undamped or insufficiently damped noise and vibration, especially when transiting between from electric and CE modes that require a stopped CE to restart ([0002]-[0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the hybrid system of Furuishi in predicting a torque change with the teaching of Liu in determining whether to apply a vibrational contribution in order to reduce or cancel out vibrations and noise since Liu is motivated by favorable occupant drivability perceptions.
Regarding applicant claim 9, Furuishi discloses the method but is silent wherein the level of amplitude of vibration during the ignition is determined based on a square of the torque change, and wherein the inertial torque is determined according to a pre-configured table based on the crank shaft angle position of the engine and the number of rotations of the shaft.
Liu teaches a start profile that is generated from selected historical start OCGs of prior engine and/or CE starts. The start profile is calibrated using a blend factor that is generated from comparisons and utilized to generate a feed-forward torque signal that adjusts EM torque to reduce startup noise and vibration resonances (abstract). Liu further teaches databases are stored in one or more HEV controllers and/or components ([0004]-[0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use historical data that is stored in the database (table) as taught by Liu since this start profile would help in reducing noise and vibration.
Regarding applicant claim 10, Furuishi discloses the method but is silent wherein the motoring pressure torque is determined according to a pre-configured motoring pressure torque table based on the crank shaft angle position of the engine, the number of rotations of the engine, and the motoring average torque, and wherein the combustion pressure torque is determined according to a pre-configured combustion pressure torque table based on the crank shaft angle position of the engine, the number of rotations of the engine, and the motoring average torque.
Liu teaches a start profile that is generated from selected historical start OCGs of prior engine and/or CE starts. The start profile is calibrated using a blend factor that is generated from comparisons and utilized to generate a feed-forward torque signal that adjusts EM torque to reduce startup noise and vibration resonances (abstract). Liu further teaches databases are stored in one or more HEV controllers and/or components ([0004]-[0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use historical data that is stored in the database (table) as taught by Liu since this start profile would help in reducing noise and vibration.
Regarding applicant claim 11, Furuishi discloses a hybrid electric vehicle comprising:
a power train including an engine, a motor, and a shaft to which the engine and the motor are connected together ([0028]; [0032] “hybrid vehicle”); and a controller, configured to:
predict, during an ignition, a torque change in a shaft to which an engine and a motor are connected together by determining due to a combustion pressure torque according to whether initial explosion has occurred during ignition of the engine ([0032] “when a starting request is issued, generation torque prediction processing and torque determination processing are executed… and it is determined whether or not motor assist is used in combination based on the determination result”); and
control torque of the motor during the ignition based on the predicted torque change ([0033] “generation torque prediction processing; prediction torque which is generated when the air is combusted with a predetermined A/F is calculated”).
Furuishi teaches controlling the torque but is not explicit concerning determining whether to apply a vibrational contribution.
Liu discloses a system and method that reduces, compensates, and/or cancels resonant noise and vibration during engine and/or CE startup for HEVs ([0004]). Liu further teaches that such possible resonance may be perceptible to vehicle occupants during low HEV speeds when road and other nominal vibrations and noise may otherwise mask CE startup resonances and that controlling such HEVs to ensure favorable occupant drivability perceptions, requires reduction of undamped or insufficiently damped noise and vibration, especially when transiting between from electric and CE modes that require a stopped CE to restart ([0002]-[0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the hybrid system of Furuishi in predicting a torque change with the teaching of Liu in determining whether to apply a vibrational contribution in order to reduce or cancel out vibrations and noise since Liu is motivated by favorable occupant drivability perceptions.
Regarding applicant claim 12, Furuishi discloses wherein the predicting of the torque change during the ignition comprises:
before the initial explosion, predicting the torque change in consideration of vibrational contributions of a motoring pressure torque of the motor and an inertial torque of the engine; and after the initial explosion, predicting the torque change in consideration of vibrational contributions of the motoring pressure torque, the inertial torque, and the combustion pressure torque ([0037] “calculated based on the cylinder internal pressure and the torque of the initial explosion cylinder”).
Regarding applicant claim 13, Furuishi discloses wherein the controlling of the torque of the motor comprises, in a case where, before the initial explosion, a motoring average torque causing occurrence of the motoring pressure torque corresponds to pre-configured maximum motoring torque, performing control to add, to the motoring average torque, correction torque obtained by inverting a positive (+) component of the predicted torque change ([0014] “prediction torque is smaller than a predetermined starting request torque”).
Regarding applicant claim 14, Furuishi discloses wherein the controlling of the torque of the motor comprises, in a case where, before the initial explosion, motoring average torque causing occurrence of the motoring pressure torque is less than pre-configured maximum motoring torque, performing control to add, to the motoring average torque, correction torque obtained by inverting a negative (-) component of the predicted torque change ([0014] “prediction torque is smaller than a predetermined starting request torque”).
Regarding applicant claim 15, Furuishi discloses wherein the controlling of the torque of the motor comprises, in a case after the initial explosion, performing control to add, to the motoring average torque, correction torque obtained by inverting all the predicted torque change ([0033] “generation torque prediction processing; prediction torque which is generated when the air is combusted with a predetermined A/F is calculated”).
Regarding applicant claim 16, Furuishi discloses wherein the inertial torque, the motoring pressure torque, and the combustion pressure torque are determined based on a crank shaft angle position of the engine, a number of rotations of the shaft, and the motoring average torque ([0029] “crank angle sensor, cylindrical internal pressure sensor… output signal that is synchronized with rotation of the crankshaft”).
Regarding applicant claim 17, Furuishi discloses wherein the crank shaft angle position of the engine is determined by adding a pre-configured offset to a resolver position of the motor ([0029] “crank angle sensor, cylindrical internal pressure sensor… output signal that is synchronized with rotation of the crankshaft”).
Regarding applicant claim 18, Furuishi discloses the method but is silent wherein the pre-configured offset is configured to cause vibration to have a minimum level of amplitude during the ignition in response that torque obtained by summating the motoring average torque and an antiphase of the predicted torque change according to a position of the engine is applied to the motor.
Liu discloses a system and method that reduces, compensates, and/or cancels resonant noise and vibration during engine and/or CE startup for HEVs ([0004]). Liu further teaches that such possible resonance may be perceptible to vehicle occupants during low HEV speeds when road and other nominal vibrations and noise may otherwise mask CE startup resonances and that controlling such HEVs to ensure favorable occupant drivability perceptions, requires reduction of undamped or insufficiently damped noise and vibration, especially when transiting between from electric and CE modes that require a stopped CE to restart ([0002]-[0003].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the hybrid system of Furuishi in predicting a torque change with the teaching of Liu in determining whether to apply a vibrational contribution in order to reduce or cancel out vibrations and noise since Liu is motivated by favorable occupant drivability perceptions.
Regarding applicant claim 19, Furuishi discloses the method but is silent wherein the level of amplitude of vibration during the ignition is determined based on a square of the torque change, and wherein the inertial torque is determined according to a pre-configured table based on the crank shaft angle position of the engine and the number of rotations of the shaft.
Liu teaches a start profile that is generated from selected historical start OCGs of prior engine and/or CE starts. The start profile is calibrated using a blend factor that is generated from comparisons and utilized to generate a feed-forward torque signal that adjusts EM torque to reduce startup noise and vibration resonances (abstract). Liu further teaches databases are stored in one or more HEV controllers and/or components ([0004]-[0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use historical data that is stored in the database (table) as taught by Liu since this start profile would help in reducing noise and vibration.
Regarding applicant claim 20, Furuishi discloses the method but is silent wherein the motoring pressure torque is determined according to a pre-configured motoring pressure torque table based on the crank shaft angle position of the engine, the number of rotations of the engine, and the motoring average torque, and wherein the combustion pressure torque is determined according to a pre-configured combustion pressure torque table based on the crank shaft angle position of the engine, the number of rotations of the engine, and the motoring average torque.
Liu teaches a start profile that is generated from selected historical start OCGs of prior engine and/or CE starts. The start profile is calibrated using a blend factor that is generated from comparisons and utilized to generate a feed-forward torque signal that adjusts EM torque to reduce startup noise and vibration resonances (abstract). Liu further teaches databases are stored in one or more HEV controllers and/or components ([0004]-[0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use historical data that is stored in the database (table) as taught by Liu since this start profile would help in reducing noise and vibration.
/W.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661