DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 2 in the reply filed on 3/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/4/2026.
Claims 1-8 and 14-20 stand canceled by applicant tin the 3/4/2026 response.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 24 (second occurrence) been renumbered 26.
Misnumbered claim 25 (second occurrence) been renumbered 27.
Misnumbered claim 26 been renumbered 28.
Misnumbered claim 27 been renumbered 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 10, 26, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Versluys (US 2005/0152624).
Versluys discloses a padded open-ended pouch, comprising: first, second, third, and fourth web substrates (24, 26 x 2, see Fig. 2) each having a top side, a bottom side, a perimeter, and interior within the perimeter (see Figs. 1, 2); a sealing adhesive joining the top side of the first web substrate to the bottom side of the second web substrate along the perimeter and joining the top side of the third web substrate to the bottom side of the fourth web substrate along the perimeter (20@34 between layers); an expanded adhesive (main body of20) between the first and second web substrates and between the third and fourth web substrates; and a perimeter adhesive joining the top surface of the second web surface to the bottom surface of the third web substrate substantially along the perimeter to form said open ended pouch therewith (20@34 between front and back sheets); wherein the thickness of the pouch is substantially uniform (see Fig. 2, term ‘substantially’ eliminates the need for exact uniformity).
Versluys further discloses a pocket of the pouch, configured to receive a product, is defined within the perimeter adhesive joining the second and third web substrates, and wherein the pouch includes an opening between the second and third substrates configured to enable access to the pocket (see Fig. 1); the perimeter adhesive is absent at the opening (see Fig. 1); and an image visible on at least one of the bottom side of the first web substrate or the top side of the fourth substrate (para 0018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13, 21, 23-25, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Versluys (US 2005/0152624).
Versluys discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the particular materials of construction as claimed.
However, it is noted that all of the materials for us in the inventive adhesive or substrate were well known by those having ordinary skill in the art since prior to the invention by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the claimed materials to construct the Versluys packaging, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claim 28, Versluys discloses the claimed invention except for the assembly further comprising a bar code as the image printed. It has been held that when the claimed printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate it will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability. In re Gulack, 217 USPQ 401, (CAFC 1983). The fact that the content of the printed matter placed on the substrate may render the device more convenient by providing an individual with a specific type of information does not alter the functional relationship. Mere support by the substrate for the printed matter is not the kind of functional relationship necessary for patentability.
The Examiner asserts that the Versluys assembly is the same structure claimed by applicant and the sole difference is in the content of printed material. Thus, there is no novel and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter (e.g., bar code) and the substrate (e.g., assembly), which is required for patentability.
Accordingly, there being no functional relationship of the printed material to the substrate, as noted above, there is no reason to give patentable weight to the content of the printed matter, which by itself is non-statutory subject matter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made provide the Versluys assembly with a bar code as claimed.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Versluys (US 2005/0152624) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kannankeril et al. (US 8568029, hereinafter ‘Kannankeril’).
Versluys discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the flap as claimed.
However, Kannankeril is one of myriad references teaching a flap (28) as an opening closure on a flexible bag as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add a flap as taught by Kannankeril on the bag as taught by Versluys, in order to close the opening as taught by Kannankeril (col. 9, ll. 62 – col. 10, ll. 8).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Versluys (US 2005/0152624) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Brouillette et al. (US 2015/0353312, hereinafter ‘Brouillette’).
Versluys discloses all limitations of the claim(s) as detailed above except does not expressly disclose the roll of a plurality of bags as claimed.
However, Brouillette is one of myriad references teaching a plurality of bags on a roll (see Fig. 6) as a dispensing means as claimed.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to attach a plurality of bags taught by Versluys on a roll as taught by Brouillette, in order to allow dispensing of the bags as needed as taught by Brouillette (Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PETER N HELVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734
June 10, 2026