DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 October 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In ¶[0015], “leakage of the refrigerant is worried” and “..from the viewpoint of insulation, but Automatic Transmission Fluid (ATF) is used…” are not idiomatic. In ¶[0016], “…a gap between the steel plate and the steel plate...” is not idiomatic.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sugimoto et al. (US 8,400,029).
Sugimoto teaches a motor 1 comprising: a rotor 7; a stator core 4 on which a coil 5 is wound; and an oil passage extending in a direction of a rotation axis of the rotor in an inside of the stator core (i.e., in yoke portions 21), wherein the oil passage (through holes) 211-216 (c.7:39-41) is inclined at a predetermined angle with respect to the rotation axis (c.9:24-31; Figs.11A-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima (JP 2009-240113) in view of Sugimoto.
Fukushima teaches a motor 1 comprising: a rotor 4; a stator core 3 on which a coil is wound; and an oil passage 10C extending in a direction of a rotation axis of the rotor in an inside of the stator core (Fig.1).
Fukushima does not teach the oil passage 10C is “inclined at a predetermined angle with respect to the rotation axis.”
But, Sugimoto teaches a motor 1 comprising: a rotor 7; a stator core 4 on which a coil 5 is wound; and an oil passage extending in a direction of a rotation axis of the rotor in an inside of the stator core (i.e., in yoke portions 21), wherein the oil passage (through holes) 211-216 (c.7:39-41) is inclined at a predetermined angle with respect to the rotation axis (Figs.11A-12). Sugimoto teaches since the passages 211-216 are inclined (i.e., formed with a slope relative to the central axis of the stator core 4) the cooling medium can flow more smoothly, since for flowing the cooling medium flow the difference in the potential energy level is exploited, resulting in an effective removal of heat generated as electrical power is supplied to the stator winding (c.9:24-31).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to incline the oil passage of Fukushima at a predetermined angle with respect to the rotation axis since Sugimoto teaches this would have enabled the cooling medium to flow more smoothly and resulted in an effective removal of heat.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 107508415) in view of Hautz et al. (US 9,300,189).
Li teaches a motor comprising: a rotor 30; a stator core 20 on which a coil is wound (not shown); and a passage (first cooling channel) 21 extending in a direction of a rotation axis of the rotor in an inside of the stator core, wherein the passage is inclined at a predetermined angle with respect to the rotation axis (Fig.1).
Li teaches the passage 21 used for cooling is an air passage (abstract; English translation pp.4-5, claim 1), not an oil passage.
But, Hautz teaches a fluid-cooled electric machine, in particular that “[v]arious mediums can be used for cooling electric machines. If air is used, the electric machine can be cooled by means of an external ventilator or an integrated ventilator. Electric machines can also be cooled by means of a liquid. Examples of liquids include water or an oil” (c.1:20-25).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure Li’s passage as an oil passage instead of an air passage since Hautz teaches that in the field of fluid-cooled electric machines air and oil are equivalent cooling mediums.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Sugimoto, Fukushima & Sugimoto or Li & Hautz as applied to claim 1, further in view of Ward et al. (US 4,947,065).
None of the references, alone or in combination, teach the stator is a powder magnetic core.
But, Ward teaches a stator core for an AC generator comprising a powder magnetic core that is a one-piece molded part formed from iron particles bound together by a thermoplastic (abstract). Ward teaches such a molded powder stator core has an output as high as the output of a stator core formed of a stack of steel laminations (c.1:33-39) but eliminates dies and die maintenance required for blanking laminations, extra machinery operations and the need for fastening a stack of laminations together, among other benefits (c.3:43-c.4:6).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure the stator core of Sugimoto, Fukushima & Sugimoto or Li & Hautz as a powder magnetic core since Ward teaches powder magnetic cores were known to provide an output as high as the output of a stator core formed of a stack of steel laminations while eliminating dies and die maintenance, extra machinery operations and the need for fastening a stack of laminations together.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farnia (US 7,487,443) in view of Dlala et al. (US 11,462,957).
Farnia teaches a motor comprising: a rotor 24; a stator core (tooth) 16 on which a coil 54 is wound (c.3:66-c.4:27; Figs.1-2).
Farnia does not teach “an oil passage extending in a direction of a rotation axis of the rotor in an inside of the stator core, wherein the oil passage is inclined at a predetermined angle with respect to the rotation axis.”
But, Dlala teaches a motor comprising a stator 101 with teeth 105 and oil passages (axial coolant channels) 103 located within stator teeth 105 extending in a direction of a rotation axis of the rotor in an inside of the stator core, to remove heat and lower motor temperatures within the stator, especially from the winding, the main source of heat (c.4:6-7; c.6:8-18; Figs.1-2).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Farnia’s stator core with an oil passage extending in a direction of a rotation axis of the rotor in an inside of the stator core, since Dlala teaches this would have lowered motor temperatures within the stator and efficiently removed heat from the motor. Further, Farnia’s stator 10 is conical shaped (c.3:66), i.e., the stator’s face 18, including windings 54, are tilted at an axial angle with respect to the rotation axis 14 to define a conical shaped interior surface 20 (c.4:3-5; Fig.5). Thus, in the combination, the oil passage 103 of Dlala would be inclined at a predetermined angle with respect to the rotation axis, to thereby efficiently remove heat from the main source, the windings.
Regarding claim 2, Farnia’s stator core is a powder magnetic core (c.1:25-35; c.4:21-27).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834