DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they include three-dimensional shading (grayscale) and are not simply black line drawings (see the cited references for examples). Per MPEP 608.02(VII)(A), “Black and white drawings are normally required in utility patent applications. India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings.” Moreover, per MPEP 608.02(VII)(B), “Black And White Photographs And Grayscale Drawings” are only acceptable “in lieu of India ink drawings . . . to illustrate inventions which are incapable of being accurately or adequately depicted by India ink drawings” (emphasis added). Examples of such situations include “electrophoresis gels, blots, (e.g., immunological, western, Southern, and northern), autoradiographs, cell cultures (stained and unstained), histological tissue cross sections (stained and unstained), animals, plants, in vivo imaging, thin layer chromatography plates, crystalline structures, metallurgical microstructures, textile fabrics, grain structures and, in a design patent application, ornamental effects.” The structure disclosed in the instant application is not “incapable of being accurately or adequately depicted by India ink drawings,” and clearly does not fall into any of the above categories. If shading is needed for explanation of the invention then it should be of one of the approved symbols/hatching. See MPEP 608.02(IX).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7-8, 11, & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 & 11, the term “the frame” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Regarding claims 7 & 15, the term “high” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim; and the specification does not provide a standard for measuring the scope of the term or ascertaining the requisite degree. Hence one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. See MPEP 2173.05(b).
Regarding claims 7 & 15, the term “wide” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “wide” is not defined by the claim; and the specification does not provide a standard for measuring the scope of the term or ascertaining the requisite degree. Hence one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. See MPEP 2173.05(b).
Regarding claim 8, the inclusion of “e.g.,” (“for example”) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following “e.g.,” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiang (20070006781).
Regarding claim 1, Xiang teaches an outdoor tabletop system (10) comprising: A tabletop (12) structure having a first heat expansion characteristic (implied by par. 19, which states that 12 is made of slate); a rim (13, 15) disposed around a perimeter of the tabletop structure, the rim having a second heat expansion characteristic different than the first heat expansion characteristic of the tabletop structure (implied by par. 19, which states that 13 is made of wood or wood/plastic composite - note that wood, plastic, & slate all have different linear thermal expansion coefficients); a gap (C in Fig. 3 Annotated) between the perimeter (D) of the tabletop structure and the rim (see Fig. 3, showing the gap (C) to be between the perimeter (D) & a portion (15) of the rim (13, 15)); and, a deformable material (18) having sufficient elasticity, or heat expansion characteristic that are different from the heat expansion characteristics of the tabletop structure and rim (implied by par. 21, which states that 18 is made of natural or synthetic rubber), positioned in the gap (C) between the tabletop structure (12) and the rim (13, 15), which expands and contracts to fill the gap during changes in environmental conditions (note that such expansion & contraction is an inherent property of natural & synthetic rubber).
Regarding claims 2 & 10, Xiang teaches a tabletop structure (12) that is supported by a frame (14 & A in Fig. 1 Annotated).
Regarding claims 3 & 11, Xiang teaches a rim (13, 15) attached to the frame (14 & A).
Regarding claims 4 & 12, Xiang teaches a rim (13, 15) that is made of a manufactured wood product (see par. 19, which notes that the frame (11), of which the rim (13, 15) is a part, is made of a combination of wood & plastic - i.e., a wood-plastic composite, which is a manufactured wood product).
Regarding claims 5 & 13, Xiang teaches a tabletop structure (12) comprises a top-facing decorative portion (i.e., upper portion of 12, which can be considered “decorative” by those who enjoy the appearance of a slate tabletop).
Regarding claims 6 & 14, Xiang teaches a tabletop structure (12) that is made from stone (i.e., slate - see par. 19).
Regarding claims 7 & 15, Xiang teaches a deformable material (18) that has a high elasticity over a wide range of environmental conditions (note that natural & synthetic rubber possesses such elasticity).
Regarding claims 8 & 16, Xiang teaches a deformable material (18) that is a natural or synthetic rubber (par. 21).
Regarding claim 9, Xiang teaches an outdoor tabletop system (10) comprising: a tabletop structure (12) having a first geometry (Figs. 1 & 3); a rim (13, 15) disposed around a perimeter (D) of the tabletop structure, the rim having a second geometry different from the first geometry of the tabletop structure (Figs. 1 & 3); a gap (C) between the perimeter of the tabletop structure and the rim; and a deformable material (18) positioned in the gap between the tabletop structure and the rim which visually conceals differences between the first geometry of the tabletop structure and the second geometry of the rim (note that the deformable material (18) would conceal such differences from an observer located at point “E” in Fig. 3 Annotated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang (20070006781) in view of Kim (KR20170078260).
Regarding claim 1, Xiang teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including an outdoor tabletop system (10 in Fig. 1 - note that since this system can obviously be used outdoors, it is therefore an “outdoor table system”) comprising: a tabletop structure (12) having a first heat expansion characteristic (implied by par. 19, which states that 12 is made of slate); a rim (13) disposed around a perimeter of the tabletop structure, the rim having a second heat expansion characteristic different than the first heat expansion characteristic of the tabletop structure (implied by par. 19, which states that 13 is made of wood or wood/plastic composite - note that wood, plastic, & slate all have different linear thermal expansion coefficients); a gap (B) between (Fig. 3) the perimeter (16) of the tabletop structure and the rim (13). Xiang fail(s) to teach a deformable material. However, Kim teaches a deformable material (250) having sufficient elasticity, or heat expansion characteristic that are different from the heat expansion characteristics of the tabletop structure and rim (implied by par. 45, which states that 250 is made of silicone), positioned in a gap between a tabletop structure (22) and a rim (21), which expands and contracts to fill the gap during changes in environmental conditions (note that such expansion & contraction is an inherent property of silicone). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a deformable material, as taught by Kim, to the system of Xiang, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent the infiltration of liquids between the tabletop structure & rim (as suggested by par. 45-46 & Fig. 5 of Kim).
Regarding claims 2 & 10, Xiang teaches a tabletop structure (12) that is supported by a frame (14-15 & A).
Regarding claims 3 & 11, Xiang teaches a rim (13) that is attached (Figs. 1 & 3) to the frame (14-15 & A).
Regarding claims 4 & 12, Xiang teaches a rim (13) that is made of a manufactured wood product (see par. 19, which notes that the frame (11), of which the rim (13) is a part, is made of a combination of wood & plastic - i.e., a wood-plastic composite, which is a manufactured wood product).
Regarding claims 5 & 13, Xiang teaches a tabletop structure (12) comprises a top-facing decorative portion (i.e., upper portion of 12, which can be considered “decorative” by those who enjoy the appearance of a slate tabletop).
Regarding claims 6 & 14, Xiang teaches a tabletop structure (12) that is made from stone (i.e., slate - see par. 19).
Regarding claims 7 & 15, Kim teaches a deformable material (250) that has a high elasticity over a wide range of environmental conditions (note that silicone possesses such elasticity).
Regarding claims 8 & 16, Kim teaches a deformable material (250) that is silicone (par. 45), which is a type of synthetic rubber. Moreover, even assuming arguendo that Kim’s deformable material isn’t made of synthetic rubber, Xiang further teaches making a deformable material (18) from natural or synthetic rubber (see par. 21). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the deformable material of Xiang as modified from synthetic rubber, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase its durability.
Regarding claim 9, Xiang as modified teaches an outdoor tabletop system (10 of Xiang & 250 of Kim) comprising: a tabletop structure (12 of Xiang) having a first geometry (Figs. 1 & 3 of Xiang); a rim disposed around a perimeter of the tabletop structure (Figs. 1 & 3 of Xiang), the rim (13 of Xiang) having a second geometry different from the first geometry of the tabletop structure (owing to the size differences between 12 & 13 of Xiang, which are implied by the gap (B of Xiang) therebetween); a gap (B of Xiang) between the perimeter (16 of Xiang) of the tabletop structure and the rim (Fig. 3 of Xiang); and a deformable material (250 of Kim) positioned in the gap between the tabletop structure and the rim which visually conceals differences between the first geometry of the tabletop structure and the second geometry of the rim (as in Fig. 5 of Kim).
Claims 5 & 13 are alternately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang (20070006781) & Kim (KR20170078260) in view of Roux (20190141795). Xiang as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a tabletop structure (12 of Xiang); but arguably fail(s) to teach a decorative portion. However, Roux teaches the inclusion, in a tabletop structure (4), of a top-facing (par. 46) decorative portion (9 - see par. 19, which notes that this decorative portion may be a coating such as paint). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a decorative portion, as taught by Roux, to the tabletop structure of Xiang as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve the aesthetics thereof.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW ING whose telephone number is (571)272-6536. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at (571) 270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637