DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, readable on claims 1-4, 7-9 and 16-18 in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“wherein the fluid flow control assembly is coupled adjacent to the second end of the water supply tube” in Claim 4
"valve housing secured to the second end region of the body member" in Claim 16
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 recite the limitation "the first container" in its first appearance. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the body portion" in its first appearance. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “valve housing secured to the second end region” which is indefinite since the disclosure of the elected embodiment reveals that the first end region (i.e. the larger dimension region) is secured to the valve housing which is different that what is recited, thereby making the claim language difficult to interpret. Moreover, in the case this was intentional, the examiner has included a drawing objection since this feature is not depicted within the disclosure.
Claim 16 further recites the limitations "the first body member" and “the body portion” in their first appearance. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner recognizes that these are meant to call back to the “body member,” however, still suggests amending the claim for clarity of the record.
Examiner’s Comments
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morimoto (US 20120088975 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Morimoto discloses
A container (water supply source 22, FIG. 1) and tube set (water supply conduit 39 + air supply conduit 38, FIG. 1) arranged and configured to couple to an endoscope (ultrasonic endoscope 10, FIG. 1) for use in an endoscopic procedure (depicted in FIG. 1),
the container and tube set comprising:
a container (water supply source 22, FIG. 1) configured to contain a fluid (FIG. 1, par. 51 discloses water supply source/ tank contains and supplies water);
a water supply tube (water supply conduit 39, FIG. 1) including a first end (proximal end of water supply conduit 39, FIG. 1),
a second end (distal end of water supply conduit 39, FIG. 1), and
a first lumen (water supply conduit lumen 39, FIG. 1) extending therethrough (FIG. 1, par. 58 disclose water is passed through water supply conduit, i.e. via lumen),
wherein the first lumen is in selective fluid communication with the container and the second end of the water supply tube is positioned external to the container (FIG. 1, par. 56-57 disclose water from the water supply source is drawn to the water supply conduit, however, when a button device is not depressed, the fluid communication is shut off, i.e. selective);
a gas supply tube (air supply conduit 38, FIG. 1) including a first end (proximal end of air supply conduit 38 + branch conduit 41, FIG. 1),
a second end (distal end of air supply conduit 38, FIG. 1), and
a second lumen (lumen of air supply conduit 38, FIG. 1) extending therethrough (FIG. 1, par. 57 disclose air is passed through air supply conduit, i.e. via lumen),
wherein the second lumen is in operative fluid communication with the first container and the second end of the first gas supply tube is positioned external to the first container (FIG. 1, par. 56 disclose branch conduit extends/ branches from proximal end of air supply conduit and connects to water supply source, i.e. fluid communication, par. 57-58 disclose air supply conduit fluid communication with the water supply source is dictated by a button device, i.e. selective); and
a fluid flow control assembly (air/water supply button assembly 33, FIG. 16) positioned in-line with the water supply tube (depicted in FIGS. 1, 16),
the fluid flow control assembly configured to selectively control a flow of fluid through the water supply tube (FIGS. 16-19, par. 128 disclose water is drawn through water supply conduit and into the valve/ flow assembly upon depression of the button device, i.e. flow is selectively controlled);
wherein the fluid flow control assembly is configured to allow a flow of fluid in response to an opening pressure (button device 43, FIGS. 16-19, par. 128 disclose water is drawn through water supply conduit and into the valve/ flow assembly upon depression of the button device, i.e. opening pressure).
Regarding Claim 2, Morimoto discloses
The container and tube set of claim 1, wherein the opening pressure is greater than a head pressure of the fluid within the container (par. 57 discloses when button is not depressed, i.e. no opening pressure, water supply conduit/ source are not in communication with air, par. 56 discloses inner pressure, i.e. head pressure, of water supply source is raised by air, therefore, when button is actuated/ depressed, the air is in communication with the tank and the pressure increases, i.e. opening pressure is inner pressure upon actuation and the head pressure is the inner pressure before actuation, so opening pressure is increased/ greater pressure).
Regarding Claim 3, Morimoto discloses
The container and tube set of claim 1, wherein the fluid flow control assembly is coupled to the first end of the water supply tube (depicted in FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Morimoto discloses
The container and tube set of claim 1, wherein the fluid flow control assembly is coupled adjacent to the second end of the water supply tube (depicted in FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Morimoto discloses
The container and tube set of claim 1,
wherein the fluid flow control assembly comprises:
a first body member (cylinder 140, FIG. 17);
a valve housing (housing unit 52 + piston unit 135, FIGS. 16-17);
a lumen (piston channel/ through hole 158, FIG. 18) extending through the first body member and the valve housing (FIGS. 17-18, par. 119 disclose piston unit contained in cylinder, i.e. pistol channel extends through both); and
a valve (valve head 135b, FIGS. 16-17) extending across the lumen and disposed between the body portion and the valve housing (depicted in FIGS. 16-18).
Regarding Claim 8, Morimoto discloses
The container and tube set of claim 7, wherein the valve comprises one or more openings extending therethrough (par. 123 discloses grooves formed in valve head).
Regarding Claim 9, Morimoto discloses
The container and tube set of claim 7, wherein the valve comprises a flexible slit valve (check valve 157, FIG. 17).
Regarding Claim 16, Morimoto discloses
A container (water supply source 22, FIG. 1) and tube set (water supply conduit 39 + air supply conduit 38, FIG. 1) arranged and configured to couple to an endoscope (ultrasonic endoscope 10, FIG. 1) for use in an endoscopic procedure (depicted in FIG. 1),
the container and tube set comprising:
a container (water supply source 22, FIG. 1) configured to contain a fluid (FIG. 1, par. 51 discloses water supply source/ tank contains and supplies water);
a water supply tube (water supply conduit 39, FIG. 1) including a first end (proximal end of water supply conduit 39, FIG. 1),
a second end (distal end of water supply conduit 39, FIG. 1), and
a first lumen (water supply conduit lumen 39, FIG. 1) extending therethrough (FIG. 1, par. 58 disclose water is passed through water supply conduit, i.e. via lumen),
wherein the first lumen is in selective fluid communication with the container and the second end of the water supply tube is positioned external to the container (FIG. 1, par. 56-57 disclose water from the water supply source is drawn to the water supply conduit, however, when a button device is not depressed, the fluid communication is shut off, i.e. selective);
a gas supply tube (air supply conduit 38, FIG. 1) including a first end (proximal end of air supply conduit 38 + branch conduit 41, FIG. 1),
a second end (distal end of air supply conduit 38, FIG. 1), and
a second lumen (lumen of air supply conduit 38, FIG. 1) extending therethrough (FIG. 1, par. 57 disclose air is passed through air supply conduit, i.e. via lumen),
wherein the second lumen is in operative fluid communication with the first container and the second end of the first gas supply tube is positioned external to the first container (FIG. 1, par. 56 disclose branch conduit extends/ branches from proximal end of air supply conduit and connects to water supply source, i.e. fluid communication, par. 57-58 disclose air supply conduit fluid communication with the water supply source is dictated by a button device, i.e. selective); and
a fluid flow control assembly (air/water supply button assembly 33, FIG. 16) positioned in-line with the water supply tube (depicted in FIGS. 1, 16),
the fluid flow control assembly comprising:
a body member (cylinder 140, FIG. 17) having a first end region (distal end region of cylinder 140, FIG. 17) having a first outer dimension and a second end region (proximal end region of cylinder 140, FIG. 17) having a second outer dimension (depicted in FIG. 17),
the second outer dimension less than the first outer dimension (depicted in FIG. 17);
a valve housing (housing unit 52 + piston unit 135, FIGS. 16-17) secured to the second end region of the body member (depicted in FIGS. 16-17);
a lumen (piston channel/ through hole 158, FIG. 18) extending through the first body member and the valve housing (FIGS. 17-18, par. 119 disclose piston unit contained in cylinder, i.e. pistol channel extends through both); and
a valve (valve head 135b, FIGS. 16-17) extending across the lumen and disposed between the body portion and the valve housing (depicted in FIGS. 16-18);
wherein the fluid flow control assembly is configured to allow a flow of fluid in response to an opening pressure (button device 43, FIGS. 16-19, par. 128 disclose water is drawn through water supply conduit and into the valve/ flow assembly upon depression of the button device, i.e. opening pressure).
Regarding Claim 17, Morimoto discloses
The container and tube set of claim 16, wherein the valve comprises one or more openings extending therethrough (par. 123 discloses grooves formed in valve head).
Regarding Claim 18, Morimoto discloses
The container and tube set of claim 17, wherein the one or more openings comprise a single slit, one or more slits in the shape of a cross or "x", a snowflake slit, or a resealable hole (par. 123 discloses grooves can be sealed with O-ring/ annular packing).
Conclusion
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795