The amendment filed 6/29/2026 has been entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: support for claim term “sidewalls” in claims 21-24 lacking in specification as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-18, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 6,793,271 (Deets hereinafter) in view of US PG Pub No. 2017/0113870 (Looker hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Deets discloses: A device comprising: a vessel (10) sized and shaped to accommodate at least one motor vehicle (i.e. a scooter), wherein said vessel has two short vertical sides (see Fig. 2 below) having a first width and two long vertical sides (34) having a second width (see Fig. 2 below), wherein at least one of said two short vertical sides further comprises a second functional door (52, see fig. 2).
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (“to accommodate at least one motor vehicle”) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114, II.
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Second Width)][AltContent: textbox (First Width)][AltContent: ]
Deets fails to disclose wherein at least one of said two long vertical sides comprises an opening having a third width; wherein said opening is closable via a first functional door, wherein said third width is at least 45% of the second width.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (the opening is “closable via a first functional door”) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (i.e. just having the opening). See MPEP 2114, II.
[AltContent: textbox (Opening/ Third width)][AltContent: ]However, with reference to Figs. 1-4, Looker discloses a vessel (10) having a long vertical side having a second width, in which an opening is formed, the opening covered by a first functional/sliding door (14 shown shaded below, see paragraph 0008 and 0014), wherein said third width is at least 45% of the second width (approximately 70% as shown below.
[AltContent: textbox (Fixed Portions)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Long Vertical Side/ Second Width)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the long side of Deets to have included an opening closed by a first functional/sliding door along the long side as taught by Looker for the purposes of facilitating access to side portions of loaded content, and/or to first contents otherwise blocked by second contents loaded after the first contents, which would block a single end door of Deets.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have sized the opening to be a width of a certain range relative to the long vertical size, such as approximately 70% as taught by Looker, since it has been held that the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV, A).
In re claim 2, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said second width is greater than said first width (see Fig. 2 above).
In re claim 3, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention except wherein said first width is 8’ and wherein said second width is 20’.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have specified the dimensions of the trailer of Deets (shown relative to a known tractor trailer) as being 8’ by 20’, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 026-027 applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 4, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein at least one of said two long vertical sides is constructed of transparent (Deets claim 12) or semi-transparent material.
In re claim 5, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said first functional door comprises at least one sliding door configured to cover said opening (as in re claim 1 above).
In re claim 6, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said two long vertical sides have a first height, and said at least one sliding door has a second height, wherein said first height and said second height are the same (see Looker Fig. 1 above).
In re claim 7, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said at least one sliding door consists of two sliding doors (paragraph 0013), but not wherein said two sliding doors are constructed of a transparent or semi-transparent material.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formed the sliding doors to be transparent in the combination above, as the walls of Deets are taught by be transparent panels (Deets claim 12), while forming the doors as instead opaque would be a detriment to the design of Deets.
In re claim 8, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein at least one of said two long vertical sides comprises two fixed portions and two sliding doors, and wherein said two sliding doors are centered at a midpoint of said second width (see Fig. 1 of Looker, closure at 20 located at approximate midpoint).
In re claim 11, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose: A vehicle containment device comprising: a vessel sized and shaped to accommodate at least one motor vehicle, wherein said vessel has two short vertical sides having a first width and two long vertical sides having a second width; wherein at least one of said two long vertical sides comprises an opening having a third width; wherein said opening is closable via a first functional door; wherein said third width is at least 45% of the second width, and wherein at least one of said two short vertical sides further comprises w second functional door (as in re claim 1 above).
In re claim 12, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said second width is greater than said first width (as in re claim 2 above).
In re claim 13, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said first width is 8’ and wherein said second width is 20’ (as in re claim 3 above).
In re claim 14, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein at least one of said two long vertical sides is constructed of transparent or semi-transparent material (as in re claim 4 above).
In re claim 15, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said first functional door comprises at least one sliding door configured to cover said opening (as in re claim 5 above).
In re claim 16, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said two long vertical sides have a first height, and said at least one sliding door has a second height, wherein said first height and said second height are the same (as in re claim 6 above).
In re claim 17, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said at least one sliding door consists of two sliding doors, and wherein said two sliding doors are constructed of a transparent or semi-transparent material (as in re claim 7 above).
In re claim 18, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein at least one of said two long vertical sides comprises two fixed portions and two sliding doors, and wherein said two sliding doors are centered at a midpoint of said second width (as in re claim 8 above).
In re claim 21, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said two long vertical sides and said two short vertical sides collectively comprise four sidewalls, but not wherein at least three of said four sidewalls include a functional door.
However, as modified above, Deets in view of Looker includes doors on two sidewalls, while Fig. 7 of Deets shows a long vertical side comprising a sidewall having an opening (50), mentions that “In this embodiment, wheel assemblies and fifth wheel coupling are replaced by conventional railroad freight car suspensions (not shown), coupling assemblies 112 and wheel assemblies 110. In all other aspects, the railroad freight car 100 is as described above” (column 7, lines 13-19), the opening (50) of the trailer “above” being closed by a door assembly (52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided a third opening/door to another sidewall of Deets in view of Looker as further taught by Deets for the predictable purposes of increasing physical access to stored contents, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 040 applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 22, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said two long vertical sides and said two short vertical sides collectively comprise four sidewalls, and wherein all four of said four sidewalls include a functional door.
However, as modified above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided a openings/doors to all sidewall of Deets in view of Looker as further taught by Deets for the predictable purposes of increasing physical access to stored contents, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 040 applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 23, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said two long vertical sides and said two short vertical sides collectively comprise four sidewalls, and wherein at least three of said four sidewalls include a functional door (as in re claim 21 above).
In re claim 24, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention including wherein said two long vertical sides and said two short vertical sides collectively comprise four sidewalls, and wherein at all four of said four sidewalls comprise a functional door (as in re claim 22 above).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deets in view of Looker as applied to Claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of US Patent No. 4,854,460 (Josephs hereinafter).
In re claims 9, 10, 19, and 20, Deets in view of Looker disclose the claimed invention except wherein said second functional door comprises a fold-down ramp.
However, with reference to Figs. 12 and 13, Josephs discloses a storage and transport vessel wherein a vertical side (26, 27) comprises a fold-down ramp (200) (Column 3, lines 47-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified at least one of the two short vertical sides/second functional doors to of Deets to have included a fold-down ramp as taught by Josephs for the purposes of facilitating easy loading/unloading of the vessel with the use of wheeled vehicles such as carts, forklifts (Josephs, columns 3-4, lines 62-3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 of the Remarks that it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Deets to have included a door as taught by Looker, since Deets is concerned with simplifiying the walls of the trailer. However, not only does the proposed modification only modify the short vertical side of Deets (not the roof/floor, etc. for the purposes of disassembly/reassembly in the case of a damaged side panel), but Deets already includes doors 52 and does not consider those to overcomplicate the wall assemblies.
Applicant argues on page 8 of the Remarks that Deets teaches away from assembly using nut and bolt combinations or numerous rivets to attach side panels. However, this citation only appears to reference the attachment of the side panel to the trailer, and not specifically to a door located in the side panel as proposed. Therefore, it is understood that as modified above, a wall panel, if damaged would be removed cleanly from the trailer and not require disassembly of the door located therein. Also note that Deets teaches the preferential use of nuts, bolts, and rivets at multiple locations elsewhere on the trailer (for example at column 6, lines 25-34: “L shaped cap 60 is fastened to side wall channels 62, for example with nuts, bolts or rivets through respective orifices, thereby retaining side wall panel 74 throughout its entire perimeter”).
Applicant argues on page 9 of the Remarks, as best understood, that Deets does not require physical openings/doors for access to contents, since “Deets has already anticipated this issue – and solved it - with the specific inclusion transparent side panels”. However, while visual access is supplied by the transparent side panels, physical access is still afforded by the doors of Deets as well as the modifications proposed above to provide additional doors for increased physical access, such as for loading/unloading and not just visual access to the contents, one having ordinary skill in the art understanding the importance of distinguishment between the two.
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733