DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter.
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 9-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 11-12 and 14 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,174,783. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Independent claims 1 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,174,783. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention simply claims a broader scope from the ‘783 patent.
Dependent claims 2-8, 11-15 and 17-20 have identical or similar corresponding claims to dependent claims of the ‘783 patent; therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons (e.g., broader scope) as above.
Claim Interpretation
(f) An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“first circuitry to receive a command …” in claim 1,
“second circuitry to configure the matrix accelerator …” in claims 1 and 5-8,
“third circuitry to perform operations …” in claim 1
“fourth circuitry to output a result …” in claim 1,
“fifth circuitry to read operands …” in claim 2.
“first circuitry to receive …” in claim 16,
“second circuitry to configure the matrix accelerator …” in claims 16 and 18-20,
“third circuitry to read operands …” in claim 16,
“fourth circuitry to perform operations …” in claim 16,
“fifth circuitry to perform operations …” in claim 16.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon (US 2022/0,138,563).
Referring to claims 1, 9 and 16, Kwon discloses a matrix accelerator (fig. 4, processing hardware; para.0042) comprising:
first circuitry (fig. 4, memory 410) to receive a command (para.0103, commands) to perform operations (fig. 1A, neural network 20 operations) associated with an instruction (paras.0163-0166, instructions);
second circuitry (fig. 4, systolic data setup modules 1/2 420/445) to configure (para.0095, input feature map; para.0100, timing; fig. 1) the matrix accelerator according to a physical depth (fig. 2A, systolic array 240 4x4) of a systolic array (fig. 3A, systolic array 3A) within the matrix accelerator and a logical depth (fig. 2A, NN A 210/NN B 220) associated with the instruction;
third circuitry (fig. 4, systolic array 430) to perform operations (para.0094, deep learning operation) for the instruction via multiple passes (fig. 2A, NN A 210 along time t0/t2 by systolic array 240; para.0039, multitasking) through physical one pipeline stage (fig. 3A, input A 310, input B 320 to array 250) of the systolic array based on a configuration (fig. 5A, systolic data setup 520-1/520-2/545-1/545-2) performed by the second circuitry; and
fourth circuitry to output a result (fig. 4, output accumulators 440) of the operations.
As to claim 2, Kwon discloses the matrix accelerator of claim 1, comprising: fifth circuitry (fig. 4, global buffer 415) to read operands (fig. 1A, input data 10) for the instruction from a memory (fig. 4, main memory 410) associated with the systolic array, wherein the fourth circuitry is to output (fig. 4, output accumulators 440 to memory 410) the result of the operations to the memory associated with the systolic array.
As to claims 3, 11 and 17, Kwon discloses the matrix accelerator of claim 2, wherein the memory associated with the systolic array includes a register file (para.0090, registers).
As to claims 4 and 10, Kwon discloses the matrix accelerator of claim 1, wherein the instruction is a dot product (fig. 1C, convolution operation) instruction.
As to claims 5, 12 and 18, Kwon discloses the matrix accelerator of claim 1, wherein the second circuitry is to configure the systolic array to perform multiple passes (fig. 2A, NN A 210/NN B 220) through the systolic array in response to a determination (fig. 4, systolic data setup 1/2 420/445) that the logical depth associated with the instruction is greater than (fig. 2A, NN A 210/NN B 220 greater than systolic array 240) the physical depth of the systolic array.
As to claims 6, 13 and 19, Kwon discloses the matrix accelerator of claim 5, wherein the second circuitry is to configure the matrix accelerator to perform the multiple passes through the physical pipeline stage of the systolic array as a partial pass (fig. 5A, first area 530) through less than all physical pipeline stages (fig. 5A, first area 530/second area 535) of the systolic array.
As to claims 7 and 14, Kwon discloses the matrix accelerator of claim 6, wherein the second circuitry is to configure the matrix accelerator to power gate (fig. 5A, systolic data setup 520-1 power gate through first area 530) the physical pipeline stage of the systolic array during the partial pass.
As to claims 8, 15 and 20, Kwon discloses the matrix accelerator of claim 7, wherein the second circuitry is to configure the matrix accelerator to bypass and power gate upper physical pipeline stage during the partial pass (fig. 5A, systolic data setup 520-1 power gate through first area 530) and perform the partial pass via lower physical pipeline stages (fig. 5A, perform operations in second area 535).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to examiner Cheng-Yuan Tseng whose telephone number is (571)272-9772, and fax number is (571)273-9772. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 09:00 to 17:30 Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alicia Harrington can be reached on (571)272-2330. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866)217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800)786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571)272-1000.
/CHENG YUAN TSENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615