DETAILED ACTION
Application, submitted on 10/30/2024, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner as indicated. However, Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 12, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2020/0293245 A1) in view of Yabe (US 2021/0342108 A1).
Referring to claim 1, Tanaka discloses a printing apparatus (figs.1-4, image forming apparatus 10) comprising:
a controller including a processor (fig.3, CPU 11) and a memory (fig.3, memory 12), the controller configured to:
acquire information on an environment of a network to which the printing apparatus is connected ([0084]) (Note: the image forming apparatus acquires environment information of the currently connected network);
by executing a program that outputs a setting value based on information on an environment of a network input to the program, specify, based on the acquired information on the environment of the network, a setting value recommended to be set in the printing apparatus ([0033], [0049], fig.7, [0084]-[0086]) (Note: when the environment information acquired does not match the environment information transmitted from the management server; the image forming apparatus specifies a network setting to be check and set for proper connection);
display, on a display (fig.4, display unit 33), the specified setting value in a manner that the specified setting value is recommended to be set ([0085]-[0086]; figs10, 13A-B) (Note: the image forming apparatus displays a notification about the network setting to be corrected); and
set, based on a user instruction to set the displayed setting value, the displayed setting value in the printing apparatus (figs.13-15) (Note: the image forming apparatus corrects the network setting on user instruction).
Tanaka fails to disclose a program that uses a trained model.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printing apparatus art, Yabe discloses a program that uses a trained model ([0067] and [0223]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the printing apparatus of Tanaka with a program that uses a trained model as taught by Yabe. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to help a printing apparatus fix problems on its own, save energy, and stop security threats before they start.
Referring to claim 2, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein. Tanaka further discloses a printing apparatus (fig.3, image forming apparatus 10) comprising: a printer unit (fig.3, print engine 17).
Referring to claim 5, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 6, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 7, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein. Tanaka further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for controlling a printing apparatus ([0004]).
Referring to claim 8, Tanaka in view of Yabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 2. Tanaka discloses wherein the controller further configured to: receive a print job via the network; and print data based on the print job by using the printer unit ([0048] and [0054]-[0055]).
Referring to claim 12, Tanaka in view of Yabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1. Tanaka further discloses wherein the information on the environment of the network is information on communication performed by the printing apparatus ([0033]).
Referring to claim 16, Tanaka in view of Yabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1, except wherein the information on the environment of the network is numerically vectorized for specifying the setting value recommended to be set in the printing apparatus.
However, Yabe discloses a concept wherein an information is numerically vectorized for specifying a value ([0128]) (Note: the device setting management server numerically vectorizes the collected data information based on the vectorization information, whereby the collected data information is converted into vector representations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the printing apparatus of Tanaka with the concept as taught by Yabe. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for fast processing.
Referring to claim 17, Tanaka in view of Yabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1. Yabe discloses wherein the trained model is a model on which machine learning is performed ([0067]) (Note: device setting estimation unit 322 generates trained model information for estimating device settings corresponding to the respective functions of the MFP by performing machine learning on the collected data on the MFP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the printing apparatus of Tanaka with the concept as taught by Yabe. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to make real-time predictions.
Referring to claim 19, Tanaka in view of Yabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1. Tanaka further discloses wherein the display is a panel of the printing apparatus (fig.10 and [0086]) (Note: operation panel 51).
Referring to claim 20, Tanaka in view of Yabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 17, except wherein the machine learning is performed by using, as input data, information on environments of networks to which printing apparatuses are respectively connected, and using, as training data, setting values respectively set in the printing apparatuses.
However, Yabe discloses a concept wherein the machine learning is performed by using, as input data, information on networks to which printing apparatuses are respectively connected, and using, as training data, setting values respectively set in the printing apparatuses ([0100]-[0105] and [0124]) (Note: the machine learning is performed by using, collected data as input data and using, as training data, setting values respectively set in the printing apparatuses).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the printing apparatus of Tanaka with the concept as taught by Yabe. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently obtain a trained model.
Claims 3-4, 10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Yabe, and further in view of Ito (US 2019/0079710 A1).
Referring to claim 3, Tanaka in view of Yabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 1, except wherein the setting value recommended to be set is a setting value indicating an environment recommended to be set, and wherein, based on the user instruction to set the displayed setting value, a plurality of setting values suitable for the environment recommended to be set is set in the printing apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printing apparatus art, Ito discloses a concept wherein the setting value recommended to be set is a setting value indicating an environment recommended to be set, and wherein, based on the user instruction to set the displayed setting value, a plurality of setting values suitable for the environment recommended to be set is set in the printing apparatus (fig.3A and [0031]-[0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the printing apparatus of Tanaka in view of Yabe with the concept of Ito to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to help a printing apparatus function properly.
Referring to claim 4, Tanaka in view of Yabe and Ito discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 3. Ito discloses wherein the setting value output by the program is a setting value indicating an environment estimated as a usage environment of the printing apparatus (fig.3A and [0031]-[0032]) (Note: wired infrastructure (environment) and wireless infrastructure (environment)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the printing apparatus of Tanaka in view of Yabe with the concept of Ito to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve user experience.
Referring to claim 10, Tanaka in view of Yabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 5, except wherein a selection of the setting value indicating the environment from among the setting values respectively indicating environments is received from a user, and wherein the specified setting value is displayed on a screen for receiving the selection of the setting value.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printing apparatus art, Ito discloses a concept wherein a selection of the setting value indicating the environment from among the setting values respectively indicating environments is received from a user, and wherein the specified setting value is displayed on a screen for receiving the selection of the setting value (fig.3A and [0031]-[0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the printing apparatus of Tanaka in view of Yabe with the concept of Ito to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to help a printing apparatus function properly.
Referring to claim 13, Tanaka in view of Yabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 12, except wherein the information on the communication performed by the printing apparatus is information based on communication packets.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printing apparatus art, Ito discloses a concept wherein the information on the communication performed by the printing apparatus is information based on communication packets ([0056]-[0063]) (Note: information based on communication packets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the printing apparatus of Tanaka in view of Yabe with the concept of Ito to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide high network efficiency.
Referring to claim 14, Tanaka in view of Yabe and Ito discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 13 Ito discloses wherein the communication packets include at least one of communication packets transmitted by the printing apparatus and communication packets received by the printing apparatus ([0056]-[0063]) (Note: communication packets transmitted and received by the printing apparatus).
The same motivation provided for claim 13 is applicable herein.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Yabe and Ito, and furthermore in view of Suzuki (US 2019/0227758 A1).
Referring to claim 11, Tanaka in view of Yabe and Ito discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 3, except wherein the plurality of setting values suitable for the environment recommended to be set is a plurality of setting values related to security.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printing apparatus art, Suzuki discloses a concept wherein the plurality of setting values suitable for the environment recommended to be set is a plurality of setting values related to security ([0086]-[0087]) (Note: the CPU 210 of the MFP 200A determines whether any one of the three ports subjected to diagnostics was determined to be open to the public and, thus, a port with security issues (a vulnerable port)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the printing apparatus of Tanaka in view of Yabe and Ito with the concept of Suzuki to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to protect the printing apparatus from attack.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Yabe, and further in view of Ito (US 2011/0063670 A1).
Referring to claim 18, Tanaka in view of Yabe discloses the printing apparatus according to claim 17, except wherein the information on the environments of the networks to which the printing apparatuses are respectively connected is information on communication performed by the printing apparatuses operated for a predetermined period.
However, in the same field of endeavor of printing apparatus art, Suzuki discloses a concept wherein the information on the networks to which the printing apparatuses are respectively connected is information on communication performed by the printing apparatuses operated for a predetermined period (fig.1, [0041]-[0047] and [0167]-[0168]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by the applicant to modify the printing apparatus of Tanaka in view of Yabe with the concept of Ito to obtain the claimed invention. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to better assist the printing apparatuses.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683