DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 10/30/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/30/2024 are acknowledged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 13, 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Balasuramanian (US 2022/0363137) in view of Powel (US 5,503,083).
Regarding claim 1, Balasuramanian discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
A system for wirelessly powering a micro-robot platform, the system comprising: a micro-robot platform, comprising: (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0023]-[0028], the mobile robot 110 is a material-handling robot, an inspection robot, or a repair robot).
Please note that: a micro-robot size would have been an obvious design choice.
a micro-robot having a plurality of magnets; (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0024]-[0029], permanent magnet 112 mounted on robot 110, magnet segments, and pole pairs).
a wireless power stack, comprising: a power storage device; (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0030]-[0039], [0049]-[0055], shows wireless power transfer architecture including receiving coils 114, transmitting coils 122, control system 130, and power supply 140. The storage element 116 may include a battery capable of storing power (i.e., a power storage device)).
a first inductive loop coil configured to charge the power storage device; (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0030]-[0032], [0049]-[0055], receiving coils 114 (i.e., first inductive loop coil) mounted on robot 110. The transferred wireless power is stored in battery/storage element 116 (i.e., power storage device)).
a wireless power driver circuit; (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0035]-[0039], control system 130 controlling AC power transmitted to coils 122).
a microcontroller unit (MCU); (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0035]-[0039], control system 130 using microprocessor or microcontroller hardware).
and one or more of wireless charging zones, comprising: (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0034]-[0039], plurality of transmitting coils 122 distributed along magnetic track 120, and selected transmitting coils energized depending on the robot location/position. Therefore, each transmitting coil location is a charging zone).
a second inductive loop coil (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0034]-[0039], Abstract, transmitting coils 122 disposed along magnetic track 120 are inductive loop coils), magnetically coupled to the first inductive loop coil, (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0034]-[0039], wireless inductive power transfer, requires magnetic coupling between transmitting coil 122 and receiving coil 114).
wherein the second inductive loop coil is configured to transfer power to the first inductive loop coil; (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0034]-[0039], power is wirelessly transferred from transmitting coils 122 to receiving coils 114).
and wherein the micro-robot platform is configured to levitate over the one or more wireless charging zones. (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0033]-[0040], plurality of transmitting coils 122 arranged along magnetic track 120. Robot 110 moves over magnetic track 120 while receiving wireless power).
Balasuramanian does not explicitly disclose:
a magnetic levitation (MAGLEV) stack, comprising: a micro-robot driver circuit configured to levitate the micro-robot platform;
… is configured to levitate …
However, Powel teaches:
a magnetic levitation (MAGLEV) stack, comprising: (Powel, Col. 7, ll. 8-50, 63-67, Abstract, “The system provides inherent vertical lift, as well as vertical and lateral stability…”, “…the lift and stability means sufficient to suspend and stabilize the vehicle above the substantially planar guideway”, teaches electromagnetic induction suspension and stabilization).
a micro-robot driver circuit configured to levitate the micro-robot platform; (Powel, Col. 3, ll.22-25, Col. 4, ll. 27-30, Col. 8, ll. 28-49, “…the vertical lift means comprises a plurality of first and second pairs of passive magnetic induction coils,…”, “…the upwards magnetic force of the loop circuits …”, lift and stability generated by induction coils. Therefore, teaches that the levitation control circuit and induction loop suspension, constitute a driver circuit for generating levitation force).
… is configured to levitate … (Powel, Col. 3, ll.22-25, Col. 7, ll. 65-67, Col. 8, ll. 28-49, Col. 11, ll. 36-57, “The vehicle is typically suspended approximately six to eight inches over the substantially planar guideway by the suspension and stabilization system”. Therefore, employing the induction suspension system of Powel, results in a robot levitates above guideway which contains transmitting coils, and power transfer occurs while robot is suspended).
Balasuramanian and Powel are combinable, because both are from the same field of magnetic induction systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to employ the wireless charging controller and power management as taught by Powel, in order to regulate and improve control of wireless power transfer.
Balasuramanian and Powel do not explicitly disclose:
a plurality of printed circuit board (PCB) layers arranged in a stack-up structure; However, the multilayer PCB stack-up structures are well known for integrated power circuitry, control circuitry, inductive coils, and signal routing into compact electronic assemblies while reducing footprint, improving density of the boards and simplifying the connections. Therefore, the combined systems have included a plurality of PCBs arranged in a stack-up structure.
As per claim 13, claim 13 encompass same or similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Balasuramanian and Powel disclose the limitations of claim 1. Balasuramanian disclose:
The system of claim 1, wherein the power storage device is a battery. (Balasuramanian, Paras. [0030]-[0039], [0049]-[0055], teaches a wireless power system including a power storage element coupled to the receiving circuit. And further teaches that the storage element 116 includes a battery capable of storing power received through the power transfer system. Therefore, the power storage device is a battery).
As per claim 18, claim 18 encompass same or similar scope as claim 10. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 10.
Claims 2-4, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Balasuramanian (US 2022/0363137) in view of Powel (US 5,503,083), and further in view of Tischer (US 2012/0173033).
Regarding claim 2, Balasuramanian and Powel disclose the limitations of claim 1. Tischer disclose:
The system of claim 1, wherein the MCU includes a demultiplexer; and wherein the demultiplexer is configured to receive a direct current (Tischer, Paras. [0038]-[0045], “The controller 208 includes a processing component 224 configured to provide the desired control for the system 200. …. the processing component includes a microcontroller and associated firmware stored in integrated memory”, “The controller 208 can then activate the appropriate switches 206 …”, teaches a controller comprising a microcontroller configured to control switches 206, for selectively routes power to multiple outputs (through switching devices)).
and provide power to the MAGLEV stack and the wireless power stack. (Tischer, Paras. [0038]-[0045], “The controller 208 receives operating power from the power input 202 via an input 222. In the case that the electrical power is AC, the controller 208 may also include an AC/DC converter for generating a DC signal to power the controller 208”, which teaches receiving operating power from the power input, including DC power generated through AC/DC converter, and selectively distributing electrical power through switches 206 to multiple power outputs DC after conversion).
Balasuramanian, Powel and Tischer are combinable, because all are from the same field of electromagnetic and power control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the power management controller and switched power distribution technique as taught by Tischer, in order to improve power management, and enabling sequential allocation of power to multiple loads.
Regarding claim 3, Balasuramanian, Powel and Tischer disclose the limitations of claim 2. Tischer discloses:
The system of claim 2, wherein the demultiplexer alternates between charging the power storage device for a first duration of time (Tischer, Paras. [0038]-[0045], [0053]-[0062], teaches controller 208 activating a selected output through switches 206, maintaining power for that specific output, and then switching power off before energizing another output. Therefore, teaches selectively applying electrical power to groups of outputs according to a power sequence), and powering the MAGLEV stack for a second duration of time. (Tischer, Paras. [0038]-[0045], [0053]-[0062], further teaches sequentially energizing another output after the first output has been deactivated, therefore, provides power to different loads during successive time intervals).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Balasuramanian, Powel and Tischer disclose the limitations of claim 2. Tischer disclose:
The system of claim 2, further comprising: a peripheral stack, wherein the demultiplexer is configured to receive a direct current and provide power for the peripheral stack. (Tischer, Paras. [0038]-[0045], [0053]-[0062], teaches providing electrical power to peripheral devices, such as a printer, projector, scanner, or other device while simultaneously managing power to other loads (i.e., peripheral stack)
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 2 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
As per claim 15, claim 15 encompass same or similar scope as claim 4. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, Balasuramanian and Powel disclose the limitations of claim 13. Tischer disclose:
The method of claim 13, further comprising: receiving, at a demultiplexer the direct current; (Tischer, Paras. [0038]-[0045], “The controller 208 includes a processing component 224 configured to provide the desired control for the system 200. …. the processing component includes a microcontroller and associated firmware stored in integrated memory”, “The controller 208 can then activate the appropriate switches 206 …”, teaches a controller comprising a microcontroller configured to control switches 206, for selectively routes power to multiple outputs (through switching devices)).
and providing power to a magnetic levitation (MAGLEV) stack and a wireless power stack, (Tischer, Paras. [0038]-[0045], “The controller 208 receives operating power from the power input 202 via an input 222. In the case that the electrical power is AC, the controller 208 may also include an AC/DC converter for generating a DC signal to power the controller 208”, which teaches receiving operating power from the power input, including DC power generated through AC/DC converter, and selectively distributing electrical power through switches 206 to multiple power outputs DC after conversion).
wherein the demultiplexer alternates between charging the power storage device for a first duration of time (Tischer, Paras. [0038]-[0045], [0053]-[0062], teaches controller 208 activating a selected output through switches 206, maintaining power for that specific output, and then switching power off before energizing another output. Therefore, teaches selectively applying electrical power to groups of outputs according to a power sequence),
and powering the MAGLEV stack for a second duration of time. (Tischer, Paras. [0038]-[0045], [0053]-[0062], further teaches sequentially energizing another output after the first output has been deactivated, therefore, provides power to different loads during successive time intervals).
Balasuramanian, Powel and Tischer are combinable, because all are from the same field of electromagnetic and power control systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the power management controller and switched power distribution technique as taught by Tischer, in order to improve power management, and enabling sequential allocation of power to multiple loads.
Claims 5-6, 11, 16-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Balasuramanian (US 2022/0363137) in view of Powel (US 5,503,083), and further in view of Campanella (US 8,963,488).
Regarding claim 5, Balasuramanian, Powel disclose the limitations of claim 1. Campanella discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first inductive loop coil is a PCB coil. (Campanella, Col. 4, ll. 37-67, Col. 6, ll. 13-37, Col. 8, ll. 23-30, 62-67, Figs. 10a-10b, teaches a source resonator/inductor used for wireless power transfer. And further teaches realizing the inductive loop using printed circuit board trace structures).
Balasuramanian, Powel and Campanella are combinable, because all are from the same field of wireless power transfer systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to implement the first inductive loop coil of Balasuramanian as a printed circuit board coil as taught by Campanella, in order to improve compact integration of the wireless power transfer circuitry.
As per claim 16, claim 16 encompass same or similar scope as claim 5. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Balasuramanian, Powel disclose the limitations of claim 1. Campanella discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first inductive loop coil is electrically coupled to the power storage device and secured to the micro-robot platform with an adhesive. (Campanella, Col. 6, ll. 10-37, Col. 7, ll. 8-18, Col. 88, 43-67, teaches wireless charging antenna assembly including an inductive loop coil (inductor 401) forming part of a wireless charging structure. The antenna assembly is physically mounted within the charging structure as a discrete assembly. And further teaches wireless power receiver devices that are secured as a patch using adhesive).
Balasuramanian, Powel and Campanella are combinable, because all are from the same field of wireless power transfer systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to secure the first inductive coil to the micro-robot platform using an adhesive as taught by Campanella, in order to secure wireless power components to a structure and reduce the need of fasteners.
As per claim 17, claim 17 encompass same or similar scope as claim 6. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 6.
Regarding claim 11, Balasuramanian, Powel disclose the limitations of claim 1. Campanella discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the power storage device is a supercapacitor. (Campanella, Col. 5, ll. 6-44, teaches that the wireless power transfer system is coupled to various energy storage devices which are wirelessly charged/recharged. And further teaches that batteries or storage units are charged/recharged using the power transfer system).
Balasuramanian, Powel and Campanella are combinable, because all are from the same field of wireless power transfer systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to utilize a supercapacitor as taught by Campanella, in order to benefit from using different storage and charge/recharge performance.
As per claim 19, claim 1196 encompass same or similar scope as claim 11. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 11.
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Balasuramanian (US 2022/0363137) in view of Powel (US 5,503,083), and further in view of Youn (US 2020/0235784).
Regarding claim 12, Balasuramanian and Powel disclose the limitations of claim 1. Youn discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first inductive loop coil and the second inductive loop coil are magnetically coupled by a Qi interface standard. (Youn, Paras. [0002]-[0011], [0056]-[0057], [0068]-[0069], [0071]-[0075], “… the magnetic induction method operates according to the standard specification of the Wireless Power Consortium (WPC). …. a wireless power transmitter and a wireless power receiver may communicate with each other”. Youn teaches a wireless power transmission system with the Wireless Power Consortium Qi standard).
Balasuramanian, Powel and Youn are combinable, because all are from the same field of wireless power transfer systems. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to implement the magnetic coupling interface according to the Qi standard as taught by Youn, in order to provide a standardized and adopted charging interface.
As per claim 20, claim 20 encompass same or similar scope as claim 12. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected based on the reasons set forth above in rejecting claim 12.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Sultenfuss (US 2017/0063132) teaches a wireless antenna that generates heat due to resistive losses within the antenna inductor coil, eddy currents induced in conductive materials in the vicinity of magnetic flux generated by the antenna.
Lucas (US 5,144,742) teaches Rigid-flex printed circuit boards (PCBs) to improve and simplify process to form the PCBs from rigid-flex PCB subassemblies with both rigid and flex sections incorporating suitable insulator materials.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615