DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to a Continuation of application 17/824,427 (patent granted as US 12,164,632 B2, issued 12/10/2024) filed by Applicant on 10/30/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 10/30/2024 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The present application, as claimed, satisfies the requirements for patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6–7, 14–15, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6–7, 14–15, and 20 recite, “the performing of the sample”, which lacks antecedent basis. Apart from lacking an initial instance of this term, there is no indication to what this term refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–2, 7, 9–10, 15, 17–18, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiriac (US 2008/0040710 A1, published Feb. 14, 2008).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, Chiriac discloses: a system, comprising: a processor configured to: receive a sample for inline malware packer detection analysis (files of a computer are inspected for indicators of malware, particularly looking for Microsoft Portable Executable type files, which are prone to be modified by malware packing. Chiriac ¶¶ 39–40.); perform a packer filter to determine whether the sample is packed (the file is inspected to determine if the file is packed/compressed/encrypted, which can be determined by entropy analysis for example. Chiriac ¶ 41.); compare the sample with known malware packer clusters to determine whether the sample is associated with a known malware packer (not only are the files inspected to determine if the files have been packed multiple times, which is a flag for malware, specific packers (such as Morphine, MoleBox, Mew) used by malware writers are detected. Chiriac ¶¶ 49–50. Also, common packers (such as UPX, Aspack) with slight modifications are detected. Chiriac ¶ 51.); and perform a responsive action based on the determination (in response to this analysis a determination is made as to whether or not the file is or should be treated as malware. Chiriac ¶ 56.); and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions (Chiriac ¶ 7.).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, Chiriac discloses the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, wherein the sample includes a Microsoft Windows PE file (files are a computer are inspected for indicators of malware, particularly looking for Microsoft Portable Executable type files, which are prone to be modified by malware packing. Chiriac ¶¶ 39–40.).
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 20, Chiriac discloses the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, wherein the performing of the sample includes to alert an endpoint user and/or a network/security administrator that the sample was determined to be associated with a known malware packer, quarantine an endpoint device associated with the sample, identifying a source IP address or uniform resource locator (URL) associated with the sample as malicious (or potentially malicious), or any combination thereof (in response to this analysis a determination is make as to whether or not the file is or should be treated as malware. Chiriac ¶ 56.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 6, 11, 14, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiriac in view of Marinescu (US 7,640,583 B1, issued Dec. 29, 2009).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, Chiriac discloses the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively. Chiriac does not disclose: wherein the performing of the responsive action includes to block access to the sample.
However, Marinescu does disclose: wherein the performing of the responsive action includes to block access to the sample (the anti-malware program prohibits the file from remaining on the computer and does not allow the file to execute. Marinescu 1:37–39.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inspection of computer data for malware packed into files taught by Chiriac with remedying the detected malware by blocking the access to the sample based upon the teachings of Marinescu. The motivation being to isolate the malicious code from the system. Marinescu 1:37.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Chiriac discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Chiriac does not disclose: wherein the performing of the sample includes to block or drop the sample.
However, Marinescu does disclose: wherein the performing of the sample includes to block or drop the sample (the anti-malware program prohibits the file from remaining on the computer and does not allow the file to execute. Marinescu 1:37–39.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inspection of computer data for malware packed into files taught by Chiriac with remedying the detected malware by blocking the access to the sample based upon the teachings of Marinescu. The motivation being to isolate the malicious code from the system. Marinescu 1:37.
Claim 4–5, 8, 12–13, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiriac in view of Abu (US 2022/0147628 A1, published May 12, 2022).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Chiriac discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Chiriac does not disclose: wherein the performing of the responsive action includes to store the sample.
However, Abu does disclose: wherein the performing of the responsive action includes to store the sample (PE file malware remedial action includes isolating, quarantining, confining, or restraining. Abu ¶ 132.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inspection of computer data for malware packed into files taught by Chiriac with remedying the detected malware by storing the sample based upon the teachings of Abu. The motivation being to protect computer systems. Abu ¶ 3.
Regarding claim 5 and 13, Chiriac discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Chiriac does not disclose: wherein the performing of the responsive action includes to log the sample.
However, Abu does disclose: wherein the performing of the responsive action includes to log the sample (PE file malware remedial action includes reporting. Abu ¶ 132.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inspection of computer data for malware packed into files taught by Chiriac with remedying the detected malware by logging the sample based upon the teachings of Abu. The motivation being to protect computer systems. Abu ¶ 3.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Chiriac discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Chiriac does not disclose: wherein a security platform of a cloud service includes the system.
However, Abu does disclose: wherein a security platform of a cloud service includes the system (Abu ¶ 76.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inspection of computer data for malware packed into files taught by Chiriac with the security platform being cloud based based upon the teachings of Abu. The motivation being to protect computer systems. Abu ¶ 3.
Conclusion
/VANCE M LITTLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493