Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “bottom portion of rectangular frame”, “top portion of rectangular frame,” “first vertical portion of rectangular frame,” “second vertical portion of the rectangular frame,” and “control of the third subset of clamps is based on control of a first clamp in the first subset or the second subset; and control of the fourth subset of clamps is based on control of a second clamp in the first subset or the second subset” from claim 20.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a control system configured to control the set of clamps” in claim 17.
The specification does not disclose a sufficient structure that corresponds to “a control unit.” Please refer to 35 USC 112(a) and 112(b) rejections for further details and Examiner interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 17 recites “a control system configured to control the set of clamps.” As stated prior, this recitation invokes 35 USC 112(f) however, the specification fails to disclose an explicit corresponding structure that performs the entire claimed function (refer to 35 USC 112(b) rejection below) and therefore, fails to satisfy the written description of the control system. The disclosure does not include an understanding of the structure of the control system in order for the control system to control the set of clamps on a frame. Although pp. [00105-00106] in disclosure states “each of the clamps on the top and bottom portions can be independently controlled via the hydraulic supply and control system 1805” and “each of the clamps on a vertical bar may be independently controlled by the hydraulic supply and control system 1805”, the drawings and following paragraphs fail to provide sufficient structure and thus, the originally filed specification does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or joint inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 18-20 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(a) since they are dependent on claim 17.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a control system configured to control set of clamps” in claim 17 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification recites “each of the clamps on the top and bottom portions can be independently controlled via the hydraulic supply and control system 1805” and “each of the clamps on a vertical bar may be independently controlled by the hydraulic supply and control system 1805” in pp. [00105-00106]. It is unclear to the Examiner the required structure of the control system in order to control the set of clamps on the frame. For example, it is not clear whether the control system is at least one of a computer program, computer equipment or structural hardware/elements, such as pressure valves. In order to expedite prosecution, if the prior art includes a device (i.e. computer, controller, pressure valve, hydraulic system, etc.) that is able to control the opening/closing of the mechanical clamp(s), then it is presumed the elements meet the limitations of the control system.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 18-20 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gibbons (US Patent No. 3,661,408).
Regarding claim 1, Gibbons (US Patent No. 3,661,408) discloses a mechanical clamp (item 10; fig. 1) configured to hold an object (mechanical clamp is capable of holding object; object includes items 20, 22, 24; fig. 1; col. 2, ll. 44-49), the mechanical clamp comprising:
an actuator (includes items 14, 16; figs. 1-4) having an end that is movable (item 16; figs 2-4);
a base link (item 64; fig. 3) with a first link end (defined as end near shaft 68; fig. 3) configured to be movably coupled to a link pivot point (first link end moves along translational direction in view of fig. 3 and rotation direction in view of fig. 4 via link pivot point, i.e. defined as pivot point about shaft 74; figs. 3-4) and with a second link end (defined as end near link shaft 74; figs. 3-4) movably coupled to the end of the actuator (second link end is movably coupled to end of actuator via shaft 74; figs. 2-4), movement of the end of the actuator to cause the second link end to rotate about the link pivot point (col. 4, ll. 37-44; movement of end of actuator 16 causes second link end to rotate about link pivot point from position of fig. 3 to fig. 4);
a clamp arm (includes items 28, 30, 70 ,72, 106, 108; figs. 1-4) comprising:
a clamp interface (item 36; figs. 1 and 3-4) configured to interface with a surface of the object to be held (col. 2, ll. 69 through col. 3, ll. 2);
a first arm coupling element (item 28; fig. 1); and
a second arm coupling element (item 70; figs. 1 and 3-4) mounted to a clamp pivot point (defined as pivot point about shaft 32; figs. 1-3), the first arm coupling element and the clamp interface configured to rotate about the clamp pivot point (col. 4, ll. 45-56; first arm coupling element 28 and clamp interface 36 are capable of rotating about clamp pivot point 32 as end of actuator moves); and
a compressible link (item 82; figs. 1 and 3-4) with a spring (item 102; figs. 1 and 3-4) configured to compress along a compression axis (defined as axis along longitudinal axis of spring 102), the compressible link coupling the second link end with the first arm coupling element (via intermediate components; the compressible link 82 couples second link end 70 with first arm coupling element 28; fig. 3), rotation of the second link end about the link pivot point to cause the compressible link to exert force against the first arm coupling element (col. 3, ll. 53-55; compressible link 82 exerts force against first arm coupling element 28 towards the closed position at all times; therefore, as rotation of second link end about link pivot point occurs, compressible link exerts force in same movement, i.e. closed position).
Regarding claim 2, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second link end rotation about the link pivot point (defined as rotation from fig. 4 position to fig. 3 position) causes the compressible link to exert force against the first arm coupling element in a rotation direction about the clamp pivot point (defined as direction indicated by arrow in fig. 4; compressible link 82 exerts force against first arm coupling element 28 to force to the closed position, i.e. fig. 3 position).
Regarding claim 3, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, wherein (a) rotation of the second link end about the link pivot point in a first direction (defined as direction when link pivot point 74 moves inwardly toward loading arm 20, i.e. direction of clamp moving from position in fig. 4 to position in fig. 3; col. 4, ll. 36-41 and col. 5, ll. 5-9) and (b) the clamp interface in contact with the object causes the compressible link to compress along the compression axis (col. 3, ll. 65-70; clamp interface 36 in contact with object 24 causes compressible link 82 to compress along compression axis and bias clamp interface towards closed position; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 3, wherein (a) rotation of the second link end about the link pivot point in a second direction (defined as direction when link pivot point 74 moves outwardly from loading arm 20, i.e. direction of clamp moving from position in fig. 3 to position in fig. 4) different than the first direction (directions are opposing directions, i.e. different) and (b) the clamp interface in contact with the object causes the compressible link to decompress along the compression axis (when moving in second direction, clamp interface 36 in contact with object 24 releases, and thereby causes partial decompression of compressible link 82 along the compression axis).
Regarding claim 5, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 3, wherein (a) rotation of the second link end about the link pivot point in a second direction (defined as direction when link pivot point 74 moves rearward in view of fig. 3) different than the first direction (first direction is rotation downward and second direction is rotation rearward, i.e. different) and (b) the clamp interface in contact with the object causes the first arm coupling element and the clamp interface to rotate about the clamp pivot point (when moving in second direction, first arm coupling element 28 and clamp interface 36 further rotate about clamp pivot point 32 to tighten against surface of object 24).
Regarding claim 6, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, wherein (a) rotation of the second link end about the link pivot point (defined as rotation from fig. 3 position to fig. 4 position, i.e. rotation outwardly from manifold 26) and (b) the absence of contact between the clamp interface and the object causes the first arm coupling element and the clamp interface to rotate about the clamp pivot point (first arm coupling element 28 and clamp interface 36 rotate about clamp pivot point 32 to disengage and remove contact between clamp interface and object 24; fig. 4 position).
Regarding claim 7, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second link end rotation about the link pivot point causes an alignment angle (defined as angle between both axes designated in annotated fig. 4 below) between (a) an axis extending between the first link end and the second link end (designated in annotated fig. 4 below) and (b) the compression axis to increase or decrease (designated in annotated fig. 4 below).
Annotated Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 8, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base link, the clamp arm, and the compressible link form an over-center mechanism (base link 62, clamp arm, and compressible link 82 define an over-center mechanism when assembled, similar to applicant’s disclosure).
Regarding claim 9, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second clamp arm (item 18; figs. 1-4) comprising:
a second clamp interface (item 40a; fig. 1) configured to interface with a second surface (item 22; fig. 1) of the object to be held; and
the clamp pivot point (second clamp arm 18 includes the clamp pivot point 32; figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, wherein the compressible link comprises:
a pivot link (item 104; figs. 2-4) coupled to the second link end (col. 3, ll. 64-65; end of pivot link 104 couples to second link end at shaft 74; figs. 3-4); and
the spring with a first end (defined as end at item 100; figs. 1-4) coupled to the first arm coupling element (via intermediate components, i.e. items 84, 92, 100; fig. 2) and a second end (defined as end at item 104; figs. 1-4) coupled to the pivot link (second end of spring 102 is coupled to pivot link 104 via hook of spring; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 10, wherein the pivot link and the second link end of the base link form a joint (pivot link 104 and second link end of base link 66 form a joint, i.e. attached to one another and move corresponding to one another; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, wherein the clamp interface includes a clamp bar (clamp interface 36 is a bar extending from hook 28 to hook 30 of clamp arm; col. 2, ll. 66 through col, 3, ll. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, wherein a clamping force of the mechanical clamp depends on a thickness of the object (col. 5, ll. 22-29; clamping force of clamp depends on thickness of object needing to be secured).
Regarding claim 15, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, wherein:
the actuator is controlled to move the end between a first position (defined as position when end 16 of actuator is outwardly from loading arm 20; col. 3, ll. 27-32) and a second position (defined as position when end 16 of actuator is moved inwardly toward loading arm 20; col. 3, ll. 27-32); and
wherein the mechanical clamp is configured to hold objects of different thicknesses by the actuator moving the end from the first position to the second position (col. 4, ll. 36-44 and col. 5, ll. 22-33; when actuator is moved from first position to second position, the mechanical clamp is pivoted about clamp pivot point 32 to tighten and secure objects of various thicknesses).
Regarding claim 16, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 1, wherein:
the object has a first thickness (defined as thickness of flange 24 of object; fig. 1), and the mechanical clamp is configured to hold the object by the actuator moving the end from a first position (defined as position when end 16 of actuator is outwardly from loading arm 20; col. 3, ll. 27-32) to a second position (defined as position when end 16 of actuator is moved inwardly toward loading arm 20; col. 3, ll. 27-32); and
a second object has a second thickness different that the first thickness (not explicitly shown; defined as any other loading arm with different thickness and diameter than first object; col. 5, ll. 22-28), and the mechanical clamp is configured to hold the second object by the actuator moving the end from the first position to the second position (mechanical clamp is capable of holding second object of different thickness than the first object as the clamp is moved from the first position to the second position, i.e. fig. 4 position to fig. 3 position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibbons (US Patent No. 3,661,408) in view of Bilger (FR3080787), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 14, Gibbons discloses the mechanical clamp as claimed in claim 13, but is silent on wherein the clamping force of the mechanical clamp increases with increasing thickness.
However, Bilger (FR3080787), as provided by the Examiner, teaches a mechanical clamp (figs. 3-6) comprising a clamp arm (includes items 21, 27; fig. 3), a base link (19; figs. 3-6), and a compressible link with a spring (item 37; fig. 6), wherein the compressible link is configured to compress along a compression axis (p. 7, pp. 2-3 of NPL), wherein the compressible link is configured to exert force against the clamp arm (p. 7, pp. 2-3 of NPL), and wherein the clamping force of the clamp arm increases with increasing thickness of an object (p7, pp. 4 of NPL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to configure the mechanical clamp, as disclosed in Gibbons, to have an increased clamping force on an object with greater thickness, as taught in Gibbons, in order for the device to function as intended and in order for the mechanical clamp to properly adapt to the object being held (p. 7, pp. 4 of NPL in Bilger).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paterson (US Patent No. 3,027,155) in view of Lancaster (US Patent No. 2,182,154).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Paterson (US Patent No. 3,027,155) discloses a clamping system (figs. 1-4) comprising:
at least one mechanical clamp (figs. 1-4) comprising:
an actuator (item 6; fig. 1) having an end (item 7; fig. 1) that is movable (end 7 of actuator moves within actuator to move clamp arm, i.e. positions of fig. 1 to fig. 4);
a base link (item 13; figs. 1-4) with a first link end (defined as end attached to shaft 5; fig. 1) coupled to a link pivot point (defined as pivot about shaft 5; figs. 1-4) and a second link end (defined as end of base link 13 near shaft 15; fig. 1) coupled to the end of the actuator (via intermediate components, i.e. item 10; fig. 1), movement of the end of the actuator causing the second link end to rotate about the link pivot point (as actuator moves from fig. 1 to fig. 4, the second link end rotates about link pivot point 5; figs. 1-4);
a clamp arm (includes items 22, 23; fig. 1) comprising:
a clamp interface (designated in annotated fig. 1 below) configured to interface with an object to be held (clamp interface capable of interfacing with object 1; figs. 3-4);
a first arm coupling element (designated in annotated fig. 1 below); and
a second arm coupling element (item 22; fig. 1) mounted to a clamp pivot point (defined as pivot about shaft 3; figs. 1-4), the first arm coupling element and the clamp interface configured to rotate about the clamp pivot point (first arm coupling element and clamp interface rotate about clamp pivot point 3 as actuator is moved; figs. 1-4); and
a compressible link (includes items 19, 27; col. 4, ll. 13-28 and 44-56) configured to compress along a compression axis (compressible link is capable for compressing clamp arm along axis of item 19, i.e. compression axis), the compressible link coupling the second link end with the first arm coupling element (compressible link couples second link end of base link 13 to first arm coupling element via intermediate components), rotation of the second link end about the link pivot point causing the compressible link to exert force against the first arm coupling element (as actuator moves, rotation of second link end about link pivot point 5 causes compressible link to exert force on first arm coupling element and thereby, clamp the object to be held).
Annotated Fig. 1.
Patterson does not explicitly disclose wherein the system comprises a set of two or more mechanical clamps.
However, Lancaster (US Patent No. 2,182,154) discloses a clamping system (figs. 1-2 and 4) comprising a set of two or more mechanical clamps (first set items 18 on upper portion of frame in view of fig. 2), wherein at least one mechanical clamp of the set comprises an actuator (item 24; fig. 2) that is movable to adjust a clamp arm (item 31; fig. 2) of the mechanical clamp, corresponding to the actuator and clamp arm mechanism in Patterson.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the clamping system, as disclosed in Patterson, to include a set of two or more mechanical clamps, as taught in Lancaster, since it has been held that unless a new and unexpected result is produced, mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04.VI-B) and, in view of the teachings of Lancaster, there are reasonable expectations of success.
Lastly, Patterson does not explicitly disclose the control system configured to control the clamp(s).
However, Lancaster further discloses the clamping system comprising a control system (defined as pressure conduits and valves adapted to convey compressed air through hoses into pneumatic cylinders of clamps; includes at least items 44, 45, 47, 48, 49, 56, 57, 60, 61, 62; figs. 1-2 and 4), wherein the control system is configured to control the set of clamps (via pressure supply lines 60, 61 and valves 62; fig. 2).
Patterson does disclose the actuators are movable to and from by compressed air to each end of the cylinder under the control of suitable manually or automatically operated valves (col. 2, ll. 42-46). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to configure the clamping system, as disclosed in Patterson, to include a compressed air control system, as taught in Lancaster, in order for the device to function as intended and actuate the mechanical clamp in a convenient and automated manner.
Regarding claim 18, Patterson as modified discloses the clamping system as claimed in claim 17, wherein each of the mechanical clamps in the set include an actuator, a base link, a clamp arm, and a compressible link (as modified from duplication of parts above and in view of the teachings of Lancaster, the mechanical clamp structure from Patterson is duplicated and each clamp includes an actuator 6, a base link 13, a clamp arm 22, 23, and a compressible link 19, 27; fig. 1-4 of Patterson).
Regarding claim 19, Patterson as modified discloses the clamping system as claimed in claim 18. Patterson does not disclose wherein the set further comprising a clamp bar shared by the mechanical clamps in the set, wherein each of the clamp arms of the mechanical clamps in the set are configured to rotate the clamp bar to hold an object. However, Lancaster further discloses clamp bar (item 34; fig. 2) shared by the mechanical clamps in the set (col. 2, ll. 54 through col. 3, ll. 7), wherein each of the clamp arms (items 31 in Lancaster, corresponding to clamp arms in Patterson) are configured to rotate the clamp bar to hold an object (bar 34 is moved to distribute pressure on the frame member, i.e. object to be held).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the set of mechanical clamps, as disclosed in Patterson as modified, to include a clamp bar shared between the set of clamps, as taught in Lancaster, in order to distribute pressure evenly on the object to be held (col. 3, ll. 3-5 in Lancaster).
Regarding claim 20, Patterson as modified discloses the clamping system as claimed in claim 17. Though Patterson as modified above by Lancaster discloses wherein: the set of clamps includes: a subset of clamps (as modified above from Lancaster, defined as both mechanical clamps), Patterson does not disclose the further details of the clamping system, including:
wherein the set of clamps are arranged on a rectangular frame; and
the set of clamps includes: a first subset of clamps arranged on a bottom portion of the rectangular frame; a second subset of clamps arranged on a top portion of the rectangular frame; a third subset of clamps arranged on a first vertical portion of the rectangular frame; and a fourth subset of clamps arranges on a second vertical portion of the rectangular frame,
wherein: the control system is configured to individually control each of the clamps in the first subset and in the second subset; control of the third subset of clamps is based on control of a first clamp in the first subset or the second subset; and control of the fourth subset of clamps is based on control of a second clamp in the first subset or the second subset.
However, Lancaster further discloses the clamping system arranged on a rectangular frame (includes items 35, 36, 37, 38; fig. 2), wherein the clamping system comprises a plurality of set(s) of clamps, wherein the set of clamps includes:
a first subset of clamps (defined as clamps 40 on bottom portion of frame, i.e. item 38, in view of fig. 2) arranged on a bottom portion of the rectangular frame (item 38; fig. 2); a second subset of clamps (defined as clamps 31 on top portion of frame, i.e. item 37, in view of fig. 2; corresponding to the set of clamps modified in claim 17 above) arranged on a top portion of the rectangular frame (item 37; fig. 2); a third subset of clamps (third subset includes one clamp, defined as singular clamp 31 on left portion of frame, i.e. item 35, in view of fig. 2) arranged on a first vertical portion of the rectangular frame (item 35; fig. 2); and a fourth subset of clamps (defined as clamps 39 and 40 on right portion of frame, i.e. item 36, in view of fig. 2) arranged on a second vertical portion of the rectangular frame (item 36; fig. 2).
Patterson discloses the clamping system is used for releasably clamping articles, such as workpieces to be held in a jig or fixture or on the table of a machine tool (col. 1, ll. 11-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to configure the clamping system, as disclosed in Patterson, to include a rectangular frame, as taught in Lancaster, in order for the clamping system to function as intended, and further, to modify the clamping system, as disclosed in Patterson, to include multiple subsets of clamps disposed on top, bottom, and vertical portions of the frame, as taught in Lancaster, in order to automatically secure and hold various-sized frame(s), thereby improving versatility and reduce likelihood of potential movement of frame during use.
Further, though Lancaster teaches the second subset of clamps and the third subset of clamps to be individually control via the control system, Lancaster does not disclose wherein the first subset of clamps and the fourth subset of clamps are individually controlled via the control system. However, both clamps in Lancaster, i.e. clamps 30 and clamps 39, 40, are means to adjustably secure different surfaces of a rectangular workpiece. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to substitute the horizontally adjustable abutments (items 39, 40) in the second and fourth subsets of clamps, as taught in Lancaster, with fluid-pressure adjustable clamps, as taught in Lancaster, to achieve the predictable result of automatically securing each surface of a rectangular frame, reducing user error, and ensuring the fluid pressure-driven clamps enable a secure force on the frame to be held.
The modified system above results in the control system configured to individually control each of the clamps in the first subset and in the second subset (Lancaster; subset of clamps in the first subset and second subset are capable of being individually controlled via each individual valve 62 disposed on each pressure supply line connected to each individual clamp; fig. 2 of Lancaster; col. 2, ll. 39 through col. 3, ll. 5 in Lancaster); control of the third subset of clamps is based on control of a first clamp in the first subset or the second subset (control system is capable of controlling the pressure supplied through supply line to third subset of clamps based on the pressure supplied to top portion of frame, i.e. first subset of clamps; col. 2, ll. 39 through col., 3, ll. 40 in Lancaster); and control of the fourth subset of clamps is based on control of a second clamp in the first subset or the second subset (control system is capable of controlling the pressure supplied through supply line to fourth subset based on pressure supplied to top portion of frame, i.e. first subset of clamps; col. 2, ll. 39 through col. 3, ll. 40 in Lancaster).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schraner (US Patent No. 3,689,058) discloses a mechanical clamp comprising an actuator, a base link, a clamp pivot point, and a clamp arm including a clamp interface and a first and second coupling element.
Coutilish (US Patent No. 3,480,271) discloses a mechanical clamp comprising an actuator, a base link having a pivot link, a clamp pivot point, a clamp arm, and a compressible link with spring.
Seo (US 2021/0379735) discloses a mechanical clamp including an actuator with movable end, a base link, a clamp arm pivotably connected to base link, and a compressible link.
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723