DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trusov et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20120032286) in view of Fox et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20190219395).
Regarding claim 1, Trusov teaches a sensor module comprising: a first substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, first substrate); a second substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, second substrate); a connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and second substrate) forming an electrical connection between the first substrate and the second substrate (Paragraphs 71-73).
Trusov is silent about a first sensor device disposed on the first substrate to detect a physical quantity on a first axis; and a second sensor device disposed on the second substrate to detect a physical quantity on the first axis.
Fox teaches a first sensor device (Fig4B, 402 B) disposed on the first substrate to detect a physical quantity on a first axis (Paragraph 45); and a second sensor device (Fig4B, 402 T) disposed on the second substrate to detect a physical quantity on the first axis (Paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to incorporate a gyroscope on the top substrate and to incorporate a gyroscope on the bottom substrate because it would reduce noises and significantly improves measurement accuracy as taught by Fox.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Fox further teaches wherein the connection portion includes a flexible substrate (Paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to incorporate a gyroscope on the top substrate and to incorporate a gyroscope on the bottom substrate because it would reduce noises and significantly improves measurement accuracy as taught by Fox.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, the combination of Trusov and Fox is silent about wherein a driving frequency of the first sensor device is equal to a driving frequency of the second sensor device.
However, it is well known in the art to drive both the first and the second sensor device at the same frequency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to drive the first sensor device and the second sensor device at the same frequency, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Fox further teaches a third substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, third substrate); wherein the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third substrate are rigid substrates (Paragraphs 95-98), and the connection portion includes a first flexible substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and third substrate) with one end coupled to the first substrate and the other end coupled to the third substrate, and a second flexible substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and second substrate) with one end coupled to the third substrate and the other end coupled to the second substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and second substrate is indirectly coupled to all sides of the third substate).
Fox further teaches a third sensor device (Fig4B, 402 F) disposed on the third substrate to detect a physical quantity on a second axis (Paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to incorporate a gyroscope on the top substrate and to incorporate a gyroscope on the bottom substrate because it would reduce noises and significantly improves measurement accuracy as taught by Fox.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Fox further teaches wherein the first substrate and the second substrate face each other (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C).
Regarding claim 10, Trusov teaches a sensor module comprising: a first substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, first substrate); a second substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, second substrate) disposed close to one side of the first substrate; a third substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, third substrate) disposed close to the one side of the first substrate; a first connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and second substrate) forming an electrical connection between the first substrate and the second substrate; a second connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and third substrate) forming an electrical connection between the first substrate and the third substrate.
Trusov is silent about a first sensor device disposed on the second substrate to detect a physical quantity on a first axis; and a second sensor device disposed on the third substrate to detect a physical quantity on the first axis.
Fox teaches a first sensor device (Fig4B, 402 B) disposed on the second substrate to detect a physical quantity on a first axis (Paragraph 45); and a second sensor device (Fig4B, 402 T) disposed on the third substrate to detect a physical quantity on the first axis (Paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to incorporate a gyroscope on the top substrate and to incorporate a gyroscope on the bottom substrate because it would reduce noises and significantly improves measurement accuracy as taught by Fox.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, Trusov further teaches wherein the first connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and second substrate) is a first flexible substrate (Paragraphs 71-73) with one end coupled to the second substrate and the other end coupled to the one side of the first substrate, and the second connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and third substrate) is a second flexible substrate (Paragraphs 71-73) with one end coupled to the third substrate and the other end coupled to the one side of the first substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and third substrate is indirectly coupled to all sides of the first substate).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, Trusov further teaches a fourth substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, fourth substrate) facing the first substrate; a fifth substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, fifth substrate) facing the first substrate; a third connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between second substrate and fourth substrate) forming an electrical connection between the fourth substrate and the second substrate; a fourth connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between third substrate and fifth substrate) forming an electrical connection between the fifth substrate and the third substrate;
Fox further teaches a third sensor device (Fig4B, 402 F) disposed on the fourth substrate to detect a physical quantity on a second axis; and a fourth sensor device (Fig4B, 402 Ba) disposed on the fifth substrate to detect a physical quantity on the second axis (Paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to incorporate a gyroscope on the top substrate and to incorporate a gyroscope on the bottom substrate because it would reduce noises and significantly improves measurement accuracy as taught by Fox.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 12 as outlined above, Trusov further teaches wherein the first connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and second substrate) is a first flexible substrate (Paragraphs 71-73) with one end coupled to the second substrate and the other end coupled to the one side of the first substrate, the second connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and third substrate) is a second flexible substrate with one end coupled to the third substrate and the other end coupled to the one side of the first substrate (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between first substrate and third substrate is indirectly coupled to all sides of the first substate), the third connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between second substrate and fourth substrate) is a third flexible substrate with one end coupled to the second substrate and the other end coupled to the fourth substrate, and the fourth connection portion (As shown in the annotated Figs. 5A-5C, flexible hinges 20 between third substrate and fifth substrate) is a fourth flexible substrate with one end coupled to the third substrate and the other end coupled to the fifth substrate.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, the combination of Trusov and Fox is silent about wherein a driving frequency of the first sensor device is equal to a driving frequency of the second sensor device.
However, it is well known in the art to drive both the first and the second sensor device at the same frequency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to drive the first sensor device and the second sensor device at the same frequency, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Trusov further teaches an electronic apparatus comprising the sensor module according to claim 1 (Paragraph 15).
Claims 4-5, 8-9 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trusov et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20120032286) in view of Fox et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20190219395) and Chino (U.S. Publication No. 20140063753).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, the combination of Trusov and Fox is silent a processing unit disposed on the first substrate to process a first detection signal from the first sensor device and a second detection signal from the second sensor device.
Chino teaches a processing unit (Figs. 2A-2B, 40) disposed on the first substrate to process a first detection signal from the first sensor device and a second detection signal from the second sensor device (Paragraphs 56-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to incorporate a processing unit onto the first substrate because it would make Trusov’s sensor system more compact.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Trusov, Fox and Chino teaches all the features of claim 4 as outlined above, Chino further teaches a connector that is disposed on the first substrate and that is electrically connected to the processing unit (Paragraphs 75-76).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, the combination of Trusov and Fox is silent about a fixation portion to which the first substrate and the second substrate are fixed.
Chino teaches a fixation portion to which the first substrate and the second substrate are fixed (Paragraphs 93-94).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to include a case because it would protect Trusov’s sensor system.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, the combination of Trusov and Fox is silent about a case in which the first substrate, the second substrate, and the connection portion are housed.
Chino teaches a case in which the first substrate, the second substrate, and the connection portion are housed (Paragraphs 93-94).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to include a case because it would protect Trusov’s sensor system.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, the combination of Trusov and Fox is silent about a processing unit disposed on the first substrate to process a first detection signal from the first sensor device and a second detection signal from the second sensor device.
Chino teaches a processing unit (Figs. 2A-2B, 40) disposed on the first substrate to process a first detection signal from the first sensor device and a second detection signal from the second sensor device (Paragraphs 56-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to incorporate a processing unit onto the first substrate because it would make Trusov’s sensor system more compact.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Trusov, Fox and Chino teaches all the features of claim 15 as outlined above, Chino further teaches a connector that is disposed on the first substrate and that is electrically connected to the processing unit (Paragraphs 75-76).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, the combination of Trusov and Fox is silent about a fixation portion to which the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third substrate are fixed.
Chino teaches a fixation portion to which the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third substrate are fixed (Paragraphs 93-94).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to include a case because it would protect Trusov’s sensor system.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Trusov and Fox teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, the combination of Trusov and Fox is silent about a case in which the first substrate, the second substrate, the third substrate, the first connection portion, and the second connection portion are housed.
Chino teaches a case in which the first substrate, the second substrate, the third substrate, the first connection portion, and the second connection portion are housed (Paragraphs 93-94).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Trusov’s sensor system to include a case because it would protect Trusov’s sensor system.
Conclusion
/XIN Y ZHONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855