DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-22 were previously pending and subject to a non-final rejection dated May 12, 2026. In Response, submitted August 10, 2026, claim 12 was amended. Therefore, claims 1, 3-12, and 14-22 are currently pending and subject to the following final rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks on Page 9 of the Response regarding the previous objection of claims 4 and 12 have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive in view of the amended claims.
Applicant’s remarks on Pages 9 of the Response, regarding the previous rejection of claims 12 and 14-17 under 35 U.S.C. 101, have been fully considered and are found persuasive in light of the amended claims.
Applicant’s remarks on Pages 9-12 of the Response, regarding the previous rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
On Pages 9-12 of the Response, Applicant argues “It is respectfully submitted that these rejections are in error and should be withdrawn. … With respect to the first element of claim 1 quoted above, the Office Action (paragraph 28) cites Bhargava with disclosing ‘subsequent to determining the corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging, detecting by the one or more processors a discrepancy" [italics from the Office Action] and then cites Jones for this ‘discrepancy’ corresponding to ‘an additional EV of the group plugging in for charging’. This is believed to be incorrect for a number of reasons. … in Bhargava this ‘discrepancy’ is of a specific nature. … it is respectfully submitted that the noted ‘discrepancies’ only relate to discrepancies in whether the previously determined schedules for the EVs are being followed, and, if not, any changes that are made relate to these previously determined schedules. … the cited material found in Bhargava relates to previously determine schedules and whether or not the schedules are being followed and not the generation of schedules for additional EVs. The Office Action acknowledges that Bhargava that does not detect ‘an additional EV of the group plugging in for charging’ nor ‘in response to’ this detecting ‘determining ... a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the additional EV’ and cites Jones for this (paragraph 38 of the Office Action). The relevant statement of Jones is the first sentence of Joens' paragraph [0029]: ‘The orchestration service 106 continuously monitors for the initiation of new charging sessions and iteratively optimizes the charging process for all active sessions as they progress.’ Although this sentence does say that the "The orchestration service ... monitors for the initiation of new charging sessions", it respectfully submitted that this is only a very general statement without details and that, for what it does state, is quite different from what is being claimed. More specifically, this statement is only noting that Jones monitors all charging vehicles, including newly initiated charging sessions, and optimizes the sessions. Consequently, this is not generating a schedule in response to the new EV and then providing this for the new EV to follow while charging; rather, it describes an EV that have already plugged in and began changing, after which it is then monitored.”
Examiner notes, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). While Bhargava may explicitly contemplate EVs not following charging schedules as discrepancies, it is clear that this is not the only type of discrepancy capable of being detected by the system as the reference also contemplates a load manager continuously monitoring EV charging and other variables. (Bhargava, 82-85). The combination Bhargava in view of Jones then utilizes the systems of Jones simply to modify the detecting of discrepancies taught in Bhargava to include detecting that a first EV of the group has plugged in for charging through the corresponding charging apparatus by the electrical distribution network resource. Since Bhargava already teaches “‘in response to’ this detecting [of a discrepancy] ‘determining ... a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the additional EV’, and Jones only modifies the “discrepancy” to include “an additional EV of the group plugging in for charging”, Jones does not need to the full limitation of determining a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the additional EV in response to detecting that an additional EV is plugging in for charging, nor does the detailed rejection below rely on it to do so. Since Jones is only used in these limitations to modify the discrepancies taught by Bhargava, the recitation that “The orchestration service ... monitors for the initiation of new charging sessions and iteratively optimizes the charging process for all active sessions as they progress” is sufficient, as both the initiation of new charging sessions in Jones and detecting discrepancies in Bhargava cause the system to iterate and repeat the optimization of the charging scheduling. Therefore, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses these limitations.
On Page 12 of the Response, Applicant argues “This is respectfully submitted to be quite than the claimed ‘forecasting an expected load curve for power drawn by a sum of the charging schedule for the additional EV, the projected non-EV baseload data, and the previously determined corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging’ and then determining, before charging begins, a charging schedule for this additional EV.”
Examiner notes, as discussed above the references must be analyzed in combination. As discussed further in the detailed rejection below, Jones is not relied upon to teach “forecasting an expected load curve for power drawn” in any way. Instead, Bhargava teaches “forecasting an expected load curve for power drawn by a sum the projected non-EV baseload data, and EV demand, Jones is then used to modify the invention of Bhargava to show that the EV demand used by Bhargava is the sum of the charging schedule for the additional EV and the previously determined corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging. In this way Bharagava in view of Jones discloses this limitation in its entirety.
Additionally, this portion of Jones' disclosure only states that it ‘iteratively optimizes the charging process for all active sessions’, without further detail and, in particular, without generating schedules for additional EV as they plug in. Where Jones does provide more detail later in its disclosure, such as at paragraphs [0080]-[0082], Jones teaches to ‘generate a plan to power off the one or more network devices, one by one’ to avoid overload. This approach, which is basic to Jones' teachings, is a very different approach to the claimed process of generating schedules for the additional EVs to subsequently use so that such an overload does not occur. Consequently, it is respectfully submitted that neither the Bhargava reference nor the Jones refence, whether taken alone or combined as presented in the Office Action, teach or suggest the method of claim 1 and that Jones in particular presents a very different of monitoring and shutting down devices to avoid overload, rather than generating schedules for subsequent charging that would avoid this situation to begin with. Therefore, for at least these reasons, it is respectfully submitted that a rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Bhargave in view of Jones is in error and should be withdrawn. Independent claims 12 and 18 include similar features and were similarly rejected and are consequently believed to be similarly allowable. Although it is believed that a number of the dependent claims are further allowable for the additional features that they recited, these will not be presented at this time given what are believed to be the based differences between the pending independent claims and the cited prior art.”
Examiner notes, the differences in how Jones and the instant invention generate “schedules for the additional EVs to subsequently use so that such an overload does not occur” are irrelevant, as Jones is not used to teach these limitations, the art instead relies on Bhargava to teach these elements. While Bhargava and Jones individually do not explicitly teach all the limitations of the claims on their own, the rejection does not claim this to be the case. However, when Bhargava is modified by Jones is the ways discussed in the detailed rejection below, it is clear that Bhargava in view of Jones teaches the claimed invention. Therefore, previous rejection of claims 1 and 18 along with their dependents over 103 is maintained.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 10, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Eligibility - 35 USC § 101
With respect to claims 1, 3-12, and 14-22 in view of 35 U.S.C. 101, these claims are deemed to be directed towards the abstract idea grouping of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”, specifically the commercial interaction of scheduling the charging of EVs (See specification, Para. 26). However when analyzed under Step 2A Prong Two, it is determined that the claims include additional elements (i.e., charging the additional EV through the corresponding charging apparatus according to the provided charging schedule for the additional EV, including: receiving the provided charging schedule by an on-board control system of the additional EV; and controlling the charging of the additional EV by the on-board control system to charge the additional EV according to the provided charging schedule [claim 1] / providing the corresponding charging schedule to an on-board control system of the additional EV through the corresponding charging apparatus; and the additional EV, comprising the on-board control system, the on-board control system that, in response to receiving the provided charging schedule of the additional EV controls the charging of the additional EV according to the provided corresponding charging schedule [claim 12] / charging the first EV through the corresponding charging apparatus according to the provided charging set schedule, including: receiving the provided charging set schedule by an on-board control system of the first EV; and controlling the charging of the first EV by the on-board control system to charge the first EV according to the provided charging set schedule [claim 18]) that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, claims 1, 3-12, and 14-22 are determined to be eligible over 35 USC § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-12, 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhargava (US 2022/0009372) (hereafter Bhargava) in view of Jones (US 2024/0193630) (hereafter Jones).
In regards to claim 1, Bhargava discloses a method, comprising: determining, by one or more processors for one or more EVs of a group of a plurality of EVs plugged in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by an electrical distribution network resource, a corresponding charging schedule; (Para. 35, 80, 83, 98) (“a load manager 605 can determine an optimized charging control to coordinate the charging of EV 125 and other EVs that charge through the distribution transformer 121.” “FIG . 11 is a flowchart for one embodiment of a method for optimizing EV charging schedules without energy export” “At step 1111 , the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival (i.e. one or more EVs of a group of a plurality of EVs plugged in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by an electrical distribution network resource) and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs , followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints, and generates an asset - protective joint EV charging schedule . In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints , and generates asset - protective joint EV charging schedules (i.e. determining, by one or more processors for one or more EVs of a group of a plurality of EVs plugged in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by an electrical distribution network resource, a corresponding charging schedule)” “FIG . 15 is a high - level block diagram of a computing system 1501 that can be used to implement various embodiments of the load managing techniques described above . In one example , computing system 1501 is a network system . Specific devices may utilize all of the components shown , or only a subset of the components , and levels of integration may vary from device to device . Furthermore , a device may contain multiple instances of a component , such as multiple processing units , processors , memories , inter faces , etc.”)
Bhargava discloses subsequent to determining the corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging, detecting by the one or more processors a discrepancy; (Para. 85) (“At step 1117 the load manager 605 monitors the status of EV charging , along with variables such as conditions on the local distribution networks 120 . Step 1119 determines whether the EVs are actually following charging schedules and , if not , the flow loops back to step 1109 to recompute the schedule to account for the discrepancies (i.e. subsequent to determining the corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging, detecting by the one or more processors a discrepancy)” That is, when the load manager detects a discrepancy it determines a new asset-protective join EV charging schedule that accommodates the discrepancy.)
Bhargava discloses in response to detecting the discrepancy, determining by the one or more processors a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the additional EV, including: (Para. 82-85) (“The load manager then estimates grid asset state using degradation input data , the EV telematics data and non - EV load input data at step 1109 … At step 1111 , the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs, followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints , and generates an asset-protective joint EV charging schedule (i.e. in response to detecting the discrepancy in for charging, determining by the one or more processors a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the additional EV). In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints, and generates asset-protective joint EV charging schedules (i.e. in response to detecting the discrepancy in for charging, determining by the one or more processors a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the additional EV) … after sending out the schedules, next follows charging each of the EVs, based on the corresponding charging schedule. … At step 1117 the load manager 605 monitors the status of EV charging , along with variables such as conditions on the local distribution networks 120 . Step 1119 determines whether the EVs are actually following charging schedules and , if not , the flow loops back to step 1109 to recompute the schedule to account for the discrepancies (i.e. subsequent to determining the corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging, detecting by the one or more processors discrepancies)” That is, when the load manager detects a discrepancy it determines a new asset-protective join EV charging schedule that account for the discrepancy.)
Bhargava discloses receiving a load limit for the electrical distribution network resource from an utility; (Para. 80) (“the load manager 605 retrieves the grid asset information for the low voltage distribution networks 120 , list of associated service points , and EVs . Grid asset information can refer to equipment of the low voltage distribution networks 120 , such as information on step - down distribution transformers 121 like limits … related to throughput (i.e. receiving a load limit for the electrical distribution network resource from an utility)”)
Bhargava discloses receiving from the utility projected non-EV base load data for the electrical distribution network resource; (Para. 70) (“A first category for the algorithm inputs is the non - EV system load modeling and forecasting for power grid 100, reflecting the demands on the grid other than the EV charging” “At step 1107 , the load manager 605 updates the non - EV load for associated meter service points using load input data … The load manager then estimates grid asset state using degradation input data , the EV telematics data and non - EV load input data at step 1109”)
Bhargava discloses forecasting an expected load curve for power drawn by a sum of the projected non-EV baseload data, and EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging; (Para. 26, 30, 32, 70-72, 81-82) (“the power consumption of a set of seven houses from noon of one day to noon of the following day is shown on an hour by hour basis . The curving lines along the bottom represent examples of typical usages in kilowatts ( kW ) of the set of houses without the inclusion of EV charging (i.e. expected load curve)” “graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner . FIG . 4 repeats the elements of FIG . 3 , but now the charging of the EVs are coordinated so that the combined total power remains within the distribution transformer's rating (i.e. expected load curve)” “graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner that takes advantage of time of use discount rates (i.e. expected load curve). As illustrated in FIG . 5 , all of the EVs delay their charging until the period of the TOU discount rate . The EVs can again be instructed to coordinate their charging to avoid overloading the local distribution transformer” “A first category for the algorithm inputs is the non-EV system load modeling and forecasting for power grid 100, reflecting the demands on the grid other than the EV charging (i.e. the projected non-EV baseload data). Referring back to FIGS. 3-5 , this corresponds to the usage throughout the day without the added on EV charging bars . The inputs for modeling and forecasting non-EV usage can include historical household usage , as can be provided by the utility 601 , and weather data . These inputs can be used for modeling a load forecast . The EV portion of load modeling and forecasting can be provided by the telematics data from the EVs' on-board control systems … From the non-EV load forecast (i.e. the projected non-EV baseload data) for the system combined with the EV charging demands and constraints, both read and simulated (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging), the load manager 605 can perform charging optimization” “the load manager 605 updates the non - EV load for associated meter service points using load input data … The load manager then estimates grid asset state using degradation input data , the EV telematics data and non-EV load input data at step 1109)
Bhargava discloses determining the charging schedule for the additional EV to optimize the expected load curve that does not exceed the load limit; and (Para. 80, 83) (“optimizing EV charging schedules (i.e. determining the charging schedule for the additional EV to optimize the expected load curve that does not exceed the load limit) …, starting at step 1101. At step 110, the load manager 605 retrieves the grid asset information for the low voltage distribution networks 120 , list of associated service points, and EVs . Grid asset information can refer to equipment of the low voltage distribution networks 120, such as information on step - down distribution transformers 121 like limits or costs related to throughput (i.e. load limit) ” “At step 1111, the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs, followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints (i.e. optimize the expected load curve that does not exceed the load limit), and generates an asset-protective joint EV charging schedule.”)
Bhargava discloses setting the corresponding charging schedule for the additional EV based on the optimized load curve; (Para. 83) (“In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints, and generates asset-protective joint EV charging schedules (i.e. setting the corresponding charging schedule for the additional EV based on the optimized load curve)”)
Bhargava discloses providing by the one or more processors of the set corresponding charging schedule for the additional EV to the additional EV; and (Para. 84) (“The load manager 605 sends out the EV charging schedules to the EVs (i.e. providing by the one or more processors of the set corresponding charging schedule for the additional EV to the additional EV) 125 via telematics link with the EV's on - board control systems 615 at step 1115.”)
Bhargava discloses charging the additional EV through the corresponding charging apparatus according to the provided charging schedule for the additional EV, including: (Para. 35, 85) (“Based on the information form the utility 601 on the power grid 100 , and in particular on the local distribution grid 120 with the customer 123 at which the EV 125 is charged , and the telematics derived information from OEM 603 on the EV 125 , a load manager 605 can determine an optimized charging control to coordinate the charging of EV 125 and other EVs that charge through the distribution transformer 121. The charging control data can schedule the charging of the EVs as illustrated in FIG . 4 or 5 … The charging control can then be transmitted to the on - board control systems, such as 615, that then charge the EVs according to the schedule (i.e. charging the additional EV through the corresponding charging apparatus according to the provided charging schedule for the additional EV)” “After sending out the schedules, next follows charging each of the EVs, based on the corresponding charging schedule.”)
Bhargava discloses receiving the provided charging schedule by an on-board control system of the additional EV; and controlling the charging of the additional EV by the on-board control system to charge the additional EV according to the provided charging schedule. (Para. 35) (“Based on the information form the utility 601 on the power grid 100 , and in particular on the local distribution grid 120 with the customer 123 at which the EV 125 is charged , and the telematics derived information from OEM 603 on the EV 125 , a load manager 605 can determine an optimized charging control to coordinate the charging of EV 125 and other EVs that charge through the distribution transformer 121. The charging control data can schedule the charging of the EVs as illustrated in FIG . 4 or 5 … The charging control can then be transmitted to the on - board control systems, such as 615, that then charge the EVs according to the schedule (i.e. receiving the provided charging schedule by an on-board control system of the additional EV; and controlling the charging of the additional EV by the on-board control system to charge the additional EV according to the provided charging schedule)”)
As discussed above, Bhargava discloses detecting by one or more processors a discrepancy. Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses the detecting by one or more processors a discrepancy of Bhargava is detecting by one or more processors an additional EV of the group plugging in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by the electrical distribution network resource (Para. 29) (“The orchestration service 106 continuously monitors for the initiation of new charging sessions (i.e. detecting by the one or more processors an additional EV of the group plugging in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by the electrical distribution network resource) and iteratively optimizes the charging process for all active sessions as they progress.”)
As discussed above, Bhargava discloses EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging. Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses the EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava is a sum of the charging schedule for the additional EV and the previously determined corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging; (Para. 27, 42-43, 76, 80) (“the initiation of new charging sessions and iteratively optimizes the charging process for all active sessions as they progress. This dynamic approach ensures that EV charging remains responsive” “Equation 3 governs conditions in relation to the energy delivered during various sessions: … Each element in the sum pertains to a session (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava), denoted by (i), and sums over different time slots or intervals, represented by (t), until the desired completion time t.sub.c. Equation 3 provides insights into the energy requirements and delivery during these sessions. Essentially, by the time a session reaches its intended completion time t.sub.c, the cumulative energy delivered across all prior intervals—represented by the sum” “The load forecasting module collates data … This central module communicates with the ‘Group Charge Optimization Algorithm’, which is configured to deduce optimal charging strategies for grouped EVs. The system also interacts with Utility/ISO modules, extracting data that influences EV charging profiles and grid constraints.” “the method includes a step 508 of determining both a forecasted demand and a demand threshold, based on the rule set, the current state of each of the one or more devices, and the user inputs and overrides. Using the rule set, the current state of chargers, and any user inputs, the system forecasts upcoming charging demands (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava).” That is, the system iteratively optimizes charging processes in response to initiation of new charging sessions (i.e. in response to detecting the additional EV plugging in for charging) by forecasting expected energy delivered during each session and collating the forecasted loads (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava) for each session (i.e. a sum of the charging schedule for the additional EV and the previously determined corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging). The new charging session is included in these sessions that are collated because the orchestration service 106 monitors for initiation of new charging sessions and iteratively optimizes the charging processes.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the optimized charging of Bhargava with charging optimization of Jones in order to improve load forecasting and understanding of grid constraints. (Jones – Para. 73)
In regards to claim 3, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bhargava discloses wherein optimizing the load curve includes minimizing a cost function for the expected load curve. (Para. 83) (“At step 1111, the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs , followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints , and generates an asset - protective joint EV charging sched ule . In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints , and generates asset - protective joint EV charging schedules … d generates asset - protective joint EV charging schedules . The optimization parameters and constraints depend on the embodiment and can include: cost (i.e. optimizing the load curve includes minimizing a cost function for the expected load curve)”)
In regards to claim 4, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 3. Bhargava discloses further comprising: receiving time of use discount data from the utility for the electrical distribution network resource, wherein the cost function is a function of the time of use discount data. (Para. 7, 31-32, 80) (“FIG . 5 is graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner that takes advantage of time of use discount rates” “power networks may introduce time of use ( TOC ) pricing , introducing time of use discounting where rates are reduced during times when the total power consumption of the electric grid is lower … graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner that takes advantage of time of use discount rates . As illustrated in FIG . 5 , all of the EVs delay their charging until the period of the TOU discount rate . The EVs can again be instructed to coordinate their charging to avoid overloading the local distribution transformer , but the arrangement of the charging times may differ relative to FIG . 4 as the other usage of the residences is reduced at these hours” “a method for optimizing EV charging schedules without energy export ( i.e. , without sending of power from a vehicle battery to the grid ) , starting at step 1101. At step 1103 , the load manager 605 retrieves the grid asset information for the low voltage distribution networks 120 , list of associated service points , and EVs . Grid asset information can refer to equipment of the low voltage distribution networks 120 , such as information on step - down distribution transformers 121 like limits or costs related to throughput)”)
In regards to claim 5, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 3. Bhargava discloses wherein the cost function is a function of the load limit (Para. 32, 82-83) (“FIG . 5 is graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner that takes advantage of time of use discount rates . As illustrated in FIG . 5 , all of the EVs delay their charging until the period of the TOU discount rate . The EVs can again be instructed to coordinate their charging to avoid overloading the local distribution transformer , but the arrangement of the charging times may differ relative to FIG . 4 as the other usage of the residences is reduced at these hours” “At step 1107 , the load manager 605 updates the non - EV load for associated meter service points using load input data … At step 1111 , the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs , followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints , and generates an asset - protective joint EV charging sched ule . In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints , and generates asset - protective joint EV charging schedules”)
In regards to claim 6, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bhargava discloses further comprising: receiving location data from a plurality of EVs; and forming the group from the plurality of EVs based on the location data. (Para. 18, 34-35) (“Data on the local low voltage distribution networks, such as the rating of a distribution transformer through which a group of EVs are supplied, is provided from utilities to a load manager application. …From the telematics data and the data from the utilities, the load manager application determines schedules for charging a group of EVs through a shared low voltage distribution network so that the capabilities of the local low voltage distribution network are not exceeded while meeting the needs of the EV users.” “An EV 125 will include have on-board control systems 615 that monitor telematics for the EV. These telematics can vary … but will include information such as battery charge state, usage and location information (i.e. receiving location data from a plurality of EVs). … Based on the information form the utility 601 on the power grid 100, and in particular on the local distribution grid 120 with the customer 123 at which the EV 125 is charged, and the telematics derived information from OEM 603 on the EV 125 (i.e. receiving location data from a plurality of EVs), a load manager 605 can determine an optimized charging control to coordinate the charging of EV 125 and other EVs that charge through the distribution transformer 121 (i.e. forming the group from the plurality of EVs based on the location data.).”)
In regards to claim 7, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bhargava discloses wherein determining the corresponding charging schedule for the additional EV further comprises: re-optimizing one or more of the previously determined corresponding charging schedules. (Para. 82) (“The load manager then estimates grid asset state using degradation input data, the EV telematics data and non-EV load input data at step 1109, … At step 1111, the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs, arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs, followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints, and generates an asset-protective joint EV charging schedule. In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints, and generates asset-protective joint EV charging schedules (i.e. re-optimizing one or more of the previously determined corresponding charging schedules). … Step 1119 determines whether the EVs are actually following charging schedules and, if not, the flow loops back to step 1109 to recompute the schedule to account for the discrepancies.”)
In regards to claim 8, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bhargava discloses further comprising: receiving, for one or more of the group of a plurality of EVs, corresponding user requirements, including a charge by time, wherein determining, for the one or more of the EVs of the group, a corresponding charging schedule includes determining a corresponding charging schedule that meets the one or more EV's corresponding user requirements, and wherein determining a corresponding charging schedule for the additional EV includes determining a corresponding charging schedule that meets the additional EV's corresponding user requirements. (Para. 81, 83) (“At step 1105, the load manager 605 retrieves relevant EV telematics data and EV use inputs for the associated EVs. … The EV user inputs are preferences provided by the owner of the EV, such as minimum charge levels or departure time (i.e. receiving, for one or more of the group of a plurality of EVs, corresponding user requirements, including a charge by time).” “At step 1111, the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs, arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs, followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints, and generates an asset-protective joint EV charging schedule. In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints, and generates asset-protective joint EV charging schedules (i.e. wherein determining, for the one or more of the EVs of the group, a corresponding charging schedule includes determining a corresponding charging schedule that meets the one or more EV's corresponding user requirements, and wherein determining a corresponding charging schedule for the additional EV includes determining a corresponding charging schedule that meets the additional EV's corresponding user requirements).”)
In regards to claim 10, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein one or more of the corresponding charging schedules includes non-continuous charging segments. (Para. 81) (“when the forecasted demand is greater than the demand threshold, the method includes a step 510 of generating a plan to power off the one or more networked devices … The system then suggests sequentially pausing … chargers until the combined demand aligns with the set limits.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the optimized charging of Bhargava with charging optimization of Jones in order to improve load forecasting and understanding of grid constraints. (Jones – Para. 73)
In regards to claim 11, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bhargava discloses wherein one or more of the corresponding charging schedules includes power levels. (Claim 13) (“one or more of the schedules includes a rate at which to charge the corresponding EV.”)
Bhargava discloses charging at different power levels (Para. 53-57) (“During the load management phase of EVs' load management, the load manager 605 can send charging commands directly to a vehicle. These commands vary, depending on system capabilities and embodiment, but can include: … Real-time signals to modify charging rate, sending push requests to alter the charging amperage in order to dynamically control charging power at intermediate levels.
Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein one or more of the corresponding charging schedules of Bhargava includes charging segments at different power levels of Bhargava. (Para. 28, 81) (“The orchestration service 106 includes an energy optimization algorithm that operates at a granular level, often in 15-minute intervals (i.e. charging segments). This algorithm balances multiple objectives, including satisfying user charge requirements, minimizing charging costs and aligning the combined group profile (CGP) with the utility's IGP.” “the forecasted demand is greater than the demand threshold, the method includes a step 510 of generating a plan (i.e. one or more of the corresponding charging schedules of Bhargava) … The system then suggests sequentially … slowing down chargers (i.e. wherein one or more of the corresponding charging schedules of Bhargava includes charging segments at different power levels of Bhargava) until the combined demand aligns with the set limits.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the optimized charging of Bhargava with charging optimization of Jones in order to improve load forecasting and understanding of grid constraints. (Jones – Para. 73)
In regards to claim 12, Bhargava discloses a system, comprising: a plurality of charging apparatuses each configured to charge through an electrical distribution network resource a corresponding electric vehicle (EV) according to a corresponding previously determined charging schedule and provide an indication of when the corresponding EV is plugged in for charging therethrough; (Para. 21-24, 42-45, 83-84) (“a low voltage distribution network (i.e. an electrical distribution network resource) 120 serving multiple customers at which electric vehicles (EVs) are regularly charged (i.e. a plurality of charging apparatuses each configured to charge through an electrical distribution network resource a corresponding electric vehicle (EV)). … The amount of power drawn by an electrical vehicle while being charged can be significant. … the situation where the shown residences have several EV, EV 125a-1 at 123a, 125b-1 and 125b-2 at 123b, and 125d-1 at 123d.” “Among the data fields that can be provided by the EV's onboard telematics system of the on-board control systems 615 can include: … Plug-in status (i.e. provide an indication of when the corresponding EV is plugged in for charging therethrough)” “In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints, and generates asset-protective joint EV charging schedules. … The load manager 605 sends out the EV charging schedules to the EVs 125 via telematics link with the EV's on-board control systems 615 at step 1115. The telematics link transmits the asset protective EV charging schedule that is the output of the optimization of step 1113. The optimization can include start/stop times for charging each of the associated EVs as chosen by an optimization algorithm includes grid asset information and vehicle telematics data, and can further include information such as price signals, emissions factors, and EV user inputs. (i.e. to charge through an electrical distribution network resource a corresponding electric vehicle (EV) according to a corresponding previously determined charging schedule)”)
Bhargava discloses one or more interfaces configured to: receive, for each EV of a group of a plurality of EVs, the indication of when the EV plugs in for charging through the corresponding charging apparatus; (Para. 18, 42-45, 98) (“Telematics information on vehicle usage is provided from the EVs (i.e. receive, for each EV of a group of a plurality of EVs), such as by way of the original equipment manufacturers for the EVs. From the telematics data and the data from the utilities, the load manager application determines schedules for charging a group of EVs through a shared low voltage distribution network so that the capabilities of the local low voltage distribution network are not exceeded while meeting the needs of the EV users.” “Among the data fields that can be provided by the EV's onboard telematics system of the on-board control systems 615 can include: … Plug-in status (i.e. receive, for each EV of a group of a plurality of EVs, the indication of when the EV plugs in for charging through the corresponding charging apparatus)” “FIG. 15 is a high-level block diagram of a computing system 1501 that can be used to implement various embodiments of the load managing techniques described above. … a device may contain multiple instances of a component, such as multiple processing units, processors, memories, interfaces, etc.”)
Bhargava discloses receive projected base load data from an utility for the electrical distribution network resource; (Para. 18, 33) (“Data on the local low voltage distribution networks, such as the rating of a distribution transformer through which a group of EVs are supplied, is provided from utilities to a load manager application.” “The power grid 100 is operated by one or more distribution utilities or other power providing entity, represented as utility 601. The utility 601 will have information on the power grid 100, including information such as the power grid's topology and of the assets forming the grid. For example, the utility will commonly have information on the local distribution grids … the utility 601 will often have relatively detailed information on usage patterns of individual customers (i.e. receive projected base load data from an utility for the electrical distribution network resource)”)
Bhargava discloses receive a load limit for the electrical distribution network resource from the utility for the electrical distribution network resource; and (Para. 80, 91) (“the load manager 605 retrieves the grid asset information for the low voltage distribution networks 120, list of associated service points, and EVs. Grid asset information can refer to equipment of the low voltage distribution networks 120, such as information on step-down distribution transformers 121 like limits … related to throughput (i.e. receive a load limit for the electrical distribution network resource from the utility for the electrical distribution network resource)” “the load manager 605 retrieves the key stored constraints and operating parameters from its database, such as storage 907, where the load manager can also receive additional or updated grid asset information from the utility 601.”)
Bhargava discloses provide a determined corresponding charging schedule set for subsequently charging one or more EVs of the group through the corresponding charging apparatus when plugged in thereto; (Para. 84) (“The load manager 605 sends out the EV charging schedules to the EVs 125 via telematics link with the EV's on-board control systems 615 at step 1115. The telematics link transmits the asset protective EV charging schedule that is the output of the optimization of step 1113.”)
Bhargava discloses one or more processors connected to the one or more interfaces and configured to: determine, for the one or more of the EVs of the group plugged in for charging through the electrical distribution network resource, a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the EV through the corresponding charging apparatus; (Para. 35, 80, 83, 98-99) (“a load manager 605 can determine an optimized charging control to coordinate the charging of EV 125 and other EVs that charge through the distribution transformer 121.” “FIG . 11 is a flowchart for one embodiment of a method for optimizing EV charging schedules without energy export” “At step 1111 , the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival (i.e. one or more EVs of a group of a plurality of EVs plugged in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by an electrical distribution network resource) and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs , followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints, and generates an asset - protective joint EV charging schedule . In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints , and generates asset - protective joint EV charging schedules (i.e. determining, by one or more processors for one or more EVs of a group of a plurality of EVs plugged in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by an electrical distribution network resource, a corresponding charging schedule)” “FIG. 15 is a high-level block diagram of a computing system 1501 that can be used to implement various embodiments of the load managing techniques described above. … device may contain multiple instances of a component, such as multiple processing units, processors, memories, interfaces, etc. … The network system may comprise a computing system 1501 equipped with one or more input/output devices, such as network interfaces, storage interfaces, and the like. The computing system 1501 may include a central processing unit or units (CPU) 1510, a memory 1520, a mass storage device 1530, and an I/O interface 1560 connected to a bus 1570. The computing system 1501 is configured to connect to various input and output devices (keyboards, displays, etc.) through the I/O interface 1560. The bus 1570 may be one or more of any type of several bus architectures including a memory bus or memory controller, a peripheral bus or the like.”)
Bhargava discloses subsequent to determining the corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging, receive an indication of a discrepancy; and (Para. 85) (“At step 1117 the load manager 605 monitors the status of EV charging , along with variables such as conditions on the local distribution networks 120 . Step 1119 determines whether the EVs are actually following charging schedules and , if not , the flow loops back to step 1109 to recompute the schedule to account for the discrepancies (i.e. subsequent to determining the corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging, detecting by the one or more processors a discrepancy)” That is, when the load manager detects a discrepancy it determines a new asset-protective join EV charging schedule that accommodates the discrepancy.)
Bhargava discloses in response to the indication of the discrepancy, determine a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging an additional EV through the corresponding charging apparatus, including: (Para. 82-85) (“The load manager then estimates grid asset state using degradation input data , the EV telematics data and non - EV load input data at step 1109 … At step 1111 , the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs, followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints , and generates an asset-protective joint EV charging schedule (i.e. in response to detecting the discrepancy in for charging, determining by the one or more processors a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the additional EV). In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints, and generates asset-protective joint EV charging schedules (i.e. in response to detecting the discrepancy in for charging, determining by the one or more processors a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the additional EV) … after sending out the schedules, next follows charging each of the EVs, based on the corresponding charging schedule. … At step 1117 the load manager 605 monitors the status of EV charging , along with variables such as conditions on the local distribution networks 120 . Step 1119 determines whether the EVs are actually following charging schedules and , if not , the flow loops back to step 1109 to recompute the schedule to account for the discrepancies (i.e. subsequent to determining the corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging, detecting by the one or more processors discrepancies)” That is, when the load manager detects a discrepancy it determines a new asset-protective join EV charging schedule that account for the discrepancy.)
Bhargava discloses forecasting an expected load curve for power drawn by a sum of the projected base load data, and EV demand for the EVs of the group plugged in for charging; (Para. 26, 30, 32, 70-72, 81-82) (“the power consumption of a set of seven houses from noon of one day to noon of the following day is shown on an hour by hour basis . The curving lines along the bottom represent examples of typical usages in kilowatts ( kW ) of the set of houses without the inclusion of EV charging (i.e. expected load curve)” “graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner. FIG . 4 repeats the elements of FIG . 3 , but now the charging of the EVs are coordinated so that the combined total power remains within the distribution transformer's rating (i.e. expected load curve)” “graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner that takes advantage of time of use discount rates (i.e. expected load curve). As illustrated in FIG . 5 , all of the EVs delay their charging until the period of the TOU discount rate . The EVs can again be instructed to coordinate their charging to avoid overloading the local distribution transformer” “A first category for the algorithm inputs is the non-EV system load modeling and forecasting for power grid 100, reflecting the demands on the grid other than the EV charging (i.e. the projected non-EV baseload data). Referring back to FIGS. 3-5 , this corresponds to the usage throughout the day without the added on EV charging bars . The inputs for modeling and forecasting non-EV usage can include historical household usage , as can be provided by the utility 601 , and weather data . These inputs can be used for modeling a load forecast . The EV portion of load modeling and forecasting can be provided by the telematics data from the EVs' on-board control systems … From the non-EV load forecast (i.e. the projected non-EV baseload data) for the system combined with the EV charging demands and constraints , both read and simulated (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging), the load manager 605 can perform charging optimization” “the load manager 605 updates the non - EV load for associated meter service points using load input data … The load manager then estimates grid asset state using degradation input data , the EV telematics data and non-EV load input data at step 1109)”)
Bhargava discloses determining the charging schedule for the additional EV to optimize the expected load curve that does not exceed the load limit; (Para. 80, 83) (“optimizing EV charging schedules (i.e. determining the charging schedule for the additional EV to optimize the expected load curve that does not exceed the load limit) …, starting at step 1101. At step 110, the load manager 605 retrieves the grid asset information for the low voltage distribution networks 120 , list of associated service points, and EVs . Grid asset information can refer to equipment of the low voltage distribution networks 120, such as information on step - down distribution transformers 121 like limits or costs related to throughput (i.e. load limit) ” “At step 1111, the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs, followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints (i.e. optimize the expected load curve that does not exceed the load limit), and generates an asset-protective joint EV charging schedule.”)
Bhargava discloses setting the corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the additional EV through the corresponding charging apparatus based on the optimized load curve, and (Para. 83) (“In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints, and generates asset-protective joint EV charging schedules (i.e. setting the corresponding charging schedule for the additional EV based on the optimized load curve)”)
Bhargava discloses providing the corresponding charging schedule to an on-board control system of the additional EV through the corresponding charging apparatus; and (Para. 35, 85) (“Based on the information form the utility 601 on the power grid 100 , and in particular on the local distribution grid 120 with the customer 123 at which the EV 125 is charged , and the telematics derived information from OEM 603 on the EV 125 , a load manager 605 can determine an optimized charging control to coordinate the charging of EV 125 and other EVs that charge through the distribution transformer 121. The charging control data can schedule the charging of the EVs as illustrated in FIG . 4 or 5 … The charging control can then be transmitted to the on - board control systems, such as 615, that then charge the EVs according to the schedule (i.e. charging the additional EV through the corresponding charging apparatus according to the provided charging schedule for the additional EV)” “After sending out the schedules, next follows charging each of the EVs, based on the corresponding charging schedule.”)
Bhargava discloses the additional EV, comprising the on-board control system, the on-board control system that, in response to receiving the provided charging schedule of the additional EV controls the charging of the additional EV according to the provided corresponding charging schedule. (Para. 35) (“Based on the information form the utility 601 on the power grid 100 , and in particular on the local distribution grid 120 with the customer 123 at which the EV 125 is charged , and the telematics derived information from OEM 603 on the EV 125 , a load manager 605 can determine an optimized charging control to coordinate the charging of EV 125 and other EVs that charge through the distribution transformer 121. The charging control data can schedule the charging of the EVs as illustrated in FIG . 4 or 5 … The charging control can then be transmitted to the on - board control systems, such as 615, that then charge the EVs according to the schedule (i.e. the additional EV, comprising the on-board control system, the on-board control system that, in response to receiving the provided charging schedule of the additional EV controls the charging of the additional EV according to the provided corresponding charging schedule.)”)
As discussed above, Bhargava discloses provide a determined corresponding charging schedule. Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses the provide a determined corresponding charging schedule of Bhargava is to the corresponding charging apparatus (Para. 24) (“the system can accommodate any number of smart EV chargers 102A-N that communicate via OCPP 1.6J or higher. These chargers are equipped with communication capabilities, allowing them to receive (i.e. provide a determined corresponding charging schedule of Bhargava is to the corresponding charging apparatus) and execute charge commands as part of the overall optimization process (i.e. provide a determined corresponding charging schedule of Bhargava).”)
As discussed above, Bhargava discloses an indication of a discrepancy. Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses the indication a discrepancy of Bhargava is an indication of additional EV of the group plugging in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by the electrical distribution network resource (Para. 29) (“The orchestration service 106 continuously monitors for the initiation of new charging sessions (i.e. detecting by the one or more processors an additional EV of the group plugging in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by the electrical distribution network resource) and iteratively optimizes the charging process for all active sessions as they progress.”)
As discussed above, Bhargava discloses EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging. Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses the EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava is a sum of the charging schedule for the additional EV and the previously determined corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging; (Para. 27, 42-43, 76, 80) (“the initiation of new charging sessions and iteratively optimizes the charging process for all active sessions as they progress. This dynamic approach ensures that EV charging remains responsive” “Equation 3 governs conditions in relation to the energy delivered during various sessions: … Each element in the sum pertains to a session (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava), denoted by (i), and sums over different time slots or intervals, represented by (t), until the desired completion time t.sub.c. Equation 3 provides insights into the energy requirements and delivery during these sessions. Essentially, by the time a session reaches its intended completion time t.sub.c, the cumulative energy delivered across all prior intervals—represented by the sum” “The load forecasting module collates data … This central module communicates with the ‘Group Charge Optimization Algorithm’, which is configured to deduce optimal charging strategies for grouped EVs. The system also interacts with Utility/ISO modules, extracting data that influences EV charging profiles and grid constraints.” “the method includes a step 508 of determining both a forecasted demand and a demand threshold, based on the rule set, the current state of each of the one or more devices, and the user inputs and overrides. Using the rule set, the current state of chargers, and any user inputs, the system forecasts upcoming charging demands (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava).” That is, the system iteratively optimizes charging processes in response to initiation of new charging sessions (i.e. in response to detecting the additional EV plugging in for charging) by forecasting expected energy delivered during each session and collating the forecasted loads (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava) for each session (i.e. a sum of the charging schedule for the additional EV and the previously determined corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging). The new charging session is included in these sessions that are collated because the orchestration service 106 monitors for initiation of new charging sessions and iteratively optimizes the charging processes.)
As discussed above, Bhargava discloses providing the corresponding charging schedule. Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses the providing the corresponding charging schedule of Jones is through the corresponding charging apparatus (Para. 24) (“the system can accommodate any number of smart EV chargers 102A-N that communicate via OCPP 1.6J or higher. These chargers are equipped with communication capabilities, allowing them to receive and execute charge commands as part of the overall optimization process. Any number of EVs can be integrated into the system, provided they are capable of receiving remote charge commands. This feature allows the orchestration service 106 to control and manage the charging sessions of these vehicles efficiently.”, That is, in view of the communication capabilities of the smart EV chargers and the EVs, the system is able to communicate the charging plan (i.e. corresponding charging schedule) to the charger which is then able to relay the plan to the EV (i.e. providing the corresponding charging schedule to the on-board control system of the additional EV through the corresponding charging apparatus).)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the optimized charging of Bhargava with charging optimization of Jones in order to improve load forecasting and understanding of grid constraints. (Jones – Para. 73)
In regards to claim 14, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 12. The remainder of the claims are rejected using the same rationale as claim 3.
In regards to claim 15, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 12. The remainder of the claims are rejected using the same rationale as claim 8.
In regards to claim 16, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 15. Bhargava discloses wherein to determine the corresponding charging schedule for the additional EV further the one or more processors are further configured to: receive time of use discount data from an utility for the electrical distribution network resource, wherein the cost function is further a function of the time of use discount data. (Para. 7, 31-32, 80) (“FIG . 5 is graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner that takes advantage of time of use discount rates” “power networks may introduce time of use ( TOC ) pricing , introducing time of use discounting where rates are reduced during times when the total power consumption of the electric grid is lower … graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner that takes advantage of time of use discount rates . As illustrated in FIG . 5 , all of the EVs delay their charging until the period of the TOU discount rate . The EVs can again be instructed to coordinate their charging to avoid overloading the local distribution transformer , but the arrangement of the charging times may differ relative to FIG . 4 as the other usage of the residences is reduced at these hours” “a method for optimizing EV charging schedules without energy export ( i.e. , without sending of power from a vehicle battery to the grid ) , starting at step 1101. At step 1103 , the load manager 605 retrieves the grid asset information for the low voltage distribution networks 120 , list of associated service points , and EVs . Grid asset information can refer to equipment of the low voltage distribution networks 120 , such as information on step - down distribution transformers 121 like limits or costs related to throughput)”)
In regards to claim 17, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 15. Bhargava discloses wherein the cost function is further a function of the load limit data. (Para. 32, 82-83) (“FIG . 5 is graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner that takes advantage of time of use discount rates . As illustrated in FIG . 5 , all of the EVs delay their charging until the period of the TOU discount rate . The EVs can again be instructed to coordinate their charging to avoid overloading the local distribution transformer , but the arrangement of the charging times may differ relative to FIG . 4 as the other usage of the residences is reduced at these hours” “At step 1107 , the load manager 605 updates the non - EV load for associated meter service points using load input data … At step 1111 , the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs , followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints , and generates an asset - protective joint EV charging sched ule . In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints , and generates asset - protective joint EV charging schedules”)
In regards to claim 18, Bhargava discloses a method, comprising: receiving by one or more processors projected base load data from an utility for an electrical distribution network resource; (Para. 18, 33) (“Data on the local low voltage distribution networks, such as the rating of a distribution transformer through which a group of EVs are supplied, is provided from utilities to a load manager application.” “The power grid 100 is operated by one or more distribution utilities or other power providing entity, represented as utility 601. The utility 601 will have information on the power grid 100, including information such as the power grid's topology and of the assets forming the grid. For example, the utility will commonly have information on the local distribution grids … the utility 601 will often have relatively detailed information on usage patterns of individual customers (i.e. receive projected base load data from an utility for the electrical distribution network resource)”)
Bhargava discloses receiving a load limit for the electrical distribution network resource from an utility; (Para. 80, 91) (“the load manager 605 retrieves the grid asset information for the low voltage distribution networks 120, list of associated service points, and EVs. Grid asset information can refer to equipment of the low voltage distribution networks 120, such as information on step-down distribution transformers 121 like limits … related to throughput (i.e. receive a load limit for the electrical distribution network resource from the utility for the electrical distribution network resource)” “the load manager 605 retrieves the key stored constraints and operating parameters from its database, such as storage 907, where the load manager can also receive additional or updated grid asset information from the utility 601.”)
Bhargava discloses for one or more electric vehicles (EVs) of a group of a plurality of EVs, receiving by the one or more processors corresponding user requirements, including a charge by time; (Para. 81) (“At step 1105, the load manager 605 retrieves relevant EV telematics data and EV use inputs for the associated EVs. … The EV user inputs are preferences provided by the owner of the EV, such as minimum charge levels or departure time (i.e. receiving, for one or more of the group of a plurality of EVs, corresponding user requirements, including a charge by time).”)
Bhargava discloses for each EV of the group, determining by the one or more processors whether the EV has plugged in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by the electrical distribution network resource; (Para. 18, 42-45) (“Telematics information on vehicle usage is provided from the EVs (i.e. for each EV of the group, determining by the one or more processors whether the EV has plugged in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by the electrical distribution network resource), such as by way of the original equipment manufacturers for the EVs. From the telematics data and the data from the utilities, the load manager application determines schedules for charging a group of EVs through a shared low voltage distribution network so that the capabilities of the local low voltage distribution network are not exceeded while meeting the needs of the EV users.” “Among the data fields that can be provided by the EV's onboard telematics system of the on-board control systems 615 can include: … Plug-in status (i.e. for each EV of the group, determining by the one or more processors whether the EV has plugged in for charging through a corresponding charging apparatus by the electrical distribution network resource)”)
Bhargava discloses in response to detecting a discrepancy, providing by the one or more processors a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging first EV through the corresponding charging apparatus that meets the first EV's corresponding user requirements, including: (Para. 82-85) (“The load manager then estimates grid asset state using degradation input data , the EV telematics data and non - EV load input data at step 1109 … At step 1111 , the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs, followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints , and generates an asset-protective joint EV charging schedule (i.e. in response to detecting a discrepancy, providing by the one or more processors a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging first EV through the corresponding charging apparatus that meets the first EV's corresponding user requirements). In step 1113 the load manager formulates optimization costs and constraints, and generates asset-protective joint EV charging schedules (i.e. in response to detecting the discrepancy in for charging, determining by the one or more processors a corresponding charging schedule for subsequently charging the additional EV) … after sending out the schedules, next follows charging each of the EVs, based on the corresponding charging schedule. … At step 1117 the load manager 605 monitors the status of EV charging , along with variables such as conditions on the local distribution networks 120 . Step 1119 determines whether the EVs are actually following charging schedules and , if not , the flow loops back to step 1109 to recompute the schedule to account for the discrepancies (i.e. subsequently charging first EV through the corresponding charging apparatus that meets the first EV's corresponding user requirements)” That is, when the load manager detects a discrepancy it determines a new asset-protective join EV charging schedule that account for the discrepancy.)
Bhargava discloses forecasting an expected load curve for power drawn by a sum of the projected base load data, and EV demand for others of the EVs of the group in response to other discrepancies; (Para. 26, 30, 32, 70-72, 81-82) (“the power consumption of a set of seven houses from noon of one day to noon of the following day is shown on an hour by hour basis . The curving lines along the bottom represent examples of typical usages in kilowatts ( kW ) of the set of houses without the inclusion of EV charging (i.e. expected load curve)” “graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner. FIG . 4 repeats the elements of FIG . 3 , but now the charging of the EVs are coordinated so that the combined total power remains within the distribution transformer's rating (i.e. expected load curve)” “graph of time of day versus power for a set of homes sharing a common distribution transformer and where a number of EVs are charged in a coordinated manner that takes advantage of time of use discount rates (i.e. expected load curve). As illustrated in FIG . 5 , all of the EVs delay their charging until the period of the TOU discount rate . The EVs can again be instructed to coordinate their charging to avoid overloading the local distribution transformer” “A first category for the algorithm inputs is the non-EV system load modeling and forecasting for power grid 100, reflecting the demands on the grid other than the EV charging (i.e. the projected non-EV baseload data). Referring back to FIGS. 3-5 , this corresponds to the usage throughout the day without the added on EV charging bars . The inputs for modeling and forecasting non-EV usage can include historical household usage , as can be provided by the utility 601 , and weather data . These inputs can be used for modeling a load forecast . The EV portion of load modeling and forecasting can be provided by the telematics data from the EVs' on-board control systems … From the non-EV load forecast (i.e. the projected non-EV baseload data) for the system combined with the EV charging demands and constraints , both read and simulated (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group in response to other discrepancies), the load manager 605 can perform charging optimization” “the load manager 605 updates the non - EV load for associated meter service points using load input data … The load manager then estimates grid asset state using degradation input data , the EV telematics data and non-EV load input data at step 1109)”)
Bhargava discloses setting the corresponding charging schedule for the first EV based on the optimized load curve; and (Para. 80, 83) (“optimizing EV charging schedules (i.e. setting the corresponding charging schedule for the first EV based on the optimized load curve) …, starting at step 1101. At step 110, the load manager 605 retrieves the grid asset information for the low voltage distribution networks 120 , list of associated service points, and EVs . Grid asset information can refer to equipment of the low voltage distribution networks 120, such as information on step - down distribution transformers 121 like limits or costs related to throughput (i.e. load limit) ” “At step 1111, the load manager 605 updates the expected EV charging energy needs , arrival and departure times from the EV telematics data and EV user inputs, followed by formulating optimization cost and constraints (i.e. setting the corresponding charging schedule for the first EV based on the optimized load curve), and generates an asset-protective joint EV charging schedule.”)
Bhargava discloses providing the set corresponding schedule to the first EV; and (Para. 84) (“The load manager 605 sends out the EV charging schedules to the EVs (i.e. providing the set corresponding schedule to the first EV) 125 via telematics link with the EV's on - board control systems 615 at step 1115.”)
Bhargava discloses charging the first EV through the corresponding charging apparatus according to the provided charging set schedule, including: (Para. 35, 85) (“Based on the information form the utility 601 on the power grid 100 , and in particular on the local distribution grid 120 with the customer 123 at which the EV 125 is charged , and the telematics derived information from OEM 603 on the EV 125 , a load manager 605 can determine an optimized charging control to coordinate the charging of EV 125 and other EVs that charge through the distribution transformer 121. The charging control data can schedule the charging of the EVs as illustrated in FIG . 4 or 5 … The charging control can then be transmitted to the on - board control systems, such as 615, that then charge the EVs according to the schedule (i.e. charging the first EV through the corresponding charging apparatus according to the provided charging set schedule)” “After sending out the schedules, next follows charging each of the EVs, based on the corresponding charging schedule.”)
Bhargava discloses receiving the provided charging set schedule by an on-board control system of the first EV; and controlling the charging of the first EV by the on-board control system to charge the first EV according to the provided charging set schedule. (Para. 35) (“Based on the information form the utility 601 on the power grid 100 , and in particular on the local distribution grid 120 with the customer 123 at which the EV 125 is charged , and the telematics derived information from OEM 603 on the EV 125 , a load manager 605 can determine an optimized charging control to coordinate the charging of EV 125 and other EVs that charge through the distribution transformer 121. The charging control data can schedule the charging of the EVs as illustrated in FIG . 4 or 5 … The charging control can then be transmitted to the on - board control systems, such as 615, that then charge the EVs according to the schedule (i.e. receiving the provided charging set schedule by an on-board control system of the first EV; and controlling the charging of the first EV by the on-board control system to charge the first EV according to the provided charging set schedule)”)
As discussed above, Bhargava discloses detecting a discrepancy. Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses the detecting a discrepancy of Bhargava is detecting that a first EV of the group has plugged in for charging through the corresponding charging apparatus by the electrical distribution network resource (Para. 29) (“The orchestration service 106 continuously monitors for the initiation of new charging sessions (i.e. detecting that a first EV of the group has plugged in for charging through the corresponding charging apparatus by the electrical distribution network resource) and iteratively optimizes the charging process for all active sessions as they progress.”)
As discussed above, Bhargava discloses in response to other discrepancies. Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses the in response to other discrepancies of Bhargava is in response to being plugged in for charging (Para. 29) (“The orchestration service 106 continuously monitors for the initiation of new charging sessions (i.e. in response to being plugged in for charging) and iteratively optimizes the charging process for all active sessions as they progress.”)
As discussed above, Bhargava discloses EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging. Bhargava does not explicitly disclose, however Jones in the same field of endeavor, discloses the EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava is a sum of the charging schedule for the additional EV and the previously determined corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging; (Para. 27, 42-43, 76, 80) (“the initiation of new charging sessions and iteratively optimizes the charging process for all active sessions as they progress. This dynamic approach ensures that EV charging remains responsive” “Equation 3 governs conditions in relation to the energy delivered during various sessions: … Each element in the sum pertains to a session (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava), denoted by (i), and sums over different time slots or intervals, represented by (t), until the desired completion time t.sub.c. Equation 3 provides insights into the energy requirements and delivery during these sessions. Essentially, by the time a session reaches its intended completion time t.sub.c, the cumulative energy delivered across all prior intervals—represented by the sum” “The load forecasting module collates data … This central module communicates with the ‘Group Charge Optimization Algorithm’, which is configured to deduce optimal charging strategies for grouped EVs. The system also interacts with Utility/ISO modules, extracting data that influences EV charging profiles and grid constraints.” “the method includes a step 508 of determining both a forecasted demand and a demand threshold, based on the rule set, the current state of each of the one or more devices, and the user inputs and overrides. Using the rule set, the current state of chargers, and any user inputs, the system forecasts upcoming charging demands (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava).” That is, the system iteratively optimizes charging processes in response to initiation of new charging sessions (i.e. in response to detecting the additional EV plugging in for charging) by forecasting expected energy delivered during each session and collating the forecasted loads (i.e. EV demand for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging of Bhargava) for each session (i.e. a sum of the charging schedule for the additional EV and the previously determined corresponding charging schedules for the one or more EVs of the group plugged in for charging). The new charging session is included in these sessions that are collated because the orchestration service 106 monitors for initiation of new charging sessions and iteratively optimizes the charging processes.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the optimized charging of Bhargava with charging optimization of Jones in order to improve load forecasting and understanding of grid constraints. (Jones – Para. 73)
In regards to claim 19, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 18. Bhargava discloses determining an estimated level of degradation of the electrical distribution network resource in response to projected base load data and the charging of the plugged in EVs using the set corresponding charging schedules. (Para. 82) (“At step 1107, the load manager 605 updates the non-EV load for associated meter service points using load input data…. The load manager then estimates grid asset state using degradation input data, the EV telematics data and non-EV load input data at step 1109 (i.e. determining an estimated level of degradation of the electrical distribution network resource in response to projected base load data and the charging of the plugged in EVs using the set corresponding charging schedules)”)
In regards to claim 20, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 18. The remainder of this claim is rejected using the same rationale as claim 7.
In regards to claim 21, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 1. Bhargava discloses automatically creating and assigning the plurality of EVs to the group. (Para. 18) (“The following presents techniques for scheduling the charging of electric vehicles (EVs) that protect the resources of local low voltage distribution networks. Data on the local low voltage distribution networks, such as the rating of a distribution transformer through which a group of EVs are supplied, is provided from utilities to a load manager application. … From the telematics data and the data from the utilities, the load manager application determines schedules for charging a group of EVs through a shared low voltage distribution network so that the capabilities of the local low voltage distribution network” That is, the groups of EVs are created and assigned based on which low voltage distribution network supplies the EVs.)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhargava in view of Jones and further in view of Budiscak (US 2023/0406130) (hereafter Budiscak).
In regards to claim 9, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 8. Bhargava in view of Jones does not explicitly disclose, however Budiscak, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the user requirements of Bhargava further include an amount of charging schedule flexibility. (Para. 27) (“The determination of the charging strategy can also take into account specific requirements that can be part of a charging request. … Other information, such as a user's indication of his or her flexibility with respect to a request and/or a user's specified general prioritization, for example a time frame in which the user would like the charging process to be completed, can be part of a charging request as well.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the charging optimization of Bhargava in view of Jones with the charging process of Budiscak in order to allow the system to improve control of the power flow from an electric load location. (Budiscak – Para. 33)
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhargava in view of Jones and further in view of Solomon (US 2013/0311264) (hereafter Solomon).
In regards to claim 22, Bhargava in view of Jones discloses the limitations of claim 6. Bhargava in view of Jones does not explicitly disclose, however Solomon, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the location data of Bhargava is zip code data. (Para. 107) (“A geographic group includes charging stations that are in a same geographic area (i.e. the location data of Bhargava) (e.g., installed at or near a same building on an organization's campus, installed in the same zip code (i.e. the location data of Bhargava is zip code data), city, etc.).”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the charging optimization of Bhargava in view of Jones with the EV organization of Solomon in order to allow the system to improve verification of location based grouping affiliation. (Solomon – Abstract)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID G. GODBOLD/Examiner, Art Unit 3628