DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,338,215. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims recite reversible toy having firs and second material/body portions defining exterior and interior surfaces, fill material positioned therebetween, cavities, and reversible first and second configurations. The presently claimed subject matter recites the same reversible toy structure and operation, with the additionally recited appendage, characteristic, opening, edge, and body shape limitations constituting obvious variation thereof.
Claims 7-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,239,920.
The patented claims recite a reversible toy having first and second body portions defining a sealed cavity and an inferior cavity, stuffing contained within the sealed cavity, and reversible first and second positions in which an exterior surface is alternatively positioned within the interior cavity. The additionally recited appearance, appendages, opening/retainer, terminal edge, and body-portion limitations are obvious variations of the patented subject matter.
1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 10,786,746, as amended by Ex Parte Reexaminaiton Certificate.
The patented claims recite a reversible toy having first and second material/body portions, fill material within a sealed cavity, interior cavities, an opening, and reversible first and second configurations. The presently claimed subject matter recites the same reversible toy structure and operation, and the additionally recited structural and configurational limitations constitute obvious variations thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lieberman (US Patent No. 5,791,963) in view of VonPhilp (US Patent No. 4,842,565).
Regarding claim 1, Lieberman discloses a reversible toy comprising: a body including: a first portion (doll portion 12), and a second portion (hat portion 14), the doll portion defining an interior cavity (22) accessible through an opening/aperture (20), and the hat portion defining an interior space (56). In the first configuration, hat portion (14) collapsed and received within cavity (22), whereby doll portion (12) defines the exterior of the article. Ina second configuration, doll portion (12) is collapsed and passed through aperture (20) and received within crown (42) of hat portion (14), whereby hat portion (14) defines the exterior. Thus, Lieberman teaches respective portions alternatively defining the exterior of the body as the article is reversed through an opening (see all Figures). Lieberman does not explicitly disclose the claimed first and second portions being coupled to define a sealed cavity having fill material positioned therein. VonPhilp teaches a reversible stuffed article comprising first and second fabric sections (12,16), having inner surfaces (14, 18), joined along their edge portions to define an internal cavity (20), with filler material (26) contained within the cavity and separating the fabric sections. Thus, VonPhilp teaches the claimed stuffed, closed cavity construction between coupled fabric portions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the reversible portions of Lieberman to include the filler containing coupled fabric construction taught by VonPhilip, in order to provide a soft, resilient stuffed reversible article capable of maintaining a desired three dimensional body shape while retaining Lieberman’s reversible functionality. Such modification merely applies VonPhilp’s known stuffed fabric construction to Lieberman’s known reversible article for its known purpose.
Regarding claim 2, Lieberman teaches a first appendage comprising the doll limbs (36) coupled to doll Portion (12), and a second appendage comprising brim (44) coupled to hat portion (14). Accordingly, the modified Lieberman article includes appendages coupled to the respective first and second portions.
Regarding claim 4, Liberman teaches first appendages (limbs 36) coupled to doll portion (12) at a first position and a second appendage (brim 44) coupled to hat portion (14) at a second position different relative to the respective portions. Therefore, Liberman teaches or at least renders obvious the differently positioned appendages as recited in the instant claim.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Day (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0289687).
Regarding claim 3, Lieberman teaches limbs (36) associated with the doll body. To the extent Lieberman does not expressly disclose each claimed alternative body features, Day teaches animal character features including ears, paws, eyes and nose (see all Figures). It would have been obvious to provide the appendages of the modified Lieberman article as recognizable anatomical character features, as taught by Day, to provide the article with a recognizable animal/character appearance.
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 1 above teaches the reversible toy of claim 1. Lieberman further teaches appendages associated with the reversible article, including limbs (36) associated with doll portion (12) and brim (44) associated with hat portion (14). Lieberman does not expressly teach a first appendage having a first characteristic, wherein the first characteristic is at least one of a first color, a first shape, or a first tactile feel; and a second appendage having a second characteristic, wherein the second characteristic is at least one of a second color, a second shape, or a second tactile feel and different from the first characteristic. Day teaches a transformable character article having first and second character portions (130,131) provided with different ornamental character representations and associated character features, including differently configured anatomical features such as ears/paws and other character features. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the respective appendages of the modified Lieberman article with different shapes, as taught by Day, in order to provide distinct recognizable character appearances corresponding to the respective portions/configurations.
Conclusion
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711