DETAILED ACTION
Claims 17-36 are pending and currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 6-11-2025 has been considered. An initialed copy is attached hereto.
It should be noted that the listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 17-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,246,915. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix polypeptide and heterologous therapeutic cargo. Given that there is no structural limitations on the Cholix polypeptide or any limitation as to the claimed therapeutic cargo, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claims 17-22 and 26-32 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,160,869. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix molecule and heterologous “payload”. Specifically, SEQ ID NO:5 and SEQ ID NO:13 of the patented claims are drawn to fusion proteins comprising a cholix variant and an IL-10 molecule. Given that there is no structural limitations on the structure of the cholix polypeptide or the “therapeutic cargo”, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims. Moreover, with regard to the additional “elements” recited in the patented claims, said limitations do not preclude the fusion proteins of the rejected claims due to the use of the term “comprising”.
Claims 17-22 and 26-32 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,479,593. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix molecule and heterologous “payload”. Specifically, SEQ ID NO:5 and SEQ ID NO:13 of the patented claims are drawn to fusion proteins comprising a cholix variant and an IL-10 molecule. Given that there is no structural limitations on the structure of the cholix polypeptide or the “therapeutic cargo”, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims. Moreover, with regard to the additional “elements” recited in the patented claims, said limitations do not preclude the fusion proteins of the rejected claims due to the use of the term “comprising”.
Claims 17-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,324,833. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix polypeptide and heterologous therapeutic cargo. Given that SEQ ID NO:2 of the patented claims is a cholix molecule and there is no structural limitation on the Cholix polypeptide (claimed) or any limitation as to the claimed therapeutic cargo, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claims 17-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,504,433. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix polypeptide and heterologous therapeutic cargo. Given that SEQ ID NO:2 of the patented claims is a cholix molecule and there is no structural limitation on the Cholix polypeptide (claimed) or any limitation as to the claimed therapeutic cargo, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claims 17-22 and 26-32 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,479,593. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix molecule and heterologous “payload”. Specifically, SEQ ID NO:17 of the patented claims are drawn to fusion proteins comprising a cholix variant and an IL-22 molecule. Given that there is no structural limitations on the structure of the cholix polypeptide or the “therapeutic cargo”, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claims 17-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,130,688. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix polypeptide and heterologous therapeutic cargo. Given that there is no structural limitations on the Cholix polypeptide or any limitation as to the claimed therapeutic cargo, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claims 26-32 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,786.556. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix molecule and heterologous “payload” comprising an IL-10 molecule. Given that there is no structural limitations on the structure of the claimed cholix polypeptide or the “therapeutic cargo”, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims. Moreover, with regard to the additional “elements” recited in the patented claims, said limitations do not preclude the fusion proteins of the rejected claims due to the use of the term “comprising”.
Claims 17-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,090,691. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix polypeptide and heterologous therapeutic cargo. Given that there is no structural limitations on the Cholix polypeptide or any limitation as to the claimed therapeutic cargo, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claims 17-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,617,767. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix polypeptide and heterologous therapeutic cargo. Given that there is no structural limitations on the Cholix polypeptide or any limitation as to the claimed therapeutic cargo, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claims 17-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,799,565. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix polypeptide and heterologous therapeutic cargo. Given that there is no structural limitations on the Cholix polypeptide or any limitation as to the claimed therapeutic cargo, the patented claims encompass all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claim 17-22 and 26-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 64 of copending Application No. 18/906,129 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix molecule and heterologous “payload”. Specifically, SEQ ID NO:4 of the patented claim is drawn to fusion proteins comprising a cholix variant and an IL-10 molecule. Given that there is no structural limitations on the structure of the cholix polypeptide or the “therapeutic cargo”, the reference application encompasses all the limitations of the rejected claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 17-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 59-74 of copending Application No. 18/777,927 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a mMART (e.g. Cholix molecule) and heterologous “payload”. Given that there is no structural limitations on the structure of the cholix polypeptide or the “therapeutic cargo” of the reference application, the reference application encompasses all the limitations of the rejected claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 17-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 146, 152,154-158 and 163-165 of copending Application No. 18/774,008 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a. Cholix molecule and heterologous “payload”. Given that there is no structural limitations on the structure of the cholix polypeptide or the “therapeutic cargo” of the reference application, the reference application encompasses all the limitations of the rejected claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 17-22 and 27-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6-25 of copending Application No. 19/042,438 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix molecule and heterologous “payload”. Specifically the reference application are drawn to a fusion comprising a Cholix molecule and a protein (e.g. IL-10). Given there is no structural limitations on the cholix structure of the rejected claims or the “therapeutic cargo” of the reference application, the reference application encompasses all the limitations of the rejected claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 17-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-10 of copending Application No. 18/807,300 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix molecule and heterologous “payload”. Given that there is no structural limitations on the structure of the cholix polypeptide or the “therapeutic cargo” of the rejected claims, the reference application encompasses all the limitations of the rejected claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 17-36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 15/837,256 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to constructs comprising a Cholix molecule and heterologous “payload”. Given that there is no structural limitations on the structure of the cholix polypeptide or the “therapeutic cargo” of the rejected claims, the reference application encompasses all the limitations of the rejected claims. Moreover, with regard to the additional “elements” recited in the patented claims, said limitations do not preclude the fusion proteins of the rejected claims due to the use of the term “comprising”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-21 and 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarnovsky et al. (Cancer Immunology Immunotherapy Vol. 59, pages 737-746 – IDS filed on 6-11-2025).
Sarnovsky et al. disclose immunotoxins comprising a cholix toxin coupled to a single chain antibody (see page 738, left column). Sarnovsky et al. further disclose that said antibody is directed to the human transferrin receptor and could be used as a first line therapeutic agent. Consequently, Sarnovsky et al. anticipates all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarnovsky et al. (Cancer Immunology Immunotherapy Vol. 59, pages 737-746 – IDS filed on 6-11-2025).
Sarnovsky et al. disclose immunotoxins comprising a cholix toxin coupled to a single chain antibody (see page 738, left column). Sarnovsky et al. further disclose that said antibody is directed to the human transferrin receptor and could be used as a first line therapeutic agent.
Sarnovsky et al. differs from the rejected claims in that they don’t explicitly disclose coupling cytokines, hormones, growth factors or clotting factors to their cholix toxin.
Given the reduce immunogenicity of the cholix toxin fusions of Sarnovsky et al., it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize their cholix toxin for the delivery of other types of heterologous molecules including cytokines, hormones, growth factors or clotting factors. Moreover, the KSR decision sets forth “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill”. Given that Sarnovsky et al. demonstrate the effective use of a cholix toxin as a carrier protein and the use of bacterial toxins as carrier proteins for a variety of macromolecules is well established in the art, the use of the cholix toxin of Sarnovsky et al. as a carrier protein for cytokines, hormones, growth factors and clotting factors is well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. Hence, the requirements of obviousness under the KSR decision are met.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ROBERT A ZEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 June 8, 2026