DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 19, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “the treatment site” in line 2, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “a treatment site” as the “treatment site” was not previously defined, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “a treatment site” for the purpose of having proper antecedent basis
Claims 2 and 3 recite one of “the mesh structure” and “the expandable mesh structure”, although the lines are understood by the Examiner to mean “the expandable mesh” as previously defined, the Examiner suggests both lines be written as “the expandable mesh” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claims 5 and 20 recite “the amount of lateral edges overlap”, however this is not grammatically correct, thus the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “the amount of overlap of the lateral edges”;
Claim 6 recites “its length”, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “a length thereof”, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “a length thereof” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claim 9 recites “an electrical signal” in line 1, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “the electrical signal” as the “electrical signal” was previously defined, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “the electrical signal” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claim 19 recites “comprising plurality of interconnected struts” in line 3, however the line is not grammatically correct as there is no article (a/an/the) before the noun, therefore the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “comprising a plurality of interconnected struts”;
Claim 19 recites “a plurality of mesh cells having a proximal end and a distal end” and then later recites “the proximal end of the tubular structure”, although the first line does not rise to the level of being indefinite as the first line is understood by the Examiner to mean “a plurality of mesh cells, the tubular structure having a proximal end and a distal end”, as Applicant’s disclosure makes clear that the “proximal end” and “distal end” are of the tubular structure, the Examiner suggests the limitation be amended to reflect the above;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 19, the phrase "wherein the tapering portion is core assembly shaft is connected to the self-expandable tubular mesh" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if Applicant is attempting to recite wherein the tapering portion is a shaft of the core assembly, which is different from the shaft of core assembly defined in claim 16, or if Applicant is attempting to recite wherein the tapering portion is connected to the shaft of the core assembly which is connected to the self-expandable tubular mesh via the coupling region. Based on Applicant’s disclosure, the Examiner will read the claim to mean the latter.
Claim 20 is rejected for being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taff et al (US 2018/0116717 A1) and in view of Davidson (US 2015/0133990 A1) and Divino et al (US 2016/0331377 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Taff discloses a method (abstract, paragraphs [0022 – 0031], [0041], [0046], [0051 – 0061], and Fig. 1) comprising:
disposing a medical device (apparatus 21) comprising a device (electrode 3) coupled to a distal end portion of a conductive shaft (conductive wire 5) within a bodily lumen (vascular system) (paragraphs [0046], [0053 – 0057], and Fig. 1), wherein the device (electrode 3) comprises:
a coupling region (connection point 4);
wherein the conductive shaft (conductive wire 5) is connected to the device (electrode 3) via the coupling region (connection point 4) (paragraph [0055] and Fig. 1);
electrically coupling the conductive (conductive wire 5) shaft to an signal generator (voltage source) (paragraphs [0058 – 0062]); and
supplying an electrical signal (unipolar voltage) to the expandable mesh via the signal generator (voltage source) (paragraphs [0046] and [0058 – 0062]).
However, Taff is silent regarding (i) wherein the device is an expandable mesh comprising a tubular structure of interconnected struts comprising a plurality of mesh cells having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end and the distal end being open, a tapering portion connected to the proximal end of the tubular structure and, a coupling region connected to a proximal end of the tapering portion, wherein the tapering portion is configured to converge at the connection portion, the conductive shaft is connected to the expandable mesh via the coupling region, and (ii) wherein the signal generator is extracorporeal.
As to (i), Davidson teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a method of removing a thrombus from within a bodily lumen (abstract, paragraphs [0061 – 0073], and Figs. 1/2) comprising disposing a medical device comprising an expandable mesh (self-expandable member 102; which equates to the electrode 3 of Taff) coupled to a distal end of a shaft (manipulation member 104; which equates to the wire 5 of Taff), wherein the expandable mesh comprises a tubular structure of interconnected struts comprising a plurality of mesh cells having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end and the distal end being open, a tapering portion (taper of proximal portion 122 – paragraph [0071]) connected to the proximal end of the tubular structure, a coupling region (region where proximal end 110 attaches to distal end of the manipulation member 104 – paragraph [0064]) connected to a proximal end of the tapering portion, wherein the tapering portion is configured to converge at the connection portion and the shaft connected to the expandable mesh via the coupling region (paragraphs [0061 – 0073], and Figs. 1,2), wherein the expandable mesh is electrically enhanced to draw in the thrombus / clot (paragraph [0108]). Additionally, Davidson teaches, in paragraph [0076], wherein during the clot retrieval process the shape and cell structure of the expandable mesh advantageously provides grip and retaining ability of the thrombus to the system via the individual struts..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device (electrode 3) of Taff to be an expandable mesh with a tubular shape, plurality of cells, and tapering portion, based on the teachings on Davidson, for the purpose of having added grip and retaining ability on the system to better grasp the thrombus via the individual struts of the expandable mesh (paragraph [0076] – Davidson).
As to (ii), Divino teaches a medica device comprising an expandable mesh (implant) electrically coupled to a shaft (delivery wire 44; which equates to the wire 5 of Taff) to an extracorporeal signal generator (power supply 46; which equates to the voltage supply source of Taff) (abstract, paragraphs [0033 – 0035] and Figs. 1A/B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Taff in view of Davidson to have the voltage source of Taff be extracorporeal, based on the teachings of Divino, for the purpose of allowing the user to control the supply of electrical charge to the expandable mesh.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, the combination makes obvious wherein disposing the medical device comprises: advancing the medical device (self-expandable member 102 – Davidson) to the treatment site within the bodily lumen (paragraph [0046] – Taff) while the expandable mesh is in a volume-reduced form and expanding the mesh structure (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraphs [0074] and [0128] of Davidson, the self-expandable member 102 (i.e., the medical device) is introduced through the bodily lumen to the treatment site in the reduced-volume form. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Taff to incorporate the step of advancing the medical device to the treatment site in the volume-reduced form, based on the teachings of Davidson, for the purpose of covering the self-expandable device while the self-expandable device is traversing the vasculature thereby preventing unnecessary damage to the vasculature). Therefore the prior art makes obvious the limitations above.
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, the combination teaches wherein the bodily lumen comprises a blood vessel, wherein the treatment site comprises a location within the blood vessel proximate to a thrombus (paragraph [0046] – Taff), and wherein expanding the expandable mesh structure (self-expandable member 102 – Davidson) comprises expanding the tubular structure into engagement with the thrombus (paragraph [0129] – Davidson).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, Davidson teaches wherein the tubular structure (self-expandable member 102 – Davidson) forms lateral edges (edges 124/126) (paragraphs [0072], [0074], and Figs. 3,4A-D), and wherein in the volume-reduced form the tubular structure is curled up such that the lateral edges overlap (paragraph [0074]), and wherein after expanding the tubular structure, the amount of lateral edges overlap decreases compared to the volume-reduced form (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0075] there is a greater overlap occurs in more narrow vessels, and in narrower vessels the expandable member 102 does not expand as much as the expandable member 102 expands in a less narrow vessel, therefore, when going from a more compressed configuration to a more expanded configuration the amount of overlap of the edges decreases. Thus, when the expandable member 102 leaves the catheter of Taff and expands, the amount of overlap of the lateral edges will decrease). Therefore, the combination makes obvious the method above.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, Davidson teaches wherein the expandable mesh comprises a stent or the expandable mesh comprises a stent retriever (Examiner’s note: a stent is defined as a tubular structure comprised of struts and a “stent retriever” is a device that can retrieve a stent. With that said, the expandable member 102 (i.e., the expandable mesh) is made up of struts and is capable of retrieving a stent. Thus, Davidson teaches the limitations above). Therefore, the combination makes obvious the method above.
Regarding claims 9, 10, and 11, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, Taff discloses wherein supplying an electrical signal to the expandable mesh via the signal generator comprises supplying a periodic waveform to the expandable mesh for a predetermined time period of no more than 5 minutes / no more than 2 minutes (10s to less than 2 minutes) (paragraphs [0060 – 0061]).
Regarding claim 12, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, Taff teaches the wherein a total energy (E) delivered via the electrical signal over the predetermined time period is between 0.75-24,000 mJ (Examiner’s note: Taff discloses in paragraphs [0060 – 0061] a range for the voltage, current, and time (and thus the total energy value), wherein a voltage of 0.1V to 100V is used and a current (peak) of 0.01mA – 4mA is used for a time period between 5seconds and less than 120seconds, when the voltage (V)=1volts , current (I)=0.0012A , and time (t)=100s the total energy (E) = (V)(I)(t)=120mJ, which is within the claimed range. However, Taff does not explicitly disclose the total energy (E) being within the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the total energy of Taff to be between 0.75-24,000mJ as Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pp. [0016] indicating the angle “can” be within the claimed range) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 13, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, Taff teaches wherein a total charge (Q) delivered via the electrical signal over the predetermined time period is between 30-1200 mC (Examiner’s note: Taff discloses in paragraphs [0060 – 0061] a range for the voltage, current, and time (and thus the total energy value), wherein a voltage of 0.1 V to 100V is used and a current (peak) of 0.01mA – 4mA is used for a time period between 5seconds to less than 120seconds, when the voltage (V)=1volts , current (I)=0.0012A , and time (t)=100s the total charge (Q) = (I)(t)=120mC which is within the claimed range. However, Taff does not explicitly disclose the total charge (Q) being within the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the total charge of Taff to be between 30-1200mC as Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pp. [0016] indicating the angle “can” be within the claimed range) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 14, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, Taff discloses wherein a frequency of the electrical signal is between 1 Hz to 1 MHz (paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 15, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, Taff makes obvious wherein the duty cycle (D%=(PulseWidth)/(TimePeriod) = PW/T) of the electrical signal is between 5-20% (Examiner’s note Taff discloses Taff discloses in paragraphs [0060 – 0061] a pulse width of 5ms at a range of frequencies (T= 1/frequency), wherein a frequency between 0.1Hz and 100MHz is used for a with a pulse width of 5ms, when the frequency is 25Hz the Duty cycle (D)=12.5%, thus, Taff gives a range for the frequency and time (and thus the percent duty cycle) applied. However, Taff does not explicitly disclose the duty cycle being within the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the duty cycle of Taff to be between 5-20% as Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pp. [0016] indicating the angle “can” be within the claimed range) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claims 16, 17, and 19, Taff discloses a method (abstract, paragraphs [0022 – 0031], [0041], [0046], [0051 – 0061], and Fig. 1) comprising:
disposing a medical device (electrode 3) within a blood vessel paragraph [0046]), the medical device comprising a device (electrode 3) coupled to a distal end portion of a core assembly (conductive wire 5 and second electrode 26) comprising at least two separate conductive channels (conductive wire 5 and second electrode 26) that provide electrical communication along the core assembly with corresponding electrodes (terminals 3t and 26t) of the medical device (paragraphs [0053 – 0058] and Fig. 1);
a shaft (conductive wire 5) of the core assembly is connected to the device (electrode 3) via a coupling region (connector 4);
communicating electrical signals (unipolar voltage) between the electrodes (terminals 3t and 26t) of the medical device via one or more of the at least two separate conductive channels (conductive wire 5 and second electrode 26) (paragraphs [0058 – 0062]).
However, Taff is silent regarding (i) [claims 16 and 19] wherein the device is an self-expandable tubular mesh comprising a tubular structure of interconnected struts comprising a plurality of mesh cells having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end and the distal end being open, a tapering portion connected to the proximal end of the tubular structure and, a coupling region connected to a proximal end of the tapering portion, wherein the tapering portion is configured to converge at the connection portion, wherein the shaft of the core assembly is connected to the expandable mesh via the coupling region, expanding the self-expandable tubular mesh at a treatment site within the blood vessel, and (ii) [claims 16 and 17] a controller, that forms a part of an extracorporeal current generator, for controlling the electrical signals.
As to (i), Davidson teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a method of removing a thrombus from within a bodily lumen (abstract, paragraphs [0061 – 0073], and Figs. 1/2) comprising disposing a medical device comprising an expandable mesh (self-expandable member 102) coupled to a distal end of a shaft (manipulation member 104; which equates to the wire 5 of Taff), wherein the expandable mesh comprises a tubular structure of interconnected struts comprising a plurality of mesh cells having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end and the distal end being open, a tapering portion (taper of proximal portion 122 – paragraph [0071]) connected to the proximal end of the tubular structure, a coupling region (region where proximal end 110 attaches to distal end of the manipulation member 104 – paragraph [0064]) connected to a proximal end of the tapering portion, wherein the tapering portion is configured to converge at the connection portion and the shaft connected to the expandable mesh via the coupling region (paragraphs [0061 – 0073], and Figs. 1/2), wherein the expandable mesh is electrically enhanced to draw in the thrombus / clot (paragraph [0108]), and expanding the tubular mesh at a treatment site within the blood vessel (paragraph [0129]). Additionally, Davidson teaches, in paragraph [0076], wherein during the clot retrieval process the shape and cell structure of the expandable mesh advantageously provides grip and retaining ability of the thrombus via the individual struts..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device (electrode 3) of Taff to be a self-expandable mesh with a tubular shape, plurality of cells, and tapering portion, based on the teachings on Davidson, for the purpose of having added grip and retaining ability on the system to better grasp the thrombus via the individual struts of the expandable mesh (paragraph [0076] – Davidson).
As to (ii), Divino teaches a medica device comprising an expandable mesh (implant) electrically coupled to a shaft (delivery wire 44; which equates to the wire 5 of Taff) and to an extracorporeal current generator (a part of the power supply 46; which equates to the voltage supply source of Taff), and a controller (controller of power supply 46), forming a part of the extracorporeal current generator (current generator), for communicating electrical signals between electrodes of the medical device (abstract, paragraphs [0033 – 0035] and Figs. 1A/B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Taff in view of Davidson to incorporate the controller and the extracorporeal current generator, based on the teachings of Divino, for the purpose of allowing the user to control the supply of electrical signals to the expandable mesh, and allow the user to regulate both the current and the voltage of the electrical signals thereby broadening the scope of the operation.
Regarding claim 18, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, Taff teaches comprising retracting the medical device (self-expandable member 102 – Davidson) from the treatment site by pulling the core assembly (conductive wire 5 and second electrode 26) along the blood vessel (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0046] of Taff the thrombus is removed by withdrawing the first electrode 3 (i.e., the medical device – modified to be the self-expandable member 102 of Davidson), which is attached to the conductive wire 5 (i.e., a part of the core assembly), and in order to withdraw the first electrode 3, the conductive wire 5 must be pulled. Therefore, Taff teaches limitations above).
Regarding claim 20, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the system of Taff and Divino to incorporate the self-expandable mesh of Davidson. Additionally, Davidson teaches or makes obvious wherein the self-expandable tubular mesh (self-expandable member 102 – Davidson) forms lateral edges (edges 124/126), wherein in a volume-reduced form the self-expandable tubular mesh is curled up such that the lateral edges overlap (paragraphs [0072], [0074], and Figs. 3,4A-D), wherein disposing the medical device comprises advancing the medical device to the treatment site within the blood vessel while the self-expandable tubular mesh is in the volume-reduced form (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraphs [0074] and [0128] of Davidson, the self-expandable member 102 (i.e., the medical device) is introduced through the bodily lumen to the treatment site in the reduced-volume form. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Taff to incorporate the step of advancing the medical device to the treatment site in the volume-reduced form, based on the teachings of Davidson, for the purpose of covering the self-expandable device while the self-expandable device is traversing the vasculature thereby preventing unnecessary damage to the vasculature), and wherein after expanding the self-expandable tubular mesh the amount of lateral edges overlap decreases compared to the volume-reduced form (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0075] there is a greater overlap occurs in more narrow vessels, and in narrower vessels the expandable member 102 does not expand as much as the expandable member 102 expands in a less narrow vessel, therefore, when going from a more compressed configuration to a more expanded configuration the amount of overlap of the edges decreases. Thus, when the expandable member 102 leaves the catheter of Taff and expands, the amount of overlap of the lateral edges will decrease). Therefore, the combination makes obvious the method above.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taff et al (US 2018/0116717 A1) in view of Davidson (US 2015/0133990 A1) and Divino et al (US 2016/0331377 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sutermeister et al (US 2009/0157048 A1).
Regarding claim 6, as discussed above, the combination of Taff, Davidson, and Divino teaches the method of claim 1.
However, the combination above is silent regarding (i) wherein the conductive shaft comprises a conductive hypotube having a cut pattern along at least a portion of its length.
As to the above, Sutermeister teaches a medical device comprising a conductive shaft (first conductive element), wherein the conductive shaft comprises a conductive hypotube (conductive hypotube body 26; which equates to the conductive wire 5 of Taff) with a cut pattern along its length (abstract, paragraphs [0031], [0045] and Fig. 2). Additionally, Sutermeister states in paragraph [0045] wherein the first conductive element can be the conductive hypotube or a wire. Moreover, it should be understood that Taff and Sutermeister are known references in the art that teach medical system comprising conductive shafts (abstract, paragraphs [0022 – 0031], [0041], [0046], [0051 – 0061], and Fig. 1 – Taff ; abstract, paragraphs [0031], [0045] and Fig. 2 – Sutermeister); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one conductive element for another and that the prior art makes obvious wherein a conductive wire and a conductive hypotube are structural equivalents, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified conductive shaft of Taft being able to function as intended to properly conduct / transfer the electrical signal to the capture device. The Examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Swanson (US 2004/0059325 A1) and Harrison et al (US 2010/0057174 A1) teach conductive hypotubes with a spiral cut pattern.
Slee et al (US 2011/0060212 A1) and Grandfield et al (US 2011/0009941 A1) teach a thrombus retrieval device comprising an expandable tubular mesh.
Contact Information
/Andrew Restaino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771