DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2024 and 06/30/2025 was filed and has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings that were filed on 10/30/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 20160052409 A1), and herein after will be referred to as Sun, in view of Prause et al. (DE 102024203170 A1), herein after will be referred to as Prause.
Regarding Claim 1, Sun teaches a battery control apparatus, comprising:
an interface configured to transmit at least one signal to a battery system assembly (BSA); a memory; and a processor (An off-board service tool, apparatus with processor/memory, connecting to the battery controller system via high-voltage connector and OBD cables; [0014] [0019]),
wherein the processor is configured to transmit an interlock signal indicating a state in which the BSA is mounted on a vehicle to the BSA via the interface (A connector interface that closes the High Voltage Interlock Loop (HVIL) connector with the button from the microswitch indicating the connector is fully seated; [0022] [0025]), and
diagnose a state of the BSA, in a state in which power relay assembly (PRA) included in the BSA is activated in response to the at least one (BECM closing the main contactors, activating the PRA, to enable power flow and monitoring the battery for faults; [0030] [0033]).
Sun does not explicitly teach a virtual environment corresponding to a real environment in which the BSA is mounted on the vehicle and transmit at least one of a starting signal indicating that the vehicle is ignition on.
However, Prause discloses a test arrangement for a detached control unit that uses residual bus simulation to simulate vehicle components and transmits wake-up and real vehicle data to maintain the unit’s operation. Prause teaches a residual bus simulation that simulates control units and generates simulated signals to emulate a real environment (Page 2). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation of a virtual environment corresponding to a real environment in which the BSA is mounted on the vehicle because the residual bus simulation generates the necessary signals to trick the component into behaving as if it were installed in a vehicle in a real environment. Prause further teaches transmitting the user interface comprises of a simulated “Engine ON” button to enable the “wake-up” voltage to the master control unit (Page 3). This teaching is equivalent to transmitting a starting signal indicating that the vehicle ignition is on because the user interface sends a wake-up voltage to simulate the engine being turn on.
Sun and Prause are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of vehicle diagnostics and testing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the off-board service tool of Sun to incorporate the teachings of the residual bus simulation and wake-up routine voltage as taught by Prause based on the motivation to prevent the battery controller from entering failure mode or open the contactors from missing communication signals. This provides the benefit of allowing testing and servicing of the battery pack while the battery is detached from the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 2, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 1. Sun further teaches to
transmit the interlock signal to the BSA, based on being connected with at least one pin included in the BSA via the interface (A connector interface that includes terminal pin connectors to open or close the HVIL connection and the controller detecting the voltage difference between the terminal pairs; [0014] [0022] [0025]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 2. Sun further teaches diagnose the state of the BSA, based on transmitting the vehicle signal to the BSA (Transmitting a primary or start request to the BECM and detecting issue conditions or faults; [0027] [0033]).
Sun does not explicitly teach generate the vehicle signal indicating a data signal generated by a controller corresponding to the at least one pin.
However, Prause discloses a test arrangement for vehicle control units that simulates missing components in the system. Prause teaches a memory unit that contains instructions for the processor to perform a residual bus simulation that generates signals to simulate a control unit connected to a bus (Page 2). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation because the residual bus simulation functions by generating the data and signals of the vehicle controller that an ECU connected to the bus pins would transmit for the device under test would expect to receive from the vehicle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sun to incorporate the teachings of the residual bus simulation to simulate a control unit as taught by Prause based on the motivation to provide the necessary data and signals that the device under test would expect to receive and properly function. This provides the benefit of putting the device under test in a simulated real world operational environment to obtain accurate testing measurements.
Regarding Claim 5, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 3. Sun further teaches the processor is configured to receive voltage data in response to the vehicle signal from the BSA (The service tool receives pack voltage and bus voltage data from the BECM in response to the start request; [0027-0028]), and
perform integrity verification for the voltage data (The service tool and BECM verifies voltage conditions from voltage data; [0027-0028]).
Regarding Claim 7, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 1. Sun further teaches the processor is configured to diagnose the state of the BSA, based on voltage evaluation (The BECM verifies conditions of the battery pack voltage is within safe ranges and charge thresholds; [0027]).
Regarding Claim 9, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 1. Sun further teaches the processor is configured to transmit a specified voltage for applying power of the BSA to the BSA, in the virtual environment (The service tool presents instructions to the technician that includes applying power supply voltage to the battery pack with a specified voltage of battery pack voltage plus 5V; [0027]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sun teaches a battery control method, comprising:
transmitting an interlock signal indicating a state in which a battery system assembly (BSA) is mounted on a vehicle to the BSA via an interface (A connector interface that closes the High Voltage Interlock Loop (HVIL) connector with the button from the microswitch indicating the connector is fully seated; [0022] [0025]); and
diagnosing a state of the BSA, in a state in which power relay assembly (PRA) included in the BSA is activated in response to the at least one (BECM closing the main contactors, activating the PRA, to enable power flow and monitoring the battery for faults; [0030] [0033]).
Sun does not explicitly teach a virtual environment corresponding to a real environment in which the BSA is mounted on the vehicle and transmitting at least one of a starting signal indicating that the vehicle is ignition on.
However, Prause discloses a test arrangement for a detached control unit that uses residual bus simulation to simulate vehicle components and transmits wake-up and real vehicle data to maintain the unit’s operation. Prause teaches a residual bus simulation that simulates control units and generates simulated signals to emulate a real environment (Page 2). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation of a virtual environment corresponding to a real environment in which the BSA is mounted on the vehicle because the residual bus simulation generates the necessary signals to trick the component into behaving as if it were installed in a vehicle in a real environment. Prause further teaches transmitting the user interface comprises of a simulated “Engine ON” button to enable the “wake-up” voltage to the master control unit (Page 3). This teaching is equivalent to transmitting a starting signal indicating that the vehicle ignition is on because the user interface sends a wake-up voltage to simulate the engine being turn on. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the off-board service tool of Sun to incorporate the teachings of the residual bus simulation and wake-up routine voltage as taught by Prause based on the motivation to prevent the battery controller from entering failure mode or open the contactors from missing communication signals from the vehicle. This provides the benefit of allowing testing and servicing of the battery pack while the battery is detached from the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 11, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 10. Sun further teaches the transmitting of the interlock signal includes transmitting the interlock signal to the BSA, based on being connected with at least one pin included in the BSA via the interface (A connector interface that includes terminal pin connectors to open or close the HVIL connection and the controller detecting the voltage difference between the terminal pairs; [0014] [0022] [0025]).
Regarding Claim 12, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 11. Sun further teaches diagnose the state of the BSA, based on transmitting the vehicle signal to the BSA (Transmitting a primary or start request to the BECM and detecting issue conditions or faults; [0027] [0033]).
Sun does not explicitly teach generating the vehicle signal indicating a data signal generated by a controller corresponding to the at least one pin.
However, Prause discloses a test arrangement for vehicle control units that simulates missing components in the system. Prause teaches a memory unit that contains instructions for the processor to perform a residual bus simulation that generates signals to simulate a control unit connected to a bus (Page 2). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation because the residual bus simulation functions by generating the data and signals of the vehicle controller that an ECU connected to the bus pins would transmit for the device under test would expect to receive from the vehicle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sun to incorporate the teachings of the residual bus simulation to simulate a control unit as taught by Prause based on the motivation to provide the necessary data and signals that the device under test would expect to receive and properly function. This provides the benefit of putting the device under test in a simulated real world operational environment to obtain accurate testing measurements.
Regarding Claim 14, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 12. Sun further teaches the vehicle signal includes receiving voltage data in response to the vehicle signal from the BSA (The service tool receives pack voltage and bus voltage data from the BECM in response to the start request; [0027-0028]), and
performing integrity verification for the voltage data (The service tool and BECM verifies voltage conditions from voltage data; [0027-0028]).
Regarding Claim 16, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 10. Sun further teaches the diagnosing of the state of the BSA includes diagnosing the state of the BSA, based on voltage evaluation (The BECM verifies conditions of the battery pack voltage is within safe ranges and charge thresholds; [0027]).
Regarding Claim 18, Sun teaches a battery control system, comprising: a battery control apparatus; and a battery system assembly (BSA) (A battery control system that comprises a service tool as a battery control apparatus connected to a battery system; [0003]),
wherein the battery control apparatus is configured to transmit an interlock signal indicating a state in which the battery control apparatus is mounted on a vehicle to the BSA, in a state in which the battery control apparatus is connected with the BSA (The apparatus via the connector transmits an interlock signal, closing the HVIL loop, indicating to the controller that the cable is fully seated; [0022] [0025]),
transmit at least one of a starting signal associated with the vehicle or a vehicle signal associated with the vehicle, or any combination thereof to the BSA (The service tool sends a primary or start request to the BECM; [0027]), and
diagnose a state of the BSA (Monitoring and diagnosing for certain issue conditions and faults; [0033]),
and
drive power relay assembly (PRA) for controlling an output of a battery, based on receiving the at least one of the starting signal or the vehicle signal, or the any combination thereof… (BECM is configured to close the main contactors in response to the start request from the service tool; [0027] [0030]).
Sun does not explicitly teach identify a virtual environment corresponding to a real environment in which the BSA is mounted on the vehicle, based on receiving the interlock signal and drive power relay assembly (PRA)…in a virtual environment.
However, Prause discloses a test arrangement for a detached control unit that uses residual bus simulation to simulate vehicle components and transmits wake-up and real vehicle data to maintain the unit’s operation. Prause teaches a residual bus simulation that simulates control units and generates simulated signals to emulate a real environment (Page 2). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation of identify a virtual environment corresponding to a real environment in which the BSA is mounted on the vehicle, based on receiving the interlock signal because the residual bus simulation provides the signals that allow the BSA to recognize and identify a valid operating environment. Prause further teaches Prause further teaches the wake-up routine is carried out to put the control unit into an operating mode (Page 2). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation of drive power relay assembly (PRA)…in a virtual environment because the simulation ensures that the control unit of the BSA remains in operating mode necessary to close and hold the relays. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sun to incorporate the teachings of the residual bus simulation and wake-up routine as taught by Prause based on the motivation to prevent the battery controller from getting errors or opening the contactors from missing communication signals. This provides the benefit of allowing testing and servicing of the battery pack while the battery is detached from the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 19, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 18. Sun further teaches the BSA is configured to output a voltage corresponding to the at least one of the starting signal or the vehicle signal, or the any combination thereof, based on driving the PRA (The BECM and Battery response to the start request by closing the main contactors to output a voltage; [0027] [0030]).
Regarding Claim 20, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 19. Sun further teaches the BSA is configured to receive voltage feedback data from the battery control apparatus in response to the voltage, and verify integrity for the voltage feedback data (Upon closing the contactors, the BECM receives and monitors the bus voltage against a threshold; [0030] [0033]).
Claim(s) 4, 6, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Prause, as applied in claim 3 and 12, and in further view of Pariseau et al. (US 20120013201 A1), herein after will be referred to as Pariseau.
Regarding Claim 4, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 3. Sun and Prause does not explicitly teach the processor is configured to periodically transmit a connection signal indicating a state in which the BSA is connected with the controller to the BSA to maintain the virtual environment.
However, Pariseau discloses a battery fault handling system that uses a continuous heartbeat signal to verify connection integrity. Pariseau teaches the Battery Management System (BMS) generates a heartbeat signal that is transmitted to the battery module and back to the BMS via fault bus to maintain connection and shut off voltage in the case of a critical issue ([0028]). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation because the heartbeat signal is a periodic signal used to indicate a connection status required to keep the high-voltage connection active.
Sun, Prause, and Pariseau are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of vehicle diagnostics and testing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sun and Prause to incorporate the teachings of the heartbeat signal to maintain connection as taught by Pariseau based on the motivation to provide a “keep-alive” signal for the virtual environment simulation and improve the communication link between the service tool and battery by shutting the connection down when a fault or interruption is detected. This provides the benefit of improving the safety of the system by actively monitoring the connection status of the system.
Regarding Claim 6, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 5. Sun and Prause does not explicitly teach the processor is configured to identify a state of health (SOH) of the BSA, after performing the integrity verification for the voltage data.
However, Pariseau discloses a battery fault communication system where the battery module transmits battery data, including state-of-health (SOH), to the BMS via communication bus ([0016]). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation because the battery data establishes that the SOH is a standard parameter that is monitored by the battery controller to assess the condition of the battery pack. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sun and Prause to incorporate the teachings of obtaining the SOH from the battery data as taught by Pariseau based on the motivation to extend the diagnostic capabilities of the service tool beyond charging faults allowing technicians to determine if the battery pack requires replacement due to degradation. This provides the benefit of a comprehensive health assessment of the battery system using the same data interface.
Regarding Claim 13, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 12. Sun and Prause does not explicitly teach periodically transmitting a connection signal indicating a state in which the BSA is connected with the controller to the BSA to maintain the virtual environment.
However, Pariseau discloses a battery fault handling system that uses a continuous heartbeat signal to verify connection integrity. Pariseau teaches the Battery Management System (BMS) generates a heartbeat signal that is transmitted to the battery module and back to the BMS via fault bus to maintain connection and shut off voltage in the case of a critical issue ([0028]). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation because the heartbeat signal is a periodic signal used to indicate a connection status required to keep the high-voltage connection active. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sun and Prause to incorporate the teachings of the heartbeat signal to maintain connection as taught by Pariseau based on the motivation to provide a “keep-alive” signal for the virtual environment simulation and improve the communication link between the service tool and battery by shutting the connection down when a fault or interruption is detected. This provides the benefit of improving the safety of the system by actively monitoring the connection status of the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 14. Sun and Prause does not explicitly teach diagnosing of the state of the BSA includes identifying a state of health (SOH) of the BSA, after performing the integrity verification for the voltage data.
However, Pariseau discloses a battery fault communication system where the battery module transmits battery data, including state-of-health (SOH), to the BMS via communication bus ([0016]). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation because the battery data establishes that the SOH is a standard parameter that is monitored by the battery controller to assess the condition of the battery pack. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Sun and Prause to incorporate the teachings of obtaining the SOH from the battery data as taught by Pariseau based on the motivation to extend the diagnostic capabilities of the service tool beyond charging faults allowing technicians to determine if the battery pack requires replacement due to degradation. This provides the benefit of a comprehensive health assessment of the battery system using the same data interface.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Prause, as applied in claim 1 and 10, and in further view of Larsson et al. (US 20110288841 A1), herein after will be referred to as Larsson.
Regarding Claim 8, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 1. Sun and Prause does not explicitly teach the starting signal includes a brake signal indicating an input to a brake pedal of the vehicle and a battery signal for starting of the vehicle.
However, Larsson discloses a vehicle simulation system where a vehicle simulation model (VSM) includes a driver model with a driver block that generates the ignition switch signal, the brake pedal signal, and battery voltage signal to simulate a driver starting the vehicle ([0071]). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation because the VSM generates the necessary signals to simulate a driver starting the vehicle in a virtual environment.
Sun, Prause, and Larsson are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of vehicle diagnostics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sun and Prause to incorporate the teachings of the driver block generating the ignition switch signal, brake pedal signal, and battery voltage signal as taught by Larsson based on the motivation to provide the complete and realistic set of driver input signals that satisfies the activation of the battery system. This provides the benefit of testing devices that require the combination of a start and a brake signal for the handshake validation process to continue operation.
Regarding Claim 17, Sun and Prause remains as applied above in claim 10. Sun and Prause does not explicitly teach the starting signal includes a brake signal indicating an input to a brake pedal of the vehicle and a battery signal for starting of the vehicle.
However, Larsson discloses a vehicle simulation system where a vehicle simulation model (VSM) includes a driver model with a driver block that generates the ignition switch signal, the brake pedal signal, and battery voltage signal to simulate a driver starting the vehicle ([0071]). This teaching is equivalent to the claimed limitation because the VSM generates the necessary signals to simulate a driver starting the vehicle in a virtual environment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sun and Prause to incorporate the teachings of the driver block generating the ignition switch signal, brake pedal signal, and battery voltage signal as taught by Larsson based on the motivation to provide the complete and realistic set of driver input signals that satisfies the activation of the battery system. This provides the benefit of testing devices that require the combination of a start and a brake signal for the handshake validation process to continue operation.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent, most relevant, to applicant's disclosure.
Luedtke (US 20150197153 A1)
Yang (US 20130151227 A1)
Oh (US 20130116875 A1)
Yi (US 20240027517 A1)
Conclusion
/EDWARD ANDREW IZON DIZON/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663