DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) {1-2, 6-7}; { 8-9, 11, 13-14} & {15-16} are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim (s) {1, 5, 2 } & {8, 12-14 } & {15, 19} of U.S. Patent No. (12,197,810 B2) and in view of Lafata (US 9,641,576 B2).
Although, the patented claim(s) 8 disclose of the similar features in comparison to the instant claim(s), nonetheless, the prior patent lacked of the additional method as synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on the detecting. However, Lafata et al. disclose of a similar method wherein synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on detecting (col.8 line 60-70; col.12 line 50-67 & col.13 line 1-15/synchronization of inputs prevent echo). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art with detecting of watermark by adding there to such method as synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on detecting so that undesired echo and feedback may be prevented.
Claim (s) 2, 6 in substance disclose of the similar feature as in patented claim(s) 5, 2 respectively.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein synchronizing the first microphone associated with the first device and the second microphone associated with the second device comprises synchronizing the first microphone and the second microphone so that the first microphone and the second microphone operate in a multi-microphone scenario (laf-fig.1 (20); col.12 line 50-67 & col.13 line 1-15).
Although, the patented claim(s) 8 disclose of the similar features in comparison to the instant claim(s), nonetheless, the prior patent lacked of the additional method as synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on the detecting. However, Lafata et al. disclose of a similar method wherein synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on detecting (col.8 line 60-70; col.12 line 50-67 & col.13 line 1-15/synchronization of inputs prevent echo). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art with detecting of watermark by adding there to such method as synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on detecting so that undesired echo and feedback may be prevented.
Claim (s) 9, 11, 13 in substance disclose of the similar feature as in patented claim(s) 12-14 respectively.
14. The system of claim 8, wherein, when synchronizing the first microphone associated with the first device and the second microphone associated with the second device, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform synchronizing the first microphone and the second microphone so that the first microphone and the second microphone operate in a multi-microphone scenario (laf-fig.1 (20); col.12 line 50-67 & col.13 line 1-15).
Although, the patented claim(s) 15 disclose of the similar features in comparison to the instant claim(s), nonetheless, the prior patent lacked of the additional method as synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on the detecting. However, Lafata et al. disclose of a similar method wherein synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on detecting (col.8 line 60-70; col.12 line 50-67 & col.13 line 1-15/synchronization of inputs prevent echo). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art with detecting of watermark by adding there to such method as synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on detecting so that undesired echo and feedback may be prevented.
Claim (s) 16 in substance disclose of the similar feature as in patented claim(s) 19 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2022/0415333 A1) and Lafata (US 9,641,576 B2).
Claim 1, Zhu disclose of a computer-implemented method comprising: connecting, by a first device, to a communication session in which a plurality of devices communicate, the plurality of devices including the first device and a second device (fig.1 (101); par [5, 34]/the plurality of devise participating in the communication session), 9the first device outputting first audio that includes a first audio watermark associated with the communication session, and the second device outputting second audio that includes a second audio watermark associated with the communication session (par [7, 38-39, 44, 141]/multiples terminals and output audio accompany with watermark); detecting, by the first device, the second audio watermark in the second audio output by the second device and generate action accordingly to respectively terminals and based on watermarks (par [44, 81, 182]/each terminal with watermark to detect if in same space based on identifying watermarks).
Nonetheless, Zhu never specify of the action as related to synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on the detecting. However, Lafata et al. disclose of a similar method wherein synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on detecting (col.8 line 60-70; col.12 line 50-67 & col.13 line 1-15/synchronization of inputs prevent echo). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art with detecting of watermark by adding there to such method as synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on detecting so that undesired echo and feedback may be prevented.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first audio watermark includes an identifier associated with the communication session and a first identifier associated with the first device, and the second audio watermark includes the identifier associated with the communication session and a second identifier associated with the second device (Zhu-abstract; par [44]).
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: identifying, by the first device, a type of device of the second device based on the first identifier associated with the first device (zhu-par [44, 50, 97]).
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a message to a server associated with supporting the communication session, the message indicating that the second audio watermark has been detected by the first device (zhu-fig.2 (202); par [44]).
Claim 5, the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein synchronizing the first microphone associated with the first device and the second microphone associated with the second device is performed as mentioned, although the prior art never limit of the synchronization is performed by the server.
However, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the noted module which implement the synchronization by specifying if desired such noted server as also performing the synchronization I for achieving the same result so that undesired echo and feedback may be prevented.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting, by the second device, the first audio watermark in the first audio output by the first device (zhu-par [141, 149]).
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein synchronizing the first microphone associated with the first device and the second microphone associated with the second device comprises synchronizing the first microphone and the second microphone so that the first microphone and the second microphone operate in a multi-microphone scenario (laf-fig.1 (20); col.12 line 50-67 & col.13 line 1-15).
Claim 8, zhu et al. disclose of a system comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors, operatively coupled to the one or more memories, for executing the instructions to cause performance of: connecting a first device to a communication session in which a plurality of devices communicate, the plurality of devices including the first device and a second device (fig.1 (101); par [5, 34]), the first device outputting first audio that includes a first audio watermark associated with the communication session, and the second device outputting second audio that includes a second audio watermark associated with the communication session (par [7, 38-39, 44, 141]/multiples terminals and output audio accompany with watermark); detecting the second audio watermark in the second audio output by the second device and device and generate action accordingly to respectively terminals and based on watermarks (par [44, 81, 182]/each terminal with watermark to detect if in same space based on identifying watermarks).
Nonetheless, Zhu never specify of the action as related to processor as synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on the detecting. However, Lafata et al. disclose of a similar processor perform synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on detecting (col.8 line 60-70; col.12 line 50-67 & col.13 line 1-15/synchronization of inputs prevent echo). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art with detecting of watermark by adding there to such processor perform synchronizing a first microphone associated with the first device and a second microphone associated with the second device based on detecting so that undesired echo and feedback may be prevented.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the first audio watermark includes an identifier associated with the communication session and a first identifier associated with the first device, and the second audio watermark includes the identifier associated with the communication session and a second identifier associated with the second device Zhu-abstract; par [44]).
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform identifying a type of device of the second device based on the first identifier associated with the first device (zhu-par [44, 50, 97]).
11. The system of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform transmitting a message to a server associated with supporting the communication session, the message indicating that the second audio watermark has been detected by the first device (zhu-fig.2 (202); par [44]).
12. The system of claim 8, wherein the first device is a user device and the second device is also noted (fig.1 (101); par [34]).
However, the prior art never specify of a videoconference endpoint. Bu the examiner takes official notice having such a videoconference endpoint is well known in the art . thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the noted terminal for such videoconference endpoint so as to allow video communication.
13. The system of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform embedding the first audio watermark in the first audio (zhu-fig.2 (205 ); fig.4 (404); par [51]).
14. The system of claim 8, wherein, when synchronizing the first microphone associated with the first device and the second microphone associated with the second device, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform synchronizing the first microphone and the second microphone so that the first microphone and the second microphone operate in a multi-microphone scenario (laf-fig.1 (20); col.12 line 50-67 & col.13 line 1-15).
The claim(s) 15-18 which in substance disclose of the similar features as in claim(s) 1-4 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
19. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the first device is a user device and the second device is also mentioned (fig.1 (101); par [34]).
However, the prior art never specify of a videoconference endpoint. Bu the examiner takes official notice having such a videoconference endpoint is well known in the art . thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the noted terminal for such videoconference endpoint so as to allow video communication.
20. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform operations including embedding the first audio watermark in the first audio (zhu-fig.2 (205 ); fig.4 (404); par [51]).
Conclusion
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695