Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim limitations of “ the pixel circuit is formed in a circuit layer comprised of a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, the first through third layers are stacked in order with the first layer being a bottom layer of the stack and the third layer being a top layer of the stack, the first and second transistors are formed across the first and second layers, and the storage capacitor is formed across the first and second layers” cited in claim 1; “the control signal lines are formed on the second layer, and a data signal line is formed on the third layer” as cited in claim 7 and “the control signal lines are formed on the second layer” as cited in clam 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Response to Amendments Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, US 2023/0035245, in view of Wang et al(US 20220277691).
Claim 1
Lin (Fig. 3A, 8B) teaches “a display device, comprising:
a base (800);
a plurality of pixels (22) in a matrix along first and second directions intersecting each other in a display area on the base (e.g., Pixels 22 are arranged in a first and second direction in display 14), the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction (e.g., Horizontal(row) and vertical(column) directions, respectively); control signal lines to supply a control signal to the plurality of pixels (e.g., Lines supplying emission signal EM to control the pixels 22); and
power supply lines to supply an initialization voltage to the plurality of pixels (e.g.,
Lines supplying initialization voltage Vini to the pixels 22), wherein
each of the plurality of pixels (22) includes a pixel circuit having a plurality of transistors (Tgd, Tini, Tdrive, Tdata) and a light emitting element (304) drivable by the pixel circuit (e.g., OLED 304 is driven by pixel 22),
the plurality of transistors in the pixel circuit includes a first transistor (Tini) between the power supply line and the light emitting element (e.g., Tini is positioned between the line supplying Vini and OLED 304), the first transistor being controllable based on the control signal (e.g., Tini is controllable by emission signal EM(n)), the control signal lines, which extend to connect to respective sets of pixels of the plurality of pixels arranged in the first direction, are arranged in the second direction (e.g., As shown in Figure 3C, emission driver circuits EM apply emission signals to the pixels through emission lines that are extended in the horizontal direction and are arranged vertically), the power supply lines(VDDEL, VSSEL), which extend to connect to respective sets of pixels of the plurality of pixels(304) arranged in the second direction(vertical direction), are arranged in the first direction(horizontal direction or row direction)(See Figs. 2, 3A; [0041]); a timing at which the control signal is output is different for each of the control signal lines (e.g., As shown in Figure 3D, the emission signal lines EM are output at different timings); the pixel circuit(22) further incudes a storage capacitor (Cst1), the plurality of transistors in the pixel circuit include a second transistor (Tdrive) (e.g., Driving transistor Tdrive provides VDDEL to OLED) configured to supply current to the light emitting element(304)(see Fig. 3; [0040]), the storage capacitor(Cst1) in the pixel circuit(22) is configured to hold a voltage to control the current supplied by the second transistor(Tdrive) to the light emitting element (e.g., Cst1 stores voltages to control Tdrive; see Fig. 3A; [0040, 0043], and the first transistor(Tini) is connected to the storage capacitor (e.g., Tini is connected to bottom terminal of Cst1)(See Fig. 3A; [0040]); the pixel circuit(22) is formed in a circuit layer(802, 804, 806, 808, 810, 812, 814, 816, 818, 820, 822, 823, 825)(see Figs. 8A, 8B, 9; [0081, 0094]) comprised of a first layer(820), a second layer(823), and a third layer(825), the first through third layers are stacked in order with the first layer being a bottom layer of the stack and the third layer being a top layer of the stack(see Fig.9; [0029, [0093, 0094]), the first and second transistors are formed across different layers(see Fig. 9; [0093], and the storage capacitor(CSt1) is formed across the first and second layers(820, 823)(see Fig. 9 and [0094]).
Lin fails to disclose the first and second transistor are formed across the first and second layers.
Wang et al(US 20220277691) teach a display device comprising a first transistor(M4), a second transistor(T) and a storage capacitor(Cst)(See Fig. 2; [0052]), a circuit layer comprising of a first layer(P3), a second layer(P4) and a third layer(P6) are stacked in order(see Figs. 5, 8, 14-17; [081, 0099, 0105, 0106]) . Wang et al teach the first and second transistors are formed across the first and second layers(P3, P4)(see Figs. 8, 14-17; [0088, 0099]), and the storage capacitor(CSt) is formed across the first and second layers(P3, P4)(see Figs. 8, 14-17; [0099]),
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lin with the above features of Wang et al, since Lin teach the gate of the first and second transistor(Tdrive and Tini) could be different layers or same layer(see Fig. 9 and [0093]), to reduce the thickness, variation and simplify manufacturing.
Claim 3
Lin in view of Wang et al teach the display device of claim 1.
Lin (Figs. 3A, 8B) teaches further comprising:
data signal lines (310) to supply respective data signals to each of the plurality of pixels (e.g., Data lines 310 supply data to the pixels; par. 0045); and
gate signal lines (SCAN1(n), etc.) to supply respective gate signals to each of the plurality of pixels (e.g., Scan lines apply gate signals to the pixels; par. 0036), wherein the plurality of transistors in the pixel circuit include a third transistor controllable based on the gate signal (e.g., Tgd is considered a “third transistor” that is controlled by SCAN1(n)); the data signal lines(310 or 26), which extend to connect to the respective set of pixels(304) arranged in the second direction(vertical direction), are arranged in the first direction (e.g., Data signal lines DL are arranged horizontally)(see Figs. 2, 3A, [0038]) and
the gate signal lines(314 or 28), which extend to connect to the respective set of pixels(304) arranged in the first direction(horizontal(row) direction), are arranged in the second direction (vertical(column) direction)(see Figs. 2-3A; [0038, 0052]).”
Claim 4
Lin in view of Wang et al teach the display device of claim 3.
Lin (Figs. 3A, 8B) further teaches “wherein in each of the plurality of pixels, the data signal is written to each of the plurality of pixels arranged in the first direction (e.g., Data signal D is applied to data line 310; par. 0045), and the first transistor becomes an on state based on the control signal.”
Claim 7
See claim 1 rejection above.
Lin fails to disclose the control signal lines are formed on the second layer and
data line is formed on the third layer.
Wang et al teach a display device comprising a pixel driving circuit(10)(see Fig. 2
) having the control signal lines(Emit) are formed on the second layer(P4)(see Figs.
2, 5, 8 [0052]) and a data line(Data) is formed on the third layer(P6)(see Figs. 2, 5, 8,
[0052, 0080-0081]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have
been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lin with the above
features of Wang et al, so as to reduce the thickness, variation and simplify
manufacturing.
Claim 8
See claim 1 rejection above.
Lin fails to disclose the control signal lines are formed on the second layer.
Wang et al teach a display device comprising the control signal lines(Emit) are
formed on the second layer(P4)(see Figs. 2, 8; [0052]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lin with the above features of Wang et al, so as to reduce the thickness, variation and simplify manufacturing.
Claim 9
Lin teaches a display device comprising the pixel circuit further includes a
storage capacitor(Cst1), the storage capacitor in the pixel circuit is configured to
hold a voltage to control the current supplied by the second transistor(Tdrive) to
the light emitting element(304)(see Fig. 3A; [0040, 0043]), and the first
transistor(Tini) is connected to the storage capacitor(Cst1)(see Fig. 3A; [0040]).
Claim 10
Lin teaches a display device comprising: data signal lines(310 or 26) to supply
respective data signals to each of the plurality of pixels(304 or 22)(see Figs. 2, 3A;
[0039]); and gate signal lines(314 or 28) to supply respective gate signals to each
of the plurality of pixels(304 or 22)(see Figs. 2, 3A; [0039, 0042]), wherein the
plurality of transistors in the pixel circuit include a third transistor(Tdata)
controllable based on the gate signal(314 or 28), the data signal lines(310 or Data),
which extend to connect to the respective set of pixels(304 or 22) arranged in the
second direction(vertical(column) direction), are arranged in the first
direction(horizontal(row) direction)(see Figs. 2, 3A; [0039, 0045]), and
the gate signal lines(314 or 28), which extend to connect to the respective set of
pixels(304 or 22) arranged in the first direction(horizontal(row) direction), are
arranged in the second direction(vertical(column) direction)(see Figs. 2-3A; [0038, 0052]).
Claim 11
Lin fails to disclose the storage capacitor is formed across the first and second layers,
the gate signal lines are formed on the second layer and data line is formed on the
third layer.
Wang et al teach a display device comprising the storage capacitor(Cst) is
formed across the first and second layers (P3, P4)(see Figs. 14-17; [0099]),
the gate signal lines(Scan2) are formed on the second layer(P4)(see Fig. 25;
[0126]) , and the data signal lines(Data) are formed on the third layer(P6)(see Figs.
2, 5, [0052, 0080-0081]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it
would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lin with
the above features of Wang et al, so as to reduce the thickness, variation and
simplify manufacturing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 7-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chai et al(US 20240196680) teach a display device comprising a pixel circuit having a driving transistor(T3), a compensation transistor(T4) and storage capacitor(C) across a first and second layer(M1, M2)(see Figs. 2, 4; [0055]).
Chai et al(US 20240164162) teach a display device comprising a pixel circuit having a first transistor(Tm), a second transistor(M3) and storage capacitor(Cst) across a first and second layer(02, 03)(see Figs. 2, 4, [0041, 0043]).
Yang(US 20240049529) teach a display device comprising a pixel circuit having a first transistor(T1), a second transistor(T2) and a storage capacitor(CL) are formed on a driving array(102)(see Figs. 2B, 3; [0043]).
/LUNYI LAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621