DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim benefits of a Provisional Application. S/N. 63, 546, 669 filed on 10/31/2023.
Claim status
Claims 1-20 are presented for the examination and remain pending in the application.
Examiner Note
The term shortrange wireless communication device has been interpreted in light of the Applicant’s Specification Para. [0042] as “a shortrange wireless communication device that includes an antenna and/or any suitable reader for performing the techniques described herein. For example, such a reader may include an NFC reader, a UWB reader, a Bluetooth reader, and the like.”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is “a shortrange wireless communication device…” in claims 1 and 16.
The limitation “a shortrange wireless communication device” is being treated as a 112f limitation, because it meets the 3-prong test to determine when a limitation is a 112f limitation. First, the term “device” is a substitute or placeholder for “means”. Second, it is modified by functional language, “a shortrange wireless communication device configured to: communicate…”. Third, it is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed functions.”
Because this claim 1 limitation “a shortrange wireless communication device…” in claims 1 and 16 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that (Fig. 6 and Para. [0067]-[0068]) appear to be the corresponding structure to perform the claimed functions.
the hardware devices (i.e., CPU and memory coupled with computing device to perform the function) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 8-10, 12-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0319621 A1, (hereinafter Roy) in view of Briggs et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0312160 A1, (hereinafter Briggs).
Regarding claim 1.
Roy teaches a pool or spa system configured for automated identification of pool or spa equipment (Roy teaches in Figs. 1 & 2, 5, 15 & 16A and 16B and Para. [0095], [0102], [0126]-[0129]), the system comprising:
a plurality of devices of equipment distributed among an area (Roy teaches in Para. [0428] one or more connected pool/spa devices 7102 (i.e., a plurality of devices) located at a plurality of residences or commercial locations distributed across a wide geographic area and further, see Roy Para. [0429]), a first device of equipment of the plurality of devices of equipment comprising a first wireless communication device and a second device of equipment of the plurality of devices of equipment comprising a second wireless communication device (Roy teaches in Fig. 1 and Para. [0095] a plurality of network communication and local control subsystems 12a-12h which could be installed in or connected to a plurality of pool and spa equipment 14a-14h…, Roy also teaches in Para. [0096] one or more smart devices 20 e.g., phone, tablet, computer systems, etc. (i.e., first wireless communication device), via the network 16 and further, Roy teaches in Fig. 2 and Para. [0097] IG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating components of the subsystems 12a-12h in greater detail. As can be seen, a variety of subsystem components…, components that provide network connectivity and remote monitoring…, wireless connections to the pool/spa equipment. For example, a smart telephone could directly connect with pool or spa equipment via a Bluetooth, WiFi, RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave, etc.), or satellite connection, via the subsystems 12a-12h and further, Roy teaches in Para. [0098] the wireless communication subsystem 34 could include a WiFi transceiver 46, a Bluetooth (or Bluetooth LE) transceiver 48, a cellular data transceiver 50, and infrared transceiver 54, and a radiofrequency/RF mesh transceiver 56 (i.e., note that here one of the listed wireless transceivers is the claimed “a second wireless communication device”)); and
pool automation controller (Roy teaches in Figs. 1&5, Pool/Spa Control System 14f/ 114f and Para. [0096] and [0102]), comprising:
a shortrange wireless communication device configured to communicate with the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device (i.e., note that here the term shortrange wireless communication device has been interpreted in light of the Applicant’s Specification Para. [0042] as “an antenna and/or any suitable reader for performing the techniques described herein and thus, Roy teaches in Fig. 2 and Para. [0097] a smart telephone could directly connect with pool or spa equipment via a Bluetooth, WiFi, RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave, etc.), or satellite connection (i.e., a shortrange wireless communication device),…, and further, Roy teaches in Para. [0098] wireless communication subsystem 34 could include a WiFi transceiver 46, a Bluetooth (or Bluetooth LE) transceiver 48, a cellular data transceiver 50, a satellite transceiver 52 (i.e., a shortrange wireless communication device). See also, Fig. 5; [0102] "The pool/spa control system 114f communicates with a remote server, such as the server 118, via a WiFi router 122 and the Internet");
a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions (Roy teaches in Figs. 1 &2 and Fig. 73 and Para. [0496] a processor 22 and a memory 23. Alternatively, the control subsystem 12b could be a hardware processor including a controller in communication with the memory 23 and the differential pressure sensor 7414), to at least:
receive, using the shortrange wireless communication device, a first wireless signal from the first wireless communication device, the first wireless signal comprising a first set of characteristics (Roy teaches in Fig. 1, Pool/Spa Control System 14f connected to Network Communication and Local Control Subsystem 12f, Roy further teaches in Para. [0095] the subsystems 12a-12h could communicate with each other over a network 16, which could include, but is not limited to, the internet and Roy also teaches in Para. [0098] the wireless communication subsystem 34 could include a WiFi transceiver 46 and further, Roy teaches in Para. [0102] network connectivity and remote monitoring/control of pool and spa components is provided by way of a central pool/spa system controller 114f. Note that here the term “characteristics” has been interpreted in light of the Applicant’s Specification Para. [0043] as any suitable value, measure, or the like relating to characteristics of the first wireless signal in the pool or spa system and thus, Roy teaches in Para. [0481] receiving operational data from locally installed pool/spa equipment, remote data (e.g., an off-site or cloud server) and web data…, as shown in FIG. 36, smart light 5014h could include temperature sensor 5000…, water clarity sensor 5008, water level sensor, 5010, water pressure sensor 5012, flow sensor 5014,...); and
receive, using the shortrange wireless communication device, a second wireless signal from the second wireless communication device, the second wireless signal comprising a second set of characteristics (Roy teaches in Para. [0102] it is noted that the network communication and local control subsystem 12h could communicate with pool control logic 70, located in one or more of the pool/spa components discussed herein, using any of the communication protocols discussed herein, including but not limited to, power line carrier, ethernet, RF, Bluetooth, WiFi, and Zigbee. Note that here the term “characteristics” has been interpreted in light of the Applicant’s Specification Para. [0043] as any suitable value, measure, or the like relating to characteristics of the first wireless signal in the pool or spa system and thus, Roy teaches in Para. [0481] receiving operational data from locally installed pool/spa equipment, remote data (e.g., an off-site or cloud server) and web data…, as shown in FIG. 36, smart light 5014h could include temperature sensor 5000…, water clarity sensor 5008, water level sensor, 5010, water pressure sensor 5012, flow sensor 5014,...). Roy as a whole teaches the pool/spa system as indicated above but, Roy does not explicitly teach determine locations within the area of the first device and the second device with respect to the pool automation controller based at least in part on the first set of characteristics and the second set of characteristics.
However, Briggs teaches determine locations within the area of the first device and the second device with respect to the pool automation controller based at least in part on the first set of characteristics and the second set of characteristics (Briggs teaches in Para. [0020] FIG. 1 illustrates a communication scheme of pool and spa equipment of a pool system 100 according to embodiments of the disclosure…, the term “short-range communication” may refer to a communication scheme that is only available for a limited distance from the chlorinator 102. In some examples, the limited distance may be 10 meters, 20 meters, 30 meters, or a larger distance from the chlorinator 102 depending on the specific nature of the antenna 112 used for the short-range communication (i.e., the determination is made based on the distance (i.e., the claimed location) and further, Briggs teaches in Para. [0028] about the chlorinator 102 may communicate with the remote computing device 114 using either a short-range communication scheme through the antenna 112 or through a wireless internet connection through the antenna 110 and the cloud 120... If the remote computing device 114 is within range of the short-range antenna 112, then the remote computing device 114 may automatically communicate with the chlorinator 102 using the short-range communication scheme).
Therefore, Roy and Briggs are analogues arts and they are in the same field of endeavor as they both are directed to the pool and spa receiving operational data from locally installed pool/spa equipment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of using a short-range communication scheme through the antenna ([0028]) as taught, by Briggs into the teachings of Roy invention. One would have been motivated to do so since the system has a transceiver providing short-range communication between a swimming pool chlorinator and a pool and spa system component, such as pool sensor. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium contains instructions that cause a processor to perform operations when executed by the processor. The processor receives a control request from a remote computing device with instructions to control the component, and controls the transceiver to wirelessly transmit control signals to the component. A synchronous rectifier converts an alternating current (AC) power source to a direct current power source so that the chlorinator system has a swimming pool chlorinator that is provided with a transceiver, where transceiver is provided for providing short-range communication between the chlorinator and a pool and spa system component, and which enables to improve efficiency and communication of devices that operate in swimming pools or spas.
Regarding claim 4.
Roy teaches wherein the first set of characteristics comprises at least one of first time of arrival information for the first wireless signal, first angle of arrival information for the first wireless signal, or first time difference of arrival information for the first wireless signal (Roy teaches in Para. [0145] the pump control logic 84 starts or continues the priming period timer and then proceeds to step 1026 where it determines if there is any time remaining… and also Roy teaches in Para. [0152] the pump control logic 84 receives date and time information…, and further, Roy teaches in Para. [0177] the pump control logic 84 for determining and running a mode of operation based on the time of day (e.g., daytime or evening) or time of year (e.g., season) (i.e., time difference arrival information)).
Regarding claim 5.
Roy teaches wherein the first wireless communication device comprises a first shortrange communication device of a same type as the shortrange wireless communication device (Roy teaches in Para. [0097] the pool or spa equipment via a Bluetooth, WiFi, RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave, etc.), or satellite connection, via the subsystems 12a-12h).
Regarding claim 6.
Roy in view Briggs teaches wherein the shortrange wireless communication device comprises a plurality of antennas, and wherein the first set of characteristics comprises first received signal strength indicator information for the first wireless signal and the second set of characteristics comprises second received signal strength indicator information for the second wireless signal (Roy teaches in Para. [0097] the pool or spa equipment via a Bluetooth, WiFi, RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave, etc.), or satellite connection (i.e., antenna) and further, Briggs teaches in Para. [0020] the computing system 104 may control operation of antennas 110 and 112, which are used to communicate with other pool and spa components and with a remote computing device 114. For example, the antenna 110 may be used to connect to a wireless router or to a cellular data network for access to the cloud 120, and the antenna 112 may be used in short-range communication, such as in a Bluetooth® communication scheme and further, Briggs teaches in Para. [0052] the communications interface 722 can transmit the transmission signal to the antenna 110 or 112 and further, Briggs teaches in Para. [0040] about the control signals may instruct the components of the pool system 100 to perform operations identified by a user of the mobile device. For example, the control signals may instruct a pool heater to raise the temperature of the pool to a specified temperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of the pool or spa equipment via a Bluetooth, WiFi, RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave, etc.), or satellite connection (i.e., antenna) ([0097]) as taught, by Briggs into the teachings of Roy invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the control signals instruct a pool heater to raise the temperature of the pool to a specified temperature (Briggs. Para. [0040]).
Regarding claim 8.
Roy teaches wherein a first location of the first device is relative to a second location of the second device (Roy teaches in Para. [0226] pool cover use schedule, etc. Data from related devices 1514 could include data relating to at least the following: pump(s), secondary pump(s), and further, Roy teaches in Para. [0322] the pool control logic 70 carried out with respect to related devices).
Regarding claims 9 and 16.
Claims 9 and 16 incorporate substantively all the limitation of claim 1 in a method and a pool controller and are rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the claim limitation of a pool controller, the prior art of record Roy teaches in Fig. 5, Para. [0102] and Para. [0013]-[0015].
Regarding claim 10.
Roy teaches identifying a first type of the first device based at least in part on the first set of characteristics (Roy teaches in Para. [0040] the control signals may instruct the components of the pool system 100 to perform operations identified by a user of the mobile device);
identifying a second type of the second device based at least in part the second set of characteristics (Roy teaches in Para. [0042] the chlorinator 102 may identify the new control functionalities by detecting a type or types of newly added pool and spa equipment. Based on the types of newly added equipment); and
updating a record for the pool or spa system based at least in part on the identified first type and the identified second type (Roy teaches in Para. [0042] the chlorinator 102 dynamically updating a control menu to reflect control options for the new pool and spa equipment…, the chlorinator 102 can update the control menu in a manner that enables control functionality of various new control features of the newly added equipment. Also, see Para. [0044] and [0061]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 12.
Roy teaches wherein at least one of the first wireless signal or the second wireless signal comprises a first Wi-Fi signal received via a first Wi-Fi network (Roy teaches in Para. [0097] a smart telephone could directly connect with pool or spa equipment via a Bluetooth, WiFi, RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave, etc.), or satellite connection, via the subsystems 12a-12h. Moreover, a home computer could connect to pool/spa equipment using a home WiFi network).
Regarding claim 13.
Roy teaches wherein the locations of the first device of equipment and the second device of equipment are with respect to the pool automation controller communicatively coupled with the shortrange wireless communication device (Roy teaches in Para. [0153] the desired pool turnover rate can be specified by the user and stored in the memory, it is noted that the turnover rate setpoint data it could also be retrieved from the web based on the size, geometry, location of the pool, or any combination thereof…, the pump control logic 84 retrieves pool configuration data on the volume of the pool from the memory).
Regarding claim 14.
Roy teaches wherein the locations of the first device of equipment and the second device of equipment are unique geographic locations with respect to a pool pad (Roy teaches in Para. [0245]-[0246] the lighting control logic 78 determines the geographic location of the pool, e.g., based on IP address or configuration parameters. In step 1880, the lighting control logic 78 receives sunrise/sunset data from the web based on the geographic location).
Regarding claim 15.
Roy teaches wherein the shortrange wireless communication device is configured to communicate using one or more of an ultra-wideband protocol, a Bluetooth protocol, a near field communication protocol, or an Internet protocol (Roy teaches in Para. [0471] wireless communication (e.g., wireless methods 802.11 protocols, Zigbee, ZWave), with pool pad components…, the hub could have web based cloud connectivity to other cloud based devices or systems to allow for enhanced communication and/or enhanced external inputs. The hub could have a communication antenna for RF mesh (e.g., ZWave, Zigbee, Thread, Weave), BlueTooth, etc. to connect to pool and non-pool equipment…).
Regarding claim 17.
Roy teaches wherein the processors are configured to access the memory and execute additional computer-executable instructions to at least prior to receiving the first wireless signal, send, using the shortrange wireless communication device, a third wireless signal to the first wireless communication device, the third wireless signal configured to cause the first wireless communication device to send the first wireless signal (Roy teaches in Para. [0329] pool devices that are not capable of being automated/receiving control signals/are not connected to the system 10, in step 3246, pool control logic 70 could transmit a message to the user (e.g., “Caution—High Winds”) further, Roy teaches in Para. [0165] control logic 84 could also search for signals from any smart utility, radio frequency, WiFi, cellular, Bluetooth, geo-positioning, etc.)
Regarding claim 20.
Claim 20 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 4 in a pool controller system form and is rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the claim limitation of a pool controller, the prior art of record Roy teaches in Fig. 5, Para. [0102] and Para. [0013]-[0015].
Claims 2, 3, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy in view of Briggs further in view of Patrick. CA 3062643 A1, (hereinafter Patrick).
Regarding claim 2. Roy in view of Briggs teaches the system of claim 1.
Roy in view of Briggs does not explicitly teach wherein the first wireless communication device comprises a first wireless tag and the first and the second wireless communication device comprises a second wireless tag.
However, Patrick teaches wherein the first wireless communication device comprises a first wireless tag and the first and the second wireless communication device comprises a second wireless tag (Patrick teaches [On Page. 6, Para. 25] the server element 06 (i.e., the first wireless communication device) used in the method to store and retrieve data remotely uses tags (i.e., note that here tags include a first and a second tags)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of the usage of tags ([On Page. 6, Para. 25]) as taught, by Patrick into the teachings of Roy in view of Briggs invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the system allows to know if the person is well on their way and to know her progress is good who sends their information to the central server. The end of the hook supports the fire extinguisher is straight rather than curved and facilitates installing. The infrared thermal sensor ensures unconscious people are reported and infrared night vision allows monitoring in case of smoke. The unit turns on automatically in the event of a power failure.
Regarding claim 3.
Patrick further teaches wherein the first wireless tag operates according to a first communication protocol and the second wireless tag operates according to a second communication protocol that is distinct from the first wireless communication protocol (Patrick teaches [On Page. 6, Para. 25] the server element 06 (i.e., the first wireless communication device) used in the method to store and retrieve data remotely uses tags (i.e., note that here tags include a first and a second tags) and machinery as well as a host of home automation applications to operate or program the spa or pool, open or close the heating etc.. All accessible from the cell phone or via the Internet. and further, Patrick teaches [On Page 5, Para. 21] all connected wirelessly or wired so as to be able to communicate by means of a transceiver (44) such as a router that can handle WiFi, Bluetooth, NFC and wired transmission such as LAN, for example. Obviously, this part of the technology will change as new communication protocols and hardware are invented).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of the usage of tags ([On Page. 6, Para. 25]) as taught, by Patrick into the teachings of Roy in view of Briggs invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the system allows to know if the person is well on their way and to know her progress is good who sends their information to the central server. The end of the hook supports the fire extinguisher is straight rather than curved and facilitates installing. The infrared thermal sensor ensures unconscious people are reported and infrared night vision allows monitoring in case of smoke. The unit turns on automatically in the event of a power failure.
Regarding claim 18.
Claim 18 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 2 in a pool controller system form and is rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the claim limitation of a pool controller, the prior art of record Roy teaches in Fig. 5, Para. [0102] and Para. [0013]-[0015].
Regarding claim 19.
Claim 19 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 3 in a pool controller system form and is rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, regarding the claim limitation of a pool controller, the prior art of record Roy teaches in Fig. 5, Para. [0102] and Para. [0013]-[0015].
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy in view of Briggs further in view of Hill et al. 2014/0342724 A1, (hereinafter Hill).
Regarding claim 7. Roy in view of Briggs teaches the system of claim 6.
Roy in view of Briggs does not explicitly teach wherein determining the locations of the first device and the second device comprises using triangulation and the first and second set of characteristics.
However, Hill teaches wherein determining the locations of the first device and the second device comprises using triangulation and the first and second set of characteristics (Hill teaches in Para. [0074] using radio frequency signal strengths recognized it is possible to generate a map of where each device is located in a geographical space. Through triangulation, a node in a mesh network can pinpoint its location relative to multiple other nodes. This triangulation generates a perspective of devices by the strength of radio frequency attenuation. In doing so, the nodes generate a basic map of their physical location in a space and further, Hill teaches in Para. [0100] pumping for multiple heating loops. Some controllers must also differentiate between homes and commercial applications as well as alternative uses such as swimming pools and spas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of the triangulation generates a perspective of devices by the strength of radio frequency attenuation ([0074]) as taught, by Hill into the teachings of Roy in view of Briggs invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the method enables maintaining overall efficiency while providing simple installation solutions, thus eliminating a need to concern about a polarity of connections to LED drivers. The method enables installing distributed control and wireless communication systems with simpler set-up and straightforward, thus increasing installation success rate and lowering the costs of installation. The method enables utilizing a hot water controller that offers accurate temperature control of tanks to ensure comfort and convenience with the maximum energy efficiency. The method enables tracking performance data that allows users to make better decisions, thus maximizing energy conservation.
Regarding claim 11. Roy in view of Briggs teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 9.
Roy further teaches generating location information corresponding to the locations of the first device and the second device (Roy teaches in Para. [0164] control logic 84 could then retrieve additional information (e.g., specifications, setpoints, warranty information, etc.) on the scanned equipment from a remote location (e.g., a remote server) using any suitable communication protocol described herein (e.g., accessing the internet vial a home WiFi router)); and
providing the location information for presentation at a display of the pool automation controller or a user device in network communication with the pool automation controller (Roy teaches in Para. [0352] pool control logic 70 could receive the equipment bar code data scanned by the smart device. In step 3588, an application on the smart device receives equipment information (e.g., web data from the equipment manufacturer). In step 3590, the application displays critical equipment requirements (e.g., plumbing size, flow, clearance, etc.). In step 3592, the application receives information on existing equipment at the same location/site).
Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Potucek et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0144546 A1) which discloses in Para. [0013] the network connectivity and remote monitoring/control of pool and spa equipment is provided by a network communication and local control subsystem installed in pool/spa equipment and further discloses in Fig. 1 and Para. [0092] a plurality of network communication and local control subsystems 12a-12h which could be installed in or connected to a plurality of pool and spa equipment 14a-14h, so as to provide network connectivity and remote monitoring and control of the pool and spa equipment 14a-14h.
MacCallum et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0314243 A1) which discloses in Para. [0003] a system may include a plurality of pool or spa devices, a wireless transceiver, a control system coupled to a remote device via an electronic communication network and the wireless transceiver, the control system being configured to selectively control a plurality of circuits of the plurality of pool or spa devices…Further, discloses in Para. [0038] the IoT devices of the pool/spa devices 110 may communicate with the servers 136 and/or remote user devices 134 via electronic communication between the control system load center 102 and the pool/spa devices 110 (e.g., via serial ports 106 of the control system load center 102, and/or a wireless transceiver, such as wireless transceiver 114), via communication between the control system load center 102…
Brown et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0388627 A1) which discloses in Para. [0044] remote server computing devices 160, which may be deployed in one or more data centers, for example, in a particular geographic location or dispersed throughout several geographic locations.
Conclusion
/BERHANU SHITAYEWOLDETSADIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2455