DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seveik et al. (US 2017/0000291).
In Reference to Claim 1
Seveik (Sev) discloses:
One or more computing devices, comprising one or more processors (See Sev, Paragraphs [0016] & [0024]), configured to:
receive a first signal associated with an electrical current supplied to a motor driving a pump (84) (See Sev, Paragraph [0048]);
determine a speed of the pump (See Sev, Paragraph [0072]);
determine, based on the first signal and the speed of the pump (84), a second signal (See Sev, Paragraphs [0048] & [0072]); and
supply, based on the second signal, the electrical current to the motor driving the pump (84). (See Sev, Paragraphs [0048] & [0072]).
In Reference to Claim 2
Sev discloses:
Wherein the pump (84) is a peristaltic pump. (See Sev, Paragraphs [0007], [0067] & [0072]).
In Reference to Claim 3
Sev discloses:
Wherein the one or more processors are further configured to dispense, by the peristaltic pump, fluid into a mixing chamber. (See Sev, Paragraph [0067]).
In Reference to Claim 4
Sev discloses:
Wherein determining the second signal comprises amplifying the first signal. (See Sev, Paragraph [0110]).
The Examiner notes that the first signal is pump speed based upon a filtered/amplified current.
In Reference to Claim 5
Sev discloses:
Wherein determining the second signal comprises filtering the first signal. (See Sev, Paragraph [0110]).
The Examiner notes that the first signal is pump speed based upon a filtered/amplified current.
In Reference to Claim 6
Sev discloses:
Wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify one or more events associated with the first signal. (See Sev, Paragraph [0048]).
In Reference to Claim 8
Sev discloses:
Wherein the one or more events comprise changes in current draw associated with roller compressions of the pump. (See Sev, Paragraphs [0067]-[0073]).
The Examiner notes that current draw is measured as an event and is associated with the pump and thus the roller compression of the pump.
In Reference to Claim 9
Sev discloses:
Wherein the speed of the pump is a rotational speed. (See Sev, Paragraph [0072] w/respect to RPM).
In Reference to Claim 10
Sev discloses:
Wherein the speed of the pump is determined based on an occurrence of one or more events over a period of time. (See Sev, Paragraph [0048]).
In Reference to Claim 11
Sev discloses:
Wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine, based on the first signal, a flow rate associated with the speed of the pump. (See Sev, Paragraph [0048]).
In Reference to Claim 12
Sev discloses:
A method performed by one or more computing devices (See Sev, Paragraphs [0016] & [0024]), the method comprising:
receiving a first signal associated with an electrical current supplied to a motor driving a pump (84) (See Sev, Paragraph [0048]);
determining a speed of the pump (See Sev, Paragraph [0072]);
determining a second signal based on the first signal and the speed of the pump (84), (See Sev, Paragraphs [0048] & [0072]); and
supply, based on the second signal, the electrical current to the motor driving the pump (84). (See Sev, Paragraphs [0048] & [0072]).
In Reference to Claim 13
Sev discloses:
Wherein the pump (84) is a peristaltic pump. (See Sev, Paragraphs [0007], [0067] & [0072]).
In Reference to Claim 14
Sev discloses:
Wherein the one or more processors are further configured to dispense, by the peristaltic pump, fluid into a mixing chamber. (See Sev, Paragraph [0067]).
In Reference to Claim 15
Sev discloses:
Wherein determining the second signal comprises amplifying the first signal. (See Sev, Paragraph [0110]).
The Examiner notes that the first signal is pump speed based upon a filtered/amplified current.
In Reference to Claim 16
Sev discloses:
Wherein determining the second signal comprises filtering the first signal. (See Sev, Paragraph [0110]).
The Examiner notes that the first signal is pump speed based upon a filtered/amplified current.
In Reference to Claim 17
Sev discloses:
Further comprising identifying one or more events associated with the first signal. (See Sev, Paragraph [0048]).
In Reference to Claim 18
Sev discloses:
A system comprising:
one or more processors (See Sev, Paragraphs [0016] & [0024]); and
a memory coupled with the one or more processors, the memory storing executable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to effectuate operations (See Sev, Paragraphs [0016] & [0024]) comprising:
receiving a first signal associated with an electrical current supplied to a motor driving a pump (84) (See Sev, Paragraph [0048]);
determining a speed of the pump (84) (See Sev, Paragraph [0072]);
determining a second signal based on the first signal and the speed of the pump (See Sev, Paragraphs [0048] & [0072]); and
supplying, based on the second signal, the electrical current to the motor driving the pump (84). (See Sev, Paragraphs [0048] & [0072]).
In Reference to Claim 19
Sev discloses:
wherein the pump is a peristaltic pump. (See Sev, Paragraphs [0007], [0067] & [0072]).
In Reference to Claim 20
Sev discloses:
wherein fluid is dispensed by the pump into a mixing chamber. (See Sev, Paragraph [0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seveik et al. (US 2017/0000291) in view of Horlbeck et al. (US 2014/0297157).
In Reference to Claim 7
Sev discloses the claimed invention except:
Wherein the one or more events comprise positive slope zero crossings.
Horlbeck et al. (Horl) discloses a pump (engine) signal analysis system. (See Horl, Abstract). Horl discloses the one or more events comprise positive slope zero crossings. (See Horl, Paragraph [0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a positive slop zero crossing as an event in the device of Sev, as both references are directed towards pump signal analysis systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that positive slope zero crossings would allow for accurate alignment and tuning of cycle lengths improving pump signal control and analysis. (See Horl, Paragraph [0123]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kato, Tincher, Ortega, Romanyszyn, and Cai show devices in the general state of the art of invention.
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746