Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (and thus its dependent claims) recites the limitation "the bonding state" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6,7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 11,189,507) in view of Cho (KR20220060767A) and Schmidt (US 6,322,119).
Re claim 1, Yu teaches (figure 1, etc.) a die bonding stage for a semiconductor wafer, the die bonding state comprising: a surface plate (not numbered, see figures 1-3,6); a single pair of bridges (not numbered, see figures 2,3,6) installed on the surface plate; and a base (not numbered, under 42 & 43), see figures 2,3,6) installed on the single pair of bridges, wherein the base is in a rectangular frame shape with open center (see figure 6) by integrally combining a horizontal beam and a vertical beam.
Yu has first and second movers 40,40’ but does not mention stators or sliders moving on slider tracks.
However, Cho teaches a device with an interior mounted mover slider 500 with cores interacting with magnet track 400 & outside mounted sliders 300 which move opposite each other limiting vibration on a rectangular base.
Schmidt (figure 3) teaches a guide base beam 26,26a with stators 64,61 & sliders 36,38,40,42 on opposite sides to allow moving units 30,32 to move on opposites of the beam without impeding each other’s desired movement.
Yu seems to have the correct number of supports and bridges, etc. as claimed but the figures and views are difficult to get a clear view. So to avoid potential arguments it is noted that duplication and rearrangement of parts are known to be obvious modifications (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Yu as claimed in order to allow a sufficiently strong support, reduced vibration, and powered controlled & unimpeded movement on both side of the beams to allow desired movement of the sliders and movers.
Re claim 2, Yu teaches a picker unit 41 configured to transfer a wafer chip 70 is installed below the first mover 40.
Re claim 3, Yu does not mention encoders, but Schmidt (figure 3) teaches using encoders 149 on the side of movers 30,32 to track / control position of the movers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Yu as claimed in order to allow tracking and position control of the movers.
Re claim 4, Yu as already modified may have the moving portions (magnet / electromagnet drives) as claimed but for clarity & to avoid potential arguments it is noted that duplication and rearrangement of parts are known to be obvious modifications (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)).
It would have been obvious ton one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Yu as claimed in order to allow controlled movement of the movers as desired.
Re claims 6,7, Yu shows various unnumbered brackets in the figures but does not teach a cable tray. However, Schmidt (figure 3) teaches cable guard 72,73 tray and bracket 28 (figures 2,3) which allows a space for the movers to move and the cable tray to be. Schmidt has the pickers above the movers and cable guard below, but Yu has the pickers opposite, below and so likewise a modification adding the cable guard would have the cable guard / tray above. Further, it is noted that duplication and rearrangement of parts are known to be obvious modifications (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Yu as claimed in order space items to allow space to move and a place for the cables to be protected.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 11,189,507) in view of Cho (KR20220060767A), Schmidt (US 6,322,119) and Kamata (JPH10309071A).
Re claim 5, Yu does not teach the moving portions as claimed. However, Kamata teaches (see figures) liquid (official notice is given that water is a liquid) cooled linear motors with cooling jackets 4,4’,5 through which the coolant flows (through 6) to better cool the motor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Yu as claimed in order to better cool the linear motors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ochiishi (see figures, abstract) teaches a picker with mover with cable tray 18 and rails.
Shibazaki (see figures, abstract) teaches a stage with rectangular base beams, mover & stator.
MICHAEL S. LOWE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/MICHAEL S LOWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652