Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CHINA 201711453932.1 , filed on 12/28/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
This office action is in response to the Preliminary amendment filed 02/21/2025.
Claims 1-10, 11-20, 21-30, 31-40 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. ( US 20190174461, hereinafter, WANG’s 461) in view of Han ( US 20160021516, hereinafter, Han’s 516), and further in view of Yu et al. ( US 20140286222, hereinafter, Yu’s 222).
Regarding to the claim 11, WANG’s 461 teaches an apparatus, comprising:
At least one processor; and
A non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer-executable instruction that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations including:
receiving indication information sent by an access network device (transmitting device) , wherein the indication information (indication information (1 bit) indicates a manner of transmitting multicast data ) [see paragraph 0073] indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner, or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner;
at least one of the following occurs:
if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the unicast manner, receiving multicast service data in the unicast manner [see Figure 8 and paragraphs 0059-0060];
if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the multicast manner, receiving the multicast service data in the multicast manner [see Figure 8 and paragraphs 0059-0060] ; or
if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, receiving the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner.
However, WANG’s 461 does not explicitly teach the multicast service.
Han’s 516, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the multicast service (MBMS) [see Paragraphs 0068 & 0069];
receiving indication information sent by an access network device (base station) , wherein the indication information indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner [see paragraphs 0068 & 0069] , or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of WANG’s 461 in view of Han’s 516 because Han’s 516 suggests that an objective of the present invention is to provide a data transmission method and apparatus, applied to an MBMS service transmission process, so that a dynamic notification message initiated by a network can be received, and when the network needs to send MBMS service data, a UE can receive the MBMS service data in time.
However, WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 do not explicitly teach receiving configuration information sent by the access network device, wherein the configuration information includes information for receiving the multicast service data.
Yu’s 222, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving configuration information sent by the access network device, wherein the configuration information includes information for receiving the multicast service data [see paragraph 0051] , wherein the configuration information comprises:
at least one of configuration information of a multicast bearer (wherein the configuration comprises a multicast bearer) [see Paragraph 0051] , multicast session information corresponding to the multicast bearer, logical channel information of the multicast bearer, or multicast scheduling identifier information, wherein the configuration information of the multicast bearer comprises a mapping relationship between a PDCP layer and a RLC layer of the multicast bearer, and the mapping relationship is one of the following: the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the unicast manner, or the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the multicast manner, or the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to the RLC layer in the unicast manner and the RLC layer in the multicast manner.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516), and further in view of Yu’s 222 because Yu’s 222 suggests that it is enable efficient radio resource transmission, to reduce call setup latency via idle mode reception, and to provide PoC group mobility management to maintain PoC service continuity.
Regarding to the claim 31, WANG’s 461 teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising executable instructions, wherein the executable instructions, when executed by a computer, cause the computer perform operations including:
receiving indication information sent by an access network device (transmitting device) , wherein the indication information (indication information (1 bit) indicates a manner of transmitting multicast data ) [see paragraph 0073] indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner, or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner;
at least one of the following occurs:
if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the unicast manner, receiving multicast service data in the unicast manner [see Figure 8 and paragraphs 0059-0060];
if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the multicast manner, receiving the multicast service data in the multicast manner [see Figure 8 and paragraphs 0059-0060] ; or
if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, receiving the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner.
However, WANG’s 461 does not explicitly teach the multicast service.
Han’s 516, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches the multicast service (MBMS) [see Paragraphs 0068 & 0069];
receiving indication information sent by an access network device (base station) , wherein the indication information indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner [see paragraphs 0068 & 0069] , or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of WANG’s 461 in view of Han’s 516 because Han’s 516 suggests that an objective of the present invention is to provide a data transmission method and apparatus, applied to an MBMS service transmission process, so that a dynamic notification message initiated by a network can be received, and when the network needs to send MBMS service data, a UE can receive the MBMS service data in time.
However, WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 do not explicitly teach receiving configuration information sent by the access network device, wherein the configuration information includes information for receiving the multicast service data.
Yu’s 222, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving configuration information sent by the access network device, wherein the configuration information includes information for receiving the multicast service data [see paragraph 0051] , wherein the configuration information comprises:
at least one of configuration information of a multicast bearer (wherein the configuration comprises a multicast bearer) [see Paragraph 0051] , multicast session information corresponding to the multicast bearer, logical channel information of the multicast bearer, or multicast scheduling identifier information, wherein the configuration information of the multicast bearer comprises a mapping relationship between a PDCP layer and a RLC layer of the multicast bearer, and the mapping relationship is one of the following: the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the unicast manner, or the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the multicast manner, or the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to the RLC layer in the unicast manner and the RLC layer in the multicast manner.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516), and further in view of Yu’s 222 because Yu’s 222 suggests that it is enable efficient radio resource transmission, to reduce call setup latency via idle mode reception, and to provide PoC group mobility management to maintain PoC service continuity.
Claim(s) 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 32, 33, 35, 36, 37, 39, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. ( US 20190174461, hereinafter, WANG’s 461) in view of Han ( US 20160021516, hereinafter, Han’s 516), and further in view of Yu et al. ( US 20140286222, hereinafter, Yu’s 222), and further in view of HE ( US 20150372922, hereinafter, HE’s 922).
Regarding the claim 12, WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222 teach the limitations of the claim 11 above.
However, WANG’s 461 does not explicitly teach wherein the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, and the receiving the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner comprises: receiving, in the unicast manner, multicast service data that has been sent in the multicast manner and needs to be retransmitted
US 20150372922, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, and the receiving the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner comprises: receiving, in the unicast manner, multicast service data that has been sent in the multicast manner and needs to be retransmitted [see Paragraph 0076].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222), and further in view of HE’s 922 because HE’s 922 suggests that it addresses the problem existing in the conventional art that the data throughout of a user is reduced and system resources are congested due to the increase of the LPN cells deployed by the operator or individuals and consequentially guaranteeing the continuity of data services through the offloading of user data to another connection and improving the data service performance of the user and user experience.
Regarding to the claim 13, WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222 teach the limitations of the claim 11 above.
However, WANG’s 461 does not explicitly teach sending multicast service information to the access network device, wherein the multicast service information comprises identifier information of user equipment and identifier information of a multicast service.
HE’s 922, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches sending multicast service information to the access network device, wherein the multicast service information comprises identifier information of user equipment and identifier information of a multicast service [see Paragraph 0076].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222), and further in view of HE’s 922 because HE’s 922 suggests that it addresses the problem existing in the conventional art that the data throughout of a user is reduced and system resources are congested due to the increase of the LPN cells deployed by the operator or individuals and consequentially guaranteeing the continuity of data services through the offloading of user data to another connection and improving the data service performance of the user and user experience.
Regarding to the claim 15, WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222 teach the limitations of the claim 11 above.
However, WANG’s 461 does not explicitly teach sending receiving status information to the access network device, wherein the receiving status information indicates a receiving status of a data packet in the multicast service data; and receiving a data packet that is not successfully received in the multicast service data sent by the access network device.
HE’s 922, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches sending receiving status information to the access network device, wherein the receiving status information indicates a receiving status of a data packet in the multicast service data; and receiving a data packet that is not successfully received in the multicast service data sent by the access network device [see Paragraph 0076].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222), and further in view of HE’s 922 because HE’s 922 suggests that it addresses the problem existing in the conventional art that the data throughout of a user is reduced and system resources are congested due to the increase of the LPN cells deployed by the operator or individuals and consequentially guaranteeing the continuity of data services through the offloading of user data to another connection and improving the data service performance of the user and user experience.
Regarding to the claim 16, WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222 teach the limitations of the claim 11 above.
However, WANG’s 461 does not explicitly teach performing packet loss detection at a PDCP layer, to obtain the receiving status information.
HE’s 922, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches performing packet loss detection at a PDCP layer, to obtain the receiving status information [see Paragraph 0076].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222), and further in view of HE’s 922 because HE’s 922 suggests that it addresses the problem existing in the conventional art that the data throughout of a user is reduced and system resources are congested due to the increase of the LPN cells deployed by the operator or individuals and consequentially guaranteeing the continuity of data services through the offloading of user data to another connection and improving the data service performance of the user and user experience.
Regarding to the claim 17, WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222 teach the limitations of the claim 11 above.
However, WANG’s 461 does not explicitly teach wherein the operations comprise: sending the received multicast service data to a PDCP layer.
HE’s 922, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the operations comprise: sending the received multicast service data to a PDCP layer [see Paragraph 0076].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222), and further in view of HE’s 922 because HE’s 922 suggests that it addresses the problem existing in the conventional art that the data throughout of a user is reduced and system resources are congested due to the increase of the LPN cells deployed by the operator or individuals and consequentially guaranteeing the continuity of data services through the offloading of user data to another connection and improving the data service performance of the user and user experience.
Regarding to the claim 19, WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222 teach the limitations of the claim 11 above.
However, WANG’s 461 does not explicitly teach transmitting at least one of the following: negative acknowledgement (NACK) through a physical layer feedback channel, an RLC status report or a PDCP status report.
HE’s 922, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches transmitting at least one of the following: negative acknowledgement (NACK) through a physical layer feedback channel, an RLC status report or a PDCP status report [see Paragraph 0076].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222), and further in view of HE’s 922 because HE’s 922 suggests that it addresses the problem existing in the conventional art that the data throughout of a user is reduced and system resources are congested due to the increase of the LPN cells deployed by the operator or individuals and consequentially guaranteeing the continuity of data services through the offloading of user data to another connection and improving the data service performance of the user and user experience.
Regarding to the claim 20, WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222 teach the limitations of the claim 11 above.
However, WANG’s 461 does not explicitly teach wherein the RLC status report indicates a sequence number (SN) of the multicast service data to be retransmitted; or the PDCP status report indicates the SN of the multicast service data to be retransmitted.
HE’s 922, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the RLC status report indicates a sequence number (SN) of the multicast service data to be retransmitted; or the PDCP status report indicates the SN of the multicast service data to be retransmitted [see Paragraph 0076].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222), and further in view of HE’s 922 because HE’s 922 suggests that it addresses the problem existing in the conventional art that the data throughout of a user is reduced and system resources are congested due to the increase of the LPN cells deployed by the operator or individuals and consequentially guaranteeing the continuity of data services through the offloading of user data to another connection and improving the data service performance of the user and user experience.
Regarding to the claim 32, claim 32 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 12, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 33, claim 33 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 13, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 35, claim 35 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 15, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 36, claim 36 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 16, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 37, claim 37 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 17, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 39, claim 39 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 19, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Regarding to the claim 40, claim 40 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 20, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Claim(s) 14, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. ( US 20190174461, hereinafter, WANG’s 461) in view of Han ( US 20160021516, hereinafter, Han’s 516), and further in view of Yu et al. ( US 20140286222, hereinafter, Yu’s 222), and further in view of LI et al. ( US 20200053802, hereinafter, LI’s 802).
Regarding to the claim 14, WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222 teach the limitations of the claim 11 above.
However, WANG’s 461 does not explicitly teach wherein the multicast RLC layer corresponds to a non-acknowledgement (UM) manner, and the unicast RLC layer corresponds to an acknowledgement (AM) manner or the non-acknowledgement (UM) manner.
LI’s 802, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the multicast RLC layer corresponds to a non-acknowledgement (UM) manner, and the unicast RLC layer corresponds to an acknowledgement (AM) manner or the non-acknowledgement (UM) manner [see paragraph 0314].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( WANG’s 461 and Han’s 516 and Yu’s 222), and further in view of LI’s 802 because LI’s 802 suggests that what is desired is an efficient technique and architecture whereby the core network can distinguish between regular and relayed UE traffic to charge according to predetermined rates.
Regarding to the claim 34, claim 34 is rejected in the same ground, or for the same reasons as claim 14, because both claims have the same claim limitations.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
sending indication information to user equipment, wherein the indication information indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner, or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner;
sending indication information to user equipment, wherein the indication information indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner, or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner;
at least one of the following occurs: if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the unicast manner, sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in [[the]] an access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner; if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the multicast manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner; or if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner.
at least one of the following occurs: if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the unicast manner, sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner; if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the multicast manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner; or if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner and the unicast manner.
Claim 2 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
wherein the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, and the sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner and the unicast manner comprises:
sending, in the unicast manner, multicast service data that has been sent in the multicast manner and needs to be retransmitted.
wherein the receiving manner is the hybrid manner, and the sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner and the unicast manner comprises: sending, in the unicast manner, multicast service data that has been sent in the multicast manner and needs to be retransmitted.
Claim 3 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
determining the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted based on at least one of the following: a way of transmitting negative acknowledgement (NACK) through a physical layer feedback channel, an RLC status report. or a PDCP status report.
wherein the method further comprises: determining the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted based on at least one of the following: a way of transmitting negative acknowledgement (NACK) through a physical layer feedback channel, an RLC status report, or a PDCP status report
Claim 4 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
wherein the RLC status report indicates a sequence number (SN) of the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted; or the PDCP status report indicates a SN of the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted.
wherein the RLC status report indicates a sequence number (SN) of the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted; or the PDCP status report indicates a SN of the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted.
Claim 5 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
sending configuration information to the user equipment, wherein the configuration information includes information for receiving the multicast service data, wherein the configuration information comprises:
at least one of configuration information of a multicast bearer, multicast session information corresponding to the multicast bearer, logical channel information of the multicast bearer, or multicast scheduling identifier information.
sending configuration information to the user equipment, wherein the configuration information includes information for receiving the multicast service data, wherein the configuration information comprises: at least one of configuration information of a multicast bearer, multicast session information corresponding to the multicast bearer, logical channel information of the multicast bearer, or multicast scheduling identifier information.
Claim 6 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
wherein the configuration information of the multicast bearer comprises a mapping relationship between a PDCP layer and a RLC layer of the multicast bearer, and the mapping relationship is one of the following: the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the unicast manner, or the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the multicast manner, and the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to the RLC layer in the unicast manner and the RLC layer in the multicast manner.
wherein the configuration information of the multicast bearer comprises a mapping relationship between a PDCP layer and a RLC layer of the multicast bearer, and the mapping relationship is one of the following: the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the unicast manner, or the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the multicast manner, and the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to the RLC layer in the unicast manner and the RLC layer in the multicast manner.
Claim 7 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
receiving multicast service information from a core network device, wherein the multicast service information comprises identifier information of the user equipment and identifier information of a multicast service.
receiving multicast service information from a core network device, wherein the multicast service information comprises identifier information of the user equipment and identifier information of a multicast service.
Claim 8 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
wherein the sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the unicast RLC entity through the multicast PDCP layer, and sending, by the unicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a unicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the unicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the unicast manner; the sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the multicast RLC entity in the access network device through the multicast PDCP layer, sending, by the multicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a multicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the multicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the multicast manner; and the sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the multicast RLC entity and the unicast RLC entity in the access network device through the multicast PDCP layer, sending, by the unicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a unicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the unicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the unicast manner, sending, by the multicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to the multicast MAC entity, and sending, by the multicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the multicast manner.
wherein the sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the unicast RLC entity through the multicast PDCP layer, and sending, by the unicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a unicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the unicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the unicast manner; the sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the multicast RLC entity in the access network device through the multicast PDCP layer, sending, by the multicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a multicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the multicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the multicast manner; and the sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the multicast RLC entity and the unicast RLC entity in the access network device through the multicast PDCP layer, sending, by the unicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a unicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the unicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the unicast manner, sending, by the multicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to the multicast MAC entity, and sending, by the multicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the multicast manner.
Claim 9 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
copying the multicast service data at the PDCP layer, and storing the multicast service data.
copying the multicast service data at the PDCP layer, and storing the multicast service data.
Claim 10 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
wherein the sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner comprises: sending a unicast scheduling signaling by using a user equipment identifier (C-RNTI), wherein the unicast scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data; and the sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner comprises: sending a multicast scheduling signaling by using a group wireless network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), wherein the multicast scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data.
wherein the sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner comprises: sending a unicast scheduling signaling by using a user equipment identifier (C-RNTI), wherein the unicast scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data; and the sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner comprises: sending a multicast scheduling signaling by using a group wireless network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), wherein the multicast scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data.
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
sending indication information to user equipment, wherein the indication information indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner, or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner;
sending indication information to user equipment, wherein the indication information indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner, or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner;
at least one of the following occurs: if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the unicast manner, sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in [[the]] an access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner; if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the multicast manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner; or if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner.
at least one of the following occurs: if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the unicast manner, sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner; if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the multicast manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner; or if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner and the unicast manner.
Claim 22 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
wherein the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, and the sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner and the unicast manner comprises:
sending, in the unicast manner, multicast service data that has been sent in the multicast manner and needs to be retransmitted.
wherein the receiving manner is the hybrid manner, and the sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner and the unicast manner comprises: sending, in the unicast manner, multicast service data that has been sent in the multicast manner and needs to be retransmitted.
Claim 23 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
determining the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted based on at least one of the following: a way of transmitting negative acknowledgement (NACK) through a physical layer feedback channel, an RLC status report. or a PDCP status report.
wherein the method further comprises: determining the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted based on at least one of the following: a way of transmitting negative acknowledgement (NACK) through a physical layer feedback channel, an RLC status report, or a PDCP status report
Claim 24 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
wherein the RLC status report indicates a sequence number (SN) of the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted; or the PDCP status report indicates a SN of the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted.
wherein the RLC status report indicates a sequence number (SN) of the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted; or the PDCP status report indicates a SN of the multicast service data that needs to be retransmitted.
Claim 25 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
sending configuration information to the user equipment, wherein the configuration information includes information for receiving the multicast service data, wherein the configuration information comprises:
at least one of configuration information of a multicast bearer, multicast session information corresponding to the multicast bearer, logical channel information of the multicast bearer, or multicast scheduling identifier information.
sending configuration information to the user equipment, wherein the configuration information includes information for receiving the multicast service data, wherein the configuration information comprises: at least one of configuration information of a multicast bearer, multicast session information corresponding to the multicast bearer, logical channel information of the multicast bearer, or multicast scheduling identifier information.
Claim 26 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
wherein the configuration information of the multicast bearer comprises a mapping relationship between a PDCP layer and a RLC layer of the multicast bearer, and the mapping relationship is one of the following: the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the unicast manner, or the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the multicast manner, and the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to the RLC layer in the unicast manner and the RLC layer in the multicast manner.
wherein the configuration information of the multicast bearer comprises a mapping relationship between a PDCP layer and a RLC layer of the multicast bearer, and the mapping relationship is one of the following: the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the unicast manner, or the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to an RLC layer in the multicast manner, and the PDCP layer of the multicast bearer is mapped to the RLC layer in the unicast manner and the RLC layer in the multicast manner.
Claim 27 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
receiving multicast service information from a core network device, wherein the multicast service information comprises identifier information of the user equipment and identifier information of a multicast service.
receiving multicast service information from a core network device, wherein the multicast service information comprises identifier information of the user equipment and identifier information of a multicast service.
Claim 28 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
wherein the sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the unicast RLC entity through the multicast PDCP layer, and sending, by the unicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a unicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the unicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the unicast manner; the sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the multicast RLC entity in the access network device through the multicast PDCP layer, sending, by the multicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a multicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the multicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the multicast manner; and the sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the multicast RLC entity and the unicast RLC entity in the access network device through the multicast PDCP layer, sending, by the unicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a unicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the unicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the unicast manner, sending, by the multicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to the multicast MAC entity, and sending, by the multicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the multicast manner.
wherein the sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the unicast RLC entity through the multicast PDCP layer, and sending, by the unicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a unicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the unicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the unicast manner; the sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the multicast RLC entity in the access network device through the multicast PDCP layer, sending, by the multicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a multicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the multicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the multicast manner; and the sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner comprises: sending the multicast service data to the multicast RLC entity and the unicast RLC entity in the access network device through the multicast PDCP layer, sending, by the unicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to a unicast media access control (MAC) entity, and sending, by the unicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the unicast manner, sending, by the multicast RLC entity, the multicast service data to the multicast MAC entity, and sending, by the multicast MAC entity, the multicast service data in the multicast manner.
Claim 29 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
copying the multicast service data at the PDCP layer, and storing the multicast service data.
copying the multicast service data at the PDCP layer, and storing the multicast service data.
Claim 30 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11758612
wherein the sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner comprises: sending a unicast scheduling signaling by using a user equipment identifier (C-RNTI), wherein the unicast scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data; and the sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner comprises: sending a multicast scheduling signaling by using a group wireless network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), wherein the multicast scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data.
wherein the sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner comprises: sending a unicast scheduling signaling by using a user equipment identifier (C-RNTI), wherein the unicast scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data; and the sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner comprises: sending a multicast scheduling signaling by using a group wireless network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), wherein the multicast scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150203. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12150203
sending indication information to user equipment, wherein the indication information indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner, or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner;
if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the unicast manner, sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in [[the]] an access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner; if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the multicast manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner; or if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner.
sending indication information to user equipment, wherein the indication information indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner; if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the unicast manner, sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner; if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the multicast manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner; if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner,
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11259361. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 1 of the application serial number 18931799
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11259361
sending indication information to user equipment, wherein the indication information indicates a receiving manner of multicast service data, and the receiving manner comprises a unicast manner, a multicast manner, or a hybrid manner, and the hybrid manner comprises the unicast manner and the multicast manner; and at least one of the following occurs: if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the unicast manner, sending multicast service data to a unicast radio link control (RLC) entity in an access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner; if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the multicast manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the multicast manner; or if the indication information indicates that the receiving manner of the multicast service data is the hybrid manner, sending multicast service data to a multicast radio link control (RLC) entity and a unicast RLC entity in the access network device through a multicast data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, and sending the multicast service data in the unicast manner and the multicast manner.
sending, by an access network device, configuration information comprising first multicast configuration information and second multicast configuration information to user equipment, wherein the configuration information is used to receive multicast service data; sending, by the access network device, indication information indicating that a multicast manner of receiving the multicast server data is to be used to the user equipment, the indication information also indicating whether the first multicast configuration information or the second multicast configuration information is to be used to receive the multicast service data; and, sending, by the access network device, the multicast service data in the multicast manner as indicated by the indication information
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose the receiving the multicast service data in the unicast manner comprises: receiving scheduling signaling by using a user equipment identifier (C-RNTI), wherein the scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data; and
the receiving the multicast service data in the multicast manner comprises: receiving scheduling signaling by using a group wireless network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), wherein the scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data.
Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the receiving the multicast service data in the unicast manner comprises: receiving scheduling signaling by using a user equipment identifier (C-RNTI), wherein the scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data; and the receiving the multicast service data in the multicast manner comprises: receiving scheduling signaling by using a group wireless network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), wherein the scheduling signaling indicates time-frequency resources of the multicast service data.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412