DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, & 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yook et al. (US 2020/0137889).
In regards to claim 1, Yook ‘889 discloses
A capacitor, comprising:
a capacitor layer including a first electrode layer (100 and/or 110 on surfaces 100a/100b – fig. 2; [0036-0037]) and a second electrode layer (130 on surfaces 100a/100b – fig. 2; [0036]) facing each other in a thickness direction with a dielectric layer (120 on surfaces 100a/100b – fig. 2; [0036]) interposed therebetween; and
a coaxial through-hole conductor penetrating through the capacitor layer in the thickness direction, wherein the coaxial through-hole conductor includes:
a first through-hole conductor (110 extending through 101 – fig. 2; [0036]) electrically coupled to an end surface of the first electrode layer; and
a second through-hole conductor (130 extending through 101 – fig. 2; [0036]) inside the first through-hole conductor and electrically coupled to the second electrode layer,
wherein the first through-hole conductor and the second through-hole conductor are insulated from each other (fig. 2 – 120 is between 110 & 130).
In regards to claim 2, Yook ‘889 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 1, further comprising a sealing layer (150 – fig. 2; [0042]) that seals the capacitor layer.
In regards to claim 3, Yook ‘889 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 2, further comprising an inner wiring layer (110 on surfaces 100a/100b & portion of 141 extending through 150 – fig. 2; [0036] & [0040) inside the sealing layer, wherein the first electrode layer (100 – fig. 2; [0036-0037]) is electrically extended to a surface of the sealing layer via the first through-hole conductor and the inner wiring layer (fig. 2).
In regards to claim 6, Yook ‘889 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 1, further comprising an insulating layer (120 extending through 101 – fig. 2; [0036]) around the first through-hole conductor.
In regards to claim 12, Yook ‘889 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 1, wherein a space between the first through-hole conductor and the second through-hole conductor is filled with an insulating material (120 extending through 101 – fig. 2; [0036]).
In regards to claim 13, Yook ‘889 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 1, wherein an axis of the second through-hole conductor coincides with an axis of the first through-hole conductor (fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1-6 & 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2009/0161298).
In regards to claim 1, Lee ‘298 discloses
A capacitor, comprising:
a capacitor layer including a first electrode layer (112- fig. 6; [0026]) and a second electrode layer (114- fig. 6; [0026]) facing each other in a thickness direction with a dielectric layer (116- fig. 6; [0026]) interposed therebetween; and
a coaxial through-hole conductor penetrating through the capacitor layer in the thickness direction, wherein the coaxial through-hole conductor includes:
a first through-hole conductor (122 and/or 130 – fig. 6; [0024]) electrically coupled to an end surface of the first electrode layer; and
a second through-hole conductor (126 and/or 128 – fig. 6; [0023]) inside the first through-hole conductor and electrically coupled to the second electrode layer,
wherein the first through-hole conductor and the second through-hole conductor are insulated from each other (fig. 2 & 6; [0024]).
In regards to claim 2, Lee ‘298 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 1, further comprising a sealing layer (530 – fig. 6; [0033]) that seals the capacitor layer.
In regards to claim 3, Lee ‘298 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 2, further comprising an inner wiring layer (portion of 122 on bottom surface of 100 and 140 – fig. 2; [0023]) inside the sealing layer, wherein the first electrode layer is electrically extended to a surface of the sealing layer via the first through-hole conductor and the inner wiring layer (fig. 2).
In regards to claim 4, Lee ‘298 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 3, wherein the second through-hole conductor penetrates through both the capacitor layer and the sealing layer in the thickness direction (fig. 2 & 6).
In regards to claim 5, Lee ‘298 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 2, wherein the second through-hole conductor penetrates through both the capacitor layer and the sealing layer in the thickness direction (fig. 2 & 6).
In regards to claim 6, Lee ‘298 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 1, further comprising an insulating layer (124 – fig. 2; [0023]) around the first through-hole conductor.
In regards to claim 9, Lee ‘298 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 1, wherein the capacitor layer has two or more capacitance effective portions and an insulation partitioning portion that partitions the capacitance effective portions when viewed from the thickness direction (fig. 6-7; [0035] – element 530 is an insulation partitioning portion).
In regards to claim 10, Lee ‘298 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 9, wherein at least one of the coaxial through-hole conductor is inside the capacitance effective portion (fig. 6-7).
In regards to claim 11, Lee ‘298 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 1, wherein a width of the first through-hole conductor is smaller than a width of the second through-hole conductor (fig. 2 & 6).
In regards to claim 12, Lee ‘298 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 1, wherein a space between the first through-hole conductor and the second through-hole conductor is filled with an insulating material (124 – fig. 2; [0023]).
In regards to claim 13, Lee ‘298 discloses
The capacitor according to Claim 1, wherein an axis of the second through-hole conductor coincides with an axis of the first through-hole conductor (fig. 2 & 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yook ‘889 in view of Wu et al. (US 2009/0159322).
In regards to claim 7,
Yook ‘889 fails to disclose wherein the first electrode layer is an anode plate including a core portion made of a metal and a porous portion on at least one main surface of the core portion, the dielectric layer is on a surface of the porous portion, and the second electrode layer is a cathode layer on a surface of the dielectric layer.
Wu ‘322 discloses wherein the first electrode layer is an anode plate including a core portion (202 – fig. 2; [0025]) made of a metal and a porous portion (214 – fig. 2; [0025]) on at least one main surface of the core portion, the dielectric layer (204 – fig. 2; [0025]) is on a surface of the porous portion, and the second electrode layer is a cathode layer (206 – fig. 2; [0025]) on a surface of the dielectric layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the electrodes of Yook ‘889 using a porous structure and materials as taught by Wu ‘322 to obtain an increased capacitance and low leakage current.
In regards to claim 8,
Yook ‘889 as modified by Wu ‘322 further disclose wherein the cathode layer includes a solid electrolyte layer on the surface of the dielectric layer ([0025-0026] of Wu ‘322).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yook ‘889 in view of Ida et al. (US 2009/0095511).
In regards to claim 14,
Yook ‘889 discloses wherein an inside of the second through-hole conductor is filled with a dielectric material (150 – fig. 2; [0042]). Yook ‘889 fails to explicitly disclose the dielectric material containing a resin.
Ida ‘511 discloses epoxy used to fill a through hole conductor and cover electrode layers (fig. 8 & 10; [0100] & [0111-0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the protecting layer of Yook ‘889 using a resin as taught by Ida ‘511 to ensure good protection and based on the materials available during manufacturing. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0051749 – fig. 3A US 2002/0017399 – fig. 8; [0050]
US 2016/0088731 – fig. 2-3
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847