DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the claims filed on 14 May 2026. Claims 1, 6, 8, 12, 15, and 29-31 were amended. Claim 7 was canceled. Claims 1-6 and 8-33 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 and 8-33 are rejected under 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Claims 1-6 and 8-33 fall within one or more statutory categories. Claims 1-6 and 8-33 fall within the category of a machine.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Claims 1-6 and 8-33 recite an abstract idea. Representative claim 1 recites:
receive raw lifestyle data collected from different data sources associated with the user including at least a user’s mobile device and/or one or more wearable devices associated with the user, the raw lifestyle data comprising data associated with sleep and physical activity of the user;
process the lifestyle data, including processing daily aggregates … to thereby standardize lifestyle data received from the different data sources and generate a structured timeline by merging the standardized lifestyle data from the different data sources;
process the structured timeline data … to generate a structured, standardized set of daily aggregates comprising sleep data and physical activity time data associated with a specific level of user activity including: 1) sedentary-activity minutes; 2) light-intensity activity minutes; and 3) medium- to vigorous-activity minutes;
analyze … at least the structured, standardized set of daily aggregates of the user … ;
calculate, based on the analysis, a digital biomarker that is indicative of the user’s risk in developing a health condition and/or predictive of the user’s morbidity and mortality risk of a health condition;
output … at least the digital biomarker, personalized health assessments based, at least in part, on the digital biomarker, daily lifestyle tracking content, and one or more user-selectable tools allowing a user to engage in self- monitoring and management, incorporate behavior change interventions, establish goals, and provide gamification to enhance user engagement.
Therefore, the claim as a whole is directed to “predicting patient health,” which is an abstract idea because it is a method of organizing human activity. “Predicting patient health” is considered to be a method of organizing human activity because it is an example of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims include the interaction between a healthcare provider and a patient.
Alternatively, the claims are considered to recite a mental process because the above concepts are capable of being performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the following additional element(s):
a cloud-based digital health platform configured to communicate with one or more user-associated computing devices or software-agent-associated computing devices over a network, the digital health platform comprising a hardware processor coupled to non-transitory, computer-readable memory containing instructions executable by the processor to cause the platform to: [perform the abstract idea listed above];
running a harmonization algorithm;
running a stacking algorithm;
a risk analytics engine running one or more machine learning (ML) models;
wherein the one or more ML models have been trained using a plurality of training data sets, each training data set comprises reference sociodemographic data, reference lifestyle data, and reference health data associated with known health conditions;
an interactive user interface presented to the user via a display on the user-associated computing device.
The additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application. These additional elements, including the elements that broadly recite machine learning principles, amount to merely reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claim 1 does not include additional elements, considered individually or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s), individually and in combination, amount to merely reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, claim 1 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 2 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the platform is further configured to identify user behavior and match the user to closest peers by running a clustering-based segmentation algorithm.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 2 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 3 recites the method of claim 2, wherein:
the platform is further configured to predict user behavior and determine recommended interventions identified as reducing risk in longitudinal timeframe.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 3 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 4 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the known health conditions comprise mental and physical health conditions.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 4 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 5 recites the method of claim 4, wherein:
the known health conditions comprise non-communicable diseases.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 5 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 6 recites the method of claim 4, wherein:
the known health conditions are selected from the group consisting of: mental illnesses; metabolic diseases; cardiovascular diseases; stroke; and cerebrovascular diseases.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 6 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 8 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the digital biomarker is a numerical value ranging from 1 to 99.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 8 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 9 recites the method of claim 8, wherein:
when the value of the digital biomarker is below a predefined threshold, the user’s risk in developing a health condition increases; and
when the value of the digital biomarker is above a predefined threshold, the user’s risk in developing a health condition decreases.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 9 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 10 recites the method of claim 9, wherein:
when the value of the digital biomarker is below the predefined threshold, the platform is configured to generate and provide scientific feedback to motivate the user to increase the value of the digital biomarker.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 10 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 11 recites the method of claim 10, wherein:
said scientific feedback comprises recommendations for increasing sleep and/or physical activity of the user.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 11 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 12 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the mobile device comprises a smartphone and the one or more wearable devices comprise a watch or fitness tracker device, and
wherein the raw lifestyle data comprises physical activity associated with at least user movement.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 12 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 13 recites the method of claim 12, wherein:
the user activity is captured by a motion sensor, wherein the motion sensor comprises at least one of an accelerometer, one or more gyroscopes, and a magnetometer for capturing motion of the smartphone and/or the one or more wearable devices to thereby provide corresponding cadence of the user.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 13 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 14 recites the method of claim 12, wherein:
the raw lifestyle data comprises one or more sets of step counts logged in minute intervals and a corresponding physical activity for each of the one or more step counts, the physical actively being selected from the group consisting of sleep, sedentary activity, low-intensity activity, and high-intensity activity.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 14 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 15 recites the method of claim 14, wherein:
running a harmonization algorithm comprises running a neural network, wherein the neural network has been trained using a second plurality of training data sets, each training data set of the second plurality of training data sets comprises reference step count data associated with known physical activity from corresponding smartphones and wearable devices running different operating systems and/or platforms.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 15 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 16 recites the method of claim 15, wherein:
the neural network comprises a deep learning neural network that includes an input layer, a plurality of hidden layers, and an output layer.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 16 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 17 recites the method of claim 16, wherein:
each training data set is represented using a plurality of features, wherein each feature comprises a feature vector.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 17 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 18 recites the method of claim 17, wherein:
the neural network comprises a recurrent neural network (RNN) with a combination of aggregating model using model stacking.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 18 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 19 recites the method of claim 15, wherein:
processing the lifestyle data by running a harmonization algorithm and a stacking algorithm to generate a structured, standardized set of daily aggregates ensures concordance across different types of devices.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 19 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 20 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more ML models is selected from the group consisting of a linear-based model, a tree-based model, and a neural network-based model.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 20 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 21 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the risk analytics engine is configured to analyze the structured, standardized set of daily aggregates of the user and other user-related information.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 21 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 22 recites the method of claim 21, wherein:
said other user-related information comprises at least one of user gender, user age, user body mass index (BMI), user medical record data, user self-assessment data associated with user sleep, user self-assessment data associated with user mental health, and user diet data.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 22 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 23 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
at least some of the reference lifestyle data and the associated known health conditions for each training data set, of the plurality of training sets of the one or more ML models, are obtained from one or more third-party sources.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 23 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 24 recites the method of claim 23, wherein:
the one or more third-party sources comprise publicly available or subscription-based data sources.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 24 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 25 recites the method of claim 23, wherein:
at least some of the reference lifestyle data and the associated known health conditions are obtained from a large-scale reputable biomedical database and research resource.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 25 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 26 recites the method of claim 25, wherein:
the at least some of the reference lifestyle data and the associated known health conditions are obtained from biobanks.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 26 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 27 recites the method of claim 23, wherein:
association of the reference lifestyle data and the known health conditions are based, at least in part, on National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) guidance.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 27 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 28 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the platform is configured to provide real-time health recommendations and feedback to the user based, at least in part, on ongoing data collection and analysis.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 28 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 29 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the platform is configured to maintain end-to-end encryption of all user-related data collected and stored in compliance with data privacy regulations.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 29 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 30 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the system is configured to integrate and/or communicate with a plurality of third-party health and fitness applications to import additional user-related data comprising dietary habits and blood pressure.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 30 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 31 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the user interface configured to provide health scores, recommendations, and comparative analytics in a gamified format that incentivizes use by rewarding users for achieving personalized health milestones.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 31 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 32 recites the method of claim 31, wherein:
the gamified format comprises a reward-based format including challenges, in which users are rewarded for achieving consistent improved scores.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 32 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 33 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the platform provides multilingual support to ensure accessibility for users across different regions and languages.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 33 is considered to be ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-26, 28, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pauley et al. (U.S. 2021/0104173), hereinafter “Pauley,” in view of Wexler et al. (U.S. 2021/0383925), hereinafter “Wexler.”
Regarding Claim 1, Pauley discloses a system for providing real-time personalized health risk assessments, the system comprising:
a cloud-based digital health platform configured to communicate with one or more user-associated computing devices or software-agent-associated computing devices over a network (See Pauley [0063] system may receive sensor data associated with one or more physiological parameters from at least one physiological sensor, such as a glucose sensor or monitor, smart watch, mobile device, etc. [0070] can include processes for collecting data from user devices, such as a mobile device, digital scale, smart watch, fitness tracker, glucose monitor, or other device capable of measuring physiological parameters associated with the user. See also Fig. 5 and [0101].), the digital health platform comprising a hardware processor coupled to non-transitory, computer-readable memory containing instructions executable by the processor (See Pauley [0081] system can include a processor for operating the various modules stored by the system.) to cause the platform to:
receive raw lifestyle data collected from different data sources associated with the user including at least a user’s mobile device and/or one or more wearable devices associated with the user (See Pauley [0064] system may determine a relationship between physiological factors, such as blood glucose and heart rate, and behavioral factors, such as sleep and activity information, to generate a uniquely personalized health recommendation and determine health risks specific to the user's lifestyle challenges and successes. [0072] system can log parameters that include carbohydrate intake, beverage intake, medicine intake (for example, insulin), activity, sleep, blood glucose values, weight, mood, notes, some combination thereof or the like.), the raw lifestyle data comprising data associated with sleep and physical activity of the user (See Pauley [0106] user input can include activity information and sleep information. [0117] he user's physical activity can include a number of steps taken per day, a type and quantity of cardiovascular exercise, a type and quantity of strength training, a number of waking or sleeping hours in a person's day. See also Fig. 2 “Event Logging” (216) includes sleep and activity sections.);
process the lifestyle data, including processing daily aggregates by running a harmonization algorithm to thereby standardize lifestyle data received from the different data sources (See Pauley [0099] the system can use input data that includes data from any number of sources. [0108] the system can normalize the input information. [0245] The parameters may be associated with a certain number of past days. See also [0214].) and generate a structured timeline by merging the standardized lifestyle data from the different data sources (See Pauley [0274] the information can be formatted into daily trends showing the parameter values as a function of time.);
process the structured timeline data by running a stacking algorithm to generate a structured, standardized set of daily aggregates (See Pauley [0274] the information can be formatted into daily trends showing the parameter values as a function of time. [0186] data can be aggregated by week.) … ;
analyze, via a risk analytics engine running one or more machine learning (ML) models, at least the structured, standardized set of daily aggregates of the user (See Pauley [0076] system can use models learned by a machine learning algorithm for predicting health related parameters. [0089] health risks identified through AI analysis of a database of users. See also [0165].), wherein the one or more ML models have been trained using a plurality of training data sets, each training data set comprises reference sociodemographic data, reference lifestyle data, and reference health data associated with known health conditions (See Pauley [0089] health risks identified through AI analysis of a database of users. [0165] system can analyze input data to learn and identify risk values. The algorithms are trained using genetic, behavioral, or physiological health data. [0064] system can determine a relationship by accessing relationship data from an external, cloud-based, or third party source. The system may download or access NIH, WHO, or other third party information relating to the relationship between a physiological factor, such as obesity, and a disease, such as a heart disease.);
calculate, based on the analysis, a digital biomarker that is indicative of the user’s risk in developing a health condition and/or predictive of the user’s morbidity and mortality risk of a health condition (See Pauley [0079] can include a process to predict a future health condition of the user based on the user data from the one or more coaching modules. The prediction can include any number of statistics, risks, models, or other predictive data associated with the health of the user. [0085] if a health risk determined by analytics engine is that the user is at a 75% risk of type 2 diabetes. [0109] the system can predict one or more physiological parameter values associated with a user based on analyzing input data.); and
output, via an interactive user interface presented to the user via a display on the user-associated computing device (See Pauley [0065] system output can include an output device such as a user's mobile device, which a user may be likely to interact with on a consistent basis.), at least the digital biomarker, personalized health assessments based, at least in part, on the digital biomarker (See Pauley [0079] can include a process to predict a future health condition of the user based on the user data from the one or more coaching modules. The prediction can include any number of statistics, risks, models, or other predictive data associated with the health of the user. [0085] if a health risk determined by analytics engine is that the user is at a 75% risk of type 2 diabetes. [0109] the system can predict one or more physiological parameter values associated with a user based on analyzing input data.), daily lifestyle tracking content, and one or more user-selectable tools (See Pauley Fig. 18C shows meal tracking. Fig. 18D shows medication tracking. Fig. 18E shows sleep tracking. These all meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of “daily lifestyle tracking content and user selectable tools.) allowing a user to engage in self- monitoring and management, incorporate behavior change interventions, establish goals, and provide gamification to enhance user engagement (Examiner notes that the language above describing non-functional descriptive language is given no patentable weight as is the non-limiting intended result which merely describes a desired result from use of the recited structure, and is given no patentable weight.).
Pauley does not disclose:
[the daily aggregates] comprising sleep data and physical activity time data associated with a specific level of user activity including: 1) sedentary-activity minutes; 2) light-intensity activity minutes; and 3) medium- to vigorous-activity minutes.
Wexler teaches:
[the daily aggregates] comprising sleep data and physical activity time data associated with a specific level of user activity including: 1) sedentary-activity minutes; 2) light-intensity activity minutes; and 3) medium- to vigorous-activity minutes (See Wexler [0020] input data for the system includes physical activity or exercise data (e.g., time and/or duration of activity; activity type such as walking, running, swimming; strenuousness of the activity such as low, moderate, high; etc.). The activity level categorizes of low, medium, and high meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of “1) sedentary-activity minutes; 2) light-intensity activity minutes; and 3) medium- to vigorous-activity minutes.”).
The system of Wexler is applicable to the disclosure of Pauley as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to monitoring and providing personalized health recommendations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pauley to include the physical parameter and neural network elements as taught by Wexler. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Pauley because there is a need for improved systems and methods for biomonitoring and/or providing personalized healthcare recommendations or information for the treatment of diabetes and other chronic conditions (see Wexler [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the platform is further configured to identify user behavior and match the user to closest peers (See Pauley [0327] leaderboard of related users. The leaderboard can include data associated with where a user lies in relation to a group of users.) … .
Pauley does not disclose:
by running a clustering-based segmentation algorithm.
Wexler teaches:
by running a clustering-based segmentation algorithm (Wexler [0030] system can use clustering algorithms for analyzing the input information.).
The system of Wexler is applicable to the disclosure of Pauley as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to monitoring and providing personalized health recommendations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pauley to include the physical parameter and neural network elements as taught by Wexler. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Pauley because there is a need for improved systems and methods for biomonitoring and/or providing personalized healthcare recommendations or information for the treatment of diabetes and other chronic conditions (see Wexler [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 2 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the platform is further configured to predict user behavior and determine recommended interventions identified as reducing risk in longitudinal timeframe (See Pauley [0078] can include processes for analyzing user data, determining recommendations based on the user data, or other processes related to recommending user or healthcare provider actions to improve a user's health.).
Regarding claim 4, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the known health conditions comprise mental and physical health conditions (See Pauley [0003] system used for reducing their health risk for so-called lifestyle diseases, such as heart disease, stroke, and type 2 diabetes. [0072] collected data includes data related to the physical health, mental health. Therefore, any conditions determined by the system that include mental health parameters can be considered mental health conditions, under its broadest reasonable interpretation.).
Regarding claim 5, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 4 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the known health conditions comprise non-communicable diseases (See Pauley [0003] system used for reducing their health risk for so-called lifestyle diseases, such as heart disease, stroke, and type 2 diabetes.).
Regarding claim 6, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 4 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the known health conditions are selected from the group consisting of: mental illnesses; metabolic diseases; cardiovascular diseases; stroke; and cerebrovascular diseases (See Pauley [0003] system used for reducing their health risk for so-called lifestyle diseases, such as heart disease, stroke, and type 2 diabetes.).
Regarding claim 8, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the digital biomarker is a numerical value ranging from 1 to 99 (See Pauley [0024] The scaled score can include a value between 1 and 10. The scaled score can include a percentage value between 0 and 100 percent. The first health condition can be associated with a user health goal. This meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of a numerical value ranging from 1 to 99. See also [0085].).
Regarding claim 9, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 8 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
when the value of the digital biomarker is below a predefined threshold, the user’s risk in developing a health condition increases (See Pauley [0156] system can determine that a user's GluScore or glucose score is associated with a threshold risk of certain health conditions, such as diabetes or heart disease.); and
when the value of the digital biomarker is above a predefined threshold, the user’s risk in developing a health condition decreases (See Pauley [0156] system can determine that a user's GluScore or glucose score is associated with a threshold risk of certain health conditions, such as diabetes or heart disease.).
Regarding claim 10, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 9 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
when the value of the digital biomarker is below the predefined threshold, the platform is configured to generate and provide scientific feedback (See Pauley [0178] the system can make recommendations based on the health score exceeding a threshold.) to motivate the user to increase the value of the digital biomarker (non-limiting intended result which merely describes a desired result from use of the recited structure, and is given no patentable weight.).
Regarding claim 11, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 10 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
said scientific feedback comprises recommendations for increasing sleep and/or physical activity of the user (See Pauley [0078] can include processes for analyzing user data, determining recommendations based on the user data, or other processes related to recommending user or healthcare provider actions to improve a user's health. See also [0179] and [0192].).
Regarding claim 12, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the mobile device comprises a smartphone and the one or more wearable devices comprise a watch or fitness tracker device (See Pauley [0063] system may receive sensor data associated with one or more physiological parameters from at least one physiological sensor, such as a glucose sensor or monitor, smart watch, mobile device, etc.), and
wherein the raw lifestyle data comprises physical activity associated with at least user movement (See Pauley [0099] monitor or track user activity. For example, the device application data can include step counters, location trackers.).
Regarding claim 13, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 12 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the user activity is captured by a motion sensor (See Pauley [0099] monitor or track user activity. For example, the device application data can include step counters, location trackers.).
Pauley does not disclose:
wherein the motion sensor comprises at least one of an accelerometer, one or more gyroscopes, and a magnetometer for capturing motion of the smartphone and/or the one or more wearable devices to thereby provide corresponding cadence of the user.
Wexler teaches:
wherein the motion sensor comprises at least one of an accelerometer, one or more gyroscopes, and a magnetometer for capturing motion of the smartphone and/or the one or more wearable devices to thereby provide corresponding cadence of the user (See Wexler [0018] the system can collect data from the user device including location, acceleration, velocity, orientation, a change thereof over time. This is understood to be motion data collected with the use of at least an accelerometer.).
The system of Wexler is applicable to the disclosure of Pauley as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to monitoring and providing personalized health recommendations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pauley to include the physical parameter and neural network elements as taught by Wexler. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Pauley because there is a need for improved systems and methods for biomonitoring and/or providing personalized healthcare recommendations or information for the treatment of diabetes and other chronic conditions (see Wexler [0004]).
Regarding claim 14, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 12 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the raw lifestyle data comprises one or more sets of step counts logged in minute intervals and a corresponding physical activity for each of the one or more step counts, the physical actively being selected from the group consisting of sleep, sedentary activity, low-intensity activity, and high-intensity activity (See Pauley [0099] input data can include step counts. [0177] activity data can include the user's physical activity can include a number of steps taken per day, a type and quantity of cardiovascular exercise, a type and quantity of strength training, a number of waking or sleeping hours in a person's day, the like, or some combination thereof. [0192] a lower than minimum number of active minutes over a period of time, such as a week, a lower recorded intensity of physical activity over a period of time, a detected period of inactivity, or a detection that a goal is reached.).
Regarding claim 15, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 14 as discussed above. Pauley does not further disclose a system, wherein:
running a harmonization algorithm comprises running a neural network, wherein the neural network has been trained using a second plurality of training data sets, each training data set of the second plurality of training data sets comprises reference step count data associated with known physical activity from corresponding smartphones and wearable devices running different operating systems and/or platforms.
Wexler teaches:
running a harmonization algorithm comprises running a neural network (See Wexler [0030] the system can use deep learning algorithms such as recurrent neural networks.), wherein the neural network has been trained using a second plurality of training data sets, each training data set of the second plurality of training data sets comprises reference step count data associated with known physical activity from corresponding smartphones and wearable devices running different operating systems and/or platforms (See Wexler [0067] system can classify users into steps user classes [0070] in order for the system to train the model on users with realistic parameters, one or more databases can be accessed to obtain numbers of steps for users of a step-tracking software application.).
The system of Wexler is applicable to the disclosure of Pauley as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to monitoring and providing personalized health recommendations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pauley to include the physical parameter and neural network elements as taught by Wexler. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Pauley because there is a need for improved systems and methods for biomonitoring and/or providing personalized healthcare recommendations or information for the treatment of diabetes and other chronic conditions (see Wexler [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 15 as discussed above. Pauley does not further disclose a system, wherein:
the neural network comprises a deep learning neural network that includes an input layer, a plurality of hidden layers, and an output layer.
Wexler teaches:
the neural network comprises a deep learning neural network that includes an input layer, a plurality of hidden layers, and an output layer (See Wexler [0030] the system can use deep learning algorithms such as recurrent neural networks.).
The system of Wexler is applicable to the disclosure of Pauley as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to monitoring and providing personalized health recommendations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pauley to include the physical parameter and neural network elements as taught by Wexler. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Pauley because there is a need for improved systems and methods for biomonitoring and/or providing personalized healthcare recommendations or information for the treatment of diabetes and other chronic conditions (see Wexler [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 16 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
each training data set is represented using a plurality of features, wherein each feature comprises a feature vector (See Pauley [0165] the system can make the risk determinations using machine learning algorithms, such as a neural network, support vector machine, Bayesian network, genetic algorithm, or other data analysis algorithm. Training data sets for machine learning are understood to include feature vectors.).
Regarding claim 18, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 17 as discussed above. Pauley does not further disclose a system, wherein:
the neural network comprises a recurrent neural network (RNN) with a combination of aggregating model using model stacking.
Wexler teaches:
the neural network comprises a recurrent neural network (RNN) with a combination of aggregating model using model stacking (See Wexler [0030] the system can use deep learning algorithms such as recurrent neural networks.).
The system of Wexler is applicable to the disclosure of Pauley as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to monitoring and providing personalized health recommendations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pauley to include the physical parameter and neural network elements as taught by Wexler. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Pauley because there is a need for improved systems and methods for biomonitoring and/or providing personalized healthcare recommendations or information for the treatment of diabetes and other chronic conditions (see Wexler [0004]).
Regarding claim 19, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 15 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
processing the lifestyle data by running a harmonization algorithm and a stacking algorithm to generate a structured, standardized set of daily aggregates ensures concordance across different types of devices (See Pauley [0063] system may receive sensor data associated with one or more physiological parameters from at least one physiological sensor, such as a glucose sensor or monitor, smart watch, mobile device, etc. [0070] can include processes for collecting data from user devices, such as a mobile device, digital scale, smart watch, fitness tracker, glucose monitor, or other device capable of measuring physiological parameters associated with the user. See also Fig. 5 and [0101].) (Examiner notes that this is a non-limiting intended result which merely describes a desired result from use of the recited structure, and is given no patentable weight.).
Regarding claim 20, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the one or more ML models is selected from the group consisting of a linear-based model, a tree-based model, and a neural network-based model (See Pauley [0165] the system can make the risk determinations using machine learning algorithms, such as a neural network, support vector machine, Bayesian network, genetic algorithm, or other data analysis algorithm.).
Regarding claim 21, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the risk analytics engine is configured to analyze the structured, standardized set of daily aggregates of the user and other user-related information (See Pauley [0089] system can use collected health data and BMI as part of risk calculation. [0103] the input data can include data from health records. [0106] user input can include activity information and sleep information as well as food intake information.).
Regarding claim 22, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 21 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
said other user-related information comprises at least one of user gender, user age, user body mass index (BMI), user medical record data, user self-assessment data associated with user sleep, user self-assessment data associated with user mental health, and user diet data (See Pauley [0071] event logging module 216 can include a diary, form, questionnaire, or other data log for a user, a user's device, another party, or application to input one or more parameters associated with the user. [0089] system can use collected health data and BMI as part of risk calculation. [0103] the input data can include data from health records. [0106] user input can include activity information and sleep information as well as food intake information. Fig. 6A and [0119] system can include user gender in the calculation.).
Regarding claim 23, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
at least some of the reference lifestyle data and the associated known health conditions for each training data set, of the plurality of training sets of the one or more ML models, are obtained from one or more third-party sources (See Pauley [0098] input data can come from one or more third party systems. [0064] may determine a relationship by accessing relationship data from an external, cloud-based, or third party source. For example, a system may download or access NIH, WHO, or other third party information relating to the relationship between a physiological factor, such as obesity, and a disease, such as a heart disease.).
Regarding claim 24, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 23 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the one or more third-party sources comprise publicly available or subscription-based data sources (See Pauley [0098] input data can come from one or more third party systems. [0064] may determine a relationship by accessing relationship data from an external, cloud-based, or third party source. For example, a system may download or access NIH, WHO, or other third party information relating to the relationship between a physiological factor, such as obesity, and a disease, such as a heart disease.).
Regarding claim 25, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 23 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
at least some of the reference lifestyle data and the associated known health conditions are obtained from a large-scale reputable biomedical database and research resource (See Pauley [0098] input data can come from one or more third party systems. [0064] may determine a relationship by accessing relationship data from an external, cloud-based, or third party source. For example, a system may download or access NIH, WHO, or other third party information relating to the relationship between a physiological factor, such as obesity, and a disease, such as a heart disease.).
Regarding claim 26, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 25 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the at least some of the reference lifestyle data and the associated known health conditions are obtained from biobanks (See Pauley [0098] input data can come from one or more third party systems. [0064] may determine a relationship by accessing relationship data from an external, cloud-based, or third party source. For example, a system may download or access NIH, WHO, or other third party information relating to the relationship between a physiological factor, such as obesity, and a disease, such as a heart disease. Both WHO and NIH are understood to maintain biobanks of information for research.).
Regarding claim 28, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the platform is configured to provide real-time health recommendations and feedback to the user based, at least in part, on ongoing data collection and analysis (See Pauley [0092] data may be output periodically, continuously, or on demand. This is understood to include “real-time.” [0078] can include processes for analyzing user data, determining recommendations based on the user data, or other processes related to recommending user or healthcare provider actions to improve a user's health.).
Regarding claim 30, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the system is configured to integrate and/or communicate with a plurality of third-party health and fitness applications to import additional user-related data comprising dietary habits and blood pressure (See Pauley [0070] include processes for integration with third party applications or for collecting third party data associated with the user. The third party application integration can include integration with applications that track and collect user data, such as food logging applications, shopping applications, weight tracking applications, healthcare applications, location mapping applications, or other applications that collect user data. See also [0064] and [0257].).
Regarding claim 31, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the user interface configured to provide health scores, recommendations, and comparative analytics in a gamified format (See Pauley [0066] The data may be anonymous or user specific. In some configurations, the sharing may be part of an incentive program for the user, such as a program to lower insurance premiums if the user agrees to participate in the personal health coaching system. [0073] a health coaching system can include goals, achievements, rewards, points, or other metrics to encourage a user to continue engagement with the health coaching system. the processes for rewarding can include unlocking features of the user application, providing monetary rewards or discounts to the user, or facilitating user access to other incentives or rewards. See also Fig. 22B.) that incentivizes use by rewarding users for achieving personalized health milestones (Examiner notes that the language above describing non-functional descriptive language is given no patentable weight as is the non-limiting intended result which merely describes a desired result from use of the recited structure, and is given no patentable weight.).
Regarding claim 32, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 31 as discussed above. Pauley further discloses a system, wherein:
the gamified format comprises a reward-based format including challenges, in which users are rewarded for achieving consistent improved scores (See Pauley [0066] The data may be anonymous or user specific. In some configurations, the sharing may be part of an incentive program for the user, such as a program to lower insurance premiums if the user agrees to participate in the personal health coaching system. [0073] a health coaching system can include goals, achievements, rewards, points, or other metrics to encourage a user to continue engagement with the health coaching system. the processes for rewarding can include unlocking features of the user application, providing monetary rewards or discounts to the user, or facilitating user access to other incentives or rewards. [0087] can provide third party rewards, provide monetary rewards or discounts to the user, or facilitate user access to other incentives or rewards. See also Fig. 26A.).
Claims 27, 29, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pauley et al. (U.S. 2021/0104173), hereinafter “Pauley,” in view of Wexler et al. (U.S. 2021/0383925), hereinafter “Wexler,” and further in view of Fedichev et al. (U.S. 2019/0365332), hereinafter “Fedichev.”
Regarding claim 27, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 23 as discussed above. Pauley does not further disclose a system, wherein:
association of the reference lifestyle data and the known health conditions are based, at least in part, on National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) guidance.
Fedichev teaches:
association of the reference lifestyle data and the known health conditions are based, at least in part, on National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) guidance (See Fedichev [0461] the system can use NHANES data for building and testing the evaluation pipeline.).
The system of Fedichev is applicable to the disclosure of Pauley in view of Wexler as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to determining wellness in connection to type 2 diabetes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pauley to include various extra elements as taught by Fedichev. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Pauley in order to because it would be advantageous to have more accurate methods and apparatus for accurate assessment of health and wellness parameters capable of being used on a population without the need to attend specialized health or research centers and without interfering with one's routine daily life (see Fedichev [0006]).
Regarding claim 29, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley does not further disclose a system, wherein:
the platform is configured to maintain end-to-end encryption of all user-related data collected and stored in compliance with data privacy regulations.
Fedichev teaches:
the platform is configured to maintain end-to-end encryption of all user-related data collected and stored in compliance with data privacy regulations (See Fedichev [0492] collected data can be transferred over network and stored with HIPAA compliance.).
The system of Fedichev is applicable to the disclosure of Pauley in view of Wexler as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to determining wellness in connection to type 2 diabetes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pauley to include various extra elements as taught by Fedichev. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Pauley in order to because it would be advantageous to have more accurate methods and apparatus for accurate assessment of health and wellness parameters capable of being used on a population without the need to attend specialized health or research centers and without interfering with one's routine daily life (see Fedichev [0006]).
Regarding claim 33, Pauley in view of Wexler discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Pauley does not further disclose a system, wherein:
the platform provides multilingual support to ensure accessibility for users across different regions and languages.
Fedichev teaches:
the platform provides multilingual support (See Fedichev [0289] system can output wellness parameters in a language of one's choice.) to ensure accessibility for users across different regions and languages (non-limiting intended result which merely describes a desired result from use of the recited structure, and is given no patentable weight.).
The system of Fedichev is applicable to the disclosure of Pauley in view of Wexler as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to determining wellness in connection to type 2 diabetes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pauley to include various extra elements as taught by Fedichev. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Pauley in order to because it would be advantageous to have more accurate methods and apparatus for accurate assessment of health and wellness parameters capable of being used on a population without the need to attend specialized health or research centers and without interfering with one's routine daily life (see Fedichev [0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 May 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. §101 rejection of the claims, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claims do not recite an abstract idea because they cannot be performed in the human mind (see Applicant Remarks pages 8-11). This is not persuasive. First, this ignores the characterization of the claims as a method of organizing human activity, which does not appear to be addressed in Applicant Remarks. Second, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation, which includes the interaction between a healthcare provider and a patient (i.e. a method of organizing human activity) and also include elements that are capable or being performed in the human mind such as observation, evaluation, and judgement (a person can observe the recited data about the patient and make an evaluation/judgment connected to the state of their health). Accordingly, under step 2A Prong One, the claims do recite an abstract idea and any additional elements must be considered under Step 2A Prong Two or Step 2B.
Next, Applicant argues that the claims are integrated into a practical application and recite significantly more than the judicial exception (see Applicant Remarks page 11). This is not persuasive. Applicant does not include any arguments or reasoning in support of this conclusion, but merely states that the claims “recite an integrated practical application and recite significantly more than a judicial exception.” However, the additional elements present in the claims, including the elements that broadly recite machine learning principles, amount to merely reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). This is not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, the claims remain rejected as being directed to ineligible subject matter.
Applicant's arguments filed 14 May 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of the claims, have been fully considered. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Further, Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Examiner notes that the amendments do recite elements not previously claimed. Upon further consideration of the newly cited elements, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously uncited portions of the Pauley reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gorman et al. (U.S. 2024/0112807) teaches a system and method for providing an appropriate intervention plan for managing a health condition and uses data harmonization algorithms.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3684
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684