DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, lines 1-2: “for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 1” should read “for the semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 1”
Claim 2, line 3: “a temperature control PCB” should read “a temperature control printed circuit board (PCB)”
Claim 3, lines 1-2: “for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 2” should read “for the semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 2”
Claim 4, lines 1-2: “for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 3” should read “for the semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 3”
Claim 5, lines 1-2: “for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 4” should read “for the semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 4”
Claim 6, lines 1-2: “for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 5” should read “for the semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 5”
Claim 7, lines 1-2: “for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 6” should read “for the semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 6”
Claim 8, lines 1-2: “for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 7” should read “for the semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 7”
Claim 9, lines 1-2: “for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 8” should read “for the semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 8”
Claim 10, lines 1-2: “for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 9” should read “for the semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 9”
Claim 3 is also objected to virtue of its dependency on claim 2.
Claim 4 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 3.
Claim 5 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 6 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 5.
Claim 7 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 6.
Claim 8 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 7.
Claim 9 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claim 10 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 9, line 8: “first fan assembly” draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the present specification, “The first fan assembly 106 and the second fan assembly 217 have the same structure. The first fan assembly 106 is used to dissipate heat from the first water-cooled row 105. The second fan assembly 217 is used to dissipate heat from the second water-cooled row 216. Both the first fan assembly 106 and the second fan assembly 217 include a plurality of heat dissipation fans (Pg. 16, paragraph 46)” or equivalents thereof.
Claim 10, line 9: “second fan assembly” draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the present specification, “The first fan assembly 106 and the second fan assembly 217 have the same structure. The first fan assembly 106 is used to dissipate heat from the first water-cooled row 105. The second fan assembly 217 is used to dissipate heat from the second water-cooled row 216. Both the first fan assembly 106 and the second fan assembly 217 include a plurality of heat dissipation fans (Pg. 16, paragraph 46)” or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 10-11 recite, “the front shell and the rear shell are snap-fitted to each other” which renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the method step as a purely functional recitation of the claims. The Examiner recommends changing “the front shell and the rear shell are snap-fitted to each other” to “the front shell and the rear shell are configured to be snap-fitted to each other”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the front end of the front shell" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the front end of the front shell" in line 12 of claim 1 to “a front end of the front shell”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the rear end of the rear shell" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the rear end of the rear shell" in line 13 of claim 1 to “a rear end of the rear shell”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the rear end of the housing" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the rear end of the housing" in line 15 of claim 1 to “a rear end of the housing”.
Claim 3, lines 2-4 recite, “wherein the first upper cold head module comprises an upper waterway cover plate, an upper waterway rubber and an upper heat sink are arranged in sequence from inside to outside” which is unclear to the Examiner as to what inside and what outside is being referred to for the arrangement (i.e., inside of the first upper cold head module to outside of the first upper cold head module, inside of the first liquid-cooling radiator assembly to outside of the first liquid-cooling radiator assembly, etc.). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the recitation to simply require the sequential arrangement of the claimed components.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the middle of the front shell" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the middle of the front shell" in line 5 of claim 3 to “a middle of the front shell”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the middle of the upper waterway cover plate" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the middle of the upper waterway cover plate" in line 8 of claim 3 to “a middle of the upper waterway cover plate”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the middle of the upper waterway rubber" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the middle of the upper waterway rubber" in line 9 of claim 3 to “a middle of the upper waterway rubber”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the outlet direction of the first water spray tank" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the outlet direction of the first water spray tank" in line 11 of claim 3 to “an outlet direction of the first water spray tank”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the upper and lower sides of the upper waterway cover plate" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the upper and lower sides of the upper waterway cover plate" in line 13 of claim 3 to “upper and lower sides of the upper waterway cover plate”.
Claim 4, lines 2-4 recite, “wherein the first lower cold head module comprises a first lower waterway cover plate, a first lower waterway rubber and a first lower heat sink that are arranged in sequence from inside to outside” which is unclear to the Examiner as to what inside and what outside is being referred to for the arrangement (i.e., inside of the first lower cold head module to outside of the first lower cold head module, inside of the first liquid-cooling radiator assembly to outside of the first liquid-cooling radiator assembly, etc.). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the recitation to simply require the sequential arrangement of the claimed components.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the middle of the rear shell" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the middle of the rear shell" in line 5 of claim 4 to “a middle of the rear shell”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the middle of the first lower waterway cover" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the middle of the first lower waterway cover" in line 8 of claim 4 to “a middle of the first lower waterway cover”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the middle of the first lower waterway rubber" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the middle of the first lower waterway rubber" in lines 9-10 of claim 4 to “a middle of the first lower waterway rubber”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the outlet direction of the second water spray tank" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the outlet direction of the second water spray tank" in line 12 of claim 4 to “an outlet direction of the second water spray tank”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the upper and lower sides of the first lower waterway cover plate" in lines 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the upper and lower sides of the first lower waterway cover plate" in lines 13-14 of claim 4 to “upper and lower sides of the first lower waterway cover plate”.
Claim 6, lines 2-4 recite, “wherein the second cold head module comprises a second lower waterway cover plate, a second lower waterway rubber and a second lower heat sink that are arranged in sequence from inside to outside” which is unclear to the Examiner as to what inside and what outside is being referred to for the arrangement (i.e., inside of the second cold head module to outside of the second cold head module, inside of the second liquid-cooling radiator assembly to outside of the second liquid-cooling radiator assembly, etc.). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the recitation to simply require the sequential arrangement of the claimed components.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the middle of the housing" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the middle of the housing" in line 5 of claim 6 to “a middle of the housing”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the middle of the second lower waterway" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the middle of the second lower waterway" in line 8 of claim 6 to “a middle of the second lower waterway”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the middle of the second lower waterway rubber" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the middle of the second lower waterway rubber" in lines 9-10 of claim 6 to “a middle of the second lower waterway rubber”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the outlet direction of the third water spray tank" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the outlet direction of the third water spray tank" in line 12 of claim 6 to “an outlet direction of the third water spray tank”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the left and right sides of the second lower waterway cover plate" in lines 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the left and right sides of the second lower waterway cover plate" in lines 13-14 of claim 6 to “left and right sides of the second lower waterway cover plate”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the outer periphery of the first water reservoir" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the outer periphery of the first water reservoir" in line 3 of claim 8 to “an outer periphery of the first water reservoir”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the inner surface of the upper heat sink" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the inner surface of the upper heat sink" in line 5 of claim 8 to “an inner surface of the upper heat sink”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the outer periphery of the second water reservoir" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the outer periphery of the second water reservoir" in line 7 of claim 8 to “an outer periphery of the second water reservoir”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the inner surface of the first lower heat sink" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the inner surface of the first lower heat sink" in line 9 of claim 8 to “an inner surface of the first lower heat sink”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the outer periphery of the third water reservoir" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the outer periphery of the third water reservoir" in lines 10-11 of claim 8 to “an outer periphery of the third water reservoir”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the inner surface of the second lower heat sink" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the inner surface of the second lower heat sink" in line 13 of claim 8 to “an inner surface of the second lower heat sink”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the other end of the first water inlet pipe" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the other end of the first water inlet pipe" in lines 4-5 of claim 9 to “another end of the first water inlet pipe”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the other end of the first water outlet pipe" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the other end of the first water outlet pipe" in lines 6-7 of claim 9 to “another other end of the first water outlet pipe”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the other end of the second water inlet pipe" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the other end of the second water inlet pipe" in lines 4-5 of claim 10 to “another end of the second water inlet pipe”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the other end of the second water outlet pipe" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the other end of the second water outlet pipe" in line 7 of claim 10 to “another end of the second water outlet pipe”.
Claim 2 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 1.
Claim 3 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 2.
Claim 4 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 3.
Claim 5 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 6 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 5.
Claim 7 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 6.
Claim 8 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 7.
Claim 9 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claim 10 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent No. 11,994,922), hereinafter Chen in view of Lei et al. (WO 2025180378), hereinafter Lei.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a dual liquid-cooling radiator for a semiconductor refrigeration system (Fig. 1, water cooling radiator 1), comprising a semiconductor refrigeration assembly (Fig. 2, refrigeration module 2; Col. , lines 34-36, Specifically, the refrigeration module 2 is a semiconductor refrigeration sheet, also called a thermoelectric refrigeration sheet, which is a heat pump), a first liquid-cooling radiator assembly (Fig. 1, first heat exchanger 5, water block device 3), a second liquid-cooling radiator assembly (Fig. 1, second heat exchanger 6; Fig. 2, second water block 4), a first water-cooled row (See annotated Fig. 1 of Chen below, first water-cooled row 5a), a second water-cooled row (See annotated Fig. 1 of Chen below, second water-cooled row 5a), a first water-cooled pipe (Fig. 1, first water inlet pipe 51, first water outlet pipe 52), and a second water-cooled pipe (Fig. 1, second water inlet pipe 61, second water outlet pipe 62), wherein the first liquid-cooling radiator assembly is connected to the first water-cooled row through the first water-cooled pipe (See annotated Fig. 1 of Chen below, first water-cooled row 5a is depicted to be connected to first water inlet pipe 51 and first water outlet pipe 52), and the second liquid-cooling radiator assembly is connected to the second water-cooled row through the second water-cooled pipe (See annotated Fig. 1 of Chen below, second water-cooled row 6a is depicted to be connected to second water inlet pipe 61 and second water inlet pipe 62); and
the first liquid-cooling radiator assembly comprises a front shell (Fig. 2, housing 18), a rear shell (See annotated Fig. 2 of Chen below, rear shell 18b), a first upper cold head module (Fig. 2, second heat exchange module 19), and a first lower cold head module (Fig. 2, first heat exchange module 16), the first upper cold head module is assembled at the front end of the front shell (Col. 6, lines 29-36, In addition, the first water block further includes a housing 18. The housing 18 is configured to be hermetically connected to the central bracket 13, so that the above first water pump 14, second water pump 15 and circulating water path are all sealed inside the housing 18. The top of the housing 18 is provided with an assembly hole 181 so as to facilitate the abutment between a first heat dissipation module 16 and the refrigeration module 2; Col. 7, lines 23-27, As shown in FIGS. 3, 6 and 7, the central bracket 13 is further provided with a flowing bin 139 communicated with the first cavity 1311 and a second heat exchange module 19 for closing the flowing bin 139. The second heat exchange module 19 is connected to the central bracket 13; Further, the teachings of Chen at least imply the first upper cold head module is assembled at the front end of the front shell since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), the first lower cold head module is assembled at the rear end of the rear shell (Col. 6, lines 29-46, In addition, the first water block further includes a housing 18. The housing 18 is configured to be hermetically connected to the central bracket 13, so that the above first water pump 14, second water pump 15 and circulating water path are all sealed inside the housing 18. The top of the housing 18 is provided with an assembly hole 181 so as to facilitate the abutment between a first heat dissipation module 16 and the refrigeration module 2. As shown in FIGS. 4, 5 and 7, the central bracket 13 is provided with a water inlet bin 133 and a first heat exchange module 16 for closing the water inlet bin 133. The first heat exchange module 16 is connected to the central bracket 13, and the water inlet bin 133 is closed by the first heat exchange module 16, so that external refrigeration liquid can flow into the water inlet bin 133 and is difficult to overflow, thereby improving the stability of the first water block and reducing the occurrence of damage to the processor due to the leakage of the refrigeration liquid; Further, the teachings of Chen at least imply the first lower cold head module is assembled at the rear end of the rear shell since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), the second liquid-cooling radiator assembly comprises a housing (See annotated Fig. 2 of Chen below, housing 4a) and a second cold head module (Fig. 2, second water block 4, second heat source surface 41), the second cold head module is assembled at the rear end of the housing (Annotated Fig. 2 of Chen below depicts the internals of the second water block 4 and the second heat source surface 41 to be assembled at the rear end of the housing 4a), and the semiconductor refrigeration assembly comprises a semiconductor refrigeration chip assembled between the second cold head module and the first upper cold head module.
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose the front shell and the rear shell are snap-fitted to each other.
Lei teaches the use of snap fasteners to connect the front shell and the rear shell of a coolant reservoir (Fig. 1, first housing 110, second housing 120; Pg. 8, For another example, if the first housing 110 and the second housing 120 are fixed together by a snap-fit connection, the first through-hole 1103 can be a via for the snap-fit connection).
Chen fails to teach the front shell and the rear shell are snap-fitted to each other, however Lei teaches that it is a known method in the art of cooling systems for electronics to include the use of snap fasteners to connect the front shell and the rear shell of a coolant reservoir. This is strong evidence that modifying Chen as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. securing a two-part reservoir to provide cooling fluid for system operations). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen by Lei and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of securing a two-part reservoir to provide cooling fluid for system operations.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Chen
Annotated Fig. 2 of Chen
Regarding claim 2, Chen as modified discloses the dual liquid-cooling radiator for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the semiconductor refrigeration assembly further comprises a temperature control PCB electrically connected to the semiconductor refrigeration chip to control the temperature of the semiconductor refrigeration chip (Chen, Col. 9, lines 12-20, The refrigeration module 2 is provided with a temperature control module. The temperature control module is arranged on the refrigeration module 2, so as to control a temperature value of the refrigeration module 2 according to an environment temperature of the refrigeration module, so as to reduce the occurrence of water beads condensed on the surface of the water block module due to an excessively low temperature, thereby effectively improving the stability of the water block module).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as modified by Lei as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Zhang (US Patent No. 11,638,666), hereinafter Zhang and Tsai (US Patent No. 10,932,391), hereinafter Tsai.
Regarding claim 3, Chen as modified discloses the dual liquid-cooling radiator for a semiconductor refrigeration system according to claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Chen as modified does not disclose wherein the first upper cold head module comprises an upper waterway cover plate and an upper heat sink that are arranged in sequence from inside to outside, a first water reservoir is disposed in the middle of the front shell, the front shell is closed by the upper waterway cover plate, a first water inlet tunnel and a first water outlet tunnel are spaced apart in the first water reservoir, a first water spray tank is disposed in the middle of the upper waterway cover plate, a first micro water channel is arranged in the upper heat sink, the first water inlet tunnel communicates with the first water spray tank, the outlet direction of the first water spray tank is disposed facing the upper heat sink, a first water outlet is disposed on each of the upper and lower sides of the upper waterway cover plate, and the first water outlets communicate with the first water outlet tunnel.
Zhang teaches wherein the first upper cold head module (Fig. 1, semiconductor refrigeration structure 6) comprises an upper waterway cover plate and an upper heat sink that are arranged in sequence from inside to outside (Fig. 2, waterway cover plate 21, radiation fin 1), a first water reservoir is disposed in the middle of the front shell (See annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang below, first water reservoir A is disposed in the middle of the main body bottom shell 22), the front shell is closed by the upper waterway cover plate (Col. 5, lines 25-27, the waterway cover plate 21 is installed above the main body bottom shell 22 in a closed manner), a first water inlet tunnel and a first water outlet tunnel are spaced apart in the first water reservoir (Fig. 4, water inlet tank 221, water outlet tank 222; Col. 5, lines 17-19, wherein a water inlet tank 221 and water outlet tanks 222 are arranged in the main body bottom shell 22), a first water spray tank is disposed in the middle of the upper waterway cover plate (Fig. 3, water inlet channel 211; Col. 5, lines 27-28, a water inlet channel 211 is formed in the middle of the waterway cover plate 21), a first micro water channel is arranged in the upper heat sink (Col. 4, lines 58-59, The radiation fin 1 lowers the temperature of the CPU by means of micro-channel decomposition), the first water inlet tunnel communicates with the first water spray tank (Col. 5, lines 30-31, the water inlet channel 211 and the water inlet tank 221 are arranged correspondingly), the outlet direction of the first water spray tank is disposed facing the upper heat sink (Col. 5, lines 35-40, The radiation fin 1 is flushed by means of the water inlet channel 211 formed in the middle of the water tank structure 2, and water flows out toward both sides for heat dissipation, thus the heat dissipation effect achieved by such flow direction is better than the heat dissipation effect achieved by traditional structures), a first water outlet is disposed on each of the upper and lower sides of the upper waterway cover plate (Fig. 3, water outlet channels 212Col. 5, lines 28-30, and water outlet channels 212 are formed on the left and right sides of the waterway cover plate 21), and the first water outlets communicate with the first water outlet tunnel (Col. 5, lines 31-33, and the water outlet channels 212 and the water outlet tanks 222 are arranged correspondingly).
Chen as modified fails to teach wherein the first upper cold head module comprises an upper waterway cover plate and an upper heat sink that are arranged in sequence from inside to outside, a first water reservoir is disposed in the middle of the front shell, the front shell is closed by the upper waterway cover plate, a first water inlet tunnel and a first water outlet tunnel are spaced apart in the first water reservoir, a first water spray tank is disposed in the middle of the upper waterway cover plate, a first micro water channel is arranged in the upper heat sink, the first water inlet tunnel communicates with the first water spray tank, the outlet direction of the first water spray tank is disposed facing the upper heat sink, a first water outlet is disposed on each of the upper and lower sides of the upper waterway cover plate, and the first water outlets communicate with the first water outlet tunnel, however Zhang teaches that it is a known method in the art of liquid cooled semiconductor refrigeration systems to include wherein the first upper cold head module comprises an upper waterway cover plate and an upper heat sink that are arranged in sequence from inside to outside, a first water reservoir is disposed in the middle of the front shell, the front shell is closed by the upper waterway cover plate, a first water inlet tunnel and a first water outlet tunnel are spaced apart in the first water reservoir, a first water spray tank is disposed in the middle of the upper waterway cover plate, a first micro water channel is arranged in the upper heat sink, the first water inlet tunnel communicates with the first water spray tank, the outlet direction of the first water spray tank is disposed facing the upper heat sink, a first water outlet is disposed on each of the upper and lower sides of the upper waterway cover plate, and the first water outlets communicate with the first water outlet tunnel. This is strong evidence that modifying Chen as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the system to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as modified by Zhang and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the system to improve overall system efficiencies.
However, Chen as modified does not disclose the first upper cold head module comprises an upper waterway rubber and a first water trough is disposed in the middle of the upper waterway rubber.
Tsai teaches the first upper cold head module comprises an upper waterway rubber and a first water trough is disposed in the middle of the upper waterway rubber (Fig. 2, liquid pump module 20, water block set cover 18, encasement 16, water block base 12, middle longitudinal split opening 162; Col. 4, lines 64-67, the encasement 16 has a middle longitudinal split opening 162 and entirely encases the main heat transfer area 1244 of the heat transfer surfaces).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first upper cold head module of Chen as modified to include an upper waterway rubber and a first water trough is disposed in the middle of the upper waterway rubber as taught by Tsai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the encasement may be stuffed into a space between the water block set cover and the main heat transfer area to prevent the working liquid from overflowing (Tsai, Col. 4-5, lines 67 and 1-3).
Annotated Fig. 4 of Zhang
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, there is no prior art of record that teaches wherein the first lower cold head module comprises a first lower waterway cover plate, a first lower waterway rubber and a first lower heat sink that are arranged in sequence from inside to outside, a second water reservoir is disposed in the middle of the rear shell, the rear shell is closed by the first lower waterway cover plate, a second water inlet tunnel and a second water outlet tunnel are spaced apart in the second water reservoir, a second water spray tank is disposed in the middle of the first lower waterway cover plate, a second water trough is disposed in the middle of the first lower waterway rubber, a second micro water channel is arranged in the first lower heat sink, the second water inlet tunnel communicates with the second water spray tank, the outlet direction of the second water spray tank is disposed facing the first lower heat sink, a second water outlet is disposed on each of the upper and lower sides of the first lower waterway cover plate, and the second water outlets communicate with the second water outlet tunnel, in combination with all other claimed features.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiao (US 20250321056) discloses a similar first liquid-cooling radiator assembly.
Zhang (US 20230240043) discloses a similar second liquid-cooling radiator assembly.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 July 07th, 2026