DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “Apparatus” should be changed to --An apparatus-- in line 1; --,-- should be added after “evaluating” in line 4; “the temperature data” should be changed to --temperature data-- in line 5; and --at least one-- should be added before “temperature-measuring” in line 5.
In claim 3, --that-- should be added after “sensor” in line 2.
In claims 2-6, “Apparatus” should be changed to --An apparatus-- in line 1, respectively.
In claim 7, “Method” should be changed to --A method-- in line 1; --the-- should be added after “providing” in line 3; --at least one-- should be added before “temperature” in lines 6 and 9; --and-- should be added at the end of line 11; “the temperature” should be changed to --a temperature-- in line 12; there is lack of antecedent basis for “Ta,end” in line 12 (it appears to state the temperature on the first side surface and/or the second side surface at the point in time tend); the body of the claim does not recite any steps for “determining thermal insulation properties” of the vacuum insulation elements, as recited in the preamble; and it is not clear how the ΔT is equal to Ta,o and Tb,o, as recited in line 13 (it appears that the ΔT is the difference between Ta,o and Tb,o).
In claims 8 and 9, “Method” should be changed to --The method-- in line 1, respectively.
In claim 8, “and” should be changed to --and/or-- in lines 9 and 12; --;-- should be added at the end of line 11; --and-- should be added at the end of line 15; and “the temporal” should be changed to --a temporal-- in line 16.
In claim 9, --the-- should be added after “providing” in line 2; --at least one-- should be added before “temperature-measuring-- in line 6; --and-- should be added at the end of line 9; “progressions” should be changed to --progression-- in the last line; and “;” should be changed to --.-- in the last line.
In claim 10, --.-- should be added at the end of the last line.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant) regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the terms “particularly” and preferably” recited in line 1 render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the terms are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claim 8, there are at least two vacuum insulation elements recited in line 2. Therefore, it is not clear which one of the at least two vacuum insulation elements the “first side surface and/or the second side surface” is referring to, as recited in lines 7-12; it is not clear if the point in time “tend” recited in line 15 is referring to the point in time “tend” recited in step “f” in base claim 7; and it is not clear if the steps recited in claim 8 are performed in addition to the steps recited in base claim 7 or if they are describing steps that are recited in base claim 7.
In claim 9, it is not clear if the point in time “tend” recited in line 9 is referring to the point in time “tend” recited in step “f” in base claim 7; and it is not clear if the steps recited in claim 9 are performed in addition to the steps recited in base claim 7 or if they are describing steps that are recited in base claim 7.
Claim 10 is indefinite because it claims a use of the system of claim 1 without setting forth any steps involved in the use of the system. The claim is held to be indefinite because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0369659 to Rebernik.
Referring to claim 1, Rebernik discloses an apparatus (figure 7; paragraphs 7, 14, 23, 51) for determining the thermal insulation properties of vacuum insulation elements, the apparatus comprising:
at least one vacuum insulation element (20) having a first side surface (e.g., facing 1) and a second side surface (e.g., facing 3),
at least one temperature-measuring sensor (13a, 13b) which is arranged on the first side
surface and/or the second side surface, and
a data processing unit (18) for receiving, evaluating, and outputting the temperature data provided by the temperature-measuring sensor (13a, 13b) (paragraphs 23, 51).
Referring to claim 2, Rebernik discloses at least two temperature-measuring sensors (13a, 13b) (paragraph 51), the first temperature-measuring sensor (13a) being arranged on the first side surface and the second temperature-measuring sensor (13b), lying opposite to the first temperature-measuring sensor (13a) (on the opposite side), being arranged on the second side surface of the vacuum insulation element (20).
Referring to claim 4, Rebernik discloses the vacuum insulation element being a vacuum
insulation panel (paragraphs 23, 51).
Referring to claim 10, Rebernik discloses a use of an apparatus according to claim 1 (as stated above) for determining the insulating properties of vacuum insulation elements, at least one vacuum insulation element (20) being arranged in a container (40) for temperature-controlled transport (paragraph 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebernik.
Referring to claim 3, Rebernik discloses an apparatus having all of the limitations of claim 3, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for at least two vacuum insulation elements each having at least one temperature-measuring sensor are arranged on the first side surface and/or the second side surface relative to one another in such a way that the temperature-
measuring sensors are each aligned in a first direction.
However, Rebernik discloses that there can be more than one vacuum insulation element having a temperature sensor (paragraph 23) (which can provide additional insulation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Rebernik with at least two vacuum insulation elements each having at least one temperature-measuring sensor arranged on the first side surface and/or the second side surface relative to one another since Rebernik discloses that there can be more than one vacuum insulation element having a temperature sensor and in order to provide additional insulation; and since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the temperature-measuring sensors of Rebernik in such a way that the temperature-measuring sensors are each aligned in a first direction in order to determine a temperature distribution and heat flow measurement through the vacuum insulation elements, and since the locations of the temperature-measuring sensors claimed by applicant are considered to be nothing more than a design choice since the particular locations claimed by applicant is nothing more than one of numerous locations that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide in order to provide temperature measurements as already suggested by Rebernik.
Referring to claim 5, Rebernik discloses an apparatus having all of the limitations of claim 5, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for one to ten, four, or two temperature-measuring sensors being arranged on the first side surface and/or the second side surface lying opposite to the first side surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Rebernik with one to ten, four, or two temperature-measuring sensors that are arranged on the first side surface and/or the second side surface lying opposite to the first side surface in order to obtain more temperature data to more accurately determine the thermal insulation properties suggested by Rebernik and obtain a temperature distribution of the interior of a container containing the vacuum insulation element; and since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Referring to claim 6, Rebernik discloses an apparatus having all of the limitations of claim 6, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for the temperature-measuring sensors being each arranged in the center of the first side surface and/or the second side surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the temperature-measuring sensors of Rebernik such that they are each arranged in the center of the first side surface and/or the second side surface in order to provide a symmetric temperature measurement of the interior of a container containing the vacuum insulation element; and since the locations of the temperature-measuring sensors claimed by applicant are considered to be nothing more than a design choice since the particular locations claimed by applicant is nothing more than one of numerous locations that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been able to provide in order to provide temperature measurements as already suggested by Rebernik.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the following in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims:
A method for determining the thermal insulation properties of vacuum insulation elements using an apparatus according to claim 1, the method comprising detecting a temperature Ta,1 on the first side surface and/or the second side surface by means of a temperature-measuring sensor at a point in time t₁; communicating the temperature Ta,1 to the data processing unit; repeating steps b) - e) until reaching a point in time tend; and evaluating the temperature progression from Ta,0 to Ta.end by means of the data processing unit (claim 7).
Conclusion
The references made of record and not relied upon by the examiner (CN112478454A to Wu discloses a transport device with a vacuum insulation element with temperature sensor(s)); KR20140046841A to Gang discloses a thermal container with a vacuum insulation element with temperature sensor(s); and U.S. Parent Application Publication 2020/0290790 to Mowery et al disclose a vacuum insulation container with temperature sensor(s)) are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure by disclosing a vacuum insulation element with temperature sensor(s), but do not disclose the allowable subject matter stated above.
/MIRELLYS JAGAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
8/2/26