DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 3-7, it is not clear what is meant by “extract…a pair of devices each of which is not described as a device being a direct connection destination of the other device in the device…”. A pair of devices with another device is a total of three devices. There are two common destination devices that are analyzed. The number of devices mentioned are not consistent. Similar problems exist in claims 5 and 6.
In claim 1, line 7, “the other device” lacks proper antecedent basis since it was not mentioned previously. Similar problems exist in claims 5 and 6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhesania et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0208848 A1), hereafter referred to as Bhesania’848.
Referring to claim 1, Bhesania’848 as claimed, an information processing apparatus comprising (Figs. 1-3): processing circuitry: to analyze device connection information in which a device being a direct connection destination of each device of a plurality of connected devices is described and to extract, among two or more devices whose direct connection destination is
common, a pair of devices each of which is not described as a device being a direct connection destination of the other device in the device connection information (routing module 219 configured to route connections between device 102-107 and controller 131-133 with any kind of wired or wireless mechanisms; connection routing manager 154 is configured to monitor controllers 131-133 and devices 102-107 to determine a device connection routing arrangement, see paras. [0024], [0025]); and to update the device connection information so that the device connection information describes that each one of the pair of devices extracted is a device being a direct connection destination of the other device (controllers 131-133 are configured to maintain and control device connection states. For example, controllers 131-133 configured to detect devices 102-107 when they are coupled to the computing device…maintain power states of devices 102-107, see paras. [0022], [0027]; routing manager may load-balance the USB controllers 335-337 to ensure that the bandwidth requirements of devices 301-305 are optimized. If there are more devices than USB controllers, USB routing manager may keep isochronous devices to their own controllers or bundle an isochronous with another device. A similar process used for bulk devices, such as storage devices, see paras. [0029], [0033] and Figs 2 and 3).
As to claim 2, Bhesania’848 also discloses when a plurality of said pairs of the devices have been extracted, the processing circuitry updates description in the device connection information, for each of the pairs of the devices (controllers 131-133 are configured to maintain and control device connection states. For example, controllers 131-133 configured to detect devices 102-107 when they are coupled to the computing device…maintain power states of devices 102-107, see paras. [0022], [0027], [0033], and Fig. 4).
As to claim 3, Bhesania’848 also discloses as for a plurality of device connection patterns which each include a different combination of a plurality of devices and for each of which the device connection information corresponding to a connection status among the devices is provided, the processing circuitry analyzes the device connection information corresponding to each of the device connection patterns and extracts the pair of devices for each of the device connection patterns, and the processing circuitry updates description in the device connection information corresponding to each of the device connection patterns (controllers 131-133 are configured to maintain and control device connection states. For example, controllers 131-133 configured to detect devices 102-107 when they are coupled to the computing device…maintain power states of devices 102-107, see paras. [0022], [0027], [0033], and Fig. 4; routing manager may load-balance the USB controllers 335-337 to ensure that the bandwidth requirements of devices 301-305 are optimized. If there are more devices than USB controllers, USB routing manager may keep isochronous devices to their own controllers or bundle an isochronous with another device. A similar process used for bulk devices, such as storage devices, see paras. [0029], [0033] and Figs 2 and 3).
As to claim 4, Bhesania’848 also discloses the processing circuitry carries out collaborative filtering with use of a plurality of pieces of device connection information for the plurality of device connection patters that have been updated (device connections routed based on the determined sates and pre-determined factors…Monitoring the states enable the device connections to be dynamically routed in response to changes; If bandwidth requirements of the devices can be provided by one or two controllers, the routing arrangement may route all the device connections to these controllers and power down the rest of the controllers to save power, see paras. [0032]-[0034], Figs. 4 and 5; also note: load-balancing, see paras. [0035]-[0037]).
Note claims 5 and 6 recite similar limitations of claim 1. Therefore they are rejected based on the same reason accordingly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Cella et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0137988 A1) discloses methods for detection in an industrial internet of things data collection environment with a self-organizing data marketplace and notifications for industrial process.
Goel et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0259682 A1) discloses data center network with multiplexed communication of data packets across servers.
Cella et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0129409 A1) discloses systems for data collection having intelligent data collection bands.
Raleigh (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0279021 A1) discloses automated device provisioning and activation.
Coleman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,537,322) discloses granting access to a storage device based on reservations.
Raleigh (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0215073 A1) discloses automated device provisioning and activation.
Froese (U.S. Patent No. 11,985,060 B2) discloses dragonfly routing with incomplete group connectivity.
Bhesania et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0231539 A1) discloses device connection routing for controllers.
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
In amending in reply to a rejection of claims in an application or patent under reexamination, the applicant or patent owner must clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. The applicant or patent owner must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Contact Information
/TITUS WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181