DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action for US Application 18/931,983 for a Support Sleeve for a Firefighting Accessory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2005/0093294 to Anselmo et al. Regarding claim 1, Anselmo et al. discloses a support sleeve (18) that can be used with a firefighting accessory (14… a hose assembly is a firefighting accessory). The support sleeve comprises a tube (68) having a length that extends between a first and a second end, and the second end of the tube is configured to frictionally fit within a hose coupler (via the threads at 70… see figure 3 and paragraph 24, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, the firefighting accessory can be a spray nozzle (the firefighting accessory is recited in the preamble and is not positively recited in the claim, and therefore the support sleeve only needs to be capable of use with a spray nozzle). Regarding claim 3, the firefighting accessory can be a fire hose (the firefighting accessory is recited in the preamble and is not positively recited in the claim, and therefore the support sleeve only needs to be capable of use with a fire hose).
Regarding claim 4, the firefighting accessory can be a fire hydrant (the firefighting accessory is recited in the preamble and is not positively recited in the claim, and therefore the support sleeve only needs to be capable of use with a fire hydrant). Regarding claim 5, the support sleeve comprises stainless steel (see paragraph 24, lines 10-12). Regarding claim 6, the support sleeve further comprises a shoulder feature (72).
Regarding claim 7, Anselmo et al. discloses support sleeve (18) that can be used with a firefighting accessory (14… a hose assembly is a firefighting accessory). The support sleeve comprises a tube (68) having a length that extends between a first and a second end. There is a shoulder feature (72), and the second end of the tube is configured to frictionally fit within a hose coupler having threaded connectors (via the threads at 70 engaging the threads of hose coupler 26… see figure 3 and paragraph 24, lines 1-3). The first end of the tube is configured to guide the threaded connectors of the hose coupler in alignment with threaded connectors of the firefighting accessory (see figures 1-3… the firefighting accessory is recited in the preamble and is not positively recited in the claim, and therefore the support sleeve only needs to be capable of use with a fire hose, but the tube can be guided by a user gripping the first end of 68 and aligning the support connector and a firefighting accessory).
Regarding claim 8, Anselmo et al. discloses support sleeve (18) that can be used with a firefighting accessory (14… a hose assembly is a firefighting accessory). The support sleeve comprises a tube (68) having a length that extends between a first and a second end. There is a shoulder feature (72), and the second end of the tube is configured to frictionally fit within a hose coupler (via the threads at 70 engaging the threads of hose coupler 26… see figure 3 and paragraph 24, lines 1-3). The first end of the tube is configured to guide the threaded connectors of the hose coupler in alignment with threaded connectors of the firefighting accessory (see figures 1-3… the firefighting accessory is recited in the preamble and is not positively recited in the claim, and therefore the support sleeve only needs to be capable of use with a fire hose, but the tube can be guided by a user gripping the first end of 68 and aligning the support connector and a firefighting accessory).
Regarding claim 9, Anselmo et al. discloses a support sleeve (18) that can be used with a firefight accessory. The support sleeve comprises a tube (68) having a length that extends between a first end and a second end, and wherein the first end of the tube is configured to frictionally fit with a hose coupler (via the threads at 70 engaging the threads of hose coupler 26… see figure 3 and paragraph 24, lines 1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2009/0261580 to Zakrzewski
US 2010/0117355 to Lamontia
US 2022/0307630 to Ehrke
US 2015/0247598 to Bruckner
US 2008/0001400 to Winzeler
US 5145213 to Marrison
US 5536047 to Detable
US 4165106 to Gladden
The above prior art discloses various supports for hoses and other conduits.
STEVEN M. MARSH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/STEVEN M MARSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632