DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be a grammatical error with the term “whether”, wherein the term should be “weather”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Status
In the October 30, 2024 submission, claims 1-20 were presented for consideration and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rotger-Griful et al., “Implementation of a building energy management system for residential demand response” (available to the public in October 2017, hereinafter ROTGER-GRIFUL).
As per claim 1, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of a system comprising:
a central controller configured to generate an energy management request (see pg. 100, col. 2 through pg. 101, col. 1: top level controller (EMS) manages executive functions, inclusive of management requests); and
one or more client controllers (see pg. 100, col.2: system employs top level controllers and distributed controllers for dynamic activity), wherein each of the one or more client controllers is configured to communicate with the central controller through a first communications network (see pg. 101, col. 1: multi-modality in BEMS design provides for individual client/regional controllers to act as an intermediate with EMS units), each of the one or more client controllers is associated with a controllable service location (see sect. 3, pg. 102: the BMS can act as an medium between the consumer local and consumer), and each of the one or more client controllers is configured to communicate with a premises energy management system (PEMS) that commands one or more controllable energy resources at the controllable service location to operate according to a user specification and the energy management request (see fig. 1, and sect. 3.1-3.2: the consumer resource controller interacts with DERs within the residence, and acts in compliance with BES and EMS).
As per claim 2, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the system of claim 1, wherein the central controller generates the energy management request based on information from the PEMS (see fig. 1 and sect 3: the consumer management system provides metering and demand information based on DER activity and consumer needs).
As per claim 3, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the system of claim 2, wherein the information comprises one or more of a forecasted energy consumption of the one or more controllable energy resources (see sect. 2, col. 2: system provides load forecasting and appliance scheduling), a forecasted energy production of the one or more controllable energy resources (see section 3.2: load forecasting for scheduling), a net controllable load at the controllable service location (see section 3.2: load forecasting for scheduling for determined locals based on prior activities and resource availability), thermal characteristics of the controllable service location (see table 2 and sect. 3.1 and 6.3: tools for evaluating local weather and pollution data can be used in considering thermal characteristics of a local), and a net load at the controllable service location (see sect. 3.2: system relies on stored application load data to help forecast scheduling demands for a location).
As per claim 4, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the system of claim 1, wherein the central controller generates the energy management request based on forecasted weather information (see table 2 and sect. 3.1: system considers weather forecast data in request).
As per claim 5, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the system of claim 1, wherein the central controller generates the energy management request based on input from a grid operating entity (see table 2 and sect. 2: polling of aggregated data from energy connected devices (e.g., solar, wind, generators, etc.) is used in evaluating requests).
As per claim 6, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the system of claim 1, wherein the central controller generates the energy management request based on a pre-determined temporal schedule (see sect. 3.2: system evaluates and makes use of historical data in load scheduling).
As per claim 7, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the system of claim 1, wherein the first communications network comprises a radio-frequency (RF) mesh network (see ), and each client controller communicates with the respective PEMS using a two-way communications protocol (see fig. 2 and sect.4.1-4.2: system supports the use of communication via wireless transmission sensors and networks).
As per claim 8, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the system of claim 7, wherein the central controller communicates with a headend (e.g., considered by the examiner as a centralized controller or control mechanism), and the headend communicates with the first communications network (see fig. 1 and sec. 1: the BEMS facilitates communication with a central EMS for demand and aggregation of resource data).
As per claim 9, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the system of claim 8, wherein the central controller communicates with the headend via a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP), and each client controller communicates with the respective PEMS via HTTP (see sect. 5.1-5.2: system capable of web communication with DER, control and controller devices via HTTP requests).
As per claim 10, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the system of claim 9, wherein the headend comprises a demand response management system (DRMS), an advanced distribution management system (ADMS), or a DER management system (DERMS) (see fig. 1 and sect. 3.1-3.2: based on the collection of aggregated data, BEMS manages DERs).
As per claim 11, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the system of claim 1, wherein each client controller communicates with one or more of a metering system, a breaker, and a load sensor (see fig. 2 and sect. 4.1: system relies on a metering infrastructure (e.g., sensors) to capture and facilitate transmission of data related to environmental conditions).
As per claim 12, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of a premises energy management system (see fig. 1 and sect. 1: system which manages and facilitates demand response activity in connection with grid activity and local resources) comprising:
a communications module configured to communicate with a controllable energy resource (see sect. 5.1-5.2: system capable of web communication with DER, control and controller devices via HTTP requests);
a preference module configured to store a specification that defines one or more acceptable operating bounds for the controllable energy resource (see sec. 6.1: system stores device and user specifications to facilitate access, control and manage resource constraints in managing actionable activity within the system); and
a scheduling module configured to determine an operating plan for the controllable energy resource (see fig. 4 and sect. 6.1: system provides implemented schemes to facilitate system activity), the scheduling module comprising an idle operating mode and a grid-event operating mode (see sect. 6.2: system application further designate operational modes, architectural and service implementation (e.g., grid access and operations, and local operands), wherein in the idle operating mode, the scheduling module is configured to determine the operating plan based on price information and the one or more acceptable operating bounds (see table 2 and sect. 6.3: during implementation, market prices along with weather and other external factors act on the operational mode and scheme affecting system activity and control); and in the grid-event operating mode, the scheduling module is configured to determine the operating plan based on the one or more acceptable operating bounds and a demand request (see sect. 2 and 7.2: based on determined external triggers, the system acts to control the system in accordance with direct or indirect control, wherein system activity is dictated by forecast, external constraints, and energy demands).
As per claim 13, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the premises energy management system of claim 12, further comprising: a command module configured to provide a command signal to the controllable energy resource based on the operating plan (see sect. 1 and 3.1: system controllers employ various direct and indirect control schemes in managing DER activity within the system (e.g., feedback, demand response programs, residential response, etc.)).
As per claim 14, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the premises energy management system of claim 12, further comprising a climate module configured to receive climate information, and wherein the scheduling module is configured to determine the operating plan based on the climate information (see table 2 and sect. 3.1, 4.1 and 6.3: system evaluates temperature conditions, local weather and pollution data and uses the data to facilitate a scheme to manage DER activity based on forecast and aggregated data).
As per claim 15, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the premises energy management system of claim 12, wherein the communications interface is configured to communicate with the controllable energy resource using the IEEE 2030.5 protocol, and the communications interface is further configured to communicate with a local controller (see sect. 5.1-5.2: system supports the use of HTTP or CoAP to provide a layer of control for automation applications and facilitate communication between system devices).
As per claim 16, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the premises energy management system of claim 15, wherein the communications interface is configured to communicate with the local client controller using Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) or User Datagram Protocol (UDP) (see sect. 5.1: system supports the use of TCP/IP and UDP/IP).
As per claim 17, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the premises energy management system of claim 12, further comprising an input/output module, and wherein the specification is configured to be edited through the input/output module (see sect. 5.1: PLC devices run automation processes in determined locations, wherein the devices provide input/output ports for sensors and actuators).
As per claim 18, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of a method for managing energy usage in a power grid (see sect. 1: system manages energy consumption within designated systems/locals), the method comprising:
receiving information generated by a plurality of premises energy management systems, each premises energy management system (PEMS) being associated with a distinct controlled service location (see fig. 1, and sect. 3.1-3.2: the consumer resource controller interacts with DERs within the residence, aggregates local data and acts in compliance with BES and EMS);
receiving a grid event trigger (see 7.2: system tools are employed in evaluating consumption conditions and use integrated markers to trigger grid response activity);
determining an energy management request based on the information from the plurality of PEMS (see sect. 2: demand response is designated by external trigger responses which may further dictate grid and/or EMS control methodology); and
managing energy usage in the power grid by providing the energy management request to one or more recipient PEMS, wherein each of the one or more recipient PEMS is associated with one distinct controlled service location (see sect. 2: responsive to triggered demand response activity, the system may be controlled by regulating DER architecture in a centralized, decentralized, distributed or hierarchical manner).
As per claim 19, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the method of claim 18, further comprising:
accessing information related to one or more distinct uncontrolled service locations that are not associated with a premises energy management system (see table 2 and sect. 3.1, and 6.3: accessing data related to external uncontrolled service locations (e.g., wind production, forecasted weather, market data); and
wherein the energy management request is based on the information related to the one or more distinct uncontrolled service locations and the information from the plurality of PEMS (see sect. 3.1, 4.1 and 6.3: data related to external uncontrolled service locations are used in evaluating power generation, temperature conditions, and local weather, can be used in forecasting and controlling DER activity within a local system(s)).
As per claim 20, ROTGER-GRIFUL teaches of the method of claim 18, wherein the information from the plurality of PEMS comprises one or more of a controllable energy resource consumption range, a net controllable load , a net load (see sect. 3.2: system relies on stored application load data to help forecast scheduling demands for a location), distributed energy resource (DER) nameplate information (see fig. 1 and sect. 3.1: BES relationship with system stake-holders in a residential location), service location thermal parameters (see table 2 and sect. 3.1, 4.1 and 6.3: tools for evaluating temperature conditions, local weather and pollution data can be used in considering thermal characteristics of a local), DER state information, and weather information (see table 2 and sect. 3.1: system considers weather forecast data in request).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Forbes, Jr. [US-2014/0039703 and US-2014/0277788] teach of messaging and management within a hierarchical energy management system, while Lemsaddek et al., [US-12,142,921] focuses on the energy management and integration between local and grid balanced networks.
Conclusion
The applicant is strongly encouraged to contact the examiner if further clarifications are needed with respect to interpretation of currently presented claims and/or cited prior art.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/Kelvin Booker/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119