DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,163,299. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current claims and the patented claims disclose an apparatus for adjustment of a shovel blade for a hand shovel including a guide plate repositionable along the shovel blade edge, however the current claims are broader than the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 7, which depends from claim 1, discloses a third movement, however there is never a “second” movement disclosed thereby rendering this claim unclear. As such, claims 7 and 8 have not been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 11, 14, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weingart (2,598,952).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 17, Weingart discloses an apparatus and method for an adjustment of a shovel blade (18) for a hand shovel (10), the apparatus comprising:
A guide plate/wear assembly (38,39) abutting to a mount (23) with the mount (23) slidably/removably connected (via 35) with a shovel blade edge (16), with the shovel blade (18) having a leading edge (20) separate from the shovel blade edge (16)
The guide plate (38,39) having a movement, a reposition of the mount along the shovel blade edge (16) provides for the movement of the guide plate (38,39) along the shovel blade edge (16) (via repositioning of the connector (35) In various mounting apertures (26, 27, 28, 29)
The guide plate (38,39) having a plurality of positions (26,27,28,29; Figure 5) with respect to the shovel blade (18)
Regarding claim 2, the movement is between the plurality of positions (Figure 5) (Column 2 lines 19-35).
Regarding claim 5, the one or more through passages are extending substantially orthogonal or acute to the shovel blade edge (Figure 5).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the guide plate (38,39) comprises a base edge (outer circumference).
Regarding claim 18, the adjustment allows for a position manipulation of the plate with respect to the length (Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weingart (2,598,952) in view of Raftery (8,191,289).
Regarding claims 9, 10, 15-16 and 20, Weingart discloses the invention as described above but fails to disclose both a guide wheel and a plate in layered extension from the shovel blade edge. Like Weingart, Raftery discloses a guide mechanism for protecting a shovel blade edge. Unlike Weingart, Raftery discloses both a plate/skid mechanism (58) and a wheel (6) in combination with an extension/adapter (80)) for increased maneuverability around ground irregularities. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a layered approach for the guide mechanism with both a plate/skid and a wheel in Weingart as taught by Raftery to enable the shovel to navigate surface irregularities with greater ease and to utilize extension/adapters to allow for attachment to different shovels as it would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 12-13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and filed with the appropriate Terminal Disclaimer(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cote (5,297,351) discloses a shovel guide member with an angle adjustment but does not disclose repositioning along the blade edge.
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671