DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 10/30/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is an open parenthesis, but no closing parenthesis. See “(respectively”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. KR20040071380 (henceforth referred to as Lee).
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a washing machine comprising:
a washing tub (FIG. 2 paragraph [33] a water tank 11 reads on the claimed washing tub);
a dewatering tub arranged rotatably in the washing tub (FIG. 2 paragraph [33] a rotating tank 12 is rotatably installed inside the water tank 11);
a housing to accommodate the washing tub (FIG. 2 paragraph [33] main body case 10);
a suspension to suspend the washing tub from the housing substantially in a vertical direction (FIG. 2 paragraph [33] suspension devices 13); and
a damper configured to connect the washing tub to the housing (FIG. 2 paragraph [35] a damping device 20),
wherein the damper comprises:
a translational damper configured to apply a damping force to the washing tub in a direction of translation (FIG. 3 paragraph [36] cylinder member 21 and a rod member 22 read on the claimed translational damper); and
a first rotational damper and a second rotational damper (respectively connected to opposite ends of the translational damper (FIG. 3 paragraph [44] the ball studs 25 and socket parts 30 read on the claimed rotational dampers) while securing a degree of freedom substantially in the vertical direction of the translational damper (FIGS. 3 and 5 paragraph [37] at the ends of cylinder member 21 and the rod member 22, a socket part 30 having an insertion part 31 with one side open is provided for a bendable connection between them. The rotatable movement can be in a rotational direction according to figure 5, which includes a vertical direction), and to respectively apply the damping force to the washing tub in a rotating direction (FIGS. 3 and 5 paragraph [37] the configuration of the bolsters 25 and the socket parts 30 allow the cylinder member and the rod member to be rotatably connected to the lower part of the water tank 11 and the base portion 10a of the main body case 10, thereby enabling effective damping of vibration and shock),
the first rotational damper is connected to one end of the translational damper and is arranged on a lower portion of the housing to be rotatable about a first rotary axis substantially in a vertical direction (FIGS. 2-3 paragraph [37] the end of the cylinder member 21 is provided with a socket part 30 to accommodate for a spherical head part 25a of a bolster 25. The bolster 25 is installed at the base part 10a of the main body case 10), and
the second rotational damper is connected to an other end of the translational damper and is arranged on a bottom of the washing tub to be rotatable about a second rotary axis substantially in a vertical direction (FIGS. 2-3 paragraph [37] the end of rod member 22 is provided with a socket part 30 to accommodate for a spherical head part 25a of a bolster 25. The bolster 25 is installed at the lower part of the water tank 11).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second rotational damper)][AltContent: textbox (First rotational damper)]
As to claim 2, Lee further teaches the damper has a damping force in a circumferential direction of the first rotary axis of the first rotational damper, and has a damping force in a circumferential direction of the second rotary axis of the second rotational damper (Figure 3 and paragraphs [36]-[37] show that the rod member 22 is inserted into the cylinder member 21 so as to be expandable and retractable. The configuration of the rod member 22, cylinder member 21, bolsters 25, and the socket parts 30 allow the cylinder member and the rod member to be rotatably connected to the lower part of the water tank 11 and the base portion 10a of the main body case 10, thereby enabling effective damping of vibration and shock. The direction in which the rod member 22 and the cylinder member 21 expands and retracts would apply a damping force in a circumferential direction of the second rotational damper and first rotational damper, respectively.).
As to claim 3, Lee further teaches the translational damper is rotatable about a third rotary axis substantially in a horizontal direction with respect to the first rotational damper, and is rotatable about a fourth rotary axis substantially in the horizontal direction with respect to the second rotational damper (paragraph [37] the configuration of the bolsters 25 and the socket parts 30 allow the cylinder member and the rod member to be rotatably connected to the lower part of the water tank 11 and the base portion 10a of the main body case 10. The rotatable movement can be in a rotational direction according to figure 5, which includes a horizontal direction).
As to claim 4, Lee further teaches the damper has a damping force in a circumferential direction of the third rotary axis of the translational damper with respect to the first rotational damper, and has a damping force in a circumferential direction of the fourth rotary axis of the translational damper with respect to the second rotational damper (Figure 3 and paragraphs [36]-[37] show that the rod member 22 is inserted into the cylinder member 21 so as to be expandable and retractable. The configuration of the rod member 22, cylinder member 21, bolsters 25, and the socket parts 30 allow the cylinder member and the rod member to be rotatably connected to the lower part of the water tank 11 and the base portion 10a of the main body case 10, thereby enabling effective damping of vibration and shock. The direction in which the rod member 22 and the cylinder member 21 expands and retracts would apply a damping force in a circumferential direction of the second rotational damper and first rotational damper, respectively.).
As to claim 5, Lee further teaches while the washing tub is translationally moving, the translational damper applies the damping force to the washing tub by expanding and contracting (paragraph [36] the rod member 22 is inserted into the cylinder member 21 so as to be retractable. Figure 3 shows that the rod member 22 can be expanded as well), the first rotational damper applies the damping force to the washing tub by rotating about the first rotary axis, and the second rotational damper applies the damping force to the washing tub by rotating about the second rotary axis (paragraph [37] the configuration of the bolsters 25 and the socket parts 30 allow the cylinder member and the rod member to be rotatably connected to the lower part of the water tank 11 and the base portion 10a of the main body case 10. This rotatable connection reads on the claimed rotations of the first and second axis).
As to claim 6, Lee further teaches the translational damper is arranged to translate toward a rotary shaft of the dewatering tub (FIG. 2 the rod member 22 and cylindrical member 21 translate toward a rotary shaft the rotating tank 12).
As to claim 9, Lee further teaches the first rotational damper is arranged near a corner portion of the lower portion of the housing (FIG. 2 the first rotational damper is arranged near a corner portion of the lower portion of the housing).
[AltContent: textbox (First rotational damper near a corner portion of the lower housing)]
[AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR20040071380 (henceforth referred to as Lee) in view of Chae et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0102691 (henceforth referred to as Chae).
As to claim 7, Lee differs from the instant claim in failing to teach The washing machine of claim 1, wherein the translational damper is arranged in parallel to a direction of a central axis of a drain hose.
Chae teaches a similar washing machine (FIG. 1 paragraph [0075] laundry treating apparatus 1). Chae teaches the translational damper is arranged in parallel to a direction of a central axis of a drain hose (see following annotated Figure 1).
[AltContent: textbox (The damper 23 and spring 24 are parallel to the first drainage pipe 12 )][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (The dashed line is a direction of a central axis of a drain hose)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper apparatus as taught by Lee with an arrangement as taught by Chae. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to rearrange the drain and damper in a manner that would be most beneficial to their invention. It is an obvious design choice that allows the components to fit within the housing of the cabinet.
Claims 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR20040071380 (henceforth referred to as Lee) in view of Na et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0292215 (henceforth referred to as Na).
As to claim 8, Lee differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the translational damper is arranged nearly perpendicular to a direction of a central axis of a drain hose.
Na teaches a similar washing machine (FIG. 1 paragraph [0037] washing machine 1). Na teaches the translational damper is arranged nearly perpendicular to a direction of a central axis of a drain hose (See following annotated Figure 2B).
[AltContent: textbox (The damper 200 is perpendicular to the connection hose 3 (as indicated by the dashed line) )]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (The dashed line is a direction of a central axis of a drain hose)][AltContent: connector]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper apparatus as taught by Lee with an arrangement as taught by Na. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to rearrange the drain and damper in a manner that would be most beneficial to their invention. It is an obvious design choice that allows the components to fit within the housing of the cabinet.
As to claim 10, Lee differs from the instant claim in failing to the second rotational damper is arranged so that a direction from the first rotational damper to the second rotational damper is nearly parallel to a direction of a central axis of a drain hose.
Na teaches a similar washing machine (FIG. 1 paragraph [0037] washing machine 1). Na teaches the second rotational damper is arranged so that a direction from the first rotational damper to the second rotational damper is nearly parallel to a direction of a central axis of a drain hose (See following annotated Figure 2B).
[AltContent: textbox (The direction from the first rotational damper to the second rotational damper is nearly parallel to a direction of a central axis of a drain hose)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (The dashed line is a direction of a central axis of a drain hose)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper apparatus as taught by Lee with an arrangement as taught by Na. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to rearrange the drain and damper in a manner that would be most beneficial to their invention. It is an obvious design choice that allows the components to fit within the housing of the cabinet.
As to claim 11, Lee differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the second rotational damper is arranged so that a direction from the first rotational damper to the second rotational damper is nearly perpendicular to a direction of a central axis of a drain hose.
Na teaches a similar washing machine (FIG. 1 paragraph [0037] washing machine 1). Na teaches the second rotational damper is arranged so that a direction from the first rotational damper to the second rotational damper is nearly perpendicular to a direction of a central axis of a drain hose (See following annotated Figure 2B).
[AltContent: textbox (The direction from the first rotational damper to the second rotational damper is perpendicular to a direction of a central axis of a drain hose)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (The dashed line is a direction of a central axis of a drain hose)][AltContent: connector]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper apparatus as taught by Lee with an arrangement as taught by Na. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to rearrange the drain and damper in a manner that would be most beneficial to their invention. It is an obvious design choice that allows the components to fit within the housing of the cabinet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: there is no motivation to combine Lee with a reference regarding a holder fixed to a part of the washing machine having a holder opening substantially in a vertical direction; an arm rotatably inserted into the holder opening, and having an arm opening substantially in a vertical direction; and a cap inserted in the arm opening and fixed to the arm so that the arm does not escape from the holder in the vertical direction.
Claim 16 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Lee, the closest prior art, differs from the instant claim in failing to teach wherein the damper comprises: a rotating arm configured to be rotatable about a rotary axis in a vertical direction; a first translation damper having one end connected to a bottom of the washing tub and an other end connected to the rotating arm; a second translational damper having one end connected to a lower portion of the housing and an other end connected to the rotating arm; and a rotating member configured to be rotatable about the rotary axis in the vertical direction, wherein the first translational damper is rotatable about a rotary axis in a horizontal direction with respect to the rotating arm, and the second translational damper is connected to the lower portion of the housing via the rotating member, and wherein while the washing tub is translated, the first translational damper is translated and the rotating arm rotates, and a rotation of the rotating arm is dampened by the second translational damper. Furthermore, Examiner agrees that it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper apparatus as taught by Lee as claimed.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711